Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,626 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Grand Caravan steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #48

Apr 012011

Grand Caravan

  • 40,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving at approximately 15 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn and caused the contact to crash into a curb without warning. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000.

- Belford, NJ, USA

problem #47

Jan 112015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
Refueled vehicle normally. Drove 1 mile, while turning corner the engine stalled completely, steering became sluggish. This has happening approximately 50% of the time after we refuel the Caravan. It is extremely dangerous as we lose control of the vehicle.

- Bogart, GA, USA

problem #46

Jan 062014

Grand Caravan

  • 75,000 miles
When it rains or the street is wet the power steering randomly goes out. The happens when turning out of a driveway, turning a curve or getting out of a parking space. It has happened on the road a few times, but usually happens just after starting the car and beginning to move. It only happens when it has been raining or I go over a large puddle of water. The problem has been consistent for about a year. I have discussed the problem with the dealership where I purchased the van, carmax. They have not heard of this problem, but did replace an undercarriage shield. The problem continued after the shield replacement. Carmax then directed me to this website.

- Clearwater, FL, USA

problem #45

Jun 242010

Grand Caravan

  • 64,155 miles


Our air bag light comes on after repeated, exact turns of the steering wheel. Has to do with the steering wheel clock spring. It only illuminates in temps over 70 degrees or so. We live in the desert of Arizona and have been excluded in previous recalls. We are afraid the air bags will not work properly in the event of a crash.

- Arizona City, AZ, USA

problem #44

Nov 202014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 220,000 miles
Over the last several weeks my 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan with a 3.8 liter engine will stall out several times after refueling. It will restart & stall several times before the problem seems to rectify itself. All power assisted steering is lost and the vehicle becomes difficult to steer safely. Power braking is also affected. There have been a couple of occasions where I have been turning into traffic and had the vehicle stall. One time I was unable to complete the turn and stay in my lane. On one occasion I breached the lane to my left. While traffic was traveling in the same direction I was, another motorist had to slam on the brakes to avoid hitting me.

- Lake Orion, MI, USA

problem #43

Sep 102014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 108,437 miles
Van stalls after filling the Grand Caravan with fuel. Loses steering and speed.

- Dearborn Heights, MI, USA

problem #42

Mar 172012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles


My son was driving my van on the interstate when suddenly everything on the van shut off. Luckily, there were no vehicles immediately behind us.he said that he bumped the ignition with his knee.

- Ruma, IL, USA

problem #41

Jan 172007

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 5,758 miles
For no apparent reason, the engine shuts off while driving. The clock remains on, but accessories such as the heater also shut off, and I have no power assist with steering. So far, it's happened within 5 minutes of start-up; the outside temperatures were below freezing, but the engine has not always been cold. 1/17/07 approx. 5 min. After I'd been driving, at about 30mph, I realized the noisy fan for the heater turned off. I thought maybe the new van has a feature I didn't know about, where it reaches a set temperature then shuts off automatically? then I realized the radio had also gone quiet. I tried to accelerate but it wasn't responding, so I went to pull off on the shoulder and discovered I didn't have power steering, either. Fortunately, I was able to brake. I turned the key to the off position, restarted the van, and it seemed to work fine. At no time did I see a check engine light. 1/18/07 I had driven to a gas station, turned the van off to fill the tank, and restarted it a few minutes later, to drive away. I accelerated about 5 feet before the van turned itself off again. I stopped, moved the key to the off position, restarted it, and went on my way. 1/24/07 I backed out of the garage, but after I accelerated in reverse, about 10 ft. Down the driveway the van turned itself off again. Other days I had the heater/accessories running, but this time nothing else was turned on. The clock remained lit, so it doesn't seem like a battery issue. I turned the key to the off position and restarted the van, resumed my drive, and made an appointment with the Dodge dealership under warranty. They said there were no computer codes showing; they drove 17 mi. But couldn't duplicate the problem. Since then, the van has only shut off by itself once more when my spouse was driving, but now it seems like a probable ignition switch safety issue to investigate.

- Palatine, IL, USA

problem #40

Apr 052012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled intermittently on multiple occasions. Additionally, the vehicle jerked violently and was extremely difficult to steer. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the failure was unable to be replicated. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available. Updated 8/14/14 updated 8/27/2014

- Spencer, IN, USA

problem #39

Sep 082009

Grand Caravan

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the power steering hose was leaking. The vehicle was inspected by an independent mechanic where the transmission hose was replaced on the power steering. The vehicle also had an oil leak and two clamps for the power steering line was replace however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage and current mileage was 63000.

- Ortley, SD, USA

problem #38

Dec 022012

Grand Caravan

  • 65,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that while parked, she noticed a leak from under the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician stated that the power steering fluid was leaking and the steering rack would need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired at an independent mechanic. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000.

- Williamsburg, VA, USA

problem #37

Jul 082013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 146,000 miles
Vehicle quits while driving in the rain and loses ability to steer.

