Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,469 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Dodge Durango drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Dodge Durango Owner Comments

problem #19

Jul 012016


  • 33,000 miles


The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Durango. While driving various speeds, the vehicle suddenly stopped accelerating when the accelerator pedal was depressed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the failure could not be duplicated. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 33,000.

- Westland, MI, USA

problem #18

Apr 112015


  • 9,640 miles
I backed the vehicle out of the garage onto the driveway, then put it in park. I left the engine running and exited the vehicle to walk in the garage. I was already in the garage and turned back to see the vehicle was moving forward. I tried to get back in to stop the car and was trapped between the door and the car. Unable to stop the vehicle, it continued forward, swiping the center garage beam and crushing me.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #17

Sep 052016


  • 31,000 miles
Three times the vehicle has been placed in park in my driveway and has popped out of gear sending the vehicle down my driveway. Last night 9/5/16 @ 10pm the vehicle was pulled out of the garage, put in park and left running while I changed light bulbs on my garage door opener. The vehicle made it down my driveway, across my street and started down a hill towards an intersection before I was able to jump in the car (while traveling down a hill with some speed) and lay on the brakes. If someone was behind the vehicle they would be dead. If another car was traveling on my street there would of been a major accident. If I didn't stop the vehicle in time it would of went through a home. Called Dodge this morning and they don't seem real concerned about it.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #16

Aug 132016


  • 14,300 miles


The contact owned a 2014 Dodge Durango. When the vehicle was placed in park, it continued to roll forward. The contact inspected the vehicle and noticed that the shifter was still in park. The vehicle crashed into a tree. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was not filed. The contact sustained injuries to the right eyebrow, right eye, right wrist, elbow, knee, and forehead. Medical attention was required. Upon arrival at the dealer, the vehicle was still in the park gear and the wheels where moving. The vehicle was towed to the insurance body shop where it was determined that the vehicle was destroyed. The failure mileage was approximately 14,300.

- Cabot, AR, USA

problem #15

Mar 122016


  • 45,000 miles
Our Durango will just completely go haywire (display screen, lights - interior, dash, and exterior lights, the 3rd row head rests will automatically go down, doors lock/unlock) and shut down while in motion. All power goes out and the vehicle becomes impossible to regain control.

- Parkersburg, WV, USA

problem #14

Jul 102016


  • 20,000 miles
I drove into a store parking lot, put my Durango in park, the car was still running as my elderly father was in the passenger side and my 15 year old daughter was in the back. When exiting the store after less than 3 minutes in there, I noticed my Durango was now in the middle of the parking lot and my father was in the drivers side. Upon approaching the vehicle, my father told me that the Durango started rolling backwards. The Durango was clearly in the 'parked' position with the "P" lit up on the dial. The Durango had moved a good 6-10 feet before my father was able to jump to the other side and stop it by pressing the break. Upon returning home I checked online for other complaints such as this and found that the NHTSA was investigating claims of this same thing happening in 2014 Durango's. this morning I called my dealership and the service guy told me that there was no recall on the 2014 Durango's (only other Dodge vehicles with this same exact problem) he advised me that the could take a look at it but that there was no 'fix' for it. So I will be taking it to the dealership on 7-15-16 for them to 'look' at it. At this point I feel that I have an unsafe vehicle and there is nothing they can do about it!

- Salem, OH, USA

problem #13

Apr 042016


  • 8,300 miles


We have had at least three instances where the Durango has rolled while parked and transmission is in park. Only luck than no one was injured. In each instance it was in our driveway, parked. While unattended, the vehicle would roll down the driveway into the street, there is a slight grade in our driveway towards the street.

- Carlisle, PA, USA

problem #12

Dec 222014


  • 900 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that the vehicle was placed in the park position, however the vehicle rolled forward and the contact became trapped between the vehicle and the garage door. The contact sustained three fractured ribs, which required medical attention. The vehicle was not taken to be diagnosed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 900. The VIN was not available. Updated 06/23/16

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #11

Jun 012015


  • miles
The car is making an annoying "whining noise/hum" when driving. As the speed increases so does the noise. I have had the 2014 Durango citadel (V6) 2 years and have approximately 16,000 miles on it. I started to notice the noise around 12,000 miles. The tires are inflated at the recommended tire pressure and have been recently rotated. This has had no effect on the level of noise. I spoke to another owner of the Dodge 2014 Durango citadel and he is having the same problem. He mentioned that on a recent service at the Dodge dealer they asked him if he was experiencing any noise in the drive train. I will be following up with my dealer tomorrow.

- Jackson, NJ, USA

problem #10

Jul 282015


  • 9,990 miles
Backed car out of garage, put in park on inclined driveway to retrieve a forgotten item from house. Was gone for about 1 minute. Upon returning car was across the cul de sac in the neighbors front yard. Went to neighbors yard to retrieve car and look for damage. Car was still in park as the dial transmission was illuminated to P, but car was no longer running but lights and radio were still on. Cleaned dirt and grass out of tail pipe as it had crashed thru neighbors ditch. Started car and drove back to house, turned off engine and put on emergency break, called husband out of the house to look underneath for damage. Front end damage on the passenger side and also rear bumper damage. Called Dodge and filed claim. Car was taken to local dealer who called Dodge and were advised to check for any gunk or debri in the oil pan, none found so they were advised to drop the transmission and check the components, which resulted in the discovery of a defective valve body. Part was replaced and damaged supposedly fixed. Less than two months later, transmission is slamming from 2nd gear to 3rd gear and large clunk heard when transmission shifts from 2nd gear to first gear, called Dodge and file another claim and taking back to dealer. I have read other complaints about unattended vehicle roll aways for Dodge and Jeep using the same new dial transmission resulting in property damage and minor injuries. I am very concerned that someone may be seriously injured or killed if this is not addressed by Dodge. I do also have this all on video as we have an outdoor security system that I am will to send to anyone who is trying to dispute this same safety issue with Dodge. It is even timed second by second in the footage and you can see every door in my car to prove that no one else was in the car when this happened.

