2.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,901 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Dodge Grand Caravan brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments

problem #9

Dec 252016

Grand Caravan

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My van just shut off while doing 55 mph on a highway. No warning signs or check engine lights came on. I had no steering, gas, or breaks when it shut off. The a few days later all the lights on the dash came on then went off but never shut off until a few blocks later when it turned off while driving on a street. And everytime it shuts off I put it in park take the keys out and then restart the van and it acts like nothing ever happened.

- Hartford, KS, USA

problem #8

May 202016

Grand Caravan

  • 76,000 miles
When driving the 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan the traction control light came on while I was driving on the highway the first time, and regular street roads the other times and the vehicle stalls and the brake, steering wheel and gas pedal lock causing the driver to lose control of the vehicle.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #7

May 102016

Grand Caravan

  • 56,000 miles
Similar to other reports; vehicle will randomly lose power and/or stall. It has happened at slow speeds, stopped at a light, and even on the highway going 70mph. Have to take key out of ignition, wait a few seconds and turn back on and car starts up. Also now having issues to turn on. Lights on dash will blink and dim; radio shuts off; ebs, anti lock brake, engine light all begin to blink. Idle needles gets low. Power brakes lose function. We have owned the car since March 2016, car has 56000 miles. Taken to dealer a few times where the PCM was changed and issued not resolved. Changed faulty pulley on belt system and issue not resolved. Computer does not come back with any codes. Local mechanic checked for starter, alternator, ignition switch issues and all showing good. Vehicle is not part of Dodge recall of other 2010 that are having exact same issue.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #6

Jan 072016

Grand Caravan

  • 112,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The switch was fixed and keys replaced but after that the car stalled three times(11/27/2015,1/6/16 and 1/7/16) and stopped completely and lost power and steering ability. The car started to slow down first and not being able to accelerate until everything was dead during which the electronic stability program indicator flashed.the road was dry (no snow or ice). The speed was 25-30 mph in two occasions and 40 mph last time.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #5

Nov 092009

Grand Caravan

  • 10 miles
While driving my van the ignition shut off. This has happened multple time November 17, 2009, December 24, 2009, November 19, 2010, they put a data recorder in each time.September 20, 2012 anoather data recorder was installed in my van. April 9, 2012 they installed another data recorder in my van. I have multiple claims with Dodge/Chrysler. Browning Dodge in corona, ca corrected the problem each time stating it was the wind module.they said the problem was caused by the adfter market alarm system that was installed in my vehicle by the dealer. They removed the alarm, and reimbursed my for it as we were unaware that the alarm was and after market alarm. On August 22, 2013 dch Dodge in temecula, ca finally found the problem they removed the alarm system and said that not all of the wires were connected. On April 22, 2014 my transmission started leaking they added dye to find the leak replaced right and left axle seals.oil pan gasket was also replaced. On December 13, 2013 the pressure line was leaking, dch Chrysler repaced the pressure line. I have case numbers from Dodge/Chrysler to back up all of these problems I have had.

- Lake Elsinore, CA, USA

problem #4

Jan 222015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 78,884 miles
While driving approximately 40 mph under normal conditions (50 degrees F, no rain/snow), the operator noticed a sudden and unexpected loss of power steering. Upon scanning the dash, the eps (stability control) lights was illuminated. A few seconds (maybe 5 - 15) later, the power breaking appeared to be lost. Operator is unsure if these functions were "simply" lost, or if the vehicle was actually powered down. Steering and breaking was extremely difficult to the extent that it was very difficult to physically control the vehicle enough to move to the side of the road without hitting any objects. Even braking was extremely difficult to do with significant force. After getting safely on the side of the road, the engine was immediately turned off. A few minutes later, the car was re-started and appeared to be functioning normally, although operator was unwilling to risk putting car into "drive". car was towed to dealer for analysis. If this had happened at higher speed, or when a quick stop was necessary, a severe crash likely would have occurred.

- Fletcher, NC, USA

problem #3

Jul 012014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving home from work at 10pm on the freeway and my headlights went off then they flashed 3 times tried using my brights and all my lights shut off.the only lights that got me home safe was my park lights.I changed my bulbs still not the problem.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #2

Jan 242013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 50,214 miles
While driving on a flat road, the ESC/slipper road sign comes on, car loses power, is unsteerable and stops in the middle of the road. This has happened 5 times now.

- Sammamish, WA, USA

problem #1

Feb 202013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Vehicle was sold to customer without recall NHTSA 11V-139 being installed in Nov 2011. Customer never notified; however, the vehicle had a window switch failure in Feb 2012 at about 60K miles at which time the dealer used L25 instead of a complete win module replacement. Custumer was not told of the replacement and it was not reported to carfax or other entities. May 13, 2013 after a distance trip, custumer parked the vehicle for 2 minutes. When attempting restart the vehicle had power but would not start and shifter was locked. Diagnosis shows full failure of the win module. The L25 recommended partial replacement did not prevent failure. Even though no accident occurred, customer was travelling from md to va and shutdown could have occurred on highway 301 or I95. Upon confronting the dealer, dealer stated that they do not have to disclose the recall or have to perform the work even though the dealer service instructions on July 2011 stated that the dealer must complete the recall before retail delivery. Consequently, this vehicle was one of the ones that needed a full replacement and not a partial.

- Mckenney, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?