Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,265 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 2 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #106

Jul 102011

Grand Caravan

  • 37,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brakes "burning" again.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #105

Oct 152009

Grand Caravan

  • 34,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, she depressed the brake pedal and heard a grinding noise. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostics, where the technicians stated that the front and rear brake pads and rotors needed to be replaced. The failure occurred a second time approximately 20,000 miles after the repairs were performed. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer, where the technician stated that the front and rear brake pads and rotors needed to be replaced again. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 34,000.

- Kernersville, NC, USA

problem #104

Jun 152009

Grand Caravan

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that while driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle began to shake excessively while depressing the brake pedal. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostics, where the technician stated that the front and rear brake pads and rotors needed to be replaced. Approximately 20,000 after the repairs, the contact experienced the failure a second time. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the front and rear brake pads and rotors were again replaced. The failure occurred a third time. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 36,000.

- High Point, NC, USA

problem #103

Jan 212011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated the rear brakes failed prematurely. The brakes, front brake pads and calipers on the front wheels were replaced at 22,000 miles. The contact stated smoke was coming from the rear brakes. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated the rear brake pads and calipers needed to be replaced as well. The VIN was not accepted. The failure mileage was 22,6000 and the current mileage was 27,986. The consumer stated the rear brakes were replaced again at 28,000 miles. Updated 03/08/12

- Canal Fulton, OH, USA

problem #102

May 072011

Grand Caravan

  • 18,500 miles
Front brakes worn out at 18K miles - not covered under warranty - not considered defective? pads gone - rotors heavily grooved.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #101

Feb 012010

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,500 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Caravan. The contact noticed a loud noise coming from the rear end of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the rear brakes, rotors and pads were replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The current mileage was 29,550. The approximate failure mileage was 20,500. Udated 8/29/11 updated 09/21/11

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #100

Jul 142011

Grand Caravan

  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan in June 09 with 5,000 miles. As of today, at 57000 miles it is on it is needing its fifth set of brakes and rotors. I have been driving for 20 yrs and have never had to replace brakes at a rate like this. By this time I should have had to replace maybe one set at a maximum. Chrysler has failed to admit their mistake in undersizing brakes which clearly are being "eaten up" at a rate 5-6 times what they should. Chrysler did reimburse me $100 for a $500 brake job one time stating that they realized that original brakes were basically shoddy, but they have failed to admit that there is a problem with the design of the van itself. In fact, they blamed the problem on the epa no longer allowing asbestos in the brakes. If this is the case, why isn't everyone else on the road replacing brakes at this astronomical rate? I have had numerous cars, both new and used, and I have never had to replace brakes like this. I am very angry regarding this and feel that this should be publicized so as to not put others at risk for becoming victims of the same disappointing situation of a van. I personally plan on trading this van as soon as I am able.

- Grimesland, NC, USA

problem #99

Jan 102010

Grand Caravan

  • 19,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. While braking, the contact noticed a grinding noise coming from the front of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the front brake pads and rotors were replaced. After the repairs were performed the failure occurred a second time. The contact heard a grinding noise and noticed a burning smell. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the front brake pads and rotors were replaced a second time. The failure occurred a third time. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the rear brake pads and rotors were replaced. The approximate failure mileage was 19,000.

- Fayetteville, NY, USA

problem #98

Jun 272011

Grand Caravan

  • 81,000 miles
Driver side rear brake caliber mechanism. I has the caliber replaced in March and had new break pads and rotors installed. I drove about less than 3000 mile and had the same thing happen again. In this last episode I have paid out $1300 in just parts, not to mention labor costs, and two $100 tow bills and the problem is still not fixed. I have replaced the entire break caliber fully loaded mechanism and drove 20 miles and had to have the car towed due to the break caliber freezing again. This issue is a major safety issue that could cause death of myself my passengers, and others on the road. I bought this car used to get back and forth to work and family events. I got this car because of it size affordable for me as a single mother of three living on a fixed income. I thought because it was newer that I would be able to drive it for awhile before major issues would happen. I have only this car a year and have not been able to drive it more than 20 miles before having it towed to a garage since this last issue. I have had the pad and rotors replaced twice because of it in the last two weeks. This last time I had to tow it to my home as I cannot put any more money into it yet I still have 6 years of payments left. This is a major safety issue that needs to be addressed by the manufacturer. If they cannot fix it than they need to give me a new van.

- Madison, OH, USA

problem #97

Jun 072008

Grand Caravan

  • 16,700 miles
I have a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan with 16,700 miles. Despite the fact that my brake pads were not ready to be changed, I had to replace the rotors in both front tires. I was having difficulty braking at 35 mph. The van was driven only one half of a mile to the mechanics and the mechanic measured the temperature of the air near the front tires at 198 degrees F; the rear tires measured 140 degrees.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #96

May 252011

Grand Caravan

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2008 Dodge Caravan SE... brake caliper seized up. Caused premature wear and tear on both the brake pad and rotor. Vehicle begins to shake violently at 30 mph+. the calipers cause brakes to wear out between 8000 miles to 14000 miles, far sooner than normal wear and tear would cause. Dealerships are repairing faulty calipers under "good will" tickets, which are treated like a warranty repairs in respects to charges to the vehicles owner. Technicians at the dealership alluded that the 2008 and 2009 model year for Dodge Caravan and Chrysler town and country vans are known for severe brake problems. Seized calipers can also cause severe shifts in the steering while braking, which could cause collisions or accidents. This problem is widely known to owners who have reported it to many websites and dealerships.

- Macomb Township, MI, USA

problem #95

May 182011

Grand Caravan

  • 35,569 miles
While on the interstate in Wisconsin driving at about 65 mph, the left rear brake on my daughter's van suddenly seized. When I pulled off the interstate, the entire wheel was too hot to touch and there was a strong burning smell. Fortunately there was a Chrysler dealer right there. They told me that the left rear caliper ┐hung up┐ on the brake. They said that the caliper adapter was new to this model (2008), that they have seen this before and that Chrysler has a newer design but the part was on back order. They told me that the pads, calipers and rotors on both rear brakes needed to be replaced. They cleaned and lubricated the brakes and I continued to Chicago to have the repairs done there. Later my daughter told me that in April 2011, the same thing had happened but on the right rear brake. Again this was on the interstate. She heard a very loud squealing. After tapping the brakes a few times the sound went away and she continued. This is why the dealer said that the right rear brake pads, calipers and rotor also needed replacement. Worse, my daughter's brother-in-law bought the same model Caravan in 2008. On a trip to Virginia, also on the interstate, their brakes seized in the same manner. When we got to Chicago, I took the van into roesch Chrysler in elmhurst Illinois. They replaced the calipers under warranty but charged me to replace the pads and rotors. The fact that this has happened twice on my daughter's van, that it also happened on her brother-in-law's same model/year van, that the caliper design was new in 2008, that since then a new caliper design has been released ┐ leads me to believe that the original caliper/brake design is defective and should have been covered under warranty. Moreover, Chrysler should have recalled these vehicles as a safety issue given an over heated wheel could have caused a high speed blowout.

- Elmhurst, IL, USA

problem #94

Mar 302011

Grand Caravan

  • 89,002 miles
I have replaced my brakes 3 times since I bought utter and motors 1 time they get very hot and smell like their burning also a possible hub bearing is going out on passenger side last but not lease my light on radio is not working as well. I've observed on the web site several Dodge grandcaravans have been having.

