Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.9

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,231 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Jan 272016

Grand Caravan

  • 67,912 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 11V394000 (air bags, equipment) and 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repairs. The contact stated that the tire pressure warning light illuminated. The approximate failure mileage was 67,912. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Medford, OR, USA

problem #21

Jan 012014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
The TPMS valve stem broke at metal threads rapidly releasing air from tire!!!

- Wolcottville, IN, USA

problem #20

Oct 152013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 126,188 miles
Tire low pressure indicator light came on and when I stopped to put air in it the cap came off with half of the valve stem and the inside piece flew out as tire deflated. I had previously asked the dealer to check and air up the tires as the indicator light had come on previously...with in 45 days. Thankfully this happened sitting still. I have the parts and the aluminum valve shows metal oxidation. These are hazardous. I wanted to switch to rubber valves and tires plus said it was federally mandated that I could not and they would lose their job and $10K fine. The Dodge dealer wanted to $208 to replace it. My payments are only $244.50...in the "old days" a rubber stem was $1.75 and could mount it myself at the gas station.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #19

May 252012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 54,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The tipm module (totally integrated power module) is defective, and intermittently draws the battery down. After keeping the van for several days, our local dealership (bluebonnet motors) in new braunfels, tx, determined that the battery is fine, but the problem is with the tipm. The manufacturer has no units available for replacement at this time (several hundred are on backorder, and none scheduled for production). Chrysler has not offered to cover this under recall, and we are told it is not covered under our extended warranty. After researching on the internet we read many other people have tipm problems, including: Wipers starting by themselves; windshield sprayers spraying without warning; horn will start honking out of control: Lights flashing uncontrollably (all of these while driving); and even one unit that caught fire. Our dealership has indicated that the system indicates that at least six vehicles have been flagged as completely unusable. We feel that we are driving a rolling time bomb, with the potential to either leave us stranded, or cause hazardous driving distractions at any time, or both.

- New Braunfels, TX, USA

problem #18

Oct 062011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 51,506 miles
2008 Grand Caravan SXT (equipped with a TPMS air sensors) - with the change of weather, the low tire pressure indicator light went on. While checking the air pressure of the tires, two (of four) of the valve stem caps would not loosen. When attempting to remove one of the stuck valve stem caps, the valve stem snapped off - instantly releasing all the air in the affected tire. The local Dodge dealership was contacted, parts ordered, and an appointment was made. They are aware of the recurrent problem with these aluminum valve stems/sensors. This is the second time for a valve stem to break on this vehicle. (the last one occurred at 43,097 miles on 11/7/10.) there is a safety concern with these failed components. We have noticed on the internet forums that this is a common occurrence and should be addressed by Dodge/Chrysler as a serious accident could result.

- Endicott, NY, USA

problem #17

Jul 182009

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 61,900 miles
Tire pressure sensor failure. Simply broke off completely while washing car. Possibly effected by roadsalt. Only 3 yrs old made from aluminum? never saw a metal shredded valve holder fail. Luckily failed while not moving. But should not have failed.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #16

Mar 082011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 57,076 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

March 8, 2011; vehicle was at dealer for service, while performing the service the right rear tire, pressure sensor fell apart.this was replaced with a new sensor. Other sensors in the other three tires were not checked at that time. June 5, 2011; computer warned of low tire pressure, I attempted to put air into left front tire, took the cap off, put the air nozzle on and the valve stem broke off. Needless to say, I found out how to change a flat tire. June 6, 2011; I went to a local tire dealer, snow tires removed, to be replaced with summer tires. The technicians reported that two of the sensors, valve stem assembly came apart. I requested standard value stems to put in 3 of the tires.I feel this is safer, seeing that the valve stem is now, a one piece unit. Not something that two pieces of metal that are adhered together and don't stand a chance in our climate. This is a 3 year old vehicle, value stems are 3 years old, I feel this is a safety issue for all concerned. I have contacted the compliant department at Chrysler Dodge in Michigan, as what will be done, don't know yet.

- Manchester, NH, USA

problem #15

Nov 012009

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that while having the tires changed, the tire pressure sensor fractured from the vehicle. The contact stated that the failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to local repair shop where the contact was advised that the tire pressure sensors were defective and would need to be replaced. The manufacturer was contacted who did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 60,000 and the current mileage was 109,000. Updated 05/25/11 the consumer stated the sensors failed due to valve stem corrosion

- Shoreline , WA, USA

problem #14

Feb 122010

Grand Caravan

  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. While the vehicle was parked the contact was adding air to the rear passenger side tire when the threaded portion of the valve stem snapped off. The contact stated that the failure occurred on the rear drivers side tire three weeks later. The tire pressure light was illuminated on the dashboard. The manufacturer was contact and referred the contact to the dealer. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technicians stated that the tire pressure sensor needed to be replaced and the repairs were not covered under warranty. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 54,000.

- Beloville, NJ, USA

problem #13

Dec 022010

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
When checking tire pressure on vehicle, the rear passenger valve stem broke in half in the middle of the threads. Upon examination, the cause of the break was corrosion of the metal valve stem. The three other valve stems are also corroded. Chrysler customer service was contacted, but no help was given. The valve stem and tire pressure monitor are a one piece unit so changing the valve stems at the tire change is not practical ($50-75 per tire). Due to the corrosion and resulting safety concern, all four valve stems and tire pressure monitor will be replaced at a cost of approximately $200. The corroded valve stem is available for examination. If this would have happened on the highway, a major accident could have resulted.

