Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,992 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Grand Caravan seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments

problem #15

Jun 272011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles


On 6/27/11 the air bags deployed in our 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan for no reason while the vehicle was being driven at about 25 mph. The driver had minor injuries. Chrysler has refused to repair the vehicle at their cost and have given us a repair quote of about $4000. Chrysler told us that the airbag warning light was on for 250 driving hours before the incident, but that is completely false. They will not release the report to us. At this point, the vehicle has not yet been repaired. After the incident, we were told about a previous airbag recall on some 2006 Grand Caravan. After the incident, the 2008 Grand Caravan were also recalled for unexpected airbag deployment. Also the steering gear was leaking and had to be replaced. Also, the battery was replaced. Updated 10/25/11

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #14

Feb 152011

Grand Caravan

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostics. The technicians stated that the air bag sensor was corroded and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 10V008000 (air bags:frontal:sensor/control module) that could have been related to the failure but the contact was advised by the manufacturer that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000.

- Jacksonville, AR, USA

problem #13

Jul 172011

Grand Caravan

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that while driving approximately 25 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated and the front air bags deployed unexpectedly. As a result, the contact sustained minor injuries from the knee to the lower leg area. The air bag malfunction occurred without any impact to the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where an independent inspector examined the vehicle. The preliminary diagnostic report indicated that the failure was related to the electronic control module and was not due to a manufacturer's defect. Also, the computer detected that the air bag warning indicator illuminated for over two hundred and fifty driving hours. The contact stated that the warning light was illuminated for no longer than five minutes, and the information in the preliminary report was false, in regards to the operational hours of the air bag warning light. After three weeks, the vehicle was still in the possession of the dealer. The failure mileage was 55,000. Uypdated 09/16/11 updated 2/10/12

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #12

Feb 082011

Grand Caravan

  • 80,198 miles


On February 8, 2011 while driving in the rain my 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan airbag light came on. On February 14, 2011 I read online about NHTSA campaign id# 10V008000 and NHTSA action # RQ09003 that stated this problem would be covered by Chrysler free of cost. On February 17,2011 I took the vehicle to Dodge for this to be fixed and they stated M VIN was not one of the vins covered by the safety campaign so I had to pay $225 to have the front airbag crash sensor and wiring leading up to the senor replaced.

- Brookfield, MA, USA

problem #11

Dec 112010

Grand Caravan

  • 5,089 miles
Back rear window imploded for the second time(first time 2009, second time 2010), nobody seems to have an answer for why this happens other than it was cold and snowy outside so the weather must have caused this to occur, (that is what they say) my family was in the van in the driveway getting ready to leave so I know for a fact that "nothing" went thru the window just a major defect of Dodge. Numerous issues with this van starting when van had 5000 miles, air bag sensor on, sliding doors do not work properly, loud sound from engine, tie rods need replaced for third time, control arm broke, locks make a whiny sound, check service engine light on told 3 times that we needed new spark plugs. Really at 30,000 miles. We changed them, light still on today. After an inspection of van now dealer sates that the alternator, water pump, serpentine belt, egv valve, valve gasket, all needs replaced and the light on had nothing to do with spark plugs, go figure. I have sent dealership and Chrysler letters in regards to my safety concerns. This would be my fourth time calling chyrsler about major issues. They lack customer service and nothing ever done. We purchased new and van is now 5 years old with same and new problems since 5000 miles, now has 77,000. I will not be purchasing a Dodge van again!!

- Bucyrus, OH, USA

problem #10

Jul 252010

Grand Caravan

  • 55,000 miles
2006 Dodge Grand Caravan rear ended a car parked at the stop light. The airbags didn't deploy. The driver suffered injuries because her head hit the steering wheel. The crash was almost straight on. If the airbags would have deployed there would have not been any injuries like she is suffering now. There has never been any modifications made to the van, it is the same as when we bought it brand new.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #9

Mar 042010

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles


Passenger airbag warning light comes on periodically.

