Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.0

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
29,848 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Dodge Grand Caravan steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments

problem #14

Jun 232006

Grand Caravan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vans power steering started to whine and vibrate during the cold driving until it warmed up a year ago, called the local dealership and was informed that there was no recalls on the power steering for my van. Took the car in but by the time I had driven there it was not making any noise so now they are acting as if the sound is all in my head. Looked up recalls on your website and found that there had been a recall on the hoses but the dealership still says no recall. The noise is worse and so is the vibration I fear a failure but no one will fix what isn't heard. After reading several other complaints about the same this should be a recall.

- Garner, NC, USA

problem #13

May 132006

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,000 miles
: the contact stated while parked at a stop light white smoke came from the heating vent on the passenger side of the dash board. The smoke began to turn black and flames erupted from the dashboard vent. The contact pulled off of the road. The fire department extinguished the fire however, they could not determine the source of the fire. Prior to the incident, the contact smelled something similar to plastic burning. The contact reported the same smell intermittently three to four months prior to this incident. The dealership determined there was a hose leaking fluid and it was replaced. The contact does not recall the type of fluid leaking or the type of hose that was replaced. The smell continued however, the dealership could not determine the source of the smell. Updated on 05/30/2006.

- Essex Junction, VT, USA

problem #12

Mar 272006

Grand Caravan

  • 35,000 miles
2002 Dodge Grand Caravan sport with 35,000 miles. Recalled twice for steering fluid hose replacements in 2004. After first hose was replaced, minivan started leaking power steering fluid. Received another recall notice for another steering hose replacement. Took it in to have that replaced, told them to look into the power steering fluid leak, they said they would. They fixed the recall hose, made not mention of leaking fluid. Fluid did not leak for several weeks, then started leaking again. Took it back in for 3rd recall (radio vent slots), as well as smoking engine and again mentioned leaking power steering fluid. Dealership said they'd look into it. Dealership conducted 27 point inspection on own will, did not find leaking power steering fluid (Aug. 2005). Fluid has been leaking since then. Noise in power steering consistently audible, and increasingly louder at all times. Now, dealership says the rack and pinion are cracked and need replacing. Dealership says this is in no way related to power steering hose recalls or neglect to address power steering fluid leakage. Am taking minivan to independent technician for review of rack and pinion and opinion on next step.

- Arvada, CO, USA

problem #11

Dec 182005

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering pump making load noises again. Had hoses replaced due to previous recall about a year ago.

- Simpsonville, SC, USA

problem #10

Jan 142005

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
The contact stated after having a NHTSA recall campaign 04V386000 repairs performed on the steering: Hydraulic power assist: Hose, piping, and connections there has been a shudder in the steering when attempting to make turns at low speeds. The vehicle has been to the dealer numerous times, and the dealer was unable to accurately diagnose the problem.

- Belmont, CA, USA

problem #9

Oct 012004

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,774 miles
Premature failure of power steering pump on 2002 Dodge Grand Caravan. Replaced upper power steering return hose. The vehicle has been recalled twice for this problem. The consumer experienced similar problems with the power steering hose prior to the first recall. Recall campaign id number : 04V386000

- Hobart, IN, USA

problem #8

Oct 212004

Grand Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After receiving a recall for the upper power steering return hose, and calling the dealer. The consumer was told by the manager that they only had three parts in and they were only for vehicles that were inoperable. The consumer was told that they only serviced consumers that purchased their vehicles from them. NHTSA recall 04V386000.

- Virgilina, VA, USA

problem #7

Apr 262004

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles
I brought my Dodge Grand Caravan for a recall repair on Oct 2003. The item was repacing a defective line in the power steering system. After the repair my vehicle made a whinning sound and grumbling sound at very slow speed, stop and go, pulling out of a parking space. I am hearing impaired and as the noise got louder it concerned me to take it back to the deale. They said that the line to the hydraulic power steering was to short and to correct it required a longer line. They told me that a bullitin from Dodge identified the problem but no recall was issued. If the power steering would have gone out during higher speeds injuries or a fatallity could occur. Loosing control at higher speeds is very dangerous. Dear walter: Your recent email to DaimlerChrysler motors corporation was received and reviewed by the customer assistance center regarding your Grand Caravan. Your concerns, particularly in view of the expense and inconvenience involved in this issue, are understandable. However, your request for consideration in this matter must be declined, because the vehicle in question has exceeded the time or mileage limitations of the manufacturer's warranty at the time the expense was incurred.

