Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,247 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Dodge Grand Caravan steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments

problem #17

Feb 122015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 159,200 miles


I was driving when my car just turn off, I turn back on whit no problem and time later passes again, sometimes turn off 2 or 3 times a day and sometimes work fine, the computer shows no code, and I change many thing trying to fix it, spark plugs, relay fuel pump, spark plug wires, relay starter. I went whit the mechanic for check the fuel pump and is good. Don't know what else to do. I hope you can help me. Thanks.

- San Pablo, CA, USA

problem #16

Oct 012012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Whenever it rains, in portland Oregon, that is all the time, the power steering goes out. You can hear the belt slipping and all the electrical warnings go on. This is an accident waiting to happen. Due to the dangers of this problem, we will not drive this vehicle when it is or has been raining.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #15

Sep 082009

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
I entered cooling system problems, ABS braking, steering, window motors and entire rusting under carraige.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #14

Dec 032010

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 98,800 miles


The power steering has gone on my 2002 Dodge Caravan sport and an estimated 500 dollars is needed to fix it. It has under 99,000 miles.

- Auburn Hills, MI, USA

problem #13

Jul 192009

Grand Caravan

  • 98,500 miles
The power steering on our 2002 Dodge Grand Caravan has failed during operation on 3 occasions. The first time was on a trip to providence ri where the reservoir failed on the highway. We reached our destination with great difficulty, as steering was virtually impossible -- my wife would not have been able to turn the wheel. The pump had been repaired in 2007. On this occasion, the seals and rack were replaced for $800. Since that time, the power steering has drained completely as a result of a broken hose and broken seals. This happened in November 2009 and January 2010. The hose was fixed in November for 150. The broken seals/hose are currently under repair. I understand from our mechanic that this is a common problem for this automobile due to poor design.

- West Hartford, CT, USA

problem #12

Aug 012008

Grand Caravan

  • 109,000 miles
Twice earlier this year I had two power steering hoses blow out on me while driving. Had to make an emergency pull-over and have vehicle towed.

- Middletown, PA, USA

problem #11

Nov 152007

Grand Caravan

  • 72,000 miles


Power steering failed while I was in the middle of a turn, pulling me into a pickup truck and "totaling" my 2002 Dodge grandcaravan beyond insured recovery. Note: I had power steering cooling hose replaced as instructed in 2004 recall.

- Glenside, PA, USA

problem #10

May 012004

Grand Caravan 12-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact noticed puddles of liquid on the garage floor where his vehicle was parked. When he took it for maintenance he discussed the issue with his local mechanic who advised the contact to take the vehicle to the dealer. The dealer confirmed that the steering box was leaking and performed the repair. Thirteen months later, the steering box began leaking for the second time. However, the dealership advised the contact that the vehicle was no longer under warranty and he would be liable for the cost of the repair. The contact had the vehicle repaired at the time. The vehicle currently experiencing additional leaking, but has not been diagnosed. The original failure mileage was 17,000 and the second failure was in 6/2005 with a failure mileage of 24,000. The current failure was at 47,000.

- East Hartford, CT, USA

problem #9

Jan 012007

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the steering wheel has a tendency to lock while driving between 1 and 60 mph. He stated that there was a U-joint at the end of the steering column that freezes and causes the steering wheel to lock. The failure occurs each time the vehicle is in motion. The dealer stated that this was the first time they heard of this defect and there were no recalls available. The failure mileage was 70,000 and current mileage was 80,000. Updated 02-25-08 updtated

- Bluford, IL, USA

problem #8

Apr 152005

Grand Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,545 miles
Power steering was locking in cold weather during initial start up. First reported 4/05, dealer stated it was caused by problem with hoses which have a recall, recall performed, and vehicle returned. (not fixed), returned vehicle again a few days later, they verified problem still and replaced power steering pump to low pressure". I thought it was fixed. However, sine the problem only occurred in cold weather through the summer it was fine until early December again the problem was back but even worse, this time it was also happening while driving. Returned vehicle to dealer "of course it was now out of manufacture warranty", however dealer agreed to fix problem since it had prior history. They verified problem by service manager and mechanic the day I brought it in, however they were not able to duplicate the problem again. They had my van for 3 weeks, during this time they didn't know what they were going to do with it but were not going to give it back to the safety issue. I even tried to get Chrysler involved and they never called me back even though I left several messages and was promised a call back. Finally the dealer decided to replace the front steering rack. I got it back, it was fine for 4 days and problem is still there. I called the dealer and they said they didn't know what to do, and would leave a message for the service manager who was handling my case. It has now been 4 days and no return call. Meantime im driving around and unsafe car, paying over $600 a month. Im very upset there isn't more that can be done against these companies putting lives at risk.

