Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

5.3

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 8
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,670 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Dodge Grand Caravan electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 2 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #131

Dec 232015

Grand Caravan

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Battery light came on while driving kids to school. Drove a short distance home(5mi). Tested battery and alternator. Voltage on both appeared within normal ranges. Let vehicle idle within my driveway with the lights/radio/heater on. Battery was dead within 20min.

- Coudersport, PA, USA

problem #130

Sep 052015

Grand Caravan

  • 65,000 miles
3 instances of engine electrical issues, suspect power control module box. First instance about 2 years ago, pulling into driveway, and headlights and dashboard begin to flicker uncontrollably. I pulled negative battery cable, re-connected after a couple of minutes, and all normality returns. 2nd issue, some year ago or less, car shuts down in middle of highway, luckily, right next to a parking lot and red light. As engine shut down, I suspected this issue once again. I used momentum to turn into parking lot. (just rolled in.) wife asked me what I was doing, didn't explain until I was able to secure into parking lot and stop vehicle. Once again, pulled off cable on battery, and was able to re-set computer glitch. Third issue event. Was parked in parking lot, couldn't get key control to open door. Used emergency key to open door, once again, pulled off battery cable and re-set computer. There is a problem with this computer without a doubt.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #129

Sep 072013

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Purchased this vehicle in Sept 2013, immediately the second row, passenger-side seatbealt does not propel back. The seller of the vehicle, directed me to a mechanic to repair it but shortly after it occured again. Less than a year after purchase, the fuse/motor on the driver's seat just stopped and the seat is unable to be adjusted. Last week, went for repairs to front wheel bearing (tire popped directly off) and was advised the rear wheel bearing will also need to be replaced. Cannot tell if any of these are normal wear and tear or malfunctions with the vehicle, especially since I have only had it for 2 years.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #128

Nov 142015

Grand Caravan

  • 53,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My van is only 3 years old and have had to replace the battery in Sept 2015. It's mid November and now I'm having trouble with the battery dying frequently. I went to where I purchased the battery from and they checked the battery and said it's fine. The motor ranks without starting 2-3 times before finally starting. I believe this is because of the fuel pump or fuel pump relay. The relays chatter a lot and the fuel pump sounds much different now than it did when I purchased the vehicle. It's as if the battery is being G drained slowly because of either the fuel pump or fuel pump relay or both. I am a certified aircraft and auto mechanic with electrical troubleshooting capabilities. I have yet to approach the Dodge dealer with this because it has only happened twice so far with me being at work while my wife has had to deal with this issue both times so far.

- Camden, NC, USA

problem #127

Jul 212014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Northport, AL, USA

problem #126

Oct 062015

Grand Caravan

  • 0 miles
The van for a few weeks would occasionally not start on the first attempt, it would crank, just not start. At first I thought I just didn't turn the key long enough to start, but in the beginning of October it started getting worse and I knew there was a problem. I took it to a mechanic on Oct 7th and they couldn't duplicate the no start issue and couldn't find anything, so I was asked to bring it back when their mopar guy was back. We thought it was a fuel pump issue so we tried to run a cleaner through it, but after a few days it only go worse. On Oct 19th I brought it back to the mechanic (still thinking it was a fuel pump issue) and they said the crank senor was not responding. They replaced that twice but it still wouldn't respond to the programming. Had to pay $150+ for the crank sensor... they finally said that I would need to bring it to the dealership because it most likely was the main computer and since that part would be covered under warranty they could replace it without any out of pocket. I brought it to the dealership and they informed me it was the tipm and that it would cost over $1,000 to fix. The guy at the dealership said it's "not a common problem" so they couldn't get the part from their warehouse, they had to order it from the manufacturer and it would be in at the beginning of next week (Oct 26th or 27th). I hadn't heard anything so I went into find out what was going on and he informed me that the part had to be made because "it's not common" and would hopefully be in around Friday (Oct 30th). Still no word. And today I found out this is not uncommon that there is actually a class action lawsuit for this very issue!!!! they will not give me a loaner and I have 3 kids that I have no way of getting around in a little Kia forte.

- Palmetto, FL, USA

problem #125

Mar 312014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 02/23/16 updated 03/01/16.

- Clarksburg, WV, USA

problem #124

Nov 052014

Grand Caravan

  • 37,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. While the vehicle was parked, the rear vent window switch malufunctioned. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 37,000.

- Erie, GA, USA

problem #123

Oct 162013

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the driver's side vent window switch was disabled. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 03/11/16

- Mt.Vernon, NY, USA

problem #122

May 062014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000(electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pickrell, NE, USA

problem #121

Oct 012015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. Consumer writes in regards to rear quarter vent window switch parts still not available to complete recall notice. The consumer stated the dealer removed the window switch two years ago.

- Hilbert, WI, USA

problem #120

Oct 132015

Grand Caravan

  • 17,000 miles
Tried to leave babysitter after 5 minute pickup and van wouldn't start. No power for anything like battery. Charge did not help. Slight click when you turn over key similar to starter but not as loud. Read all reviews for others and with tipm failure and their combined issues sounds like tipm. No power, won't start, shifts rough.

- Saint Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #119

Apr 032015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #118

Sep 242015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part was unavailable to perform the repair. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- North Huntingdon, PA, USA

problem #117

May 072014

Grand Caravan

  • 47,900 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that after several attempts, the vehicle was able to start. The failure recurred on several occasions. The contact also, stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle restarted after several attempts. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic but the failure was unable to be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. In addition, the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system), however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall. The approximate failure mileage was 47,900.

- Henrico, VA, USA

problem #116

Sep 012015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles
2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. Consumer writes in regards to recall notice #14V-234 issues. The consumer stated each time he received a recall notice, he called the dealer to make an appointment, only to be informed the parts were not available.

- Galesburg, IL, USA

problem #115

Aug 192015

Grand Caravan

  • 68,000 miles
Faulty tipm. Wife transporting children, van stalls and cannot be started after multiple attempts. No pwer to entire vehicle. Very dangerous. Dodge says this is not a recall but online research exposes that this is a huge safety issue. What is going on. Issue a reecall before someone gets hurt or killed!!

- Camarillo, CA, USA

problem #114

Jul 092014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts needed for the repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mount Lake Terrace, WA, USA

problem #113

Jun 242014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts needed for the recall repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 10/15/2015 updated 01/25/16.

- Independence, VA, USA

problem #112

Jun 202014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available, and disconnected the rear quarter vent window switch several months ago. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. Updated 11/06/15

- Odessa, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?