- Long Valley, NJ, USA

problem #8

Feb 162010

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
I own a 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan SXT that I bought new. It has 54044 miles and the airbag warning light comes on the dash board. I researched the problem and found a recall for the airbag sensor dated 01/11/2010. I checked with Dodge, was told that my vehicle was not part of the recall, even though I'm experiencing the same problem listed in the airbag recall dated 01/11/2010. I live in upstate New York. My vehicle is exposed to road salt due to the large volume of snow we receive here. I'm not sure why my vehicle isn't covered under this recall.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #7

Feb 172010

Grand Caravan

  • 51,000 miles
The airbag light is on, I had it to a garage and they put it on there machine and determined it is the front sensor. I keep checking and they say this vehicle is not one of the 312 thousand that have the same problem.

- Verona, PA, USA

problem #6

Feb 262010

Grand Caravan

  • 87,276 miles
Airbag sensor in front of 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan failed (warning light went on) and had to be replaced. Mechanic said the sensor connections were corroded due to exposure to water. Called Dodge regarding current recall, which is for the exact same problem, but they say my vehicle isn't part of recall.

- Lino Lakes, MN, USA

problem #5

Jun 052009

Grand Caravan

  • 30,000 miles


Passenger weight sensor defective causing air bag to be active when underweight person or light object in seat. Air bag will discharge potentially causing injury to child or small adult or firing when not required.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #4

Jul 172009

Grand Caravan

  • 38,706 miles
I have a 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan SXT, red airbag light on the dash board and the dealer stated it was corroded terminals in connectors, needs right sensor and connector replaced. The vehicle has 38,706 miles on it. I see a new NHTSA action RQ09003. The cost of fixing this was $114.34 and I want it back. No old parts are available since I didn't think of it when I got it fixed.

- St. Cloud, MN, USA

problem #3

Jan 012008

Grand Caravan

  • 25,000 miles
Front passenger seat weight sensor. The passenger airbag off light, which lights up during car start-up sequence, does not light when seat is empty. Brought into royal gate Dodge, ballwin mo for service. Was told by the service manager the light did not illuminate by design and that it would only illuminate when there was weight (approx 10lbs - 40lbs) in the seat. No parts were replaced, no action taken by dealer to correct situation, no sensor check was accomplished. The defective sensor, which indicates there is sufficient weight in the seat to fire airbag, can cause serious consequences including the death. At the very least the bag would fire unnecessarily causing extensive repair costs to replace the bag and dash (likely a desirable result for the dealer). More importantly, if a smaller person or child is sitting in seat, serious injury could result. Specific date reported can be obtained from dealer. Date below very approximate.

- Creve Coeur, MO, USA

problem #2

Sep 162008

Grand Caravan

  • 35,000 miles
Low speed (around 15 miles per hour) front end collision resulted in deployment of driver side airbags. Knee airbag with hard plastic cover deployed against shins of driver, my wife. Within minutes of the accident she had sever bruising, swelling and pain. Within a few weeks, the skin and tissue on left leg turned black and required surgery to remove. A few days later she had a skin graft done. Six months later she continues to have significant issues with swelling, pain and circulation. Surgeon has now referred her to another specialist.

- Sparta, MI, USA

problem #1

Jan 232009

Grand Caravan

  • 32,618 miles
The 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan has 33,000 miles on it and had an airbag light come on. Thought the vehicle was still under warranty so brought it to a dealer for repair. The dealer said that the impact sensors had corroded and needed to be replaced. The vehicle's warranty had expired in November of 08. I felt that it was unusual for the sensors to go bad with so few miles that I started to inquire about it. I discovered NHTSA investigation number EA06003 and subsequent recall number 07V-192. These were not mentioned during the visit. I then had my fiance contact Chrysler's customer service to report this and get the van fixed. When they were asked to fix the van they stated that they would not cover costs. I feel that the recall / problem poses a serious safety risk since the airbags are not functioning. It seems to me that the recall involves more vehicle than Chrysler is owning up to, or they are not conforming to the original agreement in the action report mentioned above.

- Akron, OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?