Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,395 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Dodge Grand Caravan drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments

problem #18

Jun 062016

Grand Caravan

  • 86,000 miles


The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. Upon starting the vehicle, there was a loud sound. The contact looked under the hood and noticed that the battery exploded. The vehicle owner replaced the battery, but an abnormal noise recurred a few days later. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic who diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified and provided no repair solution. The approximate failure mileage was 86,000.

- Glenwood, NJ, USA

problem #17

Jul 192012

Grand Caravan

  • 93,000 miles
Well from the time I purchased the car I told the dealer about the ignition. The car speeding off while I'm driving in a regular street or highway. The warning lights doesn't warn. Enough is enough. Riding in the car in street yesterday once again the steering wheel locked in me in traffic and it shut down. No warning. So dangerous. There is no way there should be so many complaints about the same issues and they not have a recall and alternator actually fried and we could have been killed along with my children!!!! I'm scared. Im paying $500 dollars a month for a vehicle that is sitting and I can't drive. Please give hello me to get justice.

- Wilkes Barre, PA, USA

problem #16

Feb 162015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Don't buy Dodge Grand Caravan 2011 to 2015 they have major problem with engine and transmission engine 3.6L making ticking sound fix it on warranty and after 40,000 miles I have same problem ticking from engine and the transmission in trafic jerking engine had recall on heads still has problems

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #15

Jan 052016

Grand Caravan

  • 90,600 miles


Vehicle does not start easily and at times experiences total power loss I've changed every fuse and relay as well as fuel pump and any other module or relay that can be replaced and much to my dispare the problems are still there to the point I don't feel safe driving with or without my whole family when it finally does decide to start it runs great but then you have to worry about the complete power loss issue which renders my brakes power steering and stability control completely useless! I don't know what else to do I'm stuck paying my finance company for a vehicle I can't drive and basically serves as little more than a pretty yard ornament we just got this vehicle in November 2015 the first sign of an issue was less than a week after purchase after little more than a month after driving off the lot and the third time losing power while driving the final time being on 275 in cincinnati 1/5/16 I decided that it's probably best to park the vehicle and not put our family in jeopardy especially during the cold cincinnati winter until we can figure it out or afford both the car payment and the trip to the ridiculously expensive Dodge dealership to pay for their technicians figure it out and then pay again to have it repaired

- New Richmond, OH, USA

problem #14

Jul 102015

Grand Caravan

  • 24,867 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving 65 mph and attempting to accelerate, the vehicle lost acceleration power. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the alternator needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 24,867.

- Waterford , WI, USA

problem #13

Jul 252014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,800 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to a dealer who stated that the total integrated power module failed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 69,800. Updated 10/22/14 the consumer stated at high speed or busy exit/entrance ramp the engine, power steering, etc. Stalled. The driver managed to pull the vehicle safely to the side of the road. Updated 04/6/2015

- Owatonna, MN, USA

problem #12

Mar 082014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 57,500 miles


I was traveling the speed limit of 70 mph on the highway and had to slow down to 50-55 mph for a merging vehicle. When I changed lanes and accelerated, the engine revved up to 4000 RPM and stuck there, and I was going over 80 very quickly. I took my foot off the accelerator and the van continued to accelerate. I put the van in neutral and braked, and was able to get over to the shoulder and stop and turn off the engine. Very dangerous situation. I started the van back up and the engine went right back to 4000 RPM - exactly where it was before. I turned the engine off and then repeated the process another 3 times - straight back to 4000 RPM. I verified that the accelerator was not stuck on anything. Since the van has the auto-manual transmission where I can shift manually, I started the van, and immediately put it in drive and shifted manually, and the engine kicked a few times and then began to run normally. Ran normally all the way home. Called a few dealers, none of which seemed too concerned and couldn't get my van in for over a week. When I finally got a dealer to look at it, they performed a recall for the powertrain control module and said everything was working fine. There was nothing in the recall about this issue, and none of the service depts I called had heard of it.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #11

