Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Dodge Intrepid, Stratus & other Chrysler sedans are infamous for oil sludge problems with the 2.7L V6 engine. If someone offers to sell you a 2.7L V6 model, it's only worth the price of the scrap metal it's going to shortly turn into.

NOTE: Only the 2.7L V6 has the oil sludge problem. Our "Avoid like the Plague" designation is ONLY for models with the 2.7L V6 engine. All other available engines are very reliable with no major problems.

Even with regular maintenance, the oil sludge defect eventually destroys the 2.7L engine typically around 80,000-100,000 miles. The only true fix we know about is to put in the larger 3.2L engine, which has a great reputation.

This issue was never deemed a safety defect by the Feds, so there was no recall. In the end, Chrysler got away with FOUR YEARS worth of defective 2.7L V6 engines in their sedans.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 10
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,805 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Dodge Intrepid engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Dodge Intrepid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Dodge Intrepid Owner Comments (Page 4 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #101

Jun 042006

Intrepid

  • Manual transmission
  • 41,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact stated that on 06/02/06 had an oil changed on the 2001 Dodge Intrepid. After picking up the vehicle she started hearing a ticking noise. The contact stated that 2 days later she tried to start the vehicle and the vehicle would not start. She had the vehicle towed to the dealership, and was informed that the engine seized due to sludge build up. The contact stated that she has always taken her vehicle for oil changes, and could not understand how the engine could go with so few miles and regular maintenance. The contact has filed a complaint with the manufacturer, and will have file # available for the hard copy.

- Gary, IN, USA

problem #100

Jan 012007

Intrepid

  • miles
I was driving the vehicle when I heard a metal on metal grinding noise. Before I could pull the car out of traffic the car stalled, the vehicle became almost impossible to steer. I got it pulled over to the side of the road & have been unable to start it since. I was told just today that the water pump broke into pices, & the timing chain needs to be replaced. I called the Chrysler Corp. & inspite of the fact that this car has less than 68,000 miles on it, they informed me that I am responsible for the entire $1,500+ repair bill.

- Auburn, NY, USA

problem #99

Dec 062006

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
: the contact stated the engine died. The vehicle was taken to a service dealer, who determined the engine died due to engine sludge, and would needed to be replaced.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #98

Dec 022006

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated the engine died. The contact took the vehicle to a non service dealer who could not identify why the engine failed. The check engine light was not illuminated prior to the incident. Updated 01/10/07.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #97

Nov 122006

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
: the contact stated while driving 30 mph, the vehicle started to decelerate and finally stopped. The vehicle was taken to the service dealer, who determined a new engine was needed.

- Freeport, IL, USA

problem #96

Nov 232006

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles
One day it started the terrible knocking took it immediately to a mechanic and he gave me the bad news about these engines.the 2.7 liter engine on my 2001 Dodge Intrepid failed at 120,000 miles. I have regularly maintained this vehicle, and the costs of the repairs are phenomenal ($ 4000 )--and I am still stuck with the same 2.7 liter engine.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #95

Nov 282006

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Having engine problems with my 2.7 liter on my 2001 Dodge Intrepid.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #94

Nov 202006

Intrepid

  • Automatic transmission
  • 117,000 miles
: the contact stated the check engine light illuminated and a month later, the vehicle would not accelerate above 5 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealership, where it was determined the engine needed to be replaced.

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #93

Oct 302006

Intrepid

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving 50 mph under normal road conditions, the engine stalled. The vehicle slowed down to 20 mph and then stopped. The vehicle was taken to the service dealer, who determined that the engine needed to be replaced.

- Vallejo, CA, USA

problem #92

Mar 082004

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,435 miles
First thing is that the rack and pinion failed. Got it repaired and then tie rod fell off. Was driving down the road one day, the car started smoking and just cut off. Got it off the road but it would not start after that. The car only has 75,435 miles on it.

- Leitchfield, KY, USA

problem #91

Nov 032006

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 112,058 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while driving 70 mph cold air blew from the heater and the vehicle stalled. It was maneuvered off the road and towed to an independent repair shop who determined a release valve fractured causing the water to leak out of the engine. The engine had to be replaced. The dealer has been alerted. Updated 01/10/07.

