Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
78,719 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #97

Sep 302016

Grand Caravan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After change the idler puley driving back room car overheating

- Wpb, FL, USA

problem #96

Aug 312016

Grand Caravan

  • 187,147 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. While stationary, the vehicle started on its own and the engine ran for over an hour. The failure occurred numerous times. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 187,147.

- Crestview, FL, USA

problem #95

Mar 262016

Grand Caravan

  • 175,000 miles
Van has been stalling out since I have owned it. I purchased new in 2008. It is at second dealer performing recall for the ignition for the second time. I have been with out a vehicle since 3/26/2016. First dealer dutch miller Dodge kept van from 3/26/16 until 5/6/16. Released vehicle back to me with same problem it went in for. I have filed a complaint with Dodge. After having to schedule a appointment with a different dealer and wait for a service date of 6/20/16. The vehicle is at the new dealership I 77 ripley. They are redoing the recall from a year ago that dutch miller had performed. This is the fourth week they have been working on the vehicle and recall problem. I have requested many times for a rental car and both the lifetime warranty I purchased with the van and Dodge have both refused to provide me a vehicle. I have been since March 26, 2016. Without a vehicle and I have had to borrow cars from family and beg for rides because Dodge can not or will not fix my recall on my van.I have been very patient with this situation but something needs to be done. If this vehicle I paid $41,000 for in 2008 is not repairable and not safe to be on public roads due to recall then I feel they need to reimburse me and compensate for my transportation problems..

- Charleston, WV, USA

problem #94

Jun 242016

Grand Caravan

  • 46,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving at any speed, the contact noticed a foul odor in the vehicle. The contact opened the hood and observed coolant leaking. The vehicle was driven to the dealer where it was diagnosed that there was leakage from the "V neck". the failure recurred. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 46,000.

- Valrico, FL, USA

problem #93

May 312016

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Devils Lake, ND, USA

problem #92

Jul 242015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Over the last year I've had to replace the heater hose 3 times in the last year. Each time costing me $400. Recall!! I've already had 5 recalls since I bought it so obviously they are made poorly.

- Matawan, NJ, USA

problem #91

May 012016

Grand Caravan

  • 153,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This van dies while in operation, most often within the first 5 miles of driving in the morning. It has gotten to the point where it happens every single day, sometimes multiple times a day. It appears to happen most frequently when decelerating (upon taking our foot off the gas, the tachometer bounces way down (~500rpm or so), then stutters a bit, then the vehicle stalls/dies. This has happened while turning at an intersection several times, and we narrowly escaped a collision. We have had 2 key fob recalls performed, as Chrysler had attributed the problem to faulty fobs/ignition switches....the most recent recall was performed less than 6 months ago. No change was noted after the recall work was performed. The problem rarely happens on the highway, although it did happen to my wife last week while she was at highway speed on the interstate. I'm listing today's date in the field of "when did this happen?", as it did happen to me today while in an intersection, turning left - I immediately shifted into neutral and restarted it, narrowly missing the car to my right which was also turning left...but it happens virtually every day now.

- Forest Lake, MN, USA

problem #90

Apr 102016

Grand Caravan

  • 155,500 miles
Car dies without warning. Acceleration, steering and braking compromised and dangerous. Happens randomly, when stopping, when accelerating when cruising at highway speeds. Engine hot and cold. New ignition installed as part of recall program and the problem has gotten worse since the "fix".

- Pleasant Prairie, WI, USA

problem #89

Apr 072016

Grand Caravan

  • 93,000 miles
My van was sitting in my driveway. I used the key fob to attempt to unlock the doors and instead the horn started honking, wipers going, washer fluid spraying and lights flashing. It did not stop and the doors would not unlock. I had to use the hidden key in the key fob to manually unlock the door to open the hood and disconnect the battery. I reconnected it and attempted to drive it to my mechanic. It stalled after about 50 feet. I ended up being able to drive it to the mechanic four days later. My mechanic said it had 6 recalls on it (which I was not notified of) and needed the tipm replaced, which was not a part of a recall. He said Chrysler would not allow him to buy the part and I would have to take it directly to the dealer. He said the part is $780 and does not include labor! I cannot afford this and I need this vehicle! I have three kids! I did some research online and saw that this part on my van was a part of a lawsuit. When they settled the lawsuit, they did not include the 2008 Grand Caravan. This is the same exact faulty part that is in the other vehicles that are covered by the lawsuit/recall! there is absolutely no reason I should have to pay for any of this.

- Lewiston, NY, USA

problem #88

Mar 172016

Grand Caravan

  • 140,000 miles
Sept 2015-my engine shut off while driving at 25mph and the horn and wipers went crazy. I was able to pull car to side of road safely. Feb 2016- took van in for recall for new key fab. The following week the car went crazy when I pushed unlock button to get into the vehicle using the new key fab. Horn went off, wipers squirting fluid and doors locked on me except for the rear hatch. Took into dealer they changed the clock spring. March 2016- vehicle went crazy again (horn, wipers, doors) I got into vehicle through rear hatch, unlocked hood, turned key to start to see if I could unlock, car started. I tried to turn off and engine kept going without key in ignition. I got out disconnected battery cable and the vehicle. Was still going crazy and the engine was still running for about 10 minutes. I took vehicle into dealer they first stated it needed new battery cables.. I told them that will not fix the issue.. it is more than that. Keep the vehicle until you find the real solution. Now the dealership is telling me it is the integrated power module ($950) on top on the clock spring that they replaced for ($550). I feel like the dealership is just reaching for solutions and ion the meantime I have to keep paying for their testing.

