Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 8
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,641 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Dodge Grand Caravan electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 18 of 20)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #54

Oct 052013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 64,215 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Van traveling at 70 mph and the horn goes off. Pulled over to the side of the road, turned ignition off and on, horn still activated. Had to pull two fuses for horn. 8 hours later, tried to re-install fuses, horn still activated. Three days later; horn is still not in operation. Numerous complaints have been made without resolve. The tipm is on back order and that is the part that needs to be replaced.

- Springfield , IL, USA

problem #53

Sep 162013

Grand Caravan

  • 22,000 miles
I cranked my van at work and started out of the parking lot. All of the electrical system completely went out. This includes the radio, air, inside lights, all of the dash panel electronics. Etc. This is the second time this has happened since I bought the vehicle on 6/19/13. I did take it to the local dealership and they stated that they would need for me to bring it up there the next time it happens and they would have to trace the problem.

- Augusta, GA, USA

problem #52

Aug 012013

Grand Caravan

  • 80,000 miles
Headlights work intermittently. They will quit working unexpectedly while driving. Mechanic has been working on them for a month trying to figure out which component is causing the problem.

- Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA

problem #51

Sep 052013

Grand Caravan

  • 96,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that she attempted to start the vehicle but the key was not recognized. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the win module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 11V139000 (electrical switch). The failure mileage was approximately 96,000.

- Port St. Lucy, FL, USA

problem #50

Jun 012013

Grand Caravan

  • 56,000 miles
The vehicle's rear A/C works only once in a while. It is only 3 years old and we are running into these problems. Once in a while we are driving down the road the hole center console shuts down. Lights, A/C, instrument panel shut stops but the car still runs. I have contacted the dealership about problem but the say we must pay at least $200 just to have it looked at. The car is only 3 years old and it seems we are running into one issue after another. I believe the A/C is a safety issue due to the fact it works sometimes but not always. It is something electrical but Dodge wont own up to the design flaws. The same thing with the center console/ instrument panel. What happens when im going down the highway and I don't know my speed or anything.

- Dyess Afb, TX, USA

problem #49

Aug 112013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
Vehicle won't start. Makes electronic clicking noises and lights and won't stop. Battery is good. Odometer reading flashes also.

- Barksdale Afb, LA, USA

problem #48

Jul 132013

Grand Caravan

  • 51,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

TL- the contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that they took the vehicle to the dealer for NHTSA recall campaign id number:11V139(electrical system) for the replacement of the win module on the vehicle. The contact stated that that repair failed and the manufacturer would not replace it a second time. The current mileage was 51,000.rl

- Elgin, IL, USA

problem #47

Feb 102013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that while driving approximately 20 mph, the vehicle stalled. The failure recurred three times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system). The vehicle was service per the recall however, the failure continued. The win module was replaced a second time but to no avail. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The vehicle was not further repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 32,000.

- Jacksonville Beach, FL, USA

problem #46

Feb 202013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Vehicle was sold to customer without recall NHTSA 11V-139 being installed in Nov 2011. Customer never notified; however, the vehicle had a window switch failure in Feb 2012 at about 60K miles at which time the dealer used L25 instead of a complete win module replacement. Custumer was not told of the replacement and it was not reported to carfax or other entities. May 13, 2013 after a distance trip, custumer parked the vehicle for 2 minutes. When attempting restart the vehicle had power but would not start and shifter was locked. Diagnosis shows full failure of the win module. The L25 recommended partial replacement did not prevent failure. Even though no accident occurred, customer was travelling from md to va and shutdown could have occurred on highway 301 or I95. Upon confronting the dealer, dealer stated that they do not have to disclose the recall or have to perform the work even though the dealer service instructions on July 2011 stated that the dealer must complete the recall before retail delivery. Consequently, this vehicle was one of the ones that needed a full replacement and not a partial.

- Mckenney, VA, USA

problem #45

Apr 262013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
The distance was about 35 miles from our home, bout 45 minutes drive. Driver didn't notice anything wrong with the engine or see any warning lights. The car was swaying like on a windy day, another car honked at us, then we heard loud road noise. We pulled over and turned off the engine. Saw the rear passenger tire was flat to the rim. Noticed a smoky smell. Saw little puffs of white smoke coming from under the hood. To be safe we removed children from the car; two 4 yr old children were in the backseat buckled in their car-seats. Infant was in the middle drivers side seat buckled in his car seat. Driver and car owner were in the front. Keys were removed from the ignition. We walked away from the vehicle, waited at the fence-line away from the vehicle while calling for a tow. Smoke appeared to have stopped for about 5 minutes. Suddenly black smoke started pouring out of the engine, embers dropping to the road from under the front of the car. We moved the children further away from the vehicle. Several truckers pulled over and brought fire extinguishers. One opened the hood flames flared up the fire truck arrived after the fire had been extinguished. One said the fire appeared to have started in the fan. The chp officer said the firefighters would disconnect the battery. When we looked at the inside of the front of the car everything was burnt and melted, the hood was buckled, front grill melted. The fire was extinguished before the rest of the car was damaged.

- Carmichael, CA, USA

problem #44

Apr 302013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that there was a separate plastic key to start the vehicle which was fractured on one side. The contact stated that after the vehicle was parked and attempted to shut off the vehicle, the vehicle failed to turn off. The ignition remained seized on the acc mode. The contact restarted vehicle in order to unlock the ignition and turn vehicle off. The vehicle was not taken to a repair shop or the dealer for a diagnostic test. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but provided no further assistance. The failure mileage was 58,000. The current mileage was 58,800.