- Hillsboro, OR, USA

problem #7

Jan 182005

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles


Problem with steering for two years. The dealer has replaced lower power steering hose, power steering pump and rack and pinion. The dealer also replaced the two upper power return hoses and install a longer power steering hose.

- Mission, TX, USA

problem #6

Dec 152002

Grand Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,000 miles
I have had numerouse problems with the veh since it was purchased new, May 2002. Veh has a rough idle while stopped in gear, dealer states they are waiting for a computer update. To date still have problem. Problem with starter, same grinds on first start in extreme cold weather. Dealer replaced 2 starters and flywheel. Problem with trans, hard bang felt when slowing up between 8-5 mph. Said problem is intermittant and dealer has not driven veh long enough to get condition. Dealer has replaced numerous parts of trans, problem still exist. Car has been in several times for power steering leak and vibration. Numerous parts replaced. I have contacted Chrysler and spoke with the district manager and advised him of all the complaints with veh and problems that still exist. I told him I did not want the veh. He advised me he would look into my file and call me back.its been two months and I have left him several messages and he still has not returned my calls. His name is victor rosario. Chrysler has left me no choice but to file the lemon law. As of today I am waiting for a hearing date too be set.

- Croton, NY, USA

problem #5

Jun 162003

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,153 miles
On 6/11/03 vehicle was making power steering noises & auto dr locks wouldn't lock at 15 mph. Replaced power hose, hose clamp & oil trans. Informed I needed new brakes (22, 153 miles & didn't req that they do this when I arrived at shop). 7/2/03 took van in 'cause left rear (driver side) speaker caught on fire while at a gas pump. While at gas pump w/2 of our 4 kids in the car. Brakes that were just replaced prev month were squeaking as well as the steering again. (dealer-brakes squeak 'cause they are metal & there is air in the steering line). 9/23/03 van battery blew up when started. Replaced battery. 12/3/03 steering making noise during turns. Replaced both sway bars links. 12/29/03 steering is very tight & shuddering again & auto lock button on key chain won't work. Ordered new power steering rack & resevoir. Then on 1/6/04 tach spiked at 4K, vehicle lost power & engine light came on while on expressway w/my baby in the car. Determination was the transmission solenoid assy failure & replaced the same. This cost me $107 (would have cost more if I wasn't given an extended warranty for fire I had). 1/19/04 van was giving a burn smell from under the hood along with smoke. They found A/C compressor clutch shorting in coil. A/C compressor replaced & recharged. 2/5/04 vehicle taken for the last time for loud popping sound under the dr's ft area when turning left. All suspension parts tightened. Next visit is req'd by the fl lemon law to give them 1 more chance before paperwork can be filed. Done on 3/8/04 for steering noise when stopped & just turning wheel. Replaced pt that was replaced before: Power steering pump resevoir. Paperwork filed for Florida lemon law on 4/5/04, unsave vehicle & fear for safety of family.

- Brandon, FL, USA

problem #4

Mar 092002

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Consumer complained about a ball joint problem. She took vehicle to repair shop about 20 times because it was making noises and squeaking while driving. Mechanic could not resolve the problem. The dealer replaced many components related to the front end noise. The air bag light was illuminated. The technician determined that there was an open circuit. The technician replaced the passenger side air bag. The driver's seat belt had internal damage which made it difficult to buckle and unbuckle the seat belt. The consumer stated that there was a noise coming from the left front wheel. The technician determined that the front pads were worn and the rotor were grooved. The technician replaced the front pads and resurfaced the rotors. The inner tie rod was loose and caused the steering to make noise. The technician replaced the gear assembly.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #3

Jan 032002

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,000 miles
I am having problem with my 2002 Dodge Grand Caravan steering wheel. The steering wheel has a rubbing noise, binding, vibration, wandering and play in steering. I have taken the van for repair at maroone Dodge in pembroke pines, fl. The dealer has told me on seven separate occasions that there is nothing they can do about the problem.

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #2

Jul 202003

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
In 2002 I purchased a new Dodge Grand Caravan sport. The vehicle has been in my possession just under a year and has approx. 20,800 miles on it.this vehicle has already had 2 major repairs to systems that affect the safety of the vehicle. 1. power steering hose recall 2. transmission pump failure. In addition to these repairs there was also an extended warranty placed on the A/C unit because it is expected to fail, replacement of the stereo and repeated repairs to the front carpet pulling out at the corners. The carpet has been "fixed" however now the emergency brake assembly is protruding on the driver floorboard.

- Patterson, CA, USA

problem #1

May 302002

Grand Caravan

  • 3,000 miles
After making a left or right turn the vehicles steering wheel did not return to center and as a result the vehicle hit a curve. While the driver depressed the gas pedal there was a delay in acceleration. Once gas pedal caught the vehicle jumped forward.

- Lexington, MA, USA

Not what you are looking for?