Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.6

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,692 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Grand Caravan brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #14

Jun 232011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,673 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer to have the brakes repaired under warranty. While having the vehicle repaired, the contact was informed that the rear rotors were warped and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact expressed concern over the rotors warping on a low mileage vehicle. The failure and current mileages were 23,673. Updated 09/09/11 the rear rotors were turned, but not replaced. Updated 10/31/11

- Bardstown, KY, USA

problem #13

Jun 222011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
2009 Caravan rear caliper grinding and rim so hot you can't touch it. Second time in 5 months this has happened. Cant drive the vehicle wheel doesn't want to rotate because caliper is locked under pressure.

- Clarkston, MI, USA

problem #12

Apr 152011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated while attempting to apply the brakes they pulsated and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who performed a diagnostic test that determined the failure was located in the rear and front brake rotors and pads. The dealer replaced the rear and front brake pads and rotors. The failure mileage was 25,000 and the current mileage is 27,000. Updated 07/28/11 updated 08/01/11

- Hopewell Junction , NY, USA

problem #11

Mar 072010

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 30,937 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2009 Dodge Grand Caravan rear brakes failure at 30,937 miles.. an extended warranty was issued for front brakes, but problem with rear brakes have been ignored. My rear brakes required replacement at 30, 700 miles the front brakes still have over half the life remaining.. Chrysler should be forced to issue a recall.

- Converse , TX, USA

problem #10

Jan 202010

Grand Caravan

  • 19,295 miles
Brakes would squeal and screech while driving and would stop when the brakes were applied. The front rotor was red hot and smoking. I later had the same problem with the rear brakes and they had to replace the rotors pads and calipers. This appeared again after 15,000 miles and they said it was normal and wanted to charge me for repair.

- Highland, MI, USA

problem #9

Jan 202010

Grand Caravan

  • 19,295 miles
Brakes would squeal and screech while driving and would stop when the brakes were applied. The front rotor was red hot and smoking. I later had the same problem with the rear brakes and they had to replace the rotors pads and calipers. This appeared again after 15,000 miles and they said it was normal and wanted to charge me for repair.

- Highland, MI, USA

problem #8

Aug 092010

Grand Caravan

  • 3,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The events leading up to the failure = while vehicle in motion engine lost complete power and died on street---the failure how often it occurs = one time--- its consequences = towed to dealer for repairs---additional problems with the vehicle = 1-while Dodge Caravan was in motion¿on the street¿Dodge Caravan engine power was totally lost¿Dodge Caravan came to a stop while holding the brake pedal down very hard! 2-transmission shift lever stuck in park with engine running - I could not move gearshift lever to drive- I had to turn off ignition and start engine again. 3-intermittent electrical operation of left and right sliding doors to open or close. 4-intermittent transmission jumps and a clunk noise at approximately 21 miles per hour speed. *(on 04-06-2010 vehicle bought in for same problem). 5-security system head and taillights do-not flash when car is armed or unarmed. 6-intermittent low tire pressure light symbol intermittently goes on/off or stays on. 7-engine idles high. 8-very low gas mileage. Approximately 12 miles city and 14 miles highway per 18 gallon tank = approximately 240 miles per tank-----vehicle id [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Tujunga, CA, USA

problem #7

Apr 132010

Grand Caravan

  • 15,000 miles
2009 Dodge Grand Caravan began shaking as I would brake from speeds anywhere from 40-100 miles per hour (I live in germany). At 15,000 miles we took the car to the dealership and they determined that the front rotors are warped. The odd thing is that the rotors went out before the brakes did. The dealer said due to a design flaw in the Grand Caravan, the front retains a lot of heat and will warp the rotors on a regular basis. We were told to expect this repair every 15,000 miles or so.

- Apo, AE, USA

problem #6

Jun 272010

Grand Caravan

  • 9,100 miles
On 6/27/2010 my family and myself were traveling to hackensack mn on hwy 371 and when I attempted to pass a slow moving vehicle my mini van kept increasing in speed. No injuries happened I calmly got it to stop but I had to pull off to the side of the road and shut off the engine. The cruise was on but not activated. I tried to hit the cancel switch hit the on off switch all the time pushing the brake pedal. The skid protection light and brake light came on and the brakes heated up really bad but I was able to stop. The engine would not stop racing and the lights would not go out until I shut down the engine on the side of the road. We then continued our trip with no more incidents and I did try to get it to happen again with no luck.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #5

Apr 102010

Grand Caravan

  • 13,000 miles
Shaking in steering wheel when brakes applied at higher speeds. Started intermittently at about 12,000-13,000 miles, proceeded to get worse. Husband at first couldn't feel it so I did not take it in. When it got really bad I told my husband to take it for a drive again, he said he thought it was the rotors to take it in to the dealer. Sure enough I had warped rotors which were changed on June 4, 2010. I am not the only person I know to have this problem at such low miles on a Dodge vehicle. I have informed them to notify you.

- Fulton, NY, USA

problem #4

Sep 222009

Grand Caravan

  • 3,095 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

-the contact owns a 2009 Dodge Caravan. While the contact was driving approximately 45 mph the brake pedal was engaged and the vehicle started to vibrate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician replaced the front rotors. The second failure occurrence was approximately six months after the service repair was performed on the vehicle. The dealer replaced the rotors and calipers. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for the identical failure for the third time, and had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The manufacturer was notified which informed the failure would be under an investigation. The contact was waiting on a response from the manufacturer regarding the failure. The failure mileage was 3,095. The current mileage was 9,100.

- Regina , KY, USA

problem #3

Nov 182009

Grand Caravan

  • 14,338 miles
Brand new 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan. All four rotors on this van had to be replaced. The brakes were like new. Mileage 14,338.

- Narberth, PA, USA

problem #2

Apr 032009

Grand Caravan

  • 23,500 miles
Had to replace pads and rotors on 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan. Total mileage on vehicle was 23,500 miles. Firestone, where work was done, told me that they had used cheap parts during manufacture. Spoke to an acquaintance who also has the same type of vehicle and he had to replace his pads and rotors also at about the same mileage. Think this is a safety issue because of people continuing to drive because they expect 30K or more just out of the pads and the fact that this has happened to 2 out 2 owners of Dodge Caravan.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #1

Oct 172009

Grand Caravan

  • 21,000 miles
2008 Dodge Caravan. My wife complained about noise from brakes. Brought in for a diagnosis and it needs both front and rear brake pads and rotors. The car has 21,000 miles, 90 percent on the highway. After research on the internet, this is a common complaint and Chrysler is refusing to do anything about the accelerated wear on the pads and rotors. Apparently the subpar materials that are used are over heating causing this wear. This is totally unacceptable. Chrysler needs to address this and issue a recall. We were lucky to get 21,000 mi. From reading many other complaints, most need replacing around the 12,000 mile mark.

- Homestead, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?