Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,127 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 37 of 38)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #32

Jul 152011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles


Having intermittent issues with the van stalling, horn blowing unexpectedly, wipers coming on, and the lights coming on unexpectedly. If the battery is disconnected it obviously stops, but then will operate fine for a few days 2-3 and then it happens all over again.

- Crystal City, MO, USA

problem #31

Jan 182011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
2008 Dodge Grand Caravan electrical system:wiring recall for sliding door. Because of a few months on recall dates my vehicle has not been part of the recall, my clips have completely broken and wires broke apart when door was opened.the complete sliding passenger door no longer works and this should be part of the recall seeing so many people has this problem.this is a big issue and should be addressed. Built with an improperly routed wire harness that may have a condition where the lower sliding door hinge bracket can make contact and wear through the wire insulation.

- Clinton Township, MI, USA

problem #30

Oct 222010

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
Same occurrence happened 4 times in 6 months, dealer was not able to diagnose problem. While driving on the fwy in the fast lane at night, the wipers go off washer fluid spraying, all lights flashing, horn blaring, transmission disengaged from gas pedal, after managing to pull over took key out of ignition and car was still running. Mananged to get car to the dealer next day and they said they cannot duplicate the problem, I took my car home and again same incident. I was upset and drove the car with these symptoms happening to the dealer and they witnessed the issue, the technician pulled out all the fuses from the fuse box just to shut the car up. Still could not find the problem. Finally after the 4th time the issue was isolated to a tipm module which Chrysler factory said the part was on back order for 4 to 6 weeks and other dealers do not want to sell this particular part to other dealers ( got me thinking why ). Chrysler sells good cars but does not stand behind the safety of them. If anyone else has a tipm problem their lives are at risk just as mine and my families was. The dealer finally got the part after 4 weeks, and so far I pray that my car is safe.

- Tustin, CA, USA

problem #29

Jan 082011

Grand Caravan

  • 60,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the vehicle had a four second delay before starting. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer to have the failure diagnosed. The dealer was unable to diagnose the failure. The fuel pump was replaced, but the failure continued. The manufacturer had not suggested a proper remedy for the failure. The contact expressed concern over the possibility of the vehicle not starting. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Buffalo, MN, USA

problem #28

Jun 182011

Grand Caravan

  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated while driving various speeds and making a right turn, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle within a few minutes. When she continued to drive the vehicle it suddenly stalled a second time and was told by a dealer the failure was caused by the battery. The vehicle was repaired. A few months later the failure recurred and the vehicle was towed to the dealer who advised her that the windshield wiper motor had completely burned out which caused the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were approximately 39,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #27

Jun 012011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I have complained many times of my van not starting. It has only been documented 3 times, and each and every time I bring it in the mechanic tells me there is no faulty code. The first time it is doc. Was Oct. 12 2009, second was July 23 2010. The last one that was documented was June 1 2011. They wanted to tow it in, in the meantime my husband googled the problem and told me to turn the car on, apply brake and shift to N, then turn off and restart. This did help and I was able to start the van. It was 'dead mans switch'. they still did tow it in and surprisingly were not able to find a problem. They told me next time to not start it like that again and just get it towed in again. When I went to pick my van up they told me there was a 'pending' recall. So with three kids, a husband who travels for work and I have to wait to have a solid recall. This has been a huge waist of my time and is very frustrating and worrisome. Each and every time I have brought my van in they have told me there is nothing wrong with it. I have complained about this matter at least 6-7 times. My doors have also locked on their own and the remote start will fail often, they have replaced my keys, but that did not fix the problem.

- Hernando Beach, FL, USA

problem #26

May 102011

Grand Caravan

  • 60,400 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that when inserting the key into the ignition, the vehicle would not start. The vehicle was then towed to a dealer and they advised her that the electrical control module needed to be replaced along with the key. The vehicle was repaired for the electrical control module and a new key was provided. The manufacturer was then contacted and they offered to reimburse the contact for her expenses. The failure mileage was approximately 60,400.