- Cullen, LA, USA

problem #90

Jan 112005

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving 40 mph on neighborhood streets, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was maneuvered off the road and towed to an independent repair shop who determined the engine needed to be replaced due to sludge. The engine was replaced, and the dealer was notified. Updated 11/063/06.

- Winter Park, FL, USA

problem #89

Nov 252005

Intrepid

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving 30 mph on normal road conditions, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact had no control of the steering and brakes. The vehicle was towed to the dealership who determined the engine had to be replaced because there were no parts for the 2.7 long block engine. An independent mechanic also made the same diagnosis. The manufacturer was contacted, and concurred with the dealership about the engine replacement due to non-availability of the engine components. The contact expressed concern about the responsibility of the manufacturer not complying with the obligation to provide the necessary parts to perform the vehicle repairs.

- Gaffney, SC, USA

problem #88

Aug 192006

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,066 miles
08/19/2006 - 9:30 a.M., car ran perfect. At 9:45, car began to "putt" with slight hesitation while pressing on gas. At 9:50, car began to "loose life" as I drove up street. Pressed on gas, but no acceleration. Car stopped. Towed home same day, then towed to nashville Dodge, tn on 09/11/2006. On 09/13/2006 service department stated water pump leak into oil pan, coolant covered floor, engine skipped time. Milky color in valve train as a result. Need new water pump & need new engine.

- Antioch, TN, USA

problem #87

Sep 112006

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 104,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving 10 mph on a dry highway, the vehicle's engine failed suddenly without warning. The check engine light illuminated at the time the vehicle stalled. The vehicle would not restart and the contact pushed the vehicle to the residence. The dealership was not notified. There were no problems with the vehicle prior to this incident.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #86

Aug 192006

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Our 2001 Dodge Intrepid ran good until about a couple weeks ago. It just started to rattle and tick. It sounded like it was knocking. We had several people look at it and they didn't have a clue. Then when my husband was on his way home from work it just died in the middle of the road. We finally got it home and we noticed that the spark plug on the left rear was in pieces like it blew up. I looked it up online and turns out tons of people had the same problem. There is a default in the engine and Chrysler knows all about it and doesn't care. My husband is military and had no way to get to work. Is there a lawsuit against them" can you help? what should we do" I can't attend school anymore or work and my stranded with a baby what if he gets sick and has to go to the hospital. Please help. Thank you.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #85

Jul 312006

Intrepid

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,000 miles
: the contact stated on 7-31-06 while stopped and getting ready to turn, the vehicle suddenly stalled without warning. The check engine light did not illuminate in the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic who determined the engine needed to be replaced due to the timing chain going out. Prior to this incident, the oil was changed. The contact maintained the vehicle's oil changes every 3,000-4,000 miles, yet the mechanic informed the contact the oil was very thick. The dealership has been informed.

- New Palestine, IN, USA

problem #84

Aug 192006

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles
My 2001 Dodge Intrepid, 2.7L engine died while I was driving on Saturday August 19th, the engine is sludge and I would like to know why the engine sludge with regular oil changes and maintenance. I was told that my extended warranty will not cover this because it is sludge. The coolant is all gone after I just replaced the coolant bypass hose due to overheating. I owe a lot of money on this car still like 7300 dollars and cant afford to pay for this repair and for the car payments, please let me know what can be done to solve this situation.

- Lake Orion , MI, USA

problem #83

Jul 292006

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles
My 2.7L 2001 Dodge Intrepid ran fine Saturday morning. Saturday it was very sluggish and began "ticking". when we checked, it had no oil. There was never white smoke, no dripping oil under the car, no indicator light when you were driving down the road, other than an occasional flickering when the car was in idle. Dealer is now saying the engine in junk and it will take $5200+ to fix. Book value doesn't support repair. Only 78,000 miles.

- St. Marys, OH, USA

problem #82

Jul 232006

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
: the contact stated that the check engine light illuminated and smoke came from under the hood while driving 70mph on the highway. The contact pulled over and checked under the hood where flames were now present within the engine compartment. The fire was extinguished by the contact using a bottle of water. The vehicle was towed to an independent repair shop who determined that the engine needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not alerted.

- Naples, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?