Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
86,773 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Grand Caravan accessories - exterior problems

accessories - exterior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 15 of 15)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Jun 052008

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 32,327 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan. On June 5, 2008, the door lock failed. When the contact pressed the lock button, the alarm sounded; however, the doors did not lock. The hatchback door is the only door that locks. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on June 25, 2008 and the dealer reprogrammed the remote system; however, the failure was not corrected. The vehicle will be taken back to the dealer. The failure and current mileages were 32,327. Updated 09/29/08. The dealer replaced the computer board. There have been no other problems. Updated 09/29/08.

- Middlesex, NJ, USA

problem #18

Jun 082008

Grand Caravan

  • 79,517 miles
The electronic locks on my van suddenly stopped working. I researched, found many similar cases - one suggested we disconnect the battery and reconnect - locks worked for 1 day then stopped again. I am taking it do the dealer tomorrow but will be cautious about the repairs they suggest.

- Farmers Branch, TX, USA

problem #17

Jun 252008

Grand Caravan

  • 55,000 miles
Power door locks do not work at all resulting in a safety issue with children.

- Savona, NY, USA

problem #16

Jun 192008

Grand Caravan

  • 70,000 miles


I have a 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan and the power doors/power locks have failed. The tailgate still works, however, without the power locks there is no way to lock it. Due to the number of complaints in this system as well as the number or complaints on the internet, this is obviously a manufacture/engineering defect that must be addressed. I called Dodge about the problem and the told me that I'd have to pay a $69 diagnostic fee before they could tell me what was wrong and how much it would cost. I really do not want to give Dodge of my hard earned money for something that I, and countless others, believe that Dodge should correct without hesitation and without charge. Please take this matter seriously and do the right thing by recommending a recall to fix this problem.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #15

Jun 192008

Grand Caravan

  • 34,417 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that all of the power door locks were inoperative. He took the vehicle to the dealer and they stated that it was a common failure with his year, make, and model vehicle. The BCM software would have to be repaired at the cost of $130. The vehicle has not been repaired. The manufacturer would not provide any assistance because there was no recall for this component. The failure and current mileages were 34,417.

- Erda, UT, USA

problem #14

May 262008

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Power door locks quit working. I read that there is a software fix for this, but I can't afford to do this. I have read lots of complaints on this issue and think this should be a recall do to safety matter.

- Orange Park, FL, USA

problem #13

Apr 012008

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles


The power locks on my 2005 Grand Caravan stopped working. I researched the problem found a lot of people with the same problem! I'm told I can have new software put in to correct the problem. With as many complaints as I found...shouldn't this be a recall"?"

- Andover, MN, USA

problem #12

Jun 042008

Grand Caravan

  • 46,300 miles
The automatic power door locks suddenly fail to work. The doors can not be locked/unlocked with the door switch or the remote key. The doors fail to lock after approaching a 18mph speed also. It is stated in the owners manual that this is a safety feature on the vehicle. I understand from several other reports of the same problem, that there is a software update, but Dodge is not correcting this problem without a significant charge. This is a safety feature that is failing to operate, therefore I believe, along with many others that this vehicle should be recalled to correct to problem.

- Waconia, MN, USA

problem #11

May 122008

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
My 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan automatic door locks are inoperative. Vehicle has apx 45,000 miles. I've noticed per internet provided vehicle complaint sites that this is a high volume problem, and serious safety concern.

- Mountain Home, ID, USA

problem #10

May 132008

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,721 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan. The power locks in the vehicle are no longer functioning. The keyless remote also will not lock or unlock the vehicle; therefore, it can only be manually locked and unlocked. The vehicle will also not lock when it is placed into drive. The contact did not notice any differences in the vehicle prior to the failure. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealer. The current and failure mileages were 30,721. Updated 06/25/08. The consumer stated the only way to unlock the door is using the driver side door and the unlocking it from the inside manually. Updated.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #9

Apr 152008

Grand Caravan

  • miles


Dodge Grand Caravan 2005, door locks not working. There have been many complaints on this and needs to be recalled. I have 15,000 miles and have read that you pull the fuse and put it back in. This works for a short time.

