Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,586 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Grand Caravan engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #35

May 012014

Grand Caravan

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving at an unknown speed, the passenger side sliding door independently opened without warning. The contact indicated that the failure occurred on five separate occasions. In addition, while driving, the vehicle overheated without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 75,000.

- Irvin, CA, USA

problem #34

Jul 162015

Grand Caravan

  • 85,000 miles
Our van keeps running out of oil completely before oil change is due, dealer has already replaced oil pan and rear main seal. Problem still exists and they are saying the rear main seal again. Does not make any sense because there is no oil in parking spot or under vehicle near rear main seal. Online many people report that it is a engine problem and that it is a common issue with the motor... so why are people having to pay for repairs when this motor should be recalled. It is currently at the dealership now being repaired or replacing rear main seal again.

- Swanton, VT, USA

problem #33

May 162015

Grand Caravan

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer on several occasions, but the cause of the failure was unable to be determined. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #32

Sep 172015

Grand Caravan

  • 114,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that while in park, the vehicle failed to start. The engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system, air bags) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 114,000.

- Darlington , SC, USA

problem #31

Aug 122015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
I received an important safety recall notice L25 in May 2015. I contacted alhambra Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram to schedule the repair approximately every three weeks from May 2015. They repeatedly told me that they don't have the part, that they ordered it, and that they will call me when it comes in. It has been 4 months and I'm still getting the same story. My fobiks are not working correctly. Starting my car it highly unreliable.

- Monterey Park, CA, USA

problem #30

Apr 302015

Grand Caravan

  • 112,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that while driving at 70 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle and the engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system, air bags) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 112,000.

- Marlo, OK, USA

problem #29

Jun 302011

Grand Caravan

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car for years just wont start. You turn the key and then nothing happens. It has been an ongoing issue for years and just happened again today on 3 separate trips. I have taken it to the dealership and nothing can be found. Also when backing out and turning the wheel, the car makes a grinding noise. Was told nothing can be done about that.

- Homewood, IL, USA

problem #28

Jun 142015

Grand Caravan

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the engine stalled without warning while driving at 45 mph. The contact was able to restart the engine; however, the contact was unable to shift the gear into drive. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact mentioned that NHTSA campaign number 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) was received. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Robert , LA, USA

problem #27

Feb 142015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
In February 2015 we were driving our Grand Caravan minivan when it suddenly shut off and stalled, this occurred four times in two days. We took the car in to local dealer. We have an ignition key recall on this vehicle.we were informed by dealer that Dodge is choosing not to repair this model year and we would more than likely have to fight it out with Dodge. The dealer within 24 hrs said they would fix the van for us gave us new keys and the part was taken care of.on March 25 201 I had yet another occurrence of staling vehicle, contacted Dodge.Dodge informed me that they did not have a designed new ignition part for my car that the fix that the dealer made was temporary, which we were never made aware of, we have received conflicting information from both the dealer as well as Dodge. How long must I drive a vehicle which is stalling out with my family in it. Why is it the well fair of my family has no value and Dodge can drag their feet coming up with a proper design after three years knowing about a design failure.

- Spencerport, NY, USA

problem #26

Feb 272015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
Pulled onto lemay ferry road from forder road (63129) at the light. As soon as I got onto lemay ferry rd. Going slow in traffic, the engine cut out and died suddenly with no warning. I had no extra keys on with the keyfob and nothing bumped the ignition. There was not a bump in the road. This has happened many times since I bought the vehicle new in 2009 and has been reported repeatedly to Chrysler since that time. Although there is now a recall, the parts are apparently unavailable and I have been on the list for repair with the dealer since the recall was announced. This is a ridiculous way to handle the safety of the public. Obviously, Chrysler is not that concerned about us. It also happened at highway speed in the dark last fall when I accidentally did bump the fob while scratching a mosquito bite on my knee. Ridiculous!!!! dangerous!! lawsuits!!!

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #25

Jan 052015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the vehicle surged forward and stalled without warning. The failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 71,000...updated 05/19/15 updated 11/10/2015

- Venice, FL, USA

problem #24

Jan 062014

Grand Caravan

  • 75,000 miles
On multiple occasions while driving, the vehicle decelerated on its own, while also losing all ability to steer or brake. All power control to steering, braking and maneuvering was lost, although the engine did not appear to shut off. The first incident caused my wife to end up in a ditch with the children in the car. Chrysler and their dealerships will not say this is related to the NHTSA campaign # 14V373000/ Chrysler L25 recall because the engine did not appear to shut off. Whether part of the recall or not, these problems are serious safety issues for my family and others on the road. Additionally, Chrysler does not have parts available for the recall and were not able to provide an availability eta for replacement parts. I was also told by Chrysler that I have been notified of the recall, and as such, they hold no liability for me driving the vehicle until replacement parts available.