- St. Cloud, MN, USA

problem #25

Aug 232010

Grand Caravan

  • 75,000 miles
When key is inserted into the ignition and turned, the vehicle does not start. The starter makes a click sound but does not turn over. Several attempts turning the key are needed to start the vehicle. Sometimes after trying 5-10 tries with no start, pulling the key out and reinserting or opening the driver door with the key removed will start the vehicle. Eventually, the car will start normally. First it seemed to happen on after the engine was hot or hot outside 85 or hotter, but it got worse. I took it to the dealer, I told them I checked the starter solenoid and it wasn't reading 12 volts when van wouldn't start only reading under 5 volts, when the van would start it would read about 10 volts. The first trip to the dealer they replaced a starter motor, with in two days it happened again, they replaced the starter motor again with moper brand starter motor. This still did not fix the problem. I switch the battery with my other car to confirm not battery. Still van has starting problems. I was able to leave van with dealer for a week, they couldn't reproduce the problem, but when I got in the van all the electronics were turned off, radio, ac.. that was not an accurate test. The van still has intermittent starting problems. When winter came the starting problems stopped. But this spring and summer is almost here the starting problem has occurred again. We don't if the van will start or leave us stranded.

- Nicholasville, KY, USA

problem #24

Apr 222011

Grand Caravan

  • 63,000 miles
This is an on going problem with our mini van. The vehicle shuts itself off for no apparent reason while in gear. We have the win module replaced as has been recalled in new models, but this did not fix the problem. As a family we are concerned for our safety while driving this vehicle. Internet research has turned up clues that Chrysler knows there is a problem and is refusing to act on a solution.

- Holt, MI, USA

problem #23

Oct 012010

Grand Caravan

  • 13,000 miles
When key is inserted into the ignition and turned, the vehicle does not start. The starter makes a click sound but does not turn over. Several attempts turning the key are needed to start the vehicle. Sometimes after trying 5-10 tries with no start, pulling the key out and reinserting will start the vehicle. Eventually, the car will start normally. The battery has been checked and fully charged during all incidents. This has happened approximately 20 different times over the last 5 months. It has been brought to the dealer twice for this issue the dealer has not been able to reproduce the failure. Recently, this problem has been occurring more frequently. This not a safe feeling not knowing that maybe the next time, I will be stranded. Frustrating since there is a known problem but the dealer will not do anything about it. It was brought in 10/12/2010 and 3/28/2011. Since the last visit, the problem has occurred 3 different times.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #22

Jan 262010

Grand Caravan

  • 5,000 miles


Making a left turn out of the parking lot of my child's parking lot, the vehicle engine stalled with no power. I had to stop where I was since it was hard to steer. Put it in park and started the vehicle. It drove normally after with no error codes but was a dangerous situation in full morning traffic. Took it to the dealer but they were not able to reproduce it.

- San Ramon, CA, USA

problem #21

Jan 132009

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that when she started the vehicle, the speedometer was non-functional and the engine, ESC and ABS lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The transmission also had to be replaced in January 2009 and the vehicle would jerk intermittently. The brakes were defective and were replaced by a local mechanic. In 2010, the instrument panel suddenly stopped working; the windshield wipers and turn signals also did not function. The dealer repaired the failure. The contact called the manufacturer who offered assistance with the other issues aside from the speedometer and lights on the instrument panel. The vehicle was not repaired for the speedometer and light failure. The current mileage was approximately 57,000. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Fredonia, KY, USA

problem #20

Jun 012009

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. Consumer states there have been five recalls for her vehicle and had problems before the recalls were announced. She would like to terminate her lease early. In June 2009, the vehicle needed new front brake pads and rotors at only 15,000 and again in August 2010. In the spring, the vehicle had no air condition. The dealer informed the consumer the part was manufactured too short and froze during the winter, which caused fluid to leak out. The problem was resolved after 3 weeks. In June 2010, the same hose ruptured and again the consumer was left with no A/C. the radiator cap had to be repaired which was why the consumer had to keep adding coolant. The washer fluid sensor was not working and needed to be replaced. In August 2010, the power sliding door stopped functioning for days. When the consumer took the vehicle to the dealer, they were unable to find a problem. However, two months later a recall was issued. The consumer stated she also experienced power failures with the vehicle. Each time the problem occurred the engine would run, but nothing else in the vehicle worked, such as the windows, locks, windshield wipers and interior lights etc. The problem was sporadic and each time the consumer went to the dealer, they were unable to find any problems.

- New Milford, CT, USA

problem #19

Oct 152010

Grand Caravan

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Caravan. While traveling 10 mph the contact noticed that the windshield wiper, headlights, door lock mechanism, and horn all simultaneously turned on without warning. The vehicle was towed to the dealership where the contact had the wiring harness replaced on the front driver side door; however, the failure continued to occur. There were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 62000.

