Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 1
Average Mileage:
67,914 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #44

Oct 012008

Grand Caravan

  • 120,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the brakes were prematurely wearing and malfunctioned without warning. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle was taken into the dealer for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system), 11V394000 (air bags, equipment) and 10V611000 (equipment); however, the parts needed were not available for repair. The manufacturer was made aware of failure. The vehicle was repaired; however, the brake failure persisted. The failure mileage was 120,000. The VIN was not available.

- Pelion, SC, USA

problem #43

Apr 152015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 27,174 miles
Premature wear and failure of front wheel bearings, all rotors, brakes and pads. Possible failures are due to inferior parts being used during vehicle assembly.

- Clarksville, TN, USA

problem #42

Apr 022015

Grand Caravan

  • 92,000 miles
Engine shuts off while driving!!! dangerous situation if I was going faster I could have crashed with my 7 year old daughter in the car. Isn't this the same thing that happened to GM and they had lawsuits? respond please: [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- West Bloomfield, MI, USA

problem #41

Sep 132014

Grand Caravan

  • 81,000 miles


This relates to Chrysler safety recall L25 for wireless ignition node. Our van shuts off while driving without any warning and there is no steering and braking. This is the primary vehicle we carry 2 young children in and it is extremely upsetting that this recall has not been addressed. Our van shut off 3 times in the last 2 weeks while carrying our kids. The local dealership reports there is a national back-order and no parts are available to fix it. How is this possible" what are we supposed to do" this is very unsafe and totally unacceptable! please help!

- Duncansville, PA, USA

problem #40

Jan 282015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving 45 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. In addition, while driving 25 mph, the brake pedal was depressed but it took a greater distance to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who was unable to diagnose or repair the vehicle. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system); however, the part to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Sort Mill, SC, USA

problem #39

Jan 122015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 80,295 miles
My 5 children and I got into the van to head to my disabled child's doctors appointment. We had just pulled out and began accelerating when the car shut off. The wheel locked, as did the brakes. It seemed as though all electrical to the van was lost. Nothing worked. We were stuck in the middle of the road. When I tried to restart the vehicle nothing happened. The dash indicators did not come on, the power locks and windows would not work. It was dead. After the children and I were almost rear-ended by a ups truck, I removed my children from the vehicle and brought them to the side of the road and told them to walk home (fortunately we weren't far). At that point I returned to attempt to get it to restart. After about 15 minutes of blocking traffic and 2 near collisions, the van came back to life. I brought it back to my home and parked it. This issue began when, about 3 weeks ago, my vehicle wouldn't start. I then discovered if I took the key out then put it back in it would eventually start. I had called the local Dodge dealership and was told it was my win module. I called Dodge and was informed that there was no eta on a replacement part but I can pay out of pocket to have it fixed and would be reimbursed. After calling the dealership again I was informed that they didn't have the means to fix it. This is absolutely ridiculous! the vehicle I purchased to keep my children safe put their lives in danger. It's the only vehicle I have that will fit all 5 of my children. Now my daughter, who is disabled, cannot see her doctor today, and only lord know when we'll have access to a vehicle for the already scheduled future appointment. I refuse to put my children back into a vehicle that could kill them!

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #38

May 132013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 92,000 miles


When the problem first occurred, the car power would blip: The gauges would go to zero, the clock would go off, the lights would flicker on and off. I took it to the dealer and they said they fixed some wiring. After the car was returned, the problem persisted and worsened. Now, when the car slowed down (at a stop sign or light) the power would turn off completely, the engine would stall, light would go off, clock would go off, etc. I had to turned the key off and on to start the car again. I took it back to the dealer. They replaced two different parts - the ABS module and the main fuse panel for the car. When the car was returned, the problem persisted and got worse again. Now the car, when stopped or slowed down, power would shut down completely, shutting everything down as before, but now the key wouldn't turn. I couldn't turn it off or on or do anything for minutes at a time. The car power would suddenly turn back on it's own. So, once again, I took it to the dealer. This time they did a software update to several modules. I just received the car back from that visit on 12/17/14. The problem still persists. On 12/22/14, I lost power in the car while driving at a normal speed (30 mph) going down a hill. The power steering and brakes went out and I had trouble getting the car to a stop. I was finally able to put enough pressure on the brakes to slow the car and pull to the side of the road at the bottom of the hill. Since then, I've lost power twice when stopped at stop lights. I've been able to turn the key off and then back on. I called the dealer again. They said that it's most likely related to a recall and there was nothing they could do because they didn't have parts. They advised me to remove all other keys and rings from the ignition key. Even after that, I still lost power once so far.