- Fort Mill, SC, USA

problem #23

Mar 012013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
The vehicle shutoff in the middle of an intersection after putting the vehicle in motion after a red light turned green. The vehicle has a hard time starting recently and we believe it's due to the ignition recall. We contacted our dealer and they said a bad key problem is separate from the win module detent ring problem. They investigated the problem and said a bad win module is the cause for not starting. My belief is that the loose detent ring caused a failure of the key due to a bad connection for years. I'm also afraid we could be seriously injured before the recall as this is our only vehicle. We called Dodge and they said nothing could be done safety wise for us until the recalled part is manufactured. I asked them if they could provide us a rental vehicle until then they said no. So I said you know there's something dangerous and yet there's nothing you can do and we are totally on our own if we get injured, to which they replied "yes". we want to file a complaint against Dodge/Chrysler for not looking out for our safety. Thanks, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Windsor, CA, USA

problem #22

Dec 122011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
Multiple problems. Worst first. High oil consumption, maintain vehicle faithfully. At approx. 70 K miles the engine oil light popped on. Checked oil. Was not registering on stick. Over three qts low! engine continues to use 3-4 qts between oil changes (3000 miles). Van is on its third set of brakes. Tires have to be rotated very often because the front ruins tires quickly. Have had to replace the key fob twice. Both times it has left us stranded with no warning. Van is now in the shop for bad motor mounts. Gauge cluster has been replaced once. Heater hose "Y" connection blew apart while on vacation at approx. 75K miles. (engine did not overheat). Van is on its third or fourth battery. Power sliding doors continually have problems closing. Power steering pump whines since 15K miles. Van currently has 91K miles.

- Chapin, SC, USA

problem #21

Dec 212014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 113,000 miles
I have been having an issue with my 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan wherein my "anti-skid" system is somehow activated and kills my engine and tightens up my steering while I am driving down the road. I am able to keep my cool and throw it into neutral and restart the van and put it back into drive and keep going. I have been fortunate that this has not happened in high speed or thick traffic. I am concerned that this may cause an accident and injuries. I found a similar complaint on the internet: www.justanswer.com/Dodge/8tir2-2009-grand-Caravan-59-000-miles-traction.html.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #20

Dec 102014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 168,000 miles
The engine shut down after I hit a bump during a turn, I ran into a ditch and something is broke on the front passenger side. Loud noises coming from tire area. I have already had this happen multiple times and replaced the bearing. But when the engine shuts down every time I hit any significant bump in the road, even when on the highway and I'm being told there isn't anything they will do until the recall is finalized?

- Hamilton, OH, USA

problem #19

Nov 202014

Grand Caravan

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that while driving approximately 10 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure occurred on four occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Valparaiso, IN, USA

problem #18

Oct 112014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
Filed complaint about 3 weeks ago. Called Chrysler recall center and explained the vehicle problem. Chrysler representative confirmed there is a recall on my vehicle, but the parts are not available. They stated they would document the urgency of my repair as the vehicle has failed 2 times in 3 weeks. I expressed my concern over the safety of driving the vehicle, especially with children. I was told the vehicle is safe to drive, but make sure I remove all object from my key ring. I really do not think this was the problem. The second time it had a power failure, the vehicle was almost stopped, ready to make a left hand turn, the road was smooth. How can the parts not be available when it was just released on the news that Chrysler ordered the parts even before the recall was announced. Also, 32 deaths possibly related to this defect. How can this not be of an urgent matter to have them replaced. I am nervous driving, which I have too in order to get to work, school, shopping. This whole situation is unbelievable to me. I have always bought american made cars, and this is the customer service I receive. I hope Chrysler is ready for more lawsuits. Its a shame people have to get hurt or even die for action to be taken.

- Brecksville, OH, USA

problem #17

Oct 112014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
While driving approx. 35M/hr in low traffic, van steering wheel stiffened, no warning lights on dash, then ABS signal went on and brakes were out. I was able to coast to side street and the van had complete engine shut down. I had 2 children in the car. Thank goodness we were not on the highway and traffic was low. The van restarted and we drove home. Called my mechanic who had me get the battery checked out, which is only one year old. We bought a new battery a year ago because occasionally the van will not start right away, was stranded several hours at a baseball game, then it started. Had it put on computer at mechanic who cannot find any codes coming up for reason. Van has had at least 5 episodes of failing to start on first try. Second time this month, Oct. 29,2014. Pulling to turning lane to go down our home street, when again, steering stiffened, I looked at dash board, ABS light came on, brakes out and engine shut off. I knew what was happening so I stopped before turning and restarted van. This is very dangerous. I had my daughter in car. Again, thank good ness not on busy street with traffic or highway. I travel a lot with children and I am now afraid that this will happen on the highway and a serious injury or worse will happen. Dodge needs to address this immediately.

- Cleveland , OH, USA

problem #16

Jun 092014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
When the vehicle is cold, and after I start driving, if I do no have my foot on the accelerator, the engine will just die. When it does, there are no warning lights go on and the steering becomes completely unresponsive. I must quickly put the car in neutral and start it again. It can happen multiple times before the engine warms up. It can just happen going down the road. I have had it to the dealer and another auto repair place and neither can figure out what is wrong. This happens quit often.

- Solsberry, IN, USA

Read the next 15 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?