Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 8
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,031 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Dodge Grand Caravan electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 20)

problem #389

Nov 172016

Grand Caravan

  • 60,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Van intermittently stop shifting while driving (city or highway) and I have to pull over and restart to drive again. Air conditioning blower also goes out intermittently. Lots of error codes reported via obd2 and all are electrical related. Took it to multiple auto part stores and local Dodge dealership, all said it was a faulty tipm.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #388

Jan 252016

Grand Caravan

  • 225,000 miles
In late 2014, the van started having intermittent issues starting & would occasionally stall while driving. Issues started to progressively get worse over the next year. The van would have to be jumped to start on a daily basis. The van was in for service at a Dodge dealership in November 2015, but they stated it was a battery issue. The battery was 1 year old and we had it tested at wal-mart, where we purchased it and it tested ok. We then had it tested at advance auto & auto zone and it tested ok there as well. We did not believe it was a battery issue, we believe the tipm is the issue. In December 2015 we noticed we could hear something running after the van's ignition was off and the key was out. The fuel pump was still running and would drain the battery everyday. An external fuel pump relay was installed and the fuel pump no longer ran after the van was off. The van would still have intermittent starting and stalling issues. After reading all the issues other 2010 Dodge products were having associated with the tipm, I asked a Dodge service guy about my van. He agreed that the tipm would explain all the issues that I have with my van, but there was no open recall and the part was on a national backorder. The part is now available for >$800! on January 25, 2016, the van stalled again and I could not get it to start. I had to get someone to come jump it off, however, this time it took a while to get the van to start even being jumped. I bought another car the next day and parked that van at our home. It has been sitting there since January 2016. Chrysler is well aware of these issues in the 2010 Grand Caravan, but they refuse to take ownership. This is disappointing especially since Chrysler knows the recalled tipms in the 2010 durangos & Grand Cherokee are the same in the 2010 Grand Caravan. I was a loyal Chrysler customer until this!

- Castor, LA, USA

problem #387

Oct 032016

Grand Caravan

  • 104,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced a complete loss of power while the vehicle was operated at various speeds. The failure occurred without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system), but the VIN was not included. The failure mileage was approximately 104,000.

- Middletown, OH, USA

problem #386

Jul 182016

Grand Caravan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I called bertera Dodge, 167 springfield St, westfield, MA, on or about July 18, 2016 to schedule an appointment for the R03 recall. They told me they would order the part, then call me to set up the appointment. I called again on or about September 20, 2016 and was told they still did not have the part needed. It is now November 11, 2016 and I still haven't received a call for the appointment. I have no documentation or photos because the part under recall is still working, but who knows for how long. I have had recalls of other vehicles that do not take this long.

- Easthampton, MA, USA

problem #385

Oct 242016

Grand Caravan

  • 111,000 miles
Bought a used Dodge Caravan with 96,000 miles on it and it ran like a dream. Now that it has 111000 miles on it, the car has started to stall on me while about half a dozen times driving at various speeds.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #384

Feb 102016

Grand Caravan

  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. When the contact attempted to start the vehicle, it failed to start. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system). The part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 89,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #383

Sep 292016

Grand Caravan

  • 93,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Suddenly the headlights stopped working on both high and low. We live in a rural area, so this is serious. When we noticed the problem we were on a highway, moving. Dealship confirms needs new tipm at $1354.

- Duluth, MN, USA

problem #382

Sep 032016

Grand Caravan

  • 59,248 miles
The headlights just stop working and then hours or days later they work again and then in a few days the headlights stop working. The van can be moving or stationary.

- Sodus, NY, USA

problem #381

Sep 112016

Grand Caravan

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact had to stop and turn the key fob to the off position. The vehicle was restarted and operated normally. The failure recurred twice in the last week. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed by an independent mechanic or a dealer. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000.