- Independence, MO, USA

problem #93

Apr 262011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 26,500 miles
The brakes on our 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan SXT completely rusted at 26,500 miles. As of 5/26/2011. Prior to that (05/27/2010) the brakes rusted and locked at 19,844. The car had to be towed on a platform truck because tires, wheels assemblies were completely locked at that time. Brakes have been pulsating and started to make harmonic sounds in the most recent incident. Brakes were spongy with the pulsating creating vibration in steering wheel. Have formally filed a complaint to Chrysler. Clerk at Chrysler indicated unusual number of calls but no detail, just that they're experiencing problems with the brakes involving Dodge Caravan and town and country. Van is at dealer being repaired at this time.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #92

Nov 012010

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
I bought a used 2008 Dodge Caravan with 34,000 miles on it. There was a recall on the brakes and rotors at 38,000, carmax never told me that. I ended up replacing my rotors twice since Nov 2010 and my brakes 4 different times. I sent Dodge Chrysler a letter with my invoices for refund with no response. And now again Dodge is telling me that I need to replace the rotors and brakes. I don't have the money, and I should not have to continue to pay for this. I drive a special needs daughter and two sons in this van and feel it is unsafe but its the only car we have and no one will help us. Thank you

- Montclair, CA, USA

problem #91

Mar 202011

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Here we go again. Front brake problems at 18,000 miles on a 2008 Grand Caravan. Then the recall, now the rear brakes at 35K. After discussion with the service manager he stated the rear brakes could wear out at 8K miles(R U kidding me) some service manager. Back brakes should last at least 40-50K when not towing. The rear brake calibers and pads have the same defects as the front. I changed the rear pads and 1 glide was missing and that pad was worn alot more than the other 3. thanks Dodge, great vehicle. Also who was the genius that came up with the 225 65 16 tire size, nice job.

- Sparta, NJ, USA

problem #90

Jan 132009

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that when she started the vehicle, the speedometer was non-functional and the engine, ESC and ABS lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The transmission also had to be replaced in January 2009 and the vehicle would jerk intermittently. The brakes were defective and were replaced by a local mechanic. In 2010, the instrument panel suddenly stopped working; the windshield wipers and turn signals also did not function. The dealer repaired the failure. The contact called the manufacturer who offered assistance with the other issues aside from the speedometer and lights on the instrument panel. The vehicle was not repaired for the speedometer and light failure. The current mileage was approximately 57,000. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Fredonia, KY, USA

problem #89

Mar 122011

Grand Caravan

  • 29,000 miles
My wife came home Friday(3/11/11) complaining that her front brakes were making a grinding noise. So the following day I jacked the 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan up to inspect for a problem and found that both front brake rotors were worn down with metal to metal contact from the brake pads. The van has only 29,000 miles on it. Back during October we got a letter from Dodge stating we needed to bring our van in for a brake inspection for the front brakes because there were issues of premature front pad failure so we complied. At that time they noticed no problem, but now I have to replace both front rotors and front pads on a vehicle that only has 29,000 miles. This is a known issue from Dodge, but they state there is only a 12 month 12,000 mile warranty for brake parts/problems.

- Loudon, TN, USA

problem #88

Feb 282011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 46,270 miles
I was driving my vehicle down the road, it had been about 10 minutes since I had left the service department of my local Dodge dealer to have my A/C serviced. My rear brakes had been serviced less than 6,000 miles previously and had been checked the night before by a just brakes technician. As I was driving I began to hear some squealing. When I stopped at a red light I noticed a huge amount of smoke pouring out of the rear of my car. I was able to accelerate enough to coast in to the just brakes shop where technicians looked at my vehicle and discovered a total brake failure of my rear brakes. The temperature had reached so high that the assembly itself was white hot and smoking. Had I not been closer to the shop my brakes might have failed because the pads were totally destroyed when they took them off. I have the old pads in my possession.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #87

Jan 212010

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
2008 Dodge Caravan brakes are defective or under engineered. Had to replace front brakes and rotors @ 22K miles and am now having to replace front and rear @ 35K miles. Very nervous as to stopping ability now.

- Aiken, SC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?