Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

5.3

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 8
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,670 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Dodge Grand Caravan electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 8)

problem #151

Sep 272016

Grand Caravan

  • 82,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving 30 mph, the contact smelled smoke and noticed flames emanating from the vehicle door. The fire department extinguished the fire. There were no injuries and a report was not filed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the failure was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system). The cause of the fire was undetermined. The vehicle was not destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 82,000.

- Hartland, MN, USA

problem #150

Sep 272016

Grand Caravan

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving at low speeds, the vehicle caught fire. The contact was not injured. A police report was filed. The vehicle was not towed to a local dealer. The contact called 911 when the vehicle burst into flames. The battery was disconnected on the scene. The vehicle was taken to a local body shop the following day, but was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 82,000.

- Hartland, MN, USA

problem #149

Sep 212016

Grand Caravan

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving 40 mph, the driver's side door caught fire. The contact smelled smoke coming from the driver's side door. The fire department extinguished the fire. A fire report was not filed and there were no injuries. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 82,000.

- Hartland, MN, USA

problem #148

Oct 012016

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Suspected tipm failure causing multiple electrical issues. 1. 9/1/16 fuel pump died thereby immobilizing vehicle. Very unusual for a car with less than 60K miles and not yet 5 yrs old. Replaced at dealership, no reimbursement from Chrysler Corp, total out of pocket cost $826. 2. 10/1/16 multiple electrical issues occurred simultaneously a) power door locks no longer function. Therefore over 20mph self locking doors not functional. B) fuel gauge reads completely empty but tank is definitely full. C) parking brake light is constantly illuminated although not applied. D) interior dome lights working intermittently. E) service engine soon indicator light on. For items #1 & #2 vehicle was stationary both times. Currently not being driven until further repair research is done as electrical issues of this nature create an unsafe driving environment.

- Easley, SC, USA

problem #147

Sep 202016

Grand Caravan

  • 131,000 miles
My daughter made an attempt to start the vehicle, one night after community theater rehearsal, to drive home and found the vehicle would not start and she heard random relays chattering throughout the vehicle, had the windshield wipers move, the instrument panel lights flickered on/off along with displaying error codes of: "no fuse" and "no bus". the fuel pump could be heard running, even with the key off and she said the van acted like it was possessed. Based on online information, I replaced the crankshaft position sensor, which was listed as a top culprit in the problem and that solved nothing. Further research indicated the tipm unit is most likely the cause and we found that her make/model of vehicle is part of a lawsuit for this problem.

- Archer, FL, USA

problem #146

Sep 052016

Grand Caravan

  • 38,979 miles
My van suddenly shut-down at highway speed (70 mph) with cruise control engaged due to alternator failure which placed my wife, myself and others on the highway in extreme danger of collision. Luckily we were in right lane and were able to coast onto the shoulder. The engine would not restart (nothing - no sounds, only bright whiteout of dashboard) - tow was required. Sudden sequence of events - charging system light illuminated shortly followed by ABS light, electronic stability control light, cruise control would not disengage, engine uncontrollably accelerated / decelerated leading to engine shutting down and dashboard going to total bright whiteout. This alternator failure is identical to NHTSA campaign #14V634000 / fca recall #P60. My Grand Caravan has under 39,000 miles - 3.6 liter engine / 160 amp alternator same as recall for other Dodge models built in same year as my Grand Caravan. Repairs made following day (9/6/16) at tyson Chrysler Dodge Jeep / shorewood, il - alternator failure, removed and replaced alternator.

- Lansing, IL, USA

problem #145

Jul 032016

Grand Caravan

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bought this van used in January 2016. We had it towed to the shop within a week of purchasing. The dash lights and headlights were flickering while driving. When braking the instrument panel, radio/navigation system and dvd player would shut down and restart itself. They eventually said there was a short in the transmission causing the vehicle to become stuck in 4th gear. It was fine for a month or so, but started doing the same things again. This time the alternator was replaced. Again it was fine for a short time. We let the problem continue without taking it to the shop until it started dying. At first it was only dying when stopped at a traffic light or stop sign. Once I was not able to immediately restart. Then it started dying while driving down the road. Both times were instances of deceleration. The dealership said it was recording events of low voltage. After having it for a week, they told us there was a malfunction within the new alternator and put a new one in. The day after we picked it up it started shutting the electronics down again. Clearly the alternator did not solve the problem. We also had the alternator tested on our own the first time this happened in January as we thought that could be the problem and the alternator tested fine.