- Martin, MI, USA

problem #12

Dec 022010

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 33,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The tire valve stem tips (the end metal part), which are integral with the TPMS, break off leading to a sudden and complete loss of air from the tire. This has happened twice on two different tires on our 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. Once at about 25K and the second time at 33K. The Dodge dealership says this is a common occurrence but will not cover it under warranty.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #11

Aug 202010

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
The tire valve stem made of a single piece of aluminum corrodes at the base of the threads at the end of the plastic cap. This leads to the sudden release of air and can happen while driving orwhen handling the tire valve, e.g. when adding air to the tire. This has now happened to me twice, once while I was driving, and once soon after adding air to the tire. The tire was damaged in the first incident and had to be replaced. The second time I found the valve piece hanging inside the cap a week after I had added air to the tires. Upon continued inspection of these valve stems I have found another one that is cracked. I am an engineer and up till recently was in the automotive industry. The design of the valve and material selection or manufacturing is flawed. This vehicle is used by my wife to carry my kids and their friends. I will not replace this flawed design with another equally flawed replacement and have gone to using non-TPMS valves that utilize a flexible rubber stem and threaded brass end. I am willing to go back to a TPMS valve if the design is corrected. The best thing would be to have Chrysler recall and repair the vehicle but it seems they are either waiting for a solution to fall form the sky or for NHTSA to force this on them. I have an old part that is available.

- Brown Deer, WI, USA

problem #10

Nov 072010

Grand Caravan

  • 43,097 miles
Last Sunday, 11/7/10, we were returning from vacation (200 miles from home) and noticed the air pressure was low in our L front tire of our 2008 Grand Caravan SXT (vehicle is equipped with TPMS air sensors). We stopped at a NJ gas station to fill the tire when the valve stem snapped off - instantly releasing all the air from the tire. We had to put on the spare and proceeded to look for a place to replace the broken valve stem. We did find one service station open on the NJ turnpike, but they stated that they could not put in a standard valve stem as it would require a Chrysler part. (as I mentioned earlier, it was Sunday am.) to our dismay, we had to "limp" home on the "donut" which entailed traveling on several major interstate. Our concern is the safety factor. We have now noticed on the internet forums that this is a common issue with these aluminum valve stems as there are multiple reports of this occurring at approximately 25K-40K miles. (our vehicle has 43K.) after returning home, I contacted a local Dodge dealer and they are also aware of this problem and had to order the part. Thursday, 11/11/10, I had the broken valve stem/sensor replaced ($92.34) and asked for the broken valve stem/sensor which was given to us. When asked, the service person said that the replacement part has not been modified to keep this from occurring again - except for a plastic cap (which, by the way, the first one had).

- Endicott, NY, USA

problem #9

Oct 312010

Grand Caravan

  • 59,354 miles
2008 Dodge Caravan tire valve stem failure, valve stem broke off during adding air to tire. Told by dealership this is a common problem with these tire pressure sensor valve stems on Dodge Caravan. In my entire history of owning vehicles I have never encountered this problem. To me looks like either a design or material problem that caused the valve stem to crack.

- Dexter, MI, USA

problem #8

Sep 062010

Grand Caravan

  • 25,000 miles
Tire pressure monitoring sensor/valve stem 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan...valve broke off in my hands today. It is a $100 valve stem? it is corroded, and only has 25000 miles! this is a joke!

- Burnsville, MN, USA

problem #7

Aug 262010

Grand Caravan

  • 44,794 miles
Valve stem broke causing the tire to deflate and warning light to come on in car.

- Livingingston, TX, USA

problem #6

Feb 262010

Grand Caravan

  • 2,856 miles
1 TPMS sensor broke allowing tire to deflate instantly. Sensor stem broke while tire pressure was being taken

- Sardinia, NY, USA

problem #5

Feb 012010

Grand Caravan

  • 12,954 miles
1 TPMS sensor failed causing tire to deflate immediately. Sensor broke at stem while tire pressure was being checked.

- Sardinia, NY, USA

problem #4

Jan 192010

Grand Caravan

  • 20,879 miles
1 TPMS sensor failed (stem broke) causing tire to go flat instantly. Stem broke while pressure was being checked.

- Sardinia, NY, USA

problem #3

Oct 152009

Grand Caravan

  • 23,987 miles
Three of the four tire pressure monitoring sensors (TPMS) valve stems have failed on my 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. Two of them failed in October 2009 and one in January 2010, all while attempting to add air. All tires immediately lost all air. The valve stem housing (threaded portion) snapped off. The three tpmss were replaced by the local Dodge dealership. Because I believed this was a safety issue, I requested that the forth TPMS be replaced, however, the local dealership and Chrysler hq customer service adamantly refused to replace the remaining one. If the valve stem were to break off while the vehicle is in motion, the results could be disastrous, as the tire would rapidly deflate.

- Battle Creek, MI, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?