- Prestonsburg, KY, USA

problem #36

Aug 262012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 111,000 miles
I purchased this car used in August, after reading reviews I discovered the rack and pinion was an issue on this van, so I asked the previous owner whether they had any issues and they replied they had just replaced the rack and pinion due too a severe power steering fluid leak. After hearing this I figured that meant problem solved. Unfortunately its now not even a month and a half later and am noticing a severe powersteering leak, my mechanic is telling me the rack and pinion has failed once again and needs replacement. Usually this part last the lifetime of any other vehicle. I am concerned and very displeased about this issue as it can be very dangerous for my family and I as well as other motorist on the road. I also suspect I am not the only one experiencing this repeatedly. Is there a recall im unaware of, what can I do" I was quoted between $700-800 for this job by three mechanics. Is this something Dodge may be liable for"

- Chulavista, CA, USA

problem #35

Jun 112012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 111,102 miles
I purchased this vehicle used in 2011 and about three months later I took into the dealer for an oil change and they said I need to change out my rack/pinion/steering since it had a small leak. Now I have a larger leak underneath the van wherever I park. I checked myself to see that the small plastic clamps have come loose and transmission fluid was leaking out. That did not fix it since it is now leaking in the front passenger side. Also I have a sunroof that leaks when we wash the van and when it rains, I have cleaned out the drains but the seal is worn down and I would have to purchase the entire assemble to fix the problem at $500 for the part does not include labor? I am happy with the vehicle other than the lemon part of the axle going bad.

- San Bernardino , CA, USA

problem #34

Apr 192012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
This has occurred multiple times in the six months since I have owned this vehicle. Any time it rains, especially if my vehicle goes through a puddle, the power steering is greatly affected. The most recent time, the power steering was completely lost and I had to use all of my strength to maneuver the car into a safe location, out of traffic. The battery light came on and my car acted like it was going to stall. The belt squealed and then everything resumed... until I hit another puddle. In the times this has happened before, it was not nearly as long of a loss of power steering, nor did the battery light come on; the belts squealing always signals that the steering has resumed. My mechanic is baffled and we are scared to drive our vehicle, specifically in the rain. From my research, this is a common occurrence.

- St. Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #33

Sep 142010

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 41,233 miles
I noticed a strange sound upon starting the engine and then when stopped at a traffic light it was a low whine. I also noticed upon leaving the van after driving a strong odor of something like oil on a hot engine. I waited a couple of weeks and finally took it to be checked out because none of the gauges were showing a problem and nothing else seemed wrong. I was told this was a rack and pinion problem and seemed to be common with this model. Instead of spending the $1,200 I was told the repair would be, I have been constantly checking the power steering fluid level and making sure it is full. Why, if this is a "common problem" (which seems to be true according to the internet) has this not been a recall? other than this problem, I love the Grand Caravan. It just does not seem that at 41,000+ miles that this should have happened.

- Calvert City, KY, USA

problem #32

Dec 222011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 29,900 miles
My 2006 Grand Caravan has had problems almost since I bought it in 2007 (it had 18,000 miles when I bought it). It now only has 68,000 miles on it. My drivers side electric door does not operate when it is warm outside (29,000 miles). The passenger side axle broke and had to be replaced (65,000 miles). When it rains my power steering goes out periodically (65,000 miles). My engine light is on (haven't taken it in to check it yet) (66,000 miles) and now my airbag light is on (68,000 miles). Also I have replaced the battery and still have problems starting it. It clicks clicks clicks like a hundred times then eventually it starts.

- Bellflower , CA, USA

problem #31

Aug 282011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 83,072 miles
While leaving a parking lot I felt a snap in the steering. Completed the trip while feeling heavy steering to the right. Steering seemed ok. Got home and tried the steering full left to full right and the steering locked in the left turn position. Thought the parking steering lock was the problem and while trying to move the shift lever it locked in the D2 position and after more jiggling the lever locked in the lo position. The motor was running all of this time.

- Hot Springs Village, AR, USA

problem #30

Aug 082008

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
In 2008, the rack/pinion/steering component had to be replaced on my 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan. In 2011, the same component again had to be replaced. This also created a need to replace tires. The manufacturer warranty had expired.

- Soulsbyville, CA, USA

problem #29

Jun 272011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
On 6/27/11 the air bags deployed in our 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan for no reason while the vehicle was being driven at about 25 mph. The driver had minor injuries. Chrysler has refused to repair the vehicle at their cost and have given us a repair quote of about $4000. Chrysler told us that the airbag warning light was on for 250 driving hours before the incident, but that is completely false. They will not release the report to us. At this point, the vehicle has not yet been repaired. After the incident, we were told about a previous airbag recall on some 2006 Grand Caravan. After the incident, the 2008 Grand Caravan were also recalled for unexpected airbag deployment. Also the steering gear was leaking and had to be replaced. Also, the battery was replaced. Updated 10/25/11

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?