Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Dodge Intrepid, Stratus & other Chrysler sedans are infamous for oil sludge problems with the 2.7L V6 engine. If someone offers to sell you a 2.7L V6 model, it's only worth the price of the scrap metal it's going to shortly turn into.

NOTE: Only the 2.7L V6 has the oil sludge problem. Our "Avoid like the Plague" designation is ONLY for models with the 2.7L V6 engine. All other available engines are very reliable with no major problems.

Even with regular maintenance, the oil sludge defect eventually destroys the 2.7L engine typically around 80,000-100,000 miles. The only true fix we know about is to put in the larger 3.2L engine, which has a great reputation.

This issue was never deemed a safety defect by the Feds, so there was no recall. In the end, Chrysler got away with FOUR YEARS worth of defective 2.7L V6 engines in their sedans.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
72,804 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Dodge Intrepid engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Dodge Intrepid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Dodge Intrepid Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #70

Jul 202008

Intrepid

  • 142,134 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Blown motor.

- Milton, VT, USA

problem #69

Jun 042008

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Dodge Intrepid. The contact took the vehicle in for inspection and an oil change. Afterwards, while driving 50-55 mph, the vehicle began making a loud rattling noise inside the engine. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic and the valve cover gasket was removed. The mechanic found built-up oil sludge, which destroyed the engine. The contact purchased a new engine from an independent dealer and informed him that there had been several issues with the Chrysler and Dodge 2.7 liter engine. The failure mileage was 67,000 and current mileage was 67,350. Updated 09/16/08. Updated 09/17/08.

- Newport , NC, USA

problem #68

Feb 092008

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • 97,800 miles
My heater in the car stop working, the next day it came back on, then it went out again, a couple of days it came on again and stayed on. No problem until a couple of weeks later the car just shut down. I had it towed to shop, they told me the engine was gone that I needed to replace the engine.

- Garner, NC, USA

problem #67

Aug 282006

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a 2002 Dodge Intrepid 2.7 liter engine from Honda cars of mckinney in may of 2005 for $7000 and felt very happy about my purchase until a about a year and half later, the engine begin leaking oil. I followed the normal maintenance schedule and had the oil changed every 3000 miles. I took my Dodge to allen samuels of fort worth, Texas and they "fixed" my oil leak problem for $893 but was never told about the 2.7 engine design problems which cause major oil sludge problems. After about 2 months, the engine light came on again. I took the vehicle back to the dealership and they ran another check and found that there was no oil leak (engine burns oil now) but there was a "small" transmission leak. I was unable to get any further with the dealership without paying more money? since then, I've been unable to get my car inspected and have received a number of citations for expired inspection. I was even told by a policeman that I could check with the air Texas program for repair cost help. I sent in required documents and found out from christian brothers automotive that it would cost more the car is worth to fix. The state of Texas has given me a $3000 voucher to replace this pos Dodge. The problem now is that I'm unemployed and can't afford a car that qualifies for this benefit. I am in the process of sending a complaint to robert nardelli with Chrysler but I saw this link and thought I would get the word out. The dealership and/or Chrysler owe me the cost of the "oil leak" repair, cost to either replace engine/trans and the expenses to try and get it inspected.

- Trophy Club , TX, USA

problem #66

Mar 012008

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Dodge Intrepid. While driving at an unknown speed, the oil light illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The contact's father-in-law installed a new battery. The vehicle restarted and the contact pulled back onto the highway. She immediately heard a loud noise coming from under the hood and pulled off the road. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic and the contact was informed that the failure was due to excessive engine sludge that caused a rod to snap in the engine. The mechanic stated that a new engine would cost $5,000. The failure and current mileages were 89,000.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #65

Dec 052007

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,045 miles
I bought a 2002 Dodge Intrepid in July of 2007. 10,000 miles later on December 5th, 2007 my car breaks down and my oil and engine light turn on. I had my oil changed as scheduled so I know its not my fault. I few days later I get my car looked at by a professional and he begins to explain to me that its my timing chain, hydraulic tensioner. In other words, I'm required to buy another engine or get mine fixed. Both my options seem a little unfair and pricey. Im also told that Chrysler was the original creator of the 2.7 liter engine found in my 2002 Dodge Intrepid model. Through further investigating I've found numerous websites dealing with the same complaints. Am I really expected to pay 5,000$ on a new engine for something that's not my fault?

- Napa, CA, USA

problem #64

Sