Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,588 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Grand Caravan seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #26

Mar 202016

Grand Caravan

  • 162,180 miles


I was sitting at idle warming up my van and air bag light came on I tried clearing computer and light just came back on vehicle was stationary and has never been in an accident

- Bristol, CT, USA

problem #25

Jun 012015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact received a recall notification in June of 2015; however, the dealer placed the contact on a waiting list and stated that the part was not available for repair. The dealer did not know when the part would be available. The manufacturer was notified. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Olmsted, OH, USA

problem #24

Jun 242010

Grand Caravan

  • 64,155 miles
Our air bag light comes on after repeated, exact turns of the steering wheel. Has to do with the steering wheel clock spring. It only illuminates in temps over 70 degrees or so. We live in the desert of Arizona and have been excluded in previous recalls. We are afraid the air bags will not work properly in the event of a crash.

- Arizona City, AZ, USA

problem #23

Mar 042014

Grand Caravan

  • 80,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving various speeds, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the air bag sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Malimpa, OH, USA

problem #22

Jan 292014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
Driver side air bag warning light continually comes on for long and short periods of time. Most cases it stays on even after placing on seat belt. I believe the driver side air bag system is defective. This was on a previous recall a few years ago and corrected by the Dodge dealership. However, this warning light continues to stay on for five minutes or more and than goes out.

- Slidell, LA, USA

problem #21

Feb 112014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 121,000 miles
I was driving my 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan SE on the night of I02/11/2014 when a wrong-way driver hit me (head on collision). She turned right to get gasoline (note: Not to avoid us, did not know she was going wrong way until we hit her), and we hit her side door, tire area, and the vehicle bounced backwards. I had to push off the steering wheel to prevent my head from going thru the windshield, my father who was the passenger, hit his arm off the dashboard. The air bags did not deploy, which was the issue. The manufacturer was contacted, they looked at the car and said nothing is wrong with it and that the car would have to be crushed for the air bags to deploy, the air bags have been recalled before, which is a concern to me. When looking at the vehicle dash board, it does not appear that there is even a passenger air bag in place. My bumper had damage, a long with my head light, along with my hood. I was traveling about 40mph in a 45mph zone, as we were slowing down at a red light and when it turned green again I continued on. We had injuries of our neck and back as well as the drivers left foot, my wrist hurt from time to time and still somewhat does, from pushing off the wheel.updated 06/03/14 updated 06/06/2014

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #20

Feb 012013

Grand Caravan

  • 130,000 miles


To whom this may concern: I spoke with a Dodge customer service agent recently regarding an issue with my 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan, which I feel should be covered under Chrysler recall campaign J38 but, according to them, is not. The issue with my vehicle involves a cracked airbag sensor, which currently illuminates the airbag light and I suspect may not operate properly in a frontal crash. My local mechanic copied the recall notification for me and marked the information pertinent to my particular vehicle. He feels as though the necessary repairs to the airbag sensor should be covered under this recall campaign. According to the recall notification, "2005-2006 Dodge Grand Caravan built from January 19, 2005 through April 5, 2006" and originally sold or currently registered in certain states (to include Pennsylvania) are involved in this recall. The airbag light initially came on after driving through standing water, but would go off after a period of time. The light is now on constantly. Since my vehicle is currently registered in Pennsylvania, one of the states listed on the recall notification, and was built in December 2005, I believe the repairs should be covered under this recall. Since I purchased my vehicle used with 13,000 miles on it, I do not know where it was originally sold or registered. Please contact me when you have reviewed this information and can give me your informed decision about the repairs to my vehicle and any concern you have about the safety of my vehicle. I appreciate your time and effort.

- Monaca, PA, USA

problem #19

Jul 012013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles
2006 Dodge Grand Caravan. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle supplemental air bag sensor, which caused the air bag light to illuminate. The consumer stated the vehicle fit all the model specifications specified in the Chrysler customer satisfaction notification J38. However, Chrysler has not and will not include his vehicle in the recall. Chrysler was unable to explain, why his vehicle was not included in the recall. The consumer stated he purchased and installed the parts.

- Spencerport, NY, USA

problem #18

Dec 222011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 29,900 miles
My 2006 Grand Caravan has had problems almost since I bought it in 2007 (it had 18,000 miles when I bought it). It now only has 68,000 miles on it. My drivers side electric door does not operate when it is warm outside (29,000 miles). The passenger side axle broke and had to be replaced (65,000 miles). When it rains my power steering goes out periodically (65,000 miles). My engine light is on (haven't taken it in to check it yet) (66,000 miles) and now my airbag light is on (68,000 miles). Also I have replaced the battery and still have problems starting it. It clicks clicks clicks like a hundred times then eventually it starts.

- Bellflower , CA, USA

problem #17

Jul 012011

Grand Caravan

  • 36,871 miles
Air bag warning light is on. Horn does not work. Cruise works sometimes. Diagnosis is clock spring. Review of online info shows repeated clock spring recalls from late 1990S to early 2000S. Vehicle has less than 37,000 miles on it. Airbag is non-functional at this time, as is horn and cruise control, hence a safety issue.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #16

Dec 152010

Grand Caravan

  • 79,000 miles


I have 2 2006 Grand Caravan, both with about 80K miles. Both of the airbag lights came on at about the same time and they stay on. Checking the internet, Chrysler has issued recalls for over 300K 2005 and 2006 vehicles. I called Chrysler and one of the cars is covered and the other is not. The VIN is [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Burnsville, MN, USA

problem #15

Apr 012010

Grand Caravan

  • 29,500 miles
Airbag light indicating a system fault. 4/13/2010 dealer service dept, found failure of both front crash sensors and wiring connectors corroded. Both sensors and wiring needed replacement. Dealer advises they are not aware of any service bulletins or recall campaign for this problem.

- Camillus, NY, USA

problem #14

Jan 152010

Grand Caravan

  • 70,000 miles
Replaced battery and airbag light illuminated. The airbag fail light illuminates every time the car is started.

- Pickerington , OH, USA

problem #13

Mar 292010

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
I have a 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan VIN# [xxx]. the airbag warning light comes on and off. The car is no longer under warranty. I found a recall for this item but it does not include my state of fl. I am very concerned about my safety and of my kids. Will I be able to take my vehicle in for the current recall? information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Homestead, FL, USA

problem #12

Feb 012009

Grand Caravan

  • 20,000 miles
2006 Dodge Grand Caravan SXT..................airbag light on all the time. Had to the dealer four times........last time they said they replaced a part. Light came back on the next day and has been on ever since................several months ago. Am taking my grandchildren on a 2,000 trip June 1st and want it fixed by then, but looks like the recall won't even go out until June. From what I have read they have known about and were "investigating" this problem for several years. I have not had an accident, but if I do..........I want the airbag to work properly!!!

- Butler, MO, USA

problem #11

Apr 022009

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Airbag indicator stays on.

- Canfield, OH, USA

problem #10

Dec 302009

Grand Caravan

  • 93,000 miles
2006 Dodge Grand Caravan SXT 3.8 airbag sensor light on, but no deployment! same on my 2005 Town & Country van!!!!

- Hoffman Estates, IL, USA

problem #9

Dec 182009

Grand Caravan

  • 46,000 miles
My 2006 model year Dodge Grand Caravan has had the airbag light lit for several weeks now. I am aware that there was a recall on models through the 2005 year but from what I can find on the internet Chrysler will not replace the defective part on later models. This is a serious safety issue, given the fact that the airbags will not deploy in the event of a collision. It should be fixed at no cost to the consumer under a recall.

- Gallagher, WV, USA

problem #8

Oct 012008

Grand Caravan

  • 41,000 miles
My 2006 model year Dodge Grand Caravan has had the airbag light lit for several months now. The Dodge dealership in my area claims there was a recall for 2005 model year only, despite the fact that the 2006 model Grand Caravan is virtually identical to the 2005 model vehicle. My vehicle developed this airbag problem when it was only 2 years old. This is a serious safety issue, given the fact that the airbags will not deploy in the event of a collision. It should be fixed at no cost to the consumer under a recall.

- Utica, NY, USA

problem #7

Jul 292008

Grand Caravan

  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving 45 mph, the contact had to make a sudden sharp turn and crashed into a tree head on. None of the air bags deployed. The contact injured her eye, nose, and fractured one of her ribs. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealer. A police report was filed. The VIN was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 17,000.

- Woodsville, NH, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?