- Blue Bell, PA, USA

problem #8

Feb 022008

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
Electric locks fail and disable the electric doors, automatic locking, and key fog locking and unlocking. The doors fail to lock at 20mph, therefore you think your doors are locked and they are not. Also, pressing the fob. Sounds the horn, blinks lights, but doors are not locked, although you think they are. This is a software problem in the BCM, they have a tsb for it, but refuse to fix it because warranty has expired. This is faulty software at manuf, and a safety issue, Chrysler should stand behind their own mistakes and safety issues.

- Leander, TX, USA

problem #7

Feb 182008

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,001 miles
Power door lock failure - 5th occurrence. Just took vehicle to car wash and within 1 hour the locks stopped responding to remote and door switches. Car has exhibited power door lock failure twice each year since purchased by current owner. Dealers have reprogrammed/replaced BCM a couple of times. On this occasion, the dealer did not provide information on how the locks were reset other than to say the locks were reset. Would like to know procedure to save on further trips to dealer. This is a safety issue as the car is only equipped with key locks on driver's door and rear liftgate. Any type of fire, flood, or emergency requiring quick evac would result in tragic loss.

- Northborough, MA, USA

problem #6

Jan 012008

Grand Caravan 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,400 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan. The front driver side window will not go up or down. Also, the electrical system (locking system) does not work. The key has to be manually inserted to unlock or lock the door. The sliding doors are no longer working properly and occasionally become stuck and cannot be opened at all. Water is entering through the front passenger side door handle and creating puddles of water in the vehicle. The warranty expired and the contact was informed that the repair was his responsibility. The purchase date was unknown. The current mileage was 54,424 and failure mileage was 54,400. Updated 02-06-08. The consumer stated he had the vehicle repaired at the cost of $421.56 for locks and windows and obtained an estimate for the sliding van doors at the tune of $773.38. Updated 02/06/08

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #5

Apr 152007

Grand Caravan

  • miles
I have a 2005 Caravan and recently, we've had nothing but problems with the computer. The power door locks have quit working, either with the remote or manually. I have taken it to the dealer to reprogram it and it only resolved the problem for about 3 days. I find it unacceptable to continue to pay for a repair that does not fix the problem.

- Aurora, OH, USA

problem #4

Nov 102007

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
On Dodge 2005 Grand Caravan there is design flaw in the electric door locks that causes the electric door locks to quit working. The only alternative left to access the car from the outside is the driver side key or the tailgate key. The only alternative left from the inside is to manually push or lift the lock stem on each door. This is a serious problem for children and elderly passengers as they are not able to do manage the locks from the inside. From the outside a person must open the driver door with a key, then crawl to the passenger door to unlock it, if you can grasp the stem an pull it up. In an emergency situation this limited access could result in delayed entrance which could lead to injury or death. There is no way to know if the door locks or working or not. The failure is random and can only be temporarily worked around by resetting the programming by removing and re-inserting a fuse that can be accessed only via the engine compartment. This failure has occurred four times on my vehicle. A search of forums on reveals numerous other affected owners. Dodges only offered solution is to reset the programming which is only a temporary fix. Due to the limited non-electric access to the vehicle and the potential for children/elderly to be trapped, this is a serious problem that the manufacturer, Dodge, should repair at no charge.

- Wake Forest, NC, USA

problem #3

Aug 012007

Grand Caravan 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan. The power lock controls worked intermittently. The failure occurred with the key pad and the controls in the passenger compartment. The dealer stated that they could perform an electrical upgrade. The cause of the failure was unknown. The failure mileage was 29,000 and current mileage was 33,034. Updated 01-15-08. Updated 12/12/07.

- Greensborough , NC, USA

problem #2

Sep 202007

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
Within the past 2 months, I have had a problem with the power door locks on my 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan. The power door locks suddenly stop working (unable to lock doors with switch inside vehicle, with remote, or once vehicle is in motion and reaches 20mph). I have contacted the dealers in the area and they are unaware of any recall for this problem. The only so-called remedy I've found for this issue is unplugging the car battery for a few minutes, however, this only "fixes" the problem for the day up to a week.

- Andrews, TX, USA

problem #1

Aug 012007

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles
Electronic door locks failed to engage locks. Lock verification signaled lights and horn indicating the locks were engaged. As a result of the failure the van was entered illegally and property was stolen. This was also a safety issue when the electronic locking system did not disengage from the controls in the van. This resulted in the inability to remove 3 children from the van quickly in an emergency situation. The body control module (BCM) has been reset several times to correct the problem. The reset only lasts for a few days before the problem repeats itself.

- Portage, WI, USA

Not what you are looking for?