Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,619 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Grand Caravan suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments

problem #10

Nov 012014

Grand Caravan

  • miles


The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving 25 mph, the front driver side rotor fractured from the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the front driver side rotor, struts, and hub needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred on the front passenger side of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken back to the independent mechanic who diagnosed that the front passenger side rotor, struts, and hub needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Detriot , MI, USA

problem #9

Jun 022013

Grand Caravan

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that a loud noise emitted outside of the vehicle while driving approximately 25 mph. Upon completing a turn, the vehicle began to wobble violently as the passenger's side of the vehicle slightly collapsed to the ground. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic, who stated that the front axle was fractured and the frame was completely rusted. The axle was replaced. In addition, the brakes would not respond whenever depressed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 83,000.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #8

May 112012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 111,000 miles
I have an SXT version of this minivan. While replacing the disc pads I found that the parking brake cable on the rear driver side is worn almost in two. I checked several of my neighbors vehicles and found only the SXT versions with the rear sway bar seem to be affected. The SE version did not have a rear sway bar. The parking brake cable is routed between the fuel tank and the sway bar and it rubs on the sway bar with any movement of the vehicle. This will cause two problems; 1) the parking brake will fail or only be applied to one side. If the vehicle is raised on the passenger side and the parking brake has failed and the wheels are not blocked, the vehicle could roll off of the jack. 2) the severed part of the parking brake cable could damage the wheel brake line and cause it to rupture resulting in total loss of all brakes.

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #7

Sep 302010

Grand Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,943 miles


The contact owns 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan. While the contact was driving approximately 5 mph attempting to park, the steering wheel began to vibrate when making a turn. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where they replaced the steering rack and the inner tie rod ends. In addition, on a different occasion the vehicle exhibited an extremely loud rattling noise coming from the front end of the vehicle and an independent mechanic replaced the sway bar end links and bushings to correct the failure. The failure mileage was 42,943. Updated 03/16/11 updated 04/27/11

- Newark , DE, USA

problem #6

Mar 082008

Grand Caravan

  • 30,000 miles
Bad noises from steering column and right front suspension.

- Maimi, FL, USA

problem #5

Jun 042007

Grand Caravan

  • 30,150 miles
At about 12,000 our 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan developed a thumping/binding in the steering/front axle. We had it in several times during the warranty period for the same problem; both axles were replaced and the steering column was replaced also, yet the thumping/binding never truly went away. Shortly outside the comprehensive warranty period, the right front axle broke. Fortunately it was in a parking lot, not on the highway. The right axle was replaced, but now the thumping/binding is back just like it was when we first started pursuing getting the problem fixed. The van only has 30,300 miles on it.

- Port St Lucie, FL, USA

problem #4

May 092004

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan. After purchasing the vehicle, it began to shift out of gear. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer over ten times, but they could not duplicate the failure. The issue occurred whenever there was an incline in the road. The contact expressed extreme concern for the defect and the manufacturer informed her that they would not repair the vehicle for free. The most recent failure occurred while driving 50 mph. The current mileage was 51,000 and failure mileage was less than 100. Updated 05/13/08 the transmission slipped out of gear, T went from drive to neutral. There was also a rattling noise when the vehicle was in reverse. It took several tries to get the vehicle out of reverse. The rattling noise was due to the sway bar being broken. Updated 05/13/08

- Taneytown, MD, USA

problem #3

Dec 262005

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles
I had purchased my vehicle December 26, 2004. I am the not-so-proud owner of a 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan SE. There were 20 K(give or take a thous miles) miles on it when I purchased it, and it currently has just shy of 79K. All of the listed complaints have happened since owning the vehicle for 3 months or less... 1---when I purchased the lemon, I heard a thudding sound, while driving (coming from the front driver wheel well side). I was assured that this was road noise. I persisted something was wrong, on the 3rd attempt, they had tighted/replaced a "sway bushing" (forgive me I think that is what it was called). I didn't hear the noise for a couple of days and it returned. I had brought it in about 3 additional times to 2 different dealers, finally telling me they can not duplicate the problem, their suggestion to be was to turn up the radio!! out of pure it gets on my !@#$ nerves attitude, took it to another place I 6/07, and replaced the struts and shocks....still hear the thudding....2.5 years after initial complaint! 2----my headlights most of the time, do not come on. Or if you are driving at night, they go off without is this safe for me and my family...again could not duplicate. 3----my wipers rub funny while in use, which finally caused my back wiper to just not work on 7/4/2005. I go thru an unreasonable pairs of window wipers---once again, could not duplicate. This repair is still on the back burner for me to fix. 4--had to replace the egr valve to pass inspection/emissions....what about 7/70? 5-rust! I have several rust bubbles coating my white mini-van like a young child coming of age!

- Mount Pleasant, PA, USA

problem #2

Sep 142006

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles
Bought my 2005 Grand Caravan in July 2006 with 39,000 miles on it. At 41,000 had the sway bar bushings replaced, covered by dealership warranty. This is the third Caravan that I have owned since 2001 and every one has had the same problem.

- Franklin, VT, USA

problem #1

Nov 032006

Grand Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
Reference to case with sway bar bushing problem ref. Number 10173990. I had the same problem with my 2005 Grand Caravan with 25000 miles on it. I took it to the dealer and they repaired it no problem at no cost. Then on 23 Nov 2006 my van just died. Battery was dead. Would not jump start at all. Towing service could not jump start it either and said something major was wrong. They towed to dealer in shreveport on flat bed where they said the battery was bad. But the good news they said it was all covered under warranty. And they also told me everything from front bumper to rear bumper is 100 percent covered under the warranty for the first 3 years/36,000 miles. So I don't understand why the dealers are so inconsistent is warranty repairs. It states in the manual what is and is not covered and to sum that up anything that shows any sign if hitting a hazard in the road is not covered. Maybe we should start a class action here.

- Bossier City, LA, USA

Not what you are looking for?