- Beaver, PA, USA

problem #37

Oct 242014

Grand Caravan

  • 133,122 miles
Was stuck with no way to start vehicle because plastic fob key was cracked and wouldn't start van. There's a recall on the plastic ignition module but parts are not yet available and this recall is from June 2014. The ignition switch has moved a few times while I was driving from on to acc. Causing hard brakes and steering. Luckily it was at low speeds and no traffic around. Called dealer to see if there's a way to start with metal door key and I was told no. Also dealer wants to charge me to fix even though there's a recall out on it. Dodge is the cheapest pos and unsafe cars period !!!

- Littleton , NH, USA

problem #36

Aug 292014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
My 18yr son was driving the van at highway speeds (65 mph) when he described a sudden inability to control the vehicle. The steering became hard to control and the brakes here hard to push. He thought the brakes had failed. Due to the inability to control the van he drifted into the passing lane where a car to the rear of him struck his rear quarter panel, causing his van to spin out of control. The vehicle spun and came to rest in the meridian. The police report stated" no evidence of brakes locking up" as there was no skid marks in the road way until the vehicle was leaving the road sideways. The air bags did not deploy. The damage to the vehicle includes substantial front, side and rear panel damage the front and rear tires are out of alignment, exhaust pushed up into rear quarter panel and the force caused the battery to slide out of place. The engine warning lights were all on to include the air bag light. We called Chrysler because we saw the recall on line. Meanwhile 5 days after the accident we received the recall notice in the mail stating it was fine to drive the can until the recall was performed.they sent an investigation team to examine the van and determined the brakes were at fault. However the brakes were new including rotors 2 weeks prior and upon having my own inspection done the brakes were found in working order, no warped rotors or burnt pads that would suggest a brake lock up at 65mph, tires(snow tires as my son was heading to college in northern Maine ) are in good condition with no evidence of flat areas (as one might expect with brakes locking up) we had engine diagnostics checked and found an yaw warning at the time of the accident with no other engine codes noted. All engine lights were lit up at the time of the accident much like what happens when you shut the ignition off while the vehicle is in motion only to reset upon normal restart.

- Dedham , ME, USA

problem #35

Oct 042014

Grand Caravan

  • 92,800 miles
Driving on the thruway with my family the van stalled twice without warning, although it would restart immediately and luckily there wasn't so much traffic. Have been having issues with dashboard lights(emergency brake, esp/bas, ABS & traction) coming on every time I turn on the van and start driving. The sliding doors either open by themselves or don't want to close, I have to repeatedly push the buttons to get it to close and also at times the door stops halfway and starts clicking. I had previously taken the van to a Dodge dealer where they "fixed" the door problem, but after some time it again began with the same problem. My transmission constantly keeps shifting to 6th gear so I either have to turn off the van or shift down the gear to D in order to open or close the doors. The ignition key has been getting stuck on acc and doesn't want to come out. This is a very serious situation that needs to be addressed asap, before someone looses their life! the manufacturer needs to take action and make the necessary measures and precautions to protect the lives of consumers, not just the ones that are driving these unsafe vehicles but as well as those that are around us!!! (for many of us, this is our only transportation to get to and from work or like myself drive the kids to school and activities).

- Bridgeport, CT, USA

problem #34

Sep 212014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 67,500 miles


As I was driving on the highway, the rear brake calipers on either side became stuck. I stopped at a traffic light, and smoke was coming from the rear wheels. The caliper stuck to the brake pads on both rear wheels and became burned on. The vehicle requires new brake pads, rotors, calipers, and caliper brackets to be installed. This is a huge fire hazard. I am lucky that nothing caught on fire under the vehicle.

- Leesburg, VA, USA

problem #33

Aug 162008

Grand Caravan

  • 16,500 miles
We bought this van new in April of 2008 and in August 2008 and with 16,000 miles I had to replace the brake rotors pads and one caliper. Then two months later I had to replace the rear brakes which included the rotors, pads, and calipers. In late 2009 I have to replace both front and back brake systems do to failure. Now it is September of 2014 and after replacing the brakes on both front and back axles 5 times there needing to be replaced again. I have taken the van to our local Dodge dealer and was told it's just hard driving. I had to replace the rear evaporator at 89,000 along with rubber heater lines that you can only buy as a set at over $120. Now the right rear door can only be opened from the inside and the door locks only work sometimes. Went out 09-17-14 to move the van to my garage to work on it and all of the lights went out and the horn went off along with the wipers and wiper fluid pump. How long before someone is killed before they fix these issues. This is my last Chrysler product after owning 5 good ones. This is do to there inability or negligence in fixing these problems.

