Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
6,070 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Dodge Durango electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #12

Dec 082014


  • miles


The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Durango. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable.

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #11

Aug 202014


  • 5,523 miles
When turning on the turn signal indicater the wind shield wipers come on even though they are in the off position. Once they come on they continue to run. On occasion they will turn off when running through a variety of options on the same stick such as flashing the bright light (pull in the stick) or turning on the signal again in the other diretion. There is no rhyme or reason to any of it. This past weekend I pressed the button to start and the wipers went on even though the indicator is in the off position. Then suddenly the radio went on even though we did not turn it on and this caused the wipers to stop. This looks a lot like a major electrical problem and we are not concerned that this might be a totally integrated power module problem which is currently under inviestication for recall.

- Oakland, MI, USA

problem #10

Jan 232014

Durango 6-cyl

  • 1,263 miles
Purchased vehicle 31 December 2013. Actually got vehicle about six days later. On 22 January 2014, I put the vehicle in park at the end of my driveway so I could check the mail. While walking back to the vehicle form the mailbox, the vehicle starting backing up a hill on its own. I had to run next to the vehicle, hanging partially inside the cab, to attempt to shut off vehicle. Vehicle would not shut off. I had to push down emergency brake with my hand in order to get vehicle to stop. Vehicle also has used active braking feature and the active braking alarm has sounded to inform me that I was too close to a vehicle, though there was no vehicle in site (this has happened 3 times). Vehicle randomly starts on it own. Vehicle also remote starts on its own. Sometimes the vehicle states it is not in park when it clearly is in park. Vehicle has went from park to drive on one occasion as well. The vehicle back hatch opened on its own while driving down the highway. My belongings fell out all in road. My husband was driving the vehicle at the time. Vehicle fails to accelerate correctly when I press the gas pedal intermittently, sometimes from a stop but usually from a slow speed. This causes other drivers to come close to rear ending me because I am going slower than the speed of traffic (because my foot is depressing the gas petal but the vehicle is not reacting). Chrysler has sent an inspector to inspect the vehicle, and he found nothing. This vehicle has serious safety issues. I reported them 3 weeks after purchasing vehicle, but Chrysler will not buy back vehicle. They have implemented safety features on the 2015 for some of these exact same issues, yet deny the issues existing.

- Finger, TN, USA

problem #9

Apr 092014

Durango 6-cyl

  • 3,000 miles


April 9, 2014 " Wednesday morning. I was driving my child to school. He left the car and the car started to chime - key fob not detected. I was still in the car, with the key fob in car, but still could not move until turned car off and restarted. " video taped myself.

- Greenlawn, NY, USA

problem #8

Feb 282014

Durango 6-cyl

  • 300 miles
February 28,2014 " Friday" 7:55am car does not start after 12 attempts. Call Chrysler service. Car is towed to service. Service finds no fault or error message. March 25, 2014 -Tuesday "car will not start " no error code " video taped. April 2, 2014 ? Wednesday ? car will not start ? no error code ? video taped. July 26, 2014 ? Saturday ? car will not start ? no error code - video taped. Bring car in to service Monday, July 28. Module needs to be updated. 2 hours in service. August 1, 2014 Friday " car will not start" no error code. Was able to turn on car via remote start. August 14, 2014 " Thursday "car will not start " no error code. Video taped. Was able to start car via remote start. August 23, 2014 " Saturday" car will not start " no error code. Video taped. Was able to start car via remote start.

- Greenlawn, NY, USA

problem #7

Jan 072014

Durango 6-cyl

  • 125 miles
January 7, 2014 - Tuesday, " 3:30pm car does not start after 6 attempts. Call Chrysler service since we have appt for January 8th to install new module. January 8, 2014 - Wednesday" car is brought into service for new module installation. Car checked for no start previous day as well as finding 2 loose screws in back seat on passenger side.

- Greenlawn, NY, USA

problem #6

Dec 232013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 100 miles


December 23, 2013 -Monday ? we return our new car to Chrysler service because memory for heated seats and steering wheel not saving. Also, key fob not working properly. Informed by service that new module needs to be ordered. Radio needs update for latest software. Appointment made for service 1/8/14. Car was in less then 3 weeks prior with new ABS module needed. (December 3, 2013).

- Greenlawn, NY, USA

problem #5

Dec 032013


  • 13 miles
We pick up our new car on December 2, 2013. The following morning - December 3, 2013 - Tuesday" 8:30am we turn car on and all indicators and lights start flashing and ringing. We were unable to shift car out of park. Car is flat bedded and towed to Chrysler. Car stays at Chrysler until Friday December 6, 2013 December 6, 2013 - Friday " pick up car at 3:30pm after installation of new ABS module. Driven 2 miles and same problem as 12/3/13 occurs. Car is then driven back to Chrysler. Car kept until Monday, December 9th, and was informed that there was a loose bolt.

- Greenlawn, NY, USA

problem #4

Jul 162014

Durango 8-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
On approx July 16th my check light engine came on. The car is brand new with 3K miles. I took it in July 26th to the dealership where I bought the truck and was told the oil pressure switch is faulty, but the part is on back order indefinitely. They proceeded to tell me that the car is safe, but if something else goes wrong I won't know because the light is already on. They also told me to call Chrysler myself, which was extremely insulting and dealership takes no responsibility. Reluctantly, I did call and that too does not help. The part is not available and nobody can give me any answers. I don't believe Chrysler is taking this liability seriously and putting my whole family (with young kids included) at risk. I feel like the whole electrical system is slowing down as response time to nav, door locks, etc. This customer service experience has been the worst I have ever seen. How can they let me drive around with a known risk and no answers. Given the check light engine is on, some add'L features don't work (auto start, etc). Clearly there is an issue if they cant get the part, it must be happening with many vehicles.

- Hohokus, NJ, USA

problem #3

May 242014

Durango 6-cyl

  • 5,200 miles
While driving after leaving a store, the vehicle sounded a warning chime and then all of the electrical displays on the dash went dark. The vehicle downshifted into what seemed 4th gear from 8th gear and sudden deceleration was nored. The windshield wiper turned on and the center radio/climate display would flash on and off. The brief message that was displayed on the dash before it went out said something to the effect of, "do not change gear, do not turn off vehicle, drive directly to destination, by turning car off you may not be able to start it again". we drove to the dealership and they ran a diagnostic where they found several computer faults. The dealer had the vehicle a total of 11 days and changed the body control module. We got the vehicle back and three days later the same thing happened again. Worried that if this happened while driving down the interstate at speed, there could be a possible loss of control with the sudden downshift.

- Debary, FL, USA

problem #2

Jun 032014


  • 2,400 miles
Vehicle was being driven home by customer when she noticed that the vehicle began to hiccup and sputter while turn a corner. After turning, the vehicle stalled. She was able to safely pull to the shoulder. Upon further inspection, the vehicle ran out of fuel. Despite the fuel gauge displaying "empty" she stated that no audible warning chime and that the "low fuel" indicator was not prominently displayed (states that it blends in with the rest of the information on the multifunction display).

- Noblesville, IN, USA

problem #1

Apr 052014


  • miles
2014 Dodge Durango. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle hesitation during acceleration. The dealer performed tests, and found nothing wrong with the vehicle. However, the dealer did perform a PCM update. Two days later, the vehicle stalled in traffic. When the consumer applied the accelerator pedal, the vehicle made a strange noise and the check engine light illuminated. She turned the vehicle off and back on again, and the sound stopped, but the check engine light remained lit. While returning to the dealer, the vehicle stalled again.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

Not what you are looking for?