- Uncasville, CT, USA

problem #18

Sep 252010

Grand Caravan

  • 43,000 miles
While driving or parked & turned off with no one near the van, the engine starts, the horn starts blaring, the wipers turn on full blast, the wiper fluid shoots out, and lights wont work! at first, we could disconnect battery or relay & it would stop. The last time, we had to disconnect alternator. This is a major safety issue!

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #17

Jul 052010

Grand Caravan

  • 32,000 miles
Tail lights have quit flashing when the doors are locked or unlocked with the remote controls 32,000 plus miles on vehicle. Head lights still work with remote control.

- Carbon Hill, AL, USA

problem #16

Jul 312010

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
The contact owned a Dodge Grand Caravan XLT. While the vehicle was parked the contact noticed white smoke coming out of the hood of the vehicle near the windshield. A passenger attempted to move the vehicle and black smoke was on the outside and inside of the vehicle. Fire was on the ground and the flames were 5 feet tall. She was able to extinguish the flames with cans of soda. The consumers husband jumped in the vehicle to back it up and as he did, the vehicle lost all power. The passenger stated that four trees and the grass caught fire. The fire department was called and the vehicle exploded. A neighbor extinguished the fire in the trees and grass; however, the vehicle continued to burn. A sheriff and fire department report were filed. The contact stated that no one was injured. Since she had a heart condition, a paramedic came and gave her oxygen. The vehicle was destroyed. The approximate failure and current mileages were 25,000. Updated evoq 09/20/10 prior to the fire, the air conditioner cruise control and read passenger door stopped working. Updated evoq 11/09/10

- South Wilwaukee, WI, USA

problem #15

Aug 042010

Grand Caravan

  • 27,700 miles
2008 gr. Caravan - electrical/computer issue. Events - nothing consistent (so far) symptoms: Intermittent issue, not able to recreate. W/ or w/O key in ignition, horn will blare, dummy lights appear, wipers (frnt/back) turn on, fluid squirts, no A/C fan (frnt only). Will stop after several minutes, normally. Remove battery cbl and wait, seems to allow reset. Next time start van, engine light (no codes found). Will go off after 2 drive cycles. Sometimes transmission will not shift out of 1st gear. Turn off and restart, seems to resolve that issue. Owned van 8 weeks, this has occurred 5 times spread out over that period. Two instances of 5, the ABS system initiated while driving (same other symptoms w/horn wiper at the same time, seem to be related). Caused unexpected driving behavior when that occurred (brakes kicked in automatically and transmission tried to downshift). Diagnosis: Dealer has replaced horns, since they burned out (no tools to pull battery cabl). Searched codes (none stored). Says, I have to bring it in when I'm experiencing issue:( started in June '10 and has occurred sporadically since. Last incident 8/4/10. Occurred multiple times..

- Cedar Falls, IA, USA

problem #14

Jul 032010

Grand Caravan

  • 44,000 miles
I have had problems with the power doors reopening themselves on this van. I have had items get trapped inside of the doors of this van as well. I contacted the dealer about it and of course could not get it to duplicate the problem. I had also said something about problems with the accelerator being sluggish in response and the dealer said they couldn't get it to duplicate that problem either. They said it was just the computer taking a little longer to respond to the accelerator which I feel is a safety hazard. I have also had problems with the overhead console coming down when the rear door is shut. I did not realize it had come down one time and I climbed into the back area and hit my head on the plastic part which caused a severe cut to my head and took a while for the bleeding to stop. I showed the dealer the problem and they said oh that's a plastic piece so if you want that to be right you have to pay yourself to have it fixed because its considered "normal wear". I feel that these are all severe safety issues with these vehicles.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #13

Apr 062010

Grand Caravan

  • 38,000 miles
While driving, with no warning, vehicle stalls (engine dies) steering column locks and brakes are hard, their is no control over the vehicle and can't get off the road. I almost got into a serious accident, I was approaching a major interstate hwy when my vehicle stalled. The dealer mech can't find any problems, nothing records on the memory or flight recorders. This has happened to the mech while on a test drive, they say they checked all the computer wires and want to give the vehicle back and states it is safe.

- Franklin, NJ, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?