Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,248 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Dodge Grand Caravan brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments

problem #15

Jan 062012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that while driving 20 to 35 mph, the brakes failed without warning. As a result, the contact lost control of the vehicle and crashed into a truck head on. The front driver's air bag did not deploy. The contact suffered injuries to the neck and back during the crash. The manufacturer investigated the failure and concluded that the air bag did not deploy because the vehicle absorbed the impact of the crash. It was also determined that the air bag failure was not due to any known issues. The failure and the current mileages were 56,000. Updated 05/01/12 updated 06/14/2012

- Windham, ME, USA

problem #14

Apr 222011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,562 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that when applying the brakes at 50 mph, the brake pedal would pulsate abnormally with the illumination of the ABS warning light. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they advised the contact that the rear brakes sensor failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired for the brake sensor, and later repaired for the rear brake pads and calipers. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 9,562. Updated 04/19/12

- Portersville, PA, USA

problem #13

Jun 172011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
Early wear on brakes and rotors. I experienced poor braking, propulsion, screeching. Took six months for the Dodge dealership to acknowledge there was a brake problem. Vehicle had bad rotors which caused bad brake pads.

- Bremerton, WA, USA

problem #12

Jul 152011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle began to shake with only 17-18000 miles on it. We replaced brakes and rotors because Dodge told us that the rotors were warped and brake pads low. Now and 21000 I need to replace them again. The brakes are not sufficient for the weight of the vehicle and therefore Chrysler should be held responsible for designing an inadequate brake system. Consumers are not engineers and we buy vehicles trusting the manufacturers have designed a car correctly and with basic necessity (such as a braking system) to have to replace a vans brake every 3-5000 miles is ridiculous. Chrysler should recall this brake system and install new brakes on every mini-van they produced.

- Dallas, GA, USA

problem #11

Oct 182010

Grand Caravan

  • 18,000 miles
Bought a pre certified full warranty used vehicle from sorensons. After the first week I complained about van vibrating when trying to stop and problems with brakes. I was told they are fine. Still complaining after a year to executive office at Chrysler I got an extended warranty letter to get new rotors and front brake pads due to the defect on these hot spots and warping. I complained for over a year and am told yes we admit the brakes are defective but you must pay $100 deductible because you have 28000 miles on the van. Why am I to pay a deductible on a defective part that could have cause injury or death. All I get is the runaround with [xxx] at Chrysler. This is after the ignition shut off at 60 miles an hour problem and now this. Enough is enough. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Haines City, FL, USA

problem #10

Nov 162011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 32,000 miles
Rear brake pads and rotors failed on van. Chrysler extended warranty on front brake and rotors but not back brakes and rotors for up to $100 deductible on 36000 miles. Why not back brakes and rotors? they are made of same materials.

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #9

Nov 162011

Grand Caravan

  • 43,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact was driving 45 mph when the rear brakes failed. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic who performed a diagnostic that located the failure at the rear brake, calipers, rotors and the cylinders. The local mechanic replaced the rear calipers, rotors, cylinders, and the brakes. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure and the current mileage was 43,000.

- Grand Rapids , MI, USA

problem #8

Oct 252011

Grand Caravan

  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the rear rotors were defective. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the failure was caused by wear and tear. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not included in any recalls. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 14,000 and the current mileage was 14,600.