- Southgate, MI, USA

problem #87

Mar 242016

Grand Caravan

  • 55,959 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car just quits running at any time. Recall was done to fix some control module and new fobs. Not fixed.

- Belleville, IL, USA

problem #86

Mar 192016

Grand Caravan

  • 145,000 miles
The van engine shuts down while in drive. This has happened 4 times with in a week. It has shut down completely at an intersection. Even the hazards would not come on to show other drivers that I was broke down. I received a notice last year about a recall for the ignition module and I was put an a long wait list to have it fixed. On January 3, 2016 I had the recall taken care of at sherwood service in salisbury, md. I have never had the engine failure happen before having the recall fixed, and now, it is happening. When the engine shut down the last time, my husband who was driving had to call the police to direct traffic around the van until the tow truck got there so he would not be hit! it blocked an intersection for 30 minutes until the van was towed away, when the van got home on the tow truck, it started up with no problem. Every time this has happened, the van has been in gear and driving when it completely shuts down and it has either gone over a small bump or been turning. I would also like to add that I had an appointment with sherwood Chrysler in salisbury, md today(3/22/21) and they said that they could not find anything wrong with my van and tried send my husband home in the van without fixing the problem! he insisted that they drive it (which they would not do today) to see if it happened again. They still have my van.

- Salisbury, MD, USA

problem #85

Feb 282016

Grand Caravan

  • 110,000 miles
While driving the van shuts off and looses all power to include power brakes and steering. Also the traction control light comes on. The following has been completed to fix the problem without the problem being resolved: Replacement of battery and check of battery cables, recall complete of win module, replacement of O2 sensors and egr valve, and check of all fuses and wiring. After all of the aforementioned repairs the van still shuts off while driving. When the van shuts off the check engine light does not come on and there are no codes present for the mechanic to diagnose problem. This issue is an extreme safety issue and it appears there are numerous reports I have been able to locate on the internet. My wife will not drive the van not because of the problem. When the van shuts off you can place it in park and restart the van and continue to drive. The van has shut off on me while I have been driving it and there does not appear to be any indicator that it is going to shut down, ie stuttering or irregular operation. The speed that the issue has occurred ranges from 20 mph to 55 mph.

- Peru, NY, USA

problem #84

Dec 282015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving at various speeds, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to restart. The failure recurred six times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Elkhart, IN, USA

problem #83

Jan 112016

Grand Caravan

  • 150,600 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. While the vehicle was at a complete stop, the engine revved without warning. The failure recurred. While attempting to make a left turn, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact placed the vehicle in neutral and was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 150,600. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Iola, KS, USA

problem #82

Nov 152015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. While the vehicle was parked and unlocking the doors, the anti-theft alarm engaged and the wipers independently activated. In addition, after turning the vehicle off with the key removed from the ignition, the engine continued to run. The check engine warning light illuminated. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system, air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 54,000. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 03/09/16 the consumer stated the part was replaced. Updated 03/14/16

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #81

Jul 312015

Grand Caravan

  • 109,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving at a low speed, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The check engine and other multiple warning lights illuminated. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 109,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Grandview, WA, USA

problem #80

Nov 162015

Grand Caravan

  • 132,000 miles
While driving around 45 mph on southbound GA125, the water temperature started to fluctuate and I smelled antifreeze burning. I stopped at a gas station and steam rose from hood. Under the hood, fluid had sprayed from the heater hose "Y-pipe". antifreeze saturated the under-hood blanket and covered the engine. All of the antifreeze was purged onto the ground and in the engine bay. This is the second time I've had to replace this exact part. The first time the vehicle was about 3 years old (2011) I had it replaced at my local Dodge dealership (cass burch valdosta, Georgia) today the same part failed in the exact same manner. Please investigate a manufacturer's recall, or at least a better quality replacement part. Plastic and hot fluid apparently don't mix.

- Hahira, GA, USA

problem #79

Feb 152015

Grand Caravan

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving approximately 25 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was serviced under NHTSA campaign numbers: 11V139000 (electrical system) and 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) on two occasions; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the egr valves needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 75,000. The VIN was not available.

- Ashland, OH, USA

problem #78

Oct 152015

Grand Caravan

  • 250,000 miles
Parts #4781537ac(connect water pump to radiator, made from metal) was purchased at napleton's Dodge (arlington height's ill,60004) dealership at 05/07/2015..today middle of oktober 2015 and I must change this parts again because of antifreeze leakage(same problem was before) very costly !!!!!more over dangerous, can bring engine to overheat.was lucky catch this at my driveway, but if long distance or highway, or on the middle of nowhere..........should go back to mechanic and pay again for installation..why dealership sell same cheap parts as any regular parts store for higher price...?

- Kildeer, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?