- Deming, NM, USA

problem #6

Mar 022004

(reported on)

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles
The power steering hose ruptured and/or cracked resulting in loss of power steering and fluid.

- Sheboygan, WI, USA

problem #5

Nov 302003

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles
Steering, hydraulic power assist hose, piping & connections.

- Slidell, LA, USA

problem #4

Sep 272003

Grand Caravan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2002 Grand Caravan is constantly having problems with power steering hoses. The last time this occured my wife and childer were in moving traffic when it completely failed. This is the fourth time this problem has occured and the repair men continually state that it is a cold weather problem. Well I live in North Dakota...its always cold here..and this last failure occured when it was over 45 degrees. We need to get doge to fix this problem or give people vehicles that do not have this problem or just refund the consumers money. I do not have any faith in this vehicle, and in the winter I do not allow my wife and children to drive in it alone. She is simply not strong enough to drive it without power steering...something need to be done before someone gets killed.

- Grand Forks, ND, USA

problem #3

Feb 182003

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,203 miles
Power steering, defective hose. Have had two power steering hoses replaced within 3 weeks. Dealer has replaced with exact same hose, says that is what Chrysler tells them to replace it with. Dealer admits there is about 30 hoses replaced each week in cold weather. Also stated that all that may be needed is a stronger/better hose. No recall has been made. I have three young children that I Transport daily. And I am concerned for their welfare. I also travel over 60 miles to work each day on the interstate. If the power steering goes while I am on the interstate it could cause a horrific accident even resulting in death. It shouldn't take that type of situation before a recall is made. If the hose goes again, I will be going through lemon law proceedings.

- St. Albans, VT, USA

problem #2

Apr 252002

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 850 miles
I purchased our 2002 Dodge Grand Caravan on 4-1-2002 and it was in the shop the first time for the power steering cooler and hoses leaking on 4-25-2002. The dealer fixed it and it was leaking again on 4-29-2002, then 4-30-2002, then 5-2-2002. The weather got warmer so it didn't seem to leak. Then it started getting cold again in the fall and it started leaking again. Seems when the temp drops below 21 degrees, it leaks. Chrysler sent a factory engineer to the dealership to investigate why it couldn't be fixed. He stated that Chrysler is having extreme difficulty with the power steering coolers and hoses leaking in the northern part of the country (colder climates.) he also stated that it can not be fixed. This is a dangerous problem that needs to be addressed because if I lose control of my vehicle because of loss of fluid in the power steering system, I could end up in on-coming traffic and cause a horrific accident posssibly resulting in death. After months of them trying to fix it, I finally said enough. I called the factory after trying to talk to the general manager of the dealership, who would not cooperate, and ask them to buy it back. I was offered a new one but refused because they said they are having trouble with all of them. And I don't want to move South to solve this problem. I think there needs to be a recall on these vehicles because of the safety issue. Currently, we are in the buy back mode and hope that someone else doesn't end up with this van because the state of Wyoming refuses to brand the title with a remark that it has been a lemon buy back. The transmission cooler lines on the radiator also leaked due to cold weather. The tail lights were falling off and a part was missing from assembly at the factory.

- Cheyenne, WY, USA

problem #1

Feb 162003

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,050 miles
On Feb 16 my wife lost the power stearing on our 2002 Dodge grand carrivan [minni-van] on 17 Feb 03 I called the garage that sold us the van and discribed the problem. They { service mang.] told me on the phone that I probley had a broken power stearing hose. I had the van towed to the garage and they made more statements of a large number of these hoses brakeing in the cold weather. It has been extreamly cold in Maine the past week or so -20 to -30 degrees. The service manager stated that there was no recall on this. I can not belive that chreysler has not put out a recall on this. Number one this is a sudden loss of power stearing witch could put me in danger of haveing a accident. How about the 97 pound weekln who could not control a mini van with on pwoerstearing!! there is also a danger of fire if the power stearing fluid is in contact with the exhaust. As far as I know the repalcement hose is of the same matareal as the old hose and is just a little longer. Will some one from your office be in contact with me ? I wouls like to know what the great white farther in Washington is doing to protect me from the money hungry corps. That pray on my trust. Thank you

- Medway, ME, USA

Not what you are looking for?