- Bell Plaine, MN, USA

problem #380

Sep 092016

Grand Caravan

  • 130,000 miles
Van would not turn off. After many tries, it finally did shut off engine. Then, when I tried to restart it, the warning beep kept beeping and alert system said "bad key". when I contacted Dodge in rockwall Texas, the technician said it was probably a bad key fob, so I had van towed to shop and was quoted a price of $320 to replace key fob. Upon my return, he said it was not the key, but the wireless ignition system that would have to be replaced. He said my van was not part of the recall, but yet many other vans from that same year model and make were. Now my cost is $530 for wireless ignition system to be replaced, and $180 for new key fob and $52 to have it programmed. Why isn't this van part of the recall if it is exhibiting the same problems as the ones that are being recalled and replaced free of charge?

- Rowlett, TX, USA

problem #379

May 162015

Grand Caravan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Myrtle Creek, OR, USA

problem #378

Aug 302016

Grand Caravan

  • miles
I first recieved a recall notice in January of 2016 I contacted hunter Dodge to get the problem fixed and was placed on a waiting list for the part. I was never notified of the part being in and recieved another notice, I again contacted them and was placed on another list. This has continued for the past 8 months. I received yet another notice on 8/25/2016 called them and I finally recieved an appointment for 8/31/2016 and then was called 1 hour after the appointment was given and asked to re schedule for October. I have had many problems with my ignition over the past few months, the key switches from on to accessory without anyone near it, and I notified hunter Dodge of this and they said the soonest I could get in was 9/10/2016. It was been 8 months since my first notice and feel like safety isn't their first concern. It has been a frustrating ordeal

- Lancaster, CA, USA

problem #377

Nov 202015

Grand Caravan

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact noticed that the headlights were not working. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the tipm failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Acton, NY, USA

problem #376

Nov 012015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Dodge Grand Caravan 2010 experiencing the following problems in chronological order: 1) sporadically, while driving vehicle at various speeds on highway and city streets, the low and high beam lights stop working. Dealership said they┐re unable to diagnose problem if it's not currently happening and to bring it back when it stops working. 2) sporadically after parking and shutting vehicle off to refuel, when attempting to restart vehicle there is no power to the vehicle, no control panel lights, no clicking noise from the ignition or starter, nothing; the vehicle must be jumped before electrical system responds in order to start the vehicle, which then responds immediately. 3) while parked, the left electric powered sliding door does not open using power, must be manually opened and closed; the left passenger electric window will not function most times when button is pushed. 4) while driving vehicle at various speeds, driving straight and turning, the engine shuts off, restarts after placing in park or neutral and turning ignition key to off position and back to start position. 5) rear air conditioner worked sporadically, then worked increasingly less and less, before it finally stopped working altogether. I believe this is all due to a faulty tipm

- Wayne, MI, USA

problem #375

Jul 192016

Grand Caravan

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving 30 mph over a bump in the road, the vehicle stalled and all the warning lights illuminated. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was previously repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system). The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 58,000.

- Hinesville, GA, USA

problem #374

Jun 152015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system, air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Lilburn, GA, USA

problem #373

Jun 282016

Grand Caravan

  • 127,000 miles
Air bag indicator illuminated, cruise control did not function. Manual & dealership confirmed cruise would not work if air bag indicator is lit. Vehicle ran hot during slow speeds in hot weather. Dealership first said driver's airbag sensor & tipm were bad, & bad tipm affects all electronic components from airbags, lights, brakes, wipers, horn, windows, temp control, & more. Learned that Dodge has had widespread problems with the tipm, and did not want to chance the airbags not working, so we had to replace it even though it was not under recall. We are reporting the problem even though it did not cause a safety incident - we can not wait until *after* a potential safety incident that involved malfunctioning airbags... the vehicle has spent 3 wks + at the dealership, and we don't have the docs verifying the work they have completed yet. We will gladly provide the paperwork after the work is finished.

- Moscow, TN, USA

problem #372

Jul 202016

Grand Caravan

  • 95,025 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the key independently detached from the ignition while the vehicle was on without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 95,025. The VIN was unavailable.

- Miami Shores, FL, USA

problem #371

Jul 172016

Grand Caravan

  • 111,684 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the key failed to start the vehicle without warning. The contact recently received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system). The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 111,684.

- Williston, VT, USA

problem #370

Jul 122016

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Villas, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?