Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,095 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Grand Caravan electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 12 of 15)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #76

Oct 232014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 4/15/15

- Winter Haven , FL, USA

problem #75

Nov 012014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 6/22/15

- Concord, NC, USA

problem #74

Sep 172014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- St. Joseph, MI, USA

problem #73

Nov 112014

Grand Caravan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Montgomery, TX, USA

problem #72

Sep 202014

Grand Caravan

  • 71,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that while at a stop, smoke started to emit from the driver's side of the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 71,000.

- Pablo, CO, USA

problem #71

Feb 232015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure yet. ## VIN passed ## 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan ## updated 7/6/2015

- Dawsonville, GA, USA

problem #70

Oct 152014

Grand Caravan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Leander, TX, USA

problem #69

Sep 262014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) and was not able to schedule the recall repair for months due to the part not being available. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Wrentham, MA, USA

problem #68

Sep 152014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number:14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Hamburg, NJ, USA

problem #67

Sep 152014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Greenbier, TN, USA

problem #66

Feb 112015

Grand Caravan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The date above is not real. I don't know the dates for these incidents. I am waiting since Sept for a repair on this recall and my notice says I have a right to have it corrected quickly and at no cost. I have had problems in the past but no the one described. Do seem related to key not being seated correctly. After parking, it is in reverse when I return to vehicle (happened a few times.) the key is difficult to remove (often). A few times I put the car in park and removed the key and got out and my radio and wipers continued to run until I put the key back and jiggled it a few times to get all to turn off.

- Remsen, NY, USA

problem #65

Feb 022015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
2009 Dodge Grand Caravan. Consumer is requesting new car due to unsuccessful repairs on vehicle, due to recall of the ignition switch. The consumer was informed there was no remedy for the recall.

- Tenafly, NJ, USA

problem #64

Jun 022014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles
Letter from senator franken on behalf of constituent re recall on 2009 Dodge Caravan (alex schueller). The consumer received recall 3 14V373000 in the mail. However, when he contacted the dealer to make an appointment, he was informed the parts were not available. The consumer contacted the dealer on January 15, 2015, and again he was informed the parts were not available.

- Bloomington, MN, USA

problem #63

Nov 032014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system). However, the part was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 3/31/15

- Elkridge , MD, USA

problem #62

Jan 142014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Menlo Park, NJ, USA

problem #61

Feb 032015

Grand Caravan

  • 296,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving at 50 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The failure mileage was 296,000.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #60

Mar 012013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
The vehicle shutoff in the middle of an intersection after putting the vehicle in motion after a red light turned green. The vehicle has a hard time starting recently and we believe it's due to the ignition recall. We contacted our dealer and they said a bad key problem is separate from the win module detent ring problem. They investigated the problem and said a bad win module is the cause for not starting. My belief is that the loose detent ring caused a failure of the key due to a bad connection for years. I'm also afraid we could be seriously injured before the recall as this is our only vehicle. We called Dodge and they said nothing could be done safety wise for us until the recalled part is manufactured. I asked them if they could provide us a rental vehicle until then they said no. So I said you know there's something dangerous and yet there's nothing you can do and we are totally on our own if we get injured, to which they replied "yes". we want to file a complaint against Dodge/Chrysler for not looking out for our safety. Thanks, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Windsor, CA, USA

problem #59

Mar 282012

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The fab key falls out of the dash. Sometimes kills the engine. The recall for this problem was June 16, 2011 and to this date they still haven't even started to fix it. We have not been in an accident because of it, but it could happen at anytime.

- Hamburg, NY, USA

problem #58

Sep 232014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 11V139000 (electrical system). However, the parts needed were not available. The dealer was unable to indicate when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and was not able to provide a specific date the part would be sent to the dealer to provide the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure.

- Eldorado Springs, MO, USA

problem #57

Oct 012014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 5/5/15 the consumer stated since the manufacturer is so lax in finding a solution to the defect the vehicle will be sold as soon as possible. Updated 9/16/2015

- Florence, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?