- Trivoli, IL, USA

problem #32

Aug 042010

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 57,546 miles
We are having to replace our brake pads and rotors and calipers way too often!! it started in 9-2010 and just continues to guess worse. We have taken the van to the dealership for some of the repairs and my husband who is a mechanic and has done some of the repairs himself. Either way this is a serious design flaw on Chrysler part and they need to step up and protect their loyal customers and our families!!! hello Chrysler-most of us who have a mini van do so because we drive our children in them!!! unfortunately for our family who lives paycheck to paycheck we did not know about the brakes issues on these 2008 models until about a week ago when we were researching what could keep going wrong with our brakes. I have driven Chrysler vehicles most of my life and suffered thru the "mini van transmission issues" on 2 of those but they were older models and years ago so we thought we would be safe from those issues when we purchased our "used" 2008 van but instead we just traded those problems for brake issues!!! I hate to say this because we have been long long long time Chrysler buyers, but no more~~~~~we have had this van since 2009 and never heard of this problem until I discover this web site, so cudos and thank you very much NHTSA!!!!! buyer beware!!!!

- Bethpage, TN, USA

problem #31

Mar 232014

Grand Caravan

  • 80,000 miles
T* the contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that while traveling at approximately 60 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact applied the emergency brake and was able to restart the vehicle. The failure recurred intermittently. In addition, the contact stated that the brakes failed. The contact also stated that the ABS warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 14V373000 (electrical system). The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Tustin, CA, USA

problem #30

Jul 102014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 81,932 miles
When I put the van in drive or reverse, there was a loud noise coming from the steering wheel area. I brought the van to the Dodge dealer to fix it. He said a few codes had to be done and a fuel injection cleaning. I waited for the van for three hours and it was returned to me at a cost of $263. I drove down the road and the same noise was there as if it had not been touched. I brought the van immediately back to the dealer and was told it was the power brake module and that it was on back order. He took the van and told me to get a rental. It will be two weeks this Thursday (rental car totaling over $700) and I am still waiting for the van.

- Jackson, NJ, USA

problem #29

Jul 022012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
This problem has been intermittent and getting worse. Sometimes it happens when we' driving and sometimes when it's parked with the engine off. The engine dies, horns blow, wipers go crazy and lights go on. All you can do is coast to a safe spot, wait for a while, then restart the as my husband drove to work, the power brakes went out. He was able to stop but it was very hard and dangerous. I don't know if it's related but we have had a problem with the blower for the air conditioner/ heater going out since about 2010. Updated 07/03/14 MA updated 07/11/2014

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #28

May 052014

Grand Caravan

  • 89,352 miles
Wife was driving around 40 mph when traction control light came on and she lost power steering and brakes. She was finally able to stop in the middle of the intersection, luckily there was no car coming. She then turned the van off and restarted and everything was fine. She said she is never driving it again because it is unsafe. Last year we had the tipm replaced after the seemingly common problem of horn honking, windshield wipers going and solvent spraying randomly several times. Not sure how Chrysler can get away with having all of these life endangering issues without having recalls and fixing them. But what I do know is we will never buy a Chrysler product again.

- Burt, MI, USA

problem #27

Feb 112014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 129,100 miles
The vehicle displays steering esp bas brake ABS and the esp symbol will illuminate. A 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan while driving 10 mph, the esp and traction control warning lamp was illuminated. That immediately after the brakes engaged independently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the dealer wanted to charge for diagnostics and replace steering sensor. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage is 129,700.

- Warner Robins, GA, USA

problem #26

Apr 162014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
On occasion the vehicle will set of a signal alarm and display esp bas brake ABS and the esp symbol will illuminate - also the panel lights will flicker. I will also feel a very slight hesitation on my forward motion. It does not always happen - but always while vehicle was just starting to heat up.

- Greenacres, FL, USA

problem #25

Jan 012014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 44,500 miles
I have had to replace the brakes on my Grand Caravan two times so far. I had to replace them after approximately 18,000 miles and next at 44,000 miles. I do mostly city driving and only put around 10K a year on the car. Currently there is a grinding sound. I will need to have it looked at by the dealer. At least three times the caliper stuck and you could smell the burning of the brake pad. In the most recent instance the heat was so high on the right drivers side front brake, that it melted the valve stem plastic cap. I have paid now approximately 1,800 dollars to the replace brakes. After the last time I paid for them to install some sort of adapter to help with the known brake issue on this model. Obviously, it did not work. The heat generated is very high and could be dangerous. This is an issue that is well known against this model year and car....updated 10/7/2014

- Madison, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?