Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,183 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Dodge Grand Caravan engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

May 212013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 30,015 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At 30,015 miles my air conditioner stopped working and blowing hot air. I have take it to the dealership, where I had bought it brand new and was told since it was over 30,000 miles it was not covered by warranty. Only 15 miles over. I am a 70 year old woman on a fixed in come. You purchase a new vehicle and expect things to work or last past 30,000 miles. Shame on Dodge and Chrysler for not backing there products.

- Plainfield, IL, USA

problem #23

Nov 012012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles
2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle shutdown while driving. Shortly after the vehicle was purchased, the vehicle would fully shutdown; engine off, radio off, power locks disabled, windshield wipes off etc. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times, only to get the vehicle back, with the problem still present.

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #22

Sep 102012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
I was driving on the highway at 60 mph, hit a large (approx 6 feet X 4 feet X 4 feet) wooden shipping crate. The crate exploded, and a board became lodged in the tire well and engine compartment. I also lost power the vehicle - the wrecker driver advised that the board appeared to have disconnected the computer wires. The crate hit on the front driver fender. The airbags did not deploy. I would think hitting something the size of the front end of a car at 60 mph should set off the air bags.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #21

Jan 102012

Grand Caravan

  • 38,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Electronic throttle control light comes on periodically, causing inconsistent, poor or non-existent throttle response. Traction control light may also light up. Restarting the vehicle usually makes the problem go away, but this is not an acceptable solution. Occasionally, with the etc light on, throttle response does not occur at all, which is hazardous in traffic.

- Northfield, VT, USA

problem #20

Dec 202011

Grand Caravan

  • 42,500 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact stated that the failure would only occur when the vehicle was in motion sporadically. The vehicle was not inspected or repaired. The failure mileage was 42,500 and the current mileage was 44,290.

- Santa Rosa, CA, USA

problem #19

Nov 252011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 42,377 miles
While traveling southbound on I-75 at milepost 263.3 a faint alarm of some kind came on. Then the engine began making a noise and quit. When I pulled over to the side of the highway the engine compartment shot flames and smoke from under the hood. I was attempting to release the hood latch when flames burst in through the firewall under the dash. We then abandoned the vehicle and called 911. By the time a fire truck arrived the van was totally burned. I have the vehicle serviced regularly and had just replaced the tires and brakes. I have no idea what the cause might have been but it bears looking into.

- Port Charlotte, FL, USA

problem #18

Jul 192011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Took my van into Colorado Chrysler Jeep on July 19, 2011 for recall #L25, they have not done the work as of 10-31-2011. They are telling me that the part is on back order, it has been over 3 months"????? what's wrong with this"

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #17

Jul 212011

Grand Caravan

  • 23,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact was driving approximately 40 mph when the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle after a few minutes. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer to be diagnosed or repaired. The failure and current mileage was 23,000.

- West Chester , PA, USA

problem #16

Jul 072010

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that while driving approximately 65 mph the vehicle stalled and all of the warning lights began to illuminate on the instrument panel. The vehicle was manuevered to the side of the road where it was stopped. Upon restart, the vehicle operated as normal. The failure occurred a total of six times, all during extremely hot weather. The vehicle was towed after one of the failures. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer twice, where they were unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failures. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 6,000. Updated 08/01/11 the consumer stated the engine would stop when the ac was on. Updated 08/08/11

- Hutchinson , KS, USA

problem #15

May 292011

Grand Caravan

  • 18,000 miles
My husband, 2 year old son, and I were 2 hours away from home on a camping trip. We were driving home on the highway and our 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan shut off. Thank god no one was close behind us and we were able to put the car in neutral and restart it. When I came home, I see they have know about this since at least March, and we have received no recall information. We are now afraid to drive the only car we have, as we are afraid next time, we will get rear ended because of this.

- Wilmore, KY, USA

problem #14

May 102011

Grand Caravan

  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated the vehicle stalled while driving at various speeds. Upon restart the vehicle would operate as normal. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 10,000 and the current mileage was 11,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- New Florence, PA, USA

problem #13

May 032011

Grand Caravan

  • 20,300 miles
I was driving at about 30 mph when I noticed the air conditioner stop working. I began slowing down for a red light. When the light turned green I went to go and realized that the engine had stopped as well. I lost all power and engine function while driving. I was able to place the vehicle in park and restart it.

- Ridley Park, PA, USA

problem #12

Mar 242011

Grand Caravan

  • 12,000 miles
The van motor cut out while turning left at an intersection and another car collided with the van. The front air bags went off. There was considerable damage to the front end. On numerous occasions I complained to the dealer that the engine was stalling, cutting out, missing and lack of power. The dealer could not find a problem and nothing showed up on the computer. The dealer has a record on file of my complaints. Has anyone pursued legal action regarding similar problems such as I have experienced?

