Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,626 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Grand Caravan steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #8

Nov 162006

Grand Caravan

  • 4,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the air conditioner became inoperative and had to be replaced. The power steering rack also had to be replaced due to a loud grinding noise that was heard coming from the steering column. In addition, the radiator fans would overheat and were replaced. The manufacturer did not assist. The failure mileage was 4,300 and current mileage was 58,000.

- Friendsville, PA, USA

problem #7

Apr 122009

Grand Caravan

  • 49,628 miles
I got up and went out to start the van and noticed a awful whining sound I took it to a garage and they told me that it was the rack and pinion I told them I just bought this van.they told me to take it back to the dealer and find out if there is a recall on it. He said this is a known problem for this van and the part is probably on back order. So my question is if it known for this problem why would a dealer sell me this van knowing I have a family of six. I did take it back to the dealer im still waiting for them to call me back and let me now what's going on. Sound like a big law suit waiting to happen if something isn't done and it causes a accident. What gets me is they sold this van to me with this existing problem. Van was bought in March 2009 mileage 49,628. They should have to start telling people about recalls or known problems on vehicles they are selling.

- Horseheads, NY, USA

problem #6

Mar 062008

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Maintained oil changes & at 14670 mi did 15000 mile service/maintenance kit; 3/6/08-20565 miles, leaking steering rack, under warranty, gear assembly power steering replaced & checked brakes for noise but no repair of them; 3/11/08-20740 miles, ses light is on & just replaced rack & pinion, cause=leak detection pump failure, pump natural vacuum leak detection, emissions, under warranty; 5/12/08-22282 miles, checked brakes for noise, replaced front brake pads & rotors, I paid & reflash for harsh 1-2 @/or 2-3 shift so reflashed PCM per tsb 21-018-07 for harsh shift, no charge but don't know if it was B/C of warranty; 9/09/08 25192 oil change & on 9/19/08 25562 miles ck engine light on & van died twice while driving, cause valve exhaust gas recirculation control so replaced egr valve, covered under warranty; 10/13/08 26324 miles, brakes squeaking, clean & adjusted brakes; 10/31/08 26788 miles, breaks squeaking, replaced front brake pads, under warranty; 1/13/09 28092 miles replaced right faulty right sliding door track, under warranty; 2/2/09 28463 miles replaced battery B/C battery failed vat test & did oil change; 2/20/09 28945 miles did 30K service said will need rear brakes soon had no choice but to get the extended warranty due to all the time spent at the dealer. Reported all problems to Chrysler but all they did was notate it but doesn't appear are going to do anything about all of the issues I had. They said, well the car was repaired. No one should have to be at a dealer this many times &so frequently especially since I only avg over 9000 but less than 10000 a yr. 3/30/09 car turned off by itself at stop light, I turned it on, van shook, gas pedal wouldn't move, turned on &off a couple of times &kept shaking &pedal wouldn't move &then finally it stopped shaking& I drove off. I set up appt & was sch for 2 days later but was able to drive the car so I cancelled & was told to bring in if happens again. Approx incident date is date of 1st issue since multiple issues.

- Bettendorf, IA, USA

problem #5

Jan 062009

Grand Caravan

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the vehicle would make a whining sound, especially in colder temperatures, and distract the concentration of the driver. She stated that the noise was loud enough to cause a concern. The noise occurred every time the vehicle was driven and would intensify when making turns at various speeds. She has scheduled an appointment with the dealer, but has not notified the manufacturer. The current mileage was approximately 50,000 and failure mileage was approximately 40,000.

- Flanders , NJ, USA

problem #4

Dec 152008

Grand Caravan

  • 42,300 miles
My 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan with only 42,000 miles has developed a power steering fluid leak. Repair shop says steering rack needs to be replaced. Have not had this expensive repair done as yet. Seems to be a universal Chrysler problem, numerous other owners of same automobile have indicated the same problem.

- Garrett Park, MD, USA

problem #3

Oct 112008

Grand Caravan

  • 24,500 miles
I submitted this complaint to a local dealership that serviced my vehicle. I worry that there could be a major safety issue. I own a 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan SXT. In the past year, I have brought it into Dodge city of milwaukee for two service appointments, one in winter 2007 and another in spring 2008. During both visits, I complained of an persistent problem with the steering system. On sharp left turns, the van often makes a "pulsing" or "howling" sound. On both occasions, Dodge city of milwaukee fixed something in the steering system, but the sound never went away. Earlier today, as I was pulling into the alley behind my house, the car's steering suddenly froze and the oil light came on. I am not sure of the reason for this, but if there had been any traffic, or if I was traveling at a high speed, this would have been a major safety hazard. I checked the oil, which was a bit low but still in the normal range (I also complained on both visits that the car loses oil quickly and was assured by Dodge city of milwaukee that this is normal). I shut off the car, turned it on again, and it seemed to work normally. Since the steering was affected, I strongly suspect that this incident is somehow related to the problem that your technicians negligently failed to address. When I purchased a new Dodge van in 2006 for my family of six, I never imagined that it would cause me to fear for our safety within two years. This is an entirely unacceptable situation. I believe that it is largely due to the failure of Dodge city of milwaukee's service department to address problems that I repeatedly mentioned. I am copying my lawyer on this message, along with the wilde Dodge salesman who originally sold me the car, and I also plan to inform the national Chrysler customer service department. If the problem with this car is too obscure to identify, then I should be provided with a new vehicle that will not put my four small children at risk.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #2

Apr 022008

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 31,100 miles
Owner noticed whining noise when turning. Inspected power steering resevoir and noticed low reading. On next service date, dealer noted leak and stated that steering column was leaking. Scheduled replacement of steering column and tie-rods. Covered under warranty - 33,000 miles on 2006 Grand Caravan. Waiting for scheduled repair.

- Ottawa, 00, USA

problem #1

Feb 092006

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Popping noise in steering column. While traveling at least 50 miles a loud winding noise was heard coming from the steering column, -possibly transmission. Vehicle became hard to steer. All fluids have been checked and vehicle was serviced regularly.

- Frisco City, AL, USA

Not what you are looking for?