- Dacula, GA, USA

problem #7

Jul 012011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
I purchased the vehicle in Aug 2010. Today's date is Nov 15, 2011. Current mileage is 40,000 miles. I use the car for commuting to work on the highway. The front brakes and front rotors need to be replaced. The steering wheel has been shaking violently. I received a letter from Chrysler group llc dated Oct 24, 2011 stating "the warranty period for my front brake pads and front rotors has been extended because some of the minivans may need the pads and rotors replaced earlier than expected." It has been extended to 3 years/36,000 miles. Unfortunately, my dealership will not honor the warranty with me because of the current mileage at 40,000. My issue is the fact that the car is only 1yr 4 months old and already needs new pads and front rotors. I understand from various dealerships that the front rotors are not built to handle the weight of the vehicle. I can supply the two dealerships that gave me this information. I believe that by writing the letter they are admitting a defect in the manufacturing of the 2009-2011 Dodge Grand Caravan and it should be recalled. Breaks are not a part of the van that can wait to be repaired. Eventually, someone will get hurt. I have contacted the Chrysler customer assistance center and they stood by the letter. I am having the van repaired by an auto mechanic and will save the damage parts for proof and resources to my claim.

- Cornwall, NY, USA

problem #6

Jun 152011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact own a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the parking brake engaged and the brakes began to smoke. The brakes also emitted a burning odor. The vehicle was maneuvered to the shoulder and stopped. After allowing the brakes to cool down, the contact was able to continue driving and the parking brake disengaged. The failure had since recurred on an intermittent basis. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on five occasions, but they were unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and the contact was awaiting a response. The failure mileage was 30,000. Updated 10/27/11 the consumer stated the problem was intermittent, but it has been an ongoing problem since the vehicle was purchased. The problem would occur while driving at city speeds and stopping the vehicle and engaging the parking brake did not always work. The first time the vehicle wa taken to the dealer, the rear brakes were replaced as they had burned up when the brakes engaged while driving. Updated 11/02/11

- Saginaw, MI, USA

problem #5

Jun 012011

Grand Caravan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that while braking at various speeds, the steering wheel and the entire vehicle shook violently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, where the contact was informed that the rotors needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Nixa, MO, USA

problem #4

Jul 152011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 17,000 miles
Vehicle exhibits wandering and excessive vibration while braking and has done so since new.

- Ontario, 00, USA

problem #3

Jun 032011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 13,000 miles
My wife began hearing a noise several months ago. It turned out to be the rear brakes making the sound. She heard it almost every time she drove the vehicle. Finally I heard a groaning sound myself. The rear wheels were very hot compared to the front. I took the vehicle to the dealer we bought it from. He told me he has seen many of these vehicles come in with the same issue. The vehicle only has 19000 miles on it so I thought it was a warranty issue. He told me the brake system is only warranted for 12000 miles. He told me it will cost me about $365 to change all the parts. I filed a complaint with Chrysler/ Dodge and they are only giving me $150. Obviously they know there is a problem with the vehicles or why would they be giving me any credit at all if the vehicle is out of warranty" they told me the calipers locked up and that was the problem. I work with 2 other people that have the same vehicle and have the same problem. One dealership changed the rotors, pads, and calipers for him 3 times at no charge!! it happens on his vehicle about every 10000 miles. The other owner has the same dealer I have and was given the same line I was. He will have to pay for it. I can't imagine what the consequences would be if my wife is driving down the highway at 65 miles per hour and the rear brakes lock up!! you better believe there will be a mega-lawsuit!! how many other people are aware of this issue" this needs to be brought up on the national news and people need to be aware of it before someone is killed or injured from the brakes locking up. Thank you for this opportunity to complain and I hope something comes of it!

- North Tonawanda, NY, USA

problem #2

May 072011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 29,600 miles
2010 Dodge Grand Caravan purchased Dec 09 as of today van has 30322 replaced rear brake pads due to grinding noise. 1 out of 4 brake pads had no lining left (grinding noise) other 3 marginal wear. Old part is available for inpection if needed. Took to dealer, reccomends replacement of rear rotors and shave the front rotors.

- Albion, PA, USA

problem #1

May 022011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,557 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the vehicle vibrated violently while braking. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic and they diagnosed that the brakes were out of round and the rotors were warped. The vehicle was repaired by the mechanic. The dealer and manufacturer were both made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 15,557 and the current mileage was 16,000. Updated 06/07/11 updated 08/18/11

- Wantage, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?