Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 10
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,806 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Dodge Grand Caravan electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 3 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #144

Oct 142015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system). The parts needed for the repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the recall repair. The dealer was contacted, but was unable to perform the repair since the part was not yet available. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 05/06/16 updated 05/09/16.

- Mcrae-Helena, GA, USA

problem #143

Jul 152015

Grand Caravan

  • 80,000 miles
What isn't wrong with my 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. Slowly everything is wrong and I'm finding out it's all related. First I just thought it was possessed when the windows rolled themselves down. Then it wouldn't want to turn over. I replaced the battery. I thought the problem was solved for about two weeks till it started acting up again. Now it never wants to start and will shut off on me while driving down the highway. I loose all power including steering. I know when the power goes out on the lift gate that the van is not going to start. Most recently the fuel pump kept running with the van shut off causing the battery to go dead. If it doesn't short out or what ever it does to act completely dead. I have read that I need to replace my tipm (total integrated power module) but that chrystler hasn't fixed the problem. So I will basically be paying about $1200 for a new defective part or drive down the highway with my kids in the van and hope I don't loose all power in the middle of traffic!!

- Sugarloaf Key, FL, USA

problem #142

Aug 182014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 05/03/2016 updated 05/04/16.

- Clinton, NY, USA

problem #141

Jan 202016

Grand Caravan

  • 95,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power to the fuel pump. I have noticed that sometimes the vehicle will not start after the first try. Some times I have to turn the key to off then to run three times and then go to start. At that point the vehicle will start. I sometimes can't hear the fuel pump turn on when I go to start the car. I just keep turning the key off and on until I can hear the pump run. It always starts after I can hear the pump turn on. Another problem is every once in a while I will just hear a cling when going to start the vehicle but the starter doesn't turn over just cling. That has happened twice. I got the battery checked out by aaa the battery was just working great.

- Chatsworth, CA, USA

problem #140

Jan 112016

Grand Caravan

  • 100,000 miles
In the year that I have owned my van, it has exhibited multiple problems, that I thought were different issue, but I now find are all related to a defect in the tipm. Sporadically, whether vehicle was cold, or not, I would put the key in to start it and nothing would happen. No sound, as if the battery was completely dead. I could shift the car out of park, put it back in park, and the car would start. The next symptom that exhibited was that I would try to start the car and it would turn over, but sound as if it was out of gas. It would eventually start. Finally it got to the point that it wouldn't start at all. Testing showed that the battery was dead. It was recharged and the vehicle driven and tested to determine that the battery was holding a charge, and that the alternator was not the issue. Through different testing it was determined that the issue with tipm. The fact that I am going to be tasked with a $1500 repair on a car that I still owe $14,000 on is ridicuous. Called the dealership to see if there was any chance that they might be acknowledging this issue and fix it. The asst. Manager stopped just short of laughing at me. If this is where your are at check out www.verticalvisions.com/

- Lake Elsinore, CA, USA

problem #139

Dec 012015

Grand Caravan

  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. While the vehicle was parked, the rear passenger doors automatically opened and closed independently. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 44,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Long Beach, NY, USA

problem #138

Jan 222016

Grand Caravan

  • 82,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Our van would not start. Took it to the dealership and they tested the tipm on found out it was bad. They replace the tipm now the actuator in the back end of my van that controls the heat is not working I think both of these items should be covered under warranty

- Washington, IL, USA

problem #137

Jan 302016

Grand Caravan

  • 119,000 miles
If parked on a slant car won't start, once on flat street it starts. Was told by Dodge mechanic it's the fuel relay inside total integrated power module..quoted close to $1,100 dollars to repair..

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #136

Jun 112015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Plant City, FL, USA

problem #135

Jan 252016

Grand Caravan

  • 79,000 miles
In June 2013 we had to replace the battery and alternator. Now in Jan 2016 we had to replace the battery again and after running diagnostic we found out the the tipm needs to be replaced. The vehicle will try to crank however it will not always turn over.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #134

Jun 122014

Grand Caravan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Fairmont City, IL, USA

problem #133

Jan 052016

Grand Caravan

  • 90,600 miles
Vehicle does not start easily and at times experiences total power loss I've changed every fuse and relay as well as fuel pump and any other module or relay that can be replaced and much to my dispare the problems are still there to the point I don't feel safe driving with or without my whole family when it finally does decide to start it runs great but then you have to worry about the complete power loss issue which renders my brakes power steering and stability control completely useless! I don't know what else to do I'm stuck paying my finance company for a vehicle I can't drive and basically serves as little more than a pretty yard ornament we just got this vehicle in November 2015 the first sign of an issue was less than a week after purchase after little more than a month after driving off the lot and the third time losing power while driving the final time being on 275 in cincinnati 1/5/16 I decided that it's probably best to park the vehicle and not put our family in jeopardy especially during the cold cincinnati winter until we can figure it out or afford both the car payment and the trip to the ridiculously expensive Dodge dealership to pay for their technicians figure it out and then pay again to have it repaired