- Portage , MI, USA

problem #43

Jan 212013

Grand Caravan

  • 27,500 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure recurred five times intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician was unable to duplicate or diagnose the failure. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) but was advised by the manufacturer that the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 27,500.

- Ford Gratiot, MI, USA

problem #42

Jan 312013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 25,338 miles
Jan 31, 2:00pm I parked the vehicle to pick my son up from pre-school. After securing my children to their respective car seats, I buckled myself in and proceeded to start the engine, the vehicle's engine would not start. Strong electrical-smelling fumes were emitted and the etc light came on. We had the vehicle towed to a Jeep, Dodge, & Chrysler dealership for servicing for 5 days. The service tech insisted that nothing was detected aside from slight corrosion in the battery plugs, which needed to be replaced. We did what was advised and took our vehicle back on Feb 6. Feb 13, 9:45am after making a quick stop at a grocery store, the same problem occurred. The vehicle engine would not start, but the radio was coming on. I turned off the vehicle and proceeded to restart the vehicle. Once again the etc light came on and this time, white smoke was coming out from under the hood. After seeing the smoke, I quickly turned off the vehicle and took my child out. Our vehicle is now stranded in the parking lot of a grocery store waiting to be towed to the same dealership.

- Missouri City, TX, USA

problem #41

Dec 262012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
I was driving down the express way at 75 mph and the car completely shut off. The car died and everything shut off (lights, heating, engine) I was able to coast to the side of the express way. I calmed myself down and started the car up again and drove home. The ignition ring recall was already replaced back in 2011 before we owned the van. We had a 2nd incident that happened on February 6th. This time I was driving in a parking lot and it died again. I turned on my hazards and started the van again and it started right up.

- Round Lake Park, IL, USA

problem #40

Sep 282012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
Driving on interstate I-90 when I lost power to wipers, turn signals, radio, power windows. I took the van back to the Dodge dealer since they had fixed the wireless ignition module under a recall notice in August of 2010. I was told to touch the key and the power would return which it did do.I was also told that the problem of the key turning off the engine was fixed under the recall but they now have this problem. Since first reporting the problem in October this has occurred more frequently.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #39

Dec 062012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 81,153 miles
When driving on the freeway at night the headlights suddenly shut off they would not come back on, neither the headlights or the high beams would work, I put the hazard lights on and got off the road, after that the headlights blinked when turned on and then would not come on at all, after that they came on and then shut back off again while driving on city streets, the headlights turn off while driving or do not turn on at all.

- San Jose , CA, USA

problem #38

Nov 012012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles
2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle shutdown while driving. Shortly after the vehicle was purchased, the vehicle would fully shutdown; engine off, radio off, power locks disabled, windshield wipes off etc. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times, only to get the vehicle back, with the problem still present.

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #37

Sep 252012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 36,360 miles
The car shifts hard. When first started in the morning it ruins up high prm's before the car shifts. The car transmission sometimes fails to engage when I attempt to pass a car on the highway or when I just want to speed up. This can happen when I am going 30 mph or 60 mph. It happens at random times. Recently the electrical system has started acting up. Last week when I went into the grocery store the window went down by themselves while I was in the store.(it was raining out so I am sure the windows were up when I locked the doors to go inside) the driver's side door does not lock or unlock with the remote control. Also when I go to exit the car the lock is sticking and it is at times difficult to open the door. Today when my wife went out to the van the car had unlocked and the front lights were on. I re-locked the car and it unlocked itself again. I have had the car into the dealership where I purchased numerous times(5 or 6) to have the transmission looked at but they don't get an"error code" so they say there is nothing that can be done.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #36

Sep 072012

Grand Caravan

  • 79,000 miles
My vehicles is having strange electrical issues. The gauges move erratically, my dash lights and head lights flicker, my radio and air turn off by them selves. All the warning light flash and the warning chime sounds. All these things happen without warning. I called the Dodge dealer and they told me that it sounded like the tipm. This component has affected thousands and thousands of Caravan owners. They quoted me $900 plus dollars to get fix. That is $900 plus dollars that I don't have. With the numbers of incidents and the amount of potential dangers that this issue puts the community in, I believe that this should be a recall issue. Unlike me who has a family, and I am still am making payments on the vehicle, a costly repair like this that I cant afford, could be afforded by Dodge to recall it. I mean they are a huge company.

- Avondale, AZ, USA

problem #35

Sep 062012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 27,718 miles
Prior to 9/6/2012, engine light came on for what the dealer said no reason. Then on 9/6/2012, van broke and would not start. It appeared as if stuck in all gears and I was told this was an electrical problem. There is a recall on this type/year of van for electrical problems, recall #11V139000;however, no recall shows up for my van VIN #. I don't feel this vehicle is safe. The dealer has had my vehicle for a week now along with another one same make and model/year that they are having the same issue. There is a definite problem with this model vehicle. My vehicle is still not repaired or exact problem diagnosed. Yet, they expect me to drive it again when I get it back. These electrical issues need to be further evaluated. Yes my van was in a parking lot but that was lucky. Please look into this further. The dealer don't even understand the problem on these 2 Grand Caravan per our last conversation we had today.

- Natural Bridge, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?