- Roscoe, IL, USA

problem #9

Mar 012014


  • 10,100 miles


Shortly after 1st acquiring the 2014 Dodge Durango R/T AWD an exhaust smell filling the cabin was noticeable after acceleration and steadily traveling between 40-45 mph w/the front and rear air conditioning units on recirculation. The occurrence was repeatable and noticeable by my spouse and children while riding in the Durango. It was brought to the purchasing dealership multiple times for the exhaust leak but ultimately they could not determine the origination or cause; they attempted a software update. The Dodge Durango was brought to another dealership where the rear cabin air exhausters and lift gate grommets were replaced to no avail. The 2nd dealership ultimately advised they do not know how or why the exhaust is entering the interior cabin and have labeled the exhaust leak as a "smell". a non-feasible vehicle replacement has been offered. Documentation of the exhaust leak issue is available for further review. The Dodge Durango has not been modified.

- Lake Mary, FL, USA

problem #8

Jun 102015


  • 8,000 miles
Vehicle was parked at a boat launch in preparation of putting boat on trailer. Car was in park, engine idling. Got out of the car to retrieve boat while partner would drive the car out after boat was trailered. While partner was attempting to get behind the wheel, car suddenly started backing into the lake until submerged. The transmission was still in park until tow truck operator got into the vehicle to manually release transmission in order to tow out. Probably not repairable.

- Germantown, WI, USA

problem #7

Dec 042014

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 149,708 miles
Wife went to start up vehicle and it would not crank over.called aaa for a jump. It crank and started with a rattle can sound.I came home to verify sound. It did such sound as she explained. I'm a mechanic and removed valve cover to check for rocker damage none found. I removed intake and found water in #7and #8 cylinder.I looked at seals on intake and found not installed properly. The seals were not square in bores of intake. I have not removed oil pan but I suspect connecting rods bent on start up. I need to know if Dodge new about this issue. I did do a coolant pressure test and it held fine with no leaks. Was there a recall on the intake which destroyed my wife's engine.

- Fairfield, CA, USA

problem #6

Nov 032014


  • 10,150 miles
While driving I noticed car wouldn't shift gear. It was stuck on D6 when came to a full stop at stop sign. Then car wouldn't move forward after pressing gas pedal. Getting out of car to ask for assistance to push car on side of road, the car started rolling forward. Ran back to car N drove back home. Parked car in garage and turned off car then back on. Now the car wouldn't go to any gears. It's stuck on park. It wouldn't reverse or drive. Called Chrysler warranty online and they had it towed to the nearest dealer for repair.

- Dinuba, CA, USA

problem #5

Oct 162014


  • 9,615 miles
While driving the car was stuck on D6. It wouldn't shift gears up or down. Pulled over and was at complete stop but car was still on D6. Had turned car off and on then the engine light came on.

- Dinuba, CA, USA

problem #4

Dec 032013


  • 13 miles
We pick up our new car on December 2, 2013. The following morning - December 3, 2013 - Tuesday" 8:30am we turn car on and all indicators and lights start flashing and ringing. We were unable to shift car out of park. Car is flat bedded and towed to Chrysler. Car stays at Chrysler until Friday December 6, 2013 December 6, 2013 - Friday " pick up car at 3:30pm after installation of new ABS module. Driven 2 miles and same problem as 12/3/13 occurs. Car is then driven back to Chrysler. Car kept until Monday, December 9th, and was informed that there was a loose bolt.

- Greenlawn, NY, USA

problem #3

Jul 022014


  • 1,800 miles
I often attempt to accelerate at slower speeds generally between 20-30mph to pass another vehicle etc... the response after pushing the gas is very delayed sometimes as if the vehicle hesitates.

- North Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #2

May 242014

Durango 6-cyl

  • 5,200 miles
While driving after leaving a store, the vehicle sounded a warning chime and then all of the electrical displays on the dash went dark. The vehicle downshifted into what seemed 4th gear from 8th gear and sudden deceleration was nored. The windshield wiper turned on and the center radio/climate display would flash on and off. The brief message that was displayed on the dash before it went out said something to the effect of, "do not change gear, do not turn off vehicle, drive directly to destination, by turning car off you may not be able to start it again". we drove to the dealership and they ran a diagnostic where they found several computer faults. The dealer had the vehicle a total of 11 days and changed the body control module. We got the vehicle back and three days later the same thing happened again. Worried that if this happened while driving down the interstate at speed, there could be a possible loss of control with the sudden downshift.

- Debary, FL, USA

problem #1

Apr 052014


  • 3,200 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph, the vehicle began to hesitate and stalled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where the contact was advised that they could not determine the cause of the failure. The failure was recurring and the vehicle was later diagnosed by the dealer as a transmission flaw which needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 3,200.

- Batron Rouge, LA, USA

Not what you are looking for?