Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,265 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 7 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #6

Jul 172009

Grand Caravan

  • 16,762 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brakes had to be replaced and rotors cut at 12,832 miles. Vehicle started shaking while braking and brakes are spongy. I took it to the dealer with 16,762 miles on it. They told me the rotor needed to be replaced. They tell me this is due to heating from the brakes.

- Aston , PA, USA

problem #5

Jun 242009

Grand Caravan

  • 14,000 miles
Dodge Grand Caravan SXT 2008. Brake pads and rotors completely worn out at less than 14000 miles. Cost me close to $400 to correct the problem. Bought the vehicle new. If anyone is interested I will be keeping the parts that have worn out.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #4

May 082009

Grand Caravan

  • 15,500 miles
Grand Caravan, ~15,500 miles, front brakes and rotors are worn, and need replaced. Occurs when you press on the brakes can hear screeching sound and grinding. Chrysler is aware of the issue tsb# 05-006-08.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #3

Apr 242009

Grand Caravan

  • 25,034 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

02/23/2009- purchased 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan- on day of purchase I asked why brakes made a barking sound, was told because it sat in parking lot for a while. Odometer-19230the next day the van shut itself off while driving down the road. I could steer and the engine was running but I couldn't accelerate and all instrument lighting was off.I called sale auto mall the place I bought it and they said call back if it happened again. Sometime in March took it because the steering keep pulling me towards the curb. The service manager of sale auto mall test drove it with me in it and detected nothing wrong. 4/01/2009- took it in for oil change. 04/06/2009 brakes failed coming back from moorehead. Called sale auto mall, they referred me to Dodge dealership in greenville, called them and asked for tow, they refused, they told me to bring it as far as I could. When I got there they said it wasn't under warranty and that it would be $370 to fix, I refused and they charged me $35 for looking at it. 04/08/2009-took it to boyd's he repaired brakes and rotors for $150. 4/20/2009- brakes spongy and sinking call boyd's referred me to Dodge dealership in new bern, see them, service manager starts the test drive with me goes ten feet and hits brakes, stops car says I knowwhats wrong it's the master cylinder, asked me to get out, says he wants his brake man to check it out. Then thirty minutes later sends a man to tell me the part has to be order, he gives me my keys and tells me they'll call me when the part is in.4/23/09- dealership called me said part was in, could I come in today, told him I was at work, when could I come in he asked, I told him Monday, he said fine. 04/24/2009- coming home from work going 40 on arrlington blvd.see a line of cars in front of me start to slow down, suddenly all cars in front slam on brakes to a dead stop, I slam on my brakes, but they go all the way to the bottom of floor and the rate of speed doesn't change.I hit the SUV in front of me at full speed. Help!

- Vanceboro, NC, USA

problem #2

Feb 092009

Grand Caravan

  • 1,583 miles
I am writing to Chrysler Canada because we are very unhappy with our 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan, one that I would classify as a runaway vehicle creating a potential safety hazard. Current odometer reading 25347 this vehicle went for its first service February 9, 2009 to a vehicle check-up peace of mind inspection. Primarily with an inquiry to check the brake system since the brake pedal felt somewhat spongy when applied. The inspection indicated the brakes pulsated because of a warped disk. The warped disk is most likely caused by high heat generated from prolonged braking. This appears to be in contradiction with the instruction in the 2008 Dodge owner's manual page 334 under note: To select the proper gear position for maximum deceleration (engine breaking), simply press and hold the gear selector lever to the left (-). the transmission will shift to the range from which the vehicle can best be slowed down. This is clearly not providing the desired result. To assist the vehicle in maintaining control downhill, shifting the automatic transmission into 3rd gear (at 60 kph.) should enable the vehicle to maintain control without having to ┐ride the brakes┐. this is not the case; the electronics controlling the shifting system in the automatic transmission drops out of low gear (3rd) into high gear (D) under the slightest downhill momentum, thus making it impossible to control the speed of the vehicle. Page 337 in the 208 Dodge owner's manual specifically warns that riding the brakes can lead to brake failure and possibly an accident. As we have experienced to our horror on numerous occasions driving on the West coast (vancouver island), while trying to maintain vehicle control on a downhill stretch of paved road, this 4 speed electronic transmission system is incapable of providing any engine braking assistance whatsoever. The only alternative is to ride the brakes to maintain vehicle control.

- Courtenay, British Columbia, 00, USA

problem #1

Nov 042008

Grand Caravan

  • 15,000 miles
Left front brake grinding during low speed stops. Started all of the sudden one evening. Took it to the dealer the next morning. Was informed that it was not going to be a warranty covered repair because it was past the 12,000 mile limit on brake repair. This is 15,000 highway miles after only 6 months. The Dodge dealer said it was not going to be covered by the standard warranty or the 100,000 mile bumper to bumper extended warranty. This was a "normal" wear item and would be $270 to replace the front brake pads and to turn both front rotors. I find it shocking that a manufacturer with as many complaints as they have on this exact issue still fails to even give "goodwill" coverage on something as serious as premature brake failure.

- Harlingen, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?