- New Richmond, OH, USA

problem #132

Jan 042016

Grand Caravan

  • 59,000 miles
Bought vehicle 10 mths ago. Have had trouble with it starting. Anti theft system came on, battery drained and key locked in ignition. Could not get it out without charging battery. Vehicle is now not wanting to start every time. Took to dealer, found out has faulty tipm. Parts on back order and will end up costing almost $1200 to repair. Still owe $14000 for vehicle and have to get repairs. This vehicle was purchased for my 89 year old mother so that she would be able to put her electric scooter in the back of it for travel. Company this was purchased at, I am sure knew of the issue, just as I am sure they knew of recall on a window switch that wasn't repaired. If this part is not repairs, steering can go out while driving, amongst other fatal things, such as brakes going out or stalling middle of driving. Dealer trying to blame other company for installing faulty tipm, when it is the company's faulty part.

- Vancleave,, MS, USA

problem #131

Nov 122015

Grand Caravan

  • 61,000 miles
Vehicle not starting after several attempts or stalling at speed. Tipm tested and found to have a faulty fuel relay. This is the same exact part involved in the recall of other models in the same year by Dodge.

- Annandale, VA, USA

problem #130

Jun 022015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed for the repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experience a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Pleasant Gap, PA, USA

problem #129

Jul 082015

Grand Caravan

  • 58,000 miles
My Grand Caravan has issues starting, it just cranks and does not start. I had a Dodge mechanic check it out and he found it had the common issue of a bad fuel pump relay in the tipm. This same issue exists in the durango of the same year and it has a recal, why tfk aren't the Caravan included. It's the same fix installing an external relay bypassing the one on the tipm.

- North Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #128

Dec 052015

Grand Caravan

  • 69,000 miles
At first starting my Dodge Grand Caravan mainstreet was a headache. We would go out to start our Caravan and it took about 20 to 30 cranks before it would turn over. It stopped cranking on Saturday December 5, 2015. We had to get it towed home. Mind you I work 2 jobs and had to be at my second job on Saturday at 2:30 pm. We got it towed and had a mechanic come out to look at it. He found that the starter had stopped. We took the starter to an auto parts store for them to check it. The starter had died. We purchased the starter and got it installed and our car still would not stay cranked. The mechanic tested all our fuses and our fuse pump and found that one of our fused(M25) that goes to the fuel pump was not getting enough power to it. Researching online I found that Dodge has a civil suit against them for the tipm(totally integrated power module). I have had to walk 2 hours to get to my second job. On some days I have to pay for a taxi(total cost at $46 dollars) that is more than I make a day at my second job. I go to see if there is a recall on my vehicle for the tipm and its not. What do you do? I need transportation. I pay a car note of $480 a month and I can't afford to get this fixed. I will never purchase another Dodge. When all of this started my airbag lights popped on and my brake lights.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #127

Jan 012015

Grand Caravan

  • 7,500 miles
Van would not start diffucult to start van would crank, happened to many times we have had several instance that required and tow as the vehicle would not start.I'm just research to internet the problem I'm just read similar complain and problem, regards the van same my situation the tipm module defect., I went to local mechanic just take a look the problem the mechanic said battery need to changes the key fod need the change and reset commputer, I'm spent around $800,00 dollar for everything and couples and months smell thing happened the van not start diffucult to start, I call a local dealership, I speak to service assosiates I told that if any recall tipm module but the guy said none, I'm afraid to drive the van stranded againt anytime just park to my parking lot couple week I don't have money to fix around$1200,00 the worst thing I'm still monthly payments to my van for nothing

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #126

Oct 182015

Grand Caravan

  • 65,000 miles
My vehicle had a defective tipm module in it. I first had to replace the battery then the altenator then the key fob and finally the tipm module. Looking back that all of the first repairs turned out not to be the problem. We had always noticed that at times the windows would automatically roll down and that the electric doors would suddenly open up. We never quite knew what it was until now. We replaced the tipm and it worked fine. After spending 800 dollars that I didn't real need to the tipm was another 1000 dollars. I've seen the lawsuit that is on going related to the very same problem I had in the Grand Cherokee and the Dodge durangos. My vehicle is list in the addendum to the lawsuit. I'm very frustrated I had to spend first 800 dollars that didn't fix the problem then the1000 dollars knowing they haven't had a recall yet after so many complaints regarding the same issues.

- Thomasville, GA, USA

problem #125

Jul 222015

Grand Caravan

  • 100,000 miles
My vehicle has died! it needs a tipm. My car has stalled nurmerous times on the highway and takes me over 30 attempts to start!..it is now in the shop

- Wentzville, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?