Apr 012013

Grand Caravan

  • 32,248 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the power train control module was reprogrammed; however, the transmission failure was not corrected. The transmission failed to shift into automatic and it lost the ability to accelerate. The failure was experienced numerous times. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 32,248 and the current mileage was 39,000.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #10

Jan 262013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 38,003 miles
Continued issues regarding vehicle performance including front tires, transmission, window switch, sliding pass. Doors. Financed a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan on Jan 25 2013, VIN # [xxx]. upon delivery I had issues with car and returned to dealership the nex day. Issues included hard shifting, car veering off the road and some noises and no manuals or paperwork for warranty. Numerous repairs were made on car throughout past 6 months some of which made on car, some of which caused other issues to come up with repairs including failure to properly repair the car, brake issues, alignment and steering wheel, front tires, sliding door scraping, transmission issues and more. Numerous unsuccessful repairs and other problems not addressed or unwilling. Front tires/ rear never matched and were suppose to be replace per sales and never happen causing treads to show and still does, transmission jerks and hesitates, doors rip paint off side of car and scrape. Other issues include passenger door window switch and pickup. ** 2 Chrysler cases created against dealer to fix issues. Case # [xxx] case # [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #9

Sep 032012

Grand Caravan

  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 dodg egrand Caravan. The contact stated that the when the vehicle was shifted in drive and the steering wheel was turn to the left the gear shift goes into neutral. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and was told the vehicle had an automatic/ manual transmission that was able to shift without warning. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and did not offer any assistance since that was how the vehicle was deisign. The failure mileage was 32,000 and the current mileage was 32,548.

- Santee , CA, USA

problem #8

Jul 202012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 41,000 miles


Start engine, put into reverse, the check engine light and ESC light comes on. Only seems to effect vehicle operation when driving down road and slowing down to make turn or stop. Then it sort of jerks or downshifts roughly. Bought this vehicle used on July 13, 2012. This has happened 4 times already. When I took it back for them to check it for codes, they said nothing showed up and just reset it. It happened again before I got home.

- Myrtle, MS, USA

problem #7

Dec 152011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 7,205 miles
When vehicle is started, engine rpms surge up and down, will not settle for about 1-2 minutes. Sometimes it will cause car to launch forward and continue to kick forward unintended once shifted into "D" I have taken vehicle to several dealers, on multiple occasions. They have done numerous repairs, but unable to find a fix. Problem has progressed to misfire at highway speeds which causes a violent shake until I manually downshift (with electric shifter) I have made formal complaints to Chrysler, but no call backs. Dealer has found codes P0300, and P0301 pending, stored, and active on various times. According to Chrysler master tech, Chrysler knows of defect and effects early 3.6 pentastar engine, but hasn't found a fix. What makes this a safety concern, is that I to merge on the highway, or pass a vehicle, I have to race the engine, and hope the engine doesn't fail or shut off. Currently, im awaiting another appointment with Chrysler, but knowing there isn't a formal solution has me concern for the safety of my children as I drive them around.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #6

Dec 032011

Grand Caravan

  • 7,500 miles
Check engine light came on in early December. Dealer reset the error code and said it was probably nothing. Light came back on a few days later so we brought back to the dealer - the consulted with Chrysler and replaced the cam phasers and said that should fix the problem. Within a couple of days the check engine light and traction control light both came on and the car lost all ability to accelerate. Driving on highway at 70mph, gas pedal to the ground did nothing and car coasted to 50mph before it would lurch forward and coast back down and eventually corrected itself but lights remained on. Dealer consulted with Chrysler again and they replaced the cam phaser sensors and said that should fix it. Within a few days same thing happened, driving on highway, check engine and traction control light turned on and car lost all acceleration and coasted down to 50mph and would lurch forward and then cost down - rpms wouldn't go above 1300rpm and couldn't get acceleration back. Took car back to dealer (fortunately was only a few miles from the dealer) and they had it for 2 weeks and Chrysler recommended replacing both wiring harnesses and that should fix the problem. Within a week, same problem, driving on highway at 70mph - check engine and traction control light comes on, no ability to accelerate or maintain speed, car coasted down to 50mph and would lurch forward and cost back down. Returning car to dealer again (mid February). Quite dangerous to (repeatedly) loose acceleration and with no ability to maintain speed when driving at 70mph on a highway.