- Conroe, TX, USA

problem #144

Jul 012016

Grand Caravan

  • 97,000 miles
While attempting to turn left onto two lane highway, van surged, all dashboard lights came on and then had almost no acceleration. Had to maneuver into center turning lane and then was able to get van into parking lot of store. Engine was revving but van would not go above 10mph. Van was towed to local dealership tonight. This is the third time this has happened since late December of 2015. Main computer (tipm) has been replaced twice already by dealership. Dodge did help cover part of repair cost first time, never heard back from them when it happened again in the end of February and just filed third claim / complaint tonight. Just wondering if they are waiting for someone in my family to be seriously injured or killed when the vehicle does this before acknowledging that there is an inherent issue with this van or the parts they are repairing it with.

- Atglen, PA, USA

problem #143

Jun 242016

Grand Caravan

  • 141,000 miles
We own a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan, we have been having issues with the vehicle not starting when you turn the key, all the gauge lights will come on but it will not engage the starting system until you wiggle the key around while in the start position. Recently the vehicle stalled while driving around a corner, it was just like turning off the key, the steering locked luckily it was at a low speed and there was no oncoming traffic, the van coasted into the on coming lane. After turn the key off and putting the van back into park it started again, we did not chance driving the vehicle any where but to the dealership, they said it was the win module and it needs to be replaced. After doing some research it is similar to the issues that the 08 - 10 Dodge Grand Caravan are recalled for. The newer models of there vehicles need to have the win systems investigated as well.

- Bismarck, ND, USA

problem #142

Mar 012016

Grand Caravan

  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving 25 mph, the vehicle stalled and restarted properly after the contact started the ignition. The failure only occurred when the vehicle was started for the first time during the day. The vehicle was not taken to a mechanic and the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was 89,000.

- Toppenish, WA, USA

problem #141

Jun 102016

Grand Caravan

  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving the vehicle, the door panel started melting and smoke filled the vehicle. The vehicle was pulled over, turned off, and the fuse was disconnected. The smoke dissipated and there were no flames. The contact researched that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system). The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the interior of the driver door was severely damaged and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. There were no injuries that required medical attention. The failure mileage was 110,000.

- Ft Myers, FL, USA

problem #140

May 212014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system). The part needed to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- New Caney, TX, USA

problem #139

May 062016

Grand Caravan

  • 46,196 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle lost power without warning. The vehicle was able to be restarted and operated normally. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, but the failure could not be diagnosed or repaired. The failure occurred three times. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 46,196.

- Media, PA, USA

problem #138

Apr 242016

Grand Caravan

  • 30,922 miles
I have owned this van since 05/24/2012. At 30,922 miles and date of 01/06/2014 the positive battery cable corroded through and the van died while driving. The dealer replaced the entire cable under factory warranty. On 04/24/2016 & 62,036 miles the positive battery cable corroded through again and the van died while driving it. It seems that this is going to happen every 2 years. Eventually it's going to happen in heavy traffic and someone will get run over by fast rush hour traffic.

- Farmington, NM, USA

problem #137

Dec 312014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000(electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The rear quarter vent window switch was disconnected, which made the rear windows inoperable. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Young Harris, GA, USA

problem #136

Jan 012014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Have received 3 recall notices P25. Called our dealer 3 times to have this recall taken care of in the past 14months. They can¿T fix this issue due to parts limitation with the manufacture.

- New Lenox, IL, USA

problem #135

Jan 022015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Glen Carbon, IL, USA

problem #134

Jan 152015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system). The part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Valparaiso, IN, USA

problem #133

Jan 272016

Grand Caravan

  • 58,000 miles
Earlier 2008 to 2010 Chrysler Town & Country and Dodge Grand Caravan were experiencing an ignition problem with the (win) wireless ignition node module recall #14V-373, Chrysler #R03. We noticed that an extra fobik could not be programmed on these vehicles because of a failure in the (win). These affected models were replaced under this recall. I now have a 2012 Grand Caravan that also has a non-responsive (win) (extra fobik can not be programmed) and will need to be replaced; however, this is nearly an identical unit to the 2008-2010 models and this is the same thing we experienced with the module loosing its communication. I suspect that it is a precursor to the same issue (win failure) and Chrysler needs to replace these newer units as well. A complete failure of the ignition module could shut the vehicle off when it is going down the road. This problem they are having with newer ignition modules appears to be very similar to the earlier model. Its a potential hazard and an expensive fix that people could put off (don't have to program an extra fobik) and later have a bigger issues with a (win) failure that causes an engine shut-off condition going down the road.

- Worthington, MN, USA

problem #132

Dec 272015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 82,500 miles
Our van has had electrical issues over the past 3-4 weeks. First, certain lights in the cabin would flicker intermittently. Starting last week, the dash lights would flicker on and off while driving. The car then started to lose power while idling. Then one day the car briefly lost power while going 75 mph on I-70. It restored instantly but displayed a battery warning light. I pulled over and restarted the vehicle, where it operated normally again. Within the last few days, however, the car continues to lose power while idling, even if in gear.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?