Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.3

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,972 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Grand Caravan accessories - exterior problems

accessories - exterior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #34

Apr 152014

Grand Caravan

  • 124,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the entire door latching system failed and the steering wheel emitted a loud whining noise. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The dealer stated the door latches needed to be reprogrammed and the power steering fluid needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 124,000. Updated 6/24/15

- Auburn , CA, USA

problem #33

Aug 152011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,117 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the automatic door locks failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who reprogrammed the door locks. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 77,117. Updated 10/14/11 updated 10/21/11

- Newport News , VA, USA

problem #32

Aug 092009

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the automatic door locks were inoperable on both front and rear doors. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where they informed the contact that a software update was available to correct the failure but would be at the expense of the owner. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Duluth, GA, USA

problem #31

Jun 082010

Grand Caravan

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that when attempting to use the key fob to lock or unlock the doors, the doors would not respond and the lights would not function. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop where several fuses were replaced but the failure recurred. The vehicle was then taken to an authorized dealer where an actuator for the sliding doors was replaced but the failure recurred shortly after the contact retrieved the vehicle from the dealer. The failure mileage was 80,000 and the current mileage was 94,000.

- Salt Lake City, UT, USA

problem #30

Apr 022005

Grand Caravan

  • 9,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the brakes have been repaired five times. The rotors have been turned once and replaced twice two months ago. When the complaint was filed, the rotors needed to be replaced again. The dealer stated that the failures are caused by "faulty" driving. Chrysler has not been contacted. The air conditioner malfunctioned three times and was repaired. Every season the air conditioner malfunctions. The rear hoses were replaced twice along with the compressor. The power locks on all of the doors were defective. The passengers were unable to open the door although the door locks were in the unlocked position. The passenger front windows started making a clanging noise when it was opened and that was repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 9,000. The current mileage was approximately 83,000.

- Johnson City , NY, USA

problem #29

Jul 052009

Grand Caravan

  • 0 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan. The electrical power door locks are inoperative. The contact has to manually lock and unlock the doors. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, and a technician reset the system at an expense of $85. The repair did not remedy the failure. The vehicle identification number and the mileages were unknown.

- Martinez, CA, USA

problem #28

Aug 272008

Grand Caravan

  • 77,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan has 77000 miles on it. Last week I found out that the power door locks does not work. By doing an online search it seams like a large number of Dodge Grand Caravan owners are experiencing this issue. I feel like this is a safety issue because it is not easy to lock/unlock doors specially when you have young children.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #27

Feb 242008

Grand Caravan

  • 50,000 miles
2005 Dodge Caravan automatic locks do not work correctly which allows a child to unlock the doors.

- Clermont, FL, USA

problem #26

May 162007

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Caravan. While the vehicle was not in motion, the contact noticed that the interior door lock module would not operate. This malfunction affected all of the other doors as well. In addition, the automatic instant key lock device that activates while driving has not been operating. The vehicle has not been taken to an authorized dealer and has not been repaired. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 60,000 and current mileage was 67,000. Updated 07/10/08.

- Sewickley, PA, USA

problem #25

Apr 202008

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,700 miles
I have a 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan. It has power door locks. The locks will not operate from inside the vehicle or from the keychain. Not being able to lock and unlock this vehicle makes it very difficult with two young children. The safety feature that locks the doors when the vehicle is going over 18 mph is also not working. The only doors that has key unlock are the driver door and the rear door. I have found a website that has many others with the same problem. This should be recalled. Please look at this website, and help us get this fixed. www.carcomplaints.com/Dodge/Caravan/2005/electrical/power_door_locks_quit_working.shtml.

- Pottsville, AR, USA

problem #24

Apr 072008

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power door lock failure - 6th occurrence. Vehicle door lock switches / remote unit fail to operate door locks. This is the second occurrence this year. Safety issue as Chrysler outfitted vehicle with only a drivers side key-operated door lock. All other locks are controlled electronically. Safety concern is at time of vehicle crash, doors must be manually unlocked. Children in the back may not know how to unlock the car manually since children are used to automatic controls. Called Chrysler on 4/7/08. Chrysler refused to acknowledge that this is an ongoing problem with their vehicles, or that safety is somehow impacted by this failure.

- Northborough, MA, USA

problem #23

Jul 102007

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
The power door locks on my 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan stopped working at about 67,000 miles. I've had a mechanic look at it and he can't figure it out. I have found many complaints about the same problem in online forums and decided if this is a widespread problem then Dodge ought to do something to fix it. No power door locks is a safety issue!

- Stillwater, OK, USA

problem #22

Mar 182008

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles
Auto-locks stopped working on Dodge Grand Caravan xt 2005.

- Highland Mills, NY, USA

problem #21

Jan 012008

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
2005 Dodge Grand Caravan. Electric locks fail. This involves safety, as the doors are supposed to lock automatically at a predetermined speed. They fail both manually, remotely and from obtaining the speed required. The dealer tells me this is a software problem, and they have a tsb to correct it, but it costs $90 I would think that if a software update is required, that means that the software was not working properly at manufacture, and it should be covered by the factory. They say that because the miles are over warranty, it costs. But software updates indicate that it wasn't done properly in the first place, and it does affect safety by not locking the doors. Simply removing the iod fuse and reinserting it resets the computer and the locks perform normally and then fail again. When I buy windows program, all updates are free, because they re updated to solve problems.

- Lago Vista, TX, USA

problem #20

Feb 262008

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,300 miles
On or around Feb 26 I discovered that the auto door locks were not working nor was I able to unlock or lock my doors from the inside with the inside lock switch. If my wife was trying to outrun an assailant she would not be able to unlock or lock the doors automatically when seconds could be crucial. Not to mention the fact that the lights flash with using the remote errantly indicating that the doors were locked. At this point I have'nt fixed the problem but I understand that Dodge has an update fix. This should be a recall.

- Winnsboro, SC, USA

problem #19

Jan 122008

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,514 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan. While attempting to exit the vehicle, the pneumatic device used to lock and unlock the doors would not work. The contact attempted to lock the doors manually, but was unsuccessful. The dealer stated that she needed to purchase software to install in the vehicle. The vehicle has not been repaired. The current and failure mileages were 52,514. Update 05/13/08

- Guyton, GA, USA

problem #18

Dec 232007

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,500 miles
(1) loss of battery power. (2) resulted in failure of power door locks to operate. (3) manufacture technical service bulletin 08-040-04 calls for re-programming of body control module due to updated software to correct the know failure. Known software related issue.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #17

Jan 042008

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,400 miles
Electric door locks stop working. Have to manually push down locks on all 4 doors. Remote keyfob also does nothing to lock/unlock. Have had to disconnect battery terminals to force a reset each time, then locks start working.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #16

Nov 232007

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,900 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan. Both sliding doors would not latch when closed. The mechanic stated that the motors failed and that both motors needed to be replaced. No repairs were made. The failure mileage was 49,900 and the current mileage was 51,940. Updated 02-14-08. The consumer stated the sliding doors opened while the vehicle was in motion. Updated

- Ravia , OK, USA

problem #15

Nov 092007

Grand Caravan

  • 45,000 miles
The power locks on the vehicle stopped operating. We were on a shopping trip out of town. Stopped in auto service center, not Dodge, and they reset the codes. The locks worked for about a month and then stopped again. Happened to be back in the same town and stopped at the same auto repair shop and they reset the codes again. Now less than a month, the locks have stopped working again. It is a pain, as we Transport our grandchildren all the time and some are not old enough to lock and unlock the doors manually.

- Seattle, WA, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?