Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 10
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,323 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Dodge Grand Caravan electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 7 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #60

Mar 202015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 5/5/15 the recall repair was completed. Updated 05/12/15

- Savanna, MO, USA

problem #59

Mar 192015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 4/21/15 the consumer stated it had been over a year and the parts to repair the vehicle had not become available. Updated 6/26/2015

- Pine Grove Mills, PA, USA

problem #58

Mar 172015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #57

Mar 132015

Grand Caravan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Clarence, NY, USA

problem #56

Mar 112015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Arlington Heights , IL, USA

problem #55

Sep 032014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 84,100 miles
The totally integrated power module (tipm) was diagnosed as being defective. I was without a vehicle for 3 months due to a nationwide shortage.

- Hamilton, IN, USA

problem #54

Nov 012014

Grand Caravan

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The problems began with the vehicle not starting on the first attempt. Sometimes it takes several attempts to turn over. The windshield wipers come on for no reason and won't shut off for a while. Sometimes the fuel pump continues to run even when the car is turned off. The battery had been drained completely and needed replacement shortly after purchase.

- Kailua , HI, USA

problem #53

Feb 192015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Abita Springs, LA, USA

problem #52

Jun 012014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system). The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician deactivated the window switch and a temporary remedy due to the part not being available to repair the vehicle. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Boise, ID, USA

problem #51

Aug 012014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles
In August 2014 our Dodge Grand Caravan (2011) began having problems starting up immediately. This continued and progressively got worse as time went on. We were forced to try and coax the van to start by turning the ignition back and forth from accy (accessory) to start repeatedly, at times for up to 30-45 minutes before it would start. We experienced the van's engine shutting off for no reason at stoplights and in the middle of driving. At one point, the fuel pump would not turn off even though the van was off and the key removed from the ignition. We were forced to disconnect the battery every time we got out of the vehicle so as not to cause possible overheating of the fuel pump. Once the fuel pump stopped running we were unable to start the van at all, leaving my stranded in my vehicle until I could be picked up. Because this is our only vehicle we were forced to get the tipm replaced which cost $1114.68.

- Dallas, GA, USA

problem #50

Jan 142015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle stalled 6 times while traveling on expressway 70-75 mph, lights going on and off...loss of power steering and brakes when stalled. Took vehicle to dealership who could not duplicate. They had been conferring with Dodge representative who after 1 week stated to give vehicle back to customer. After extensive research I feel it is a faulty tipm, however Dodge apparently does not think so. So I have a vehicle that can stall at any time...Dodge knows there is a problem and they just don't care. I will say the dealership was great, free loaner car, no charge for diagnostic and they genuinely felt bad to hand the car back over...I did not buy my vehicle from this dealership, however they treated me as if I was a customer of theirs.

- Bay City, MI, USA

problem #49

Oct 012014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Langhorne, PA, USA

problem #48

Jun 012014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure. Pam

- Olney, MD, USA

problem #47

Sep 082014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available for several months. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Hartford, WI, USA

problem #46

Dec 182014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles
I was driving to go pick up my wife and I was on a back two lane road when my van just shut off. I put it in neutral and it took a couple of times to restart but eventually did. Since then my vehicle has had a few issues with starting. I have had a mechanic look at it but he sees nothing wrong. It also happened to my wife while traveling down the road. She was at a traffic light when it just turned green. She put her foot on the accelerator and it stopped in heavy traffic. She was with my youngest son and he was scared to death. We keep having to have road side assistance to come jump start it. Today January 17, 2015 the man come out to jump start it and it is completely dead. We used to hear this sound like air coming from the rear driver side tire but nothing now. He said to me it may be a fuel pump.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #45

Sep 152014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 122,000 miles
2011 Dodge Grand Caravan 3.6L - problems begin around September with issues cranking the vehicle. The engine would turn over but it was having trouble picking up the fuel. After several attempts the van would start and run fine in the beginning. The issue progressively got worse and more complex. On several occasion while driving, the vehicle lost fuel pressure and stalled momentarily, then picked up fuel again. In November the fuel pump begin not shutting off after the ignition had been switched off and other times it would not pump at all. Around the first of January the vehicle stranded us on vacation for 7 hours only to crank once we jumped the van with another vehicle. After that the only way I could start the vehicle in the morning is by jumping it with another vehicle. This week, thinking that there was a short in the fuel pump I replaced it ($300 parts only) and the problem continued. The fuel pump fuse (M25) was not blown but there was no power on it. I bypassed the fuel pump fuse with the rear power accessory fuse (M7) and the pump came on with the ignition switch. While the fuse is bypassed the vehicle starts and runs fine. After researching the problem online it appears that I may have a common problem with the tipm. Hoping for a recall to help with this costly issue.

- Richlands, NC, USA

problem #44

Jan 152015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable.

- Winslow, AZ, USA

problem #43

Jun 152014

Grand Caravan

  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the driver side door panel and passenger side door panel overheated without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician informed the contact that the vehicle was operating as designed. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 44,000.

- Miami Beach, FL, USA

problem #42

Apr 042014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available for several months. The contact stated that the dealer disconnected the vent window switch. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 03/10/15

- Pace, FL, USA

problem #41

Sep 172014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,400 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The specifics of the failure were not available. The failure mileage was 93,400. Updated 03/17/15 updated 6/18/2015

- San Juan , PR, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?