Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,863 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Dodge Durango fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Dodge Durango Owner Comments

problem #14

Sep 112016


  • 53,687 miles


Went to put fuel into the tank and nothing made it in. Over 10 gallons of gas spilled on the ground under the SUV and then spread across the gas station tarmac before I realized it and shut the pump off. Scary situation as it could have ignited causing an explosion and injuries, death, and destruction!! took it into the a dealer and they "found the fuel filler hose to be insufficiently attached to the inlet of the gas tank".

- Williamsburg, MI, USA

problem #13

Apr 222016


  • 40,900 miles
Tipm recall issue. I took the vehicle to get the tipm recall. About 900 miles after the repair, the vehicle stalled while I was driving on the freeway. The tipm wire burnt and the fuse blew causing the failure. Dodge dealership attempted to fix the problem again.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #12

Oct 032015


  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that the vehicle was purchased from a dealer and was not repaired according to any recalls. The contact was informed by the dealer and manufacturer that the vehicle received a recall remedy. The contact was uncertain that the repair was performed and had no recollection of taking the vehicle to the dealer for a manufacturer recall repair on October 20, 2015. The VIN and NHTSA campaign number were not available. The contact was not experiencing a failure and was concerned that there may be a defective part in the vehicle.

- Manchester, GA, USA

problem #11

Mar 112016


  • miles


I purchase my vehicle in 2013 and shortly after recvd several recalls. One recall was repaired in a timely manner, however it took from November 2013 to March 8, 2016 to recv an appointment to complete the additional recalls. Shortly before my appointment my engine light illuminated. When I meet my appointment time at nyle maxwell supercenter in austin tx, I informed them of the engine light. After a week, they informed me that not only the countless recalls that need repair that I also needed a part for my transmission. They have no vehicle for me to loan out to me that meets the same needs as my Durango and have informed me that they may keep my vehicle for another 30 days..

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #10

Jan 012013


  • miles
1. owned car since Jan 2013. Leather started cracking immediately. Took into dealership and they said I had to get fixed. Went back to shop for something else and mentioned the cracking again and was told I could have gotten fixed but my coverage had expired. The cracking is really bad on the armrest in car. Have been over to dealership and called regarding the recall I have. It is always on backorder and someone will call when in. I have not received a call and I see this is a serious recall. Is this really important to the dealership that these recalls gets repaired. I would like to get this repaired immediately as well as my cracking leather which has been overlooked.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #9

Nov 072015


  • miles
Three recalls unaddressed for 1+ years. Chrysler recall: P14 (NHTSA # 14V-154), P36 (14V-391), R09 (15V-115). Dealer and manufacturer claim that they are unable to obtain repair parts to address recall. Fca is unable to address a recall active since April 1, 2014. Today is Nov 7, 2015.

- Kirkland, WA, USA

problem #8

Sep 212015


  • 41,000 miles


My 2013 Durango rt ( 41000 miles) sometimes have problem with starting engine. After start push bottom is just cranking noise without start engine. Or if I use a key remote control to start engine then engine start for 2 seconds and shouts off

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #7

Aug 202015


  • miles
I have tried for almost one year to have the fuel pump relay safety recall done and each time the dealer states they do not have the part in stock and to keep calling them back.

- Redmond, WA, USA

problem #6

Mar 152014


  • miles
April 2014 noticed loud sound and no brakes after going through carwash. Shortly after I received the first recall on the brake line. Phoned dealership but was told I was on a list and should be available July 2014. I've called several times but still not gotten the call to get my car in. Had to take the car into the dealership for water pump - at that time the service manager looked at my brakes and told me I definitely had a problem and would move me to front of the list. Still no calls. Since that time I've received several more safety recalls on my vehicle but am never able to get an appointment. I've asked since I have to leave the car to get a rental at their expense. They refused. I work 40 to 50 miles out of town and this is the only vehicle I have. I'm already being put out having to take the vehicle in why should I also have to bare the expense of a rental car as well. It has now been well over a year, my breaks are still bad. I panic every time it rains. My vehicle has recently started causing problems on starting up - it won't completely turn over - but it just keeps steadily trying - it won't let me cut it off and it's like its flooding itself. I now have a large stack of recalls on my vehicle and no one will help me. I'm not happy with Dodge and the lack of concern for my safety. I'm paying a car note for something that isn't safe to drive.

- Groves, TX, USA

problem #5

Jul 032015


  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Durango. While the vehicle was parked, it failed to start and the engine warning light illuminated. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the fuel pump relay needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 65,000.

- Yorba Linda , CA, USA

problem #4

May 012015


  • 42,000 miles


The engine cranks but will not start and has a hesitation/lack of power on acceleration.

- Peoria, AZ, USA

problem #3

Feb 262015

Durango 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
My vehicle began having trouble in late February 2015 with turning over at the first start of the day. Since that time, the problem has continued, but more frequently and worse than each previous time. I contacted the dealership where I purchased the vehicle, prestige Dodge, on two occasions to have the problem looked at and on the second occasion I was told by the dealership that the issue is related to a recall with the fuel pump relay and that a recall on the part was forthcoming, but there is no way for the issue to be remedied, since parts have not been issued by Chrysler. I also contacted Chrysler and was told that there is nothing they can do to assist in correcting the issue including repairing, providing a rental vehicle, etc. And that I will just need to wait until the car will not run any longer, have it towed and then pay for a rental vehicle out of my pocket until they issue parts for the recall. At that time there was not an estimated time for parts to be issued and there still is not. Now, I receive an "interim" notice of "important safety recall" for the "fuel pump relay" that states that the issue could cause my vehicle could operate intermittently or "fail without warning, " and ultimately "cause the engine to stall while driving and cause a crash without warning."

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #2

Dec 052014

Durango 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,500 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Durango. While driving approximately 35 mph, the fuel cap warning indicator illuminated continuously. The failure recurred on a daily basis. The dealer diagnosed that the vehicle needed a new fuel cap. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 37,500. Updated 01/12/15 updated 10/5/2015

- Kingwood , TX, USA

problem #1

Feb 022013


  • 24,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled upon using the push button start on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer twice. It was first diagnosed that the fuel pump relay needed to be replaced, but the failure continued. The contact indicated that a three step process needed to be completed to ensure the vehicle started and it still stalled intermittently. The vehicle was taken back to the authorized dealer who reprogrammed the computer from the first repair. The vehicle continued to exhibit an intermittent failure with the push button start feature. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 24,000.

- Iowa Park, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?