- Freeland, MI, USA

problem #5

Jul 072011

Grand Caravan

  • 3,000 miles
Van started to produce very harsh shifting in drive. When in reverse and in a slight incline the transmission started to shudder as well. Ever since, transmission will randomly shift harsh, skip shifts and under a load when backing up will shudder all of the time.

- Castroville, CA, USA

problem #4

Oct 162011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 150 miles
Vehicle rolls forward without stopping when in reverse & the brake is released & on a shallow incline, without accelerating (vehicle nose down slope). Two days after having my 2011 Grand Caravan, which I park in my driveway that has an angle of apprx. 15-20 degrees & the vehicle is parked nose down slope toward my home & garage. The first indication of a problem was on entering the driveway and shifting into "park", the vehicle rolled forward 6"-8" inches. This issue started 2 days after having the vehicle. Prior to the vehicle rolling forward all vehicle operations seemed normal, there was hardly any roll at all (1"-3" in.) when "park" was engaged. The next clue of a problem was that the vehicle would shudder when accelerating in "reverse" & at low speed. This problem does not happen every time the vehicle is reversing, but has become more frequent. While driving noise has been detected from somewhere beneath the vehicle, but is not heard frequently, only 2-3 times. The worst issue present is when the selector is placed in "reverse" and I remove my foot from the brake, without accelerating, the vehicle continually rolls forward without stopping. If the vehicle is in "reverse" and being accelerated up the incline and I remove my foot from the accelerator the vehicle will roll forward down slope without stopping. The closest comparison is that it feels like driving a vehicle with a manual/standard transmission. It seems that the transmission issues is getting worse and I've only had the vehicle since 14 October 2011 and for 772 miles. These issues have been brought to the attention of the dealership & their service dept. & to the Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep case management dept. I have continually been lied to by both departments and calls to case mgmt. Ignored/not returned. My family & I feel very unsafe in this vehicle & have lost all trust in Dodge.

- Markham, IL, USA

problem #3

Jun 232011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 100 miles
Possible transmission servo issue. After shifting from park to drive/reverse and pressing on accelerator the vehicle will abruptly lunge in the direction of the selected gear. This happens so suddenly that it causes panic to all inside/outside the vehicle. There are many other owners that I have talked to that mention the same issue, but they don't seem to care as much as I do to report it. This may cause a variety of situations to why this is unsafe. Dealer has told me that this is normal, and no concern since there is no recall. This is very abnormal, or out the norm versus other vehicles with automatic transmission and I do not believe this as this vehicle being unique as it is more than one vehicle.

- Tomah, WI, USA

problem #2

Jul 282011

Grand Caravan

  • 51 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph the vehicle started to jerk followed by an abnormal acceleration. The contact also mentioned that the check engine warning lamp was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer a total of three times but the dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. As a precautionary measure, the dealer decided to reprogram the central computer and replaced the transmission sensors. The remedy failed to repair the problem. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure mileage was 51 and the current mileage was 6,500.

- Bridgeview, IL, USA

problem #1

Aug 302011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 90 miles
While entering a interstate highway, our new 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan (less than 100 miles) stalled and lost all power. After almost being rear ended due to lack of power and due to her skilled driving, my wife was able to get the car on the side of the road. The van was unable to restart and had to be towed to dealer where it had been purchased only 6 days earlier. According to the dealer, there was a failure of the powertrain control module (PCM). Due to this failure, there was no limp mode of reduced power to keep the vehicle running for better control. Due to the repair being a warranty repair, the dealership kept the defective part.

- Ct, CT, USA

Not what you are looking for?