- Ennismore Ontario, Canada , OH, USA

problem #11

Mar 252011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated while traveling 20 mph the vehicle stalled. The power steering failed. The contact stated that after allowing the vehicle to coast, he was able to restart it with no problems. The contact spoke with the manufacturer and was told that they were aware of the failure and that a recall would be established in April. The failure and current mileage was 33,000. Updated 06/17/11 updated 06/30/11

- South Hampton, NJ, USA

problem #10

Apr 012010

Grand Caravan

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The vehicle would intermittently stall while driving at any speed. The failure recurred while driving to include driving in reverse. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on several occasions where they were unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 1,000 and the current mileage was 20,000.

- Huntley, IL, USA

problem #9

Feb 072011

Grand Caravan

  • 19,858 miles
I have had problems with my 2010 doge Grand Caravan since we bought it. But on 2/7/11 I thought we were going to die due to the car shutting down at 60 miles per hour. We were driving 60 mph in the fast lane of traffic when the engine shut off. I lost my power steering and power brakes and did my best to pull off to safety. I called the dealership and a service man asked me to check to see if I had ran out of gas. I still had about 10 gallons in my tank. The van did turn back on so he had me drive about a mile or so to his garage. He put the car on a computer to check the codes. He claims there was no codes indicating this engine failure. No surprise because this dealership, the same one I bought the van tells me there is nothing wrong each time something like this happens. I checked the internet and there are several other complaints showing engine failure on this make and model at 60 miles per hour. Some of the complaints involved children sitting in the back seat when the van's engine died at 60 mph. I reported this to chysler and have a case number [xxx]. I was told to contact another dealership which I called today. They told me the service manager was not in and someone would call me back. No one has called me back so I am writing this complaint in hopes that I will get help with this urgent matter. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Haines City , FL, USA

problem #8

May 052010

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
This is a leased vehicle. I had it approximately 6 months when driving 65 mph on a freeway the engine abruptly stopped just like someone turned the key off. The steering barely allowed me to get to the side of the road. I was able to put the car into neutral and restart it. The 2nd occurrence was 3 weeks after the 1st but this time it was when trying to accelerate onto a freeway where trucks and cars were driving 75 mph! the 3rd occurrence was about 6 weeks after the 2nd. All 3 times the dealer could not find a problem nor replicate the problem. Please read the other similar complaints at this web site: www.carcomplaints.com/Dodge/grand_caravan/2010/

- Sun Lakes, AZ, USA

problem #7

May 052010

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
This is a leased vehicle. I had it approximately 6 months when driving 65 mph on a freeway the engine abruptly stopped just like someone turned the key off. The steering barely allowed me to get to the side of the road. I was able to put the car into neutral and restart it. The 2nd occurrence was 3 weeks after the 1st but this time it was when trying to accelerate onto a freeway where trucks and cars were driving 75 mph! the 3rd occurrence was about 6 weeks after the 2nd. All 3 times the dealer could not find a problem nor replicate the problem. Please read the other similar complaints at this web site: www.carcomplaints.com/Dodge/grand_caravan/2010/

- Sun Lakes, AZ, USA

problem #6

May 052010

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
This is a leased vehicle. I had it approximately 6 months when driving 65 mph on a freeway the engine abruptly stopped just like someone turned the key off. The steering barely allowed me to get to the side of the road. I was able to put the car into neutral and restart it. The 2nd occurrence was 3 weeks after the 1st but this time it was when trying to accelerate onto a freeway where trucks and cars were driving 75 mph! the 3rd occurrence was about 6 weeks after the 2nd. All 3 times the dealer could not find a problem nor replicate the problem. Please read the other similar complaints at this web site: www.carcomplaints.com/Dodge/grand_caravan/2010/

- Sun Lakes, AZ, USA

problem #5

Sep 252010

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 9,411 miles
I have a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. This van has shut down four times now while I have been driving it. This happened again this past weekend at the highest speed we have ever been traveling when the engine shuts down; 45 mph. My current mileage is 9400. The first time I noticed this routine engine shut down while driving was around 5,000 miles @ 06/2010. As far as speeds when it shuts down, it has happened around 45 mph, 35 mph, and the other two times prior were much slower speeds. The dealership said there is nothing they can do about it. The car also seems to stall out and not start about 1 out of 30 starts. I have filed a complaint with Chrysler on the van routinely shutting down and steering wheel locking. The van will restart once it stops, but this is a death accident waiting to happen. I hope somebody reads this and looks into it. I have the 3.3L V6 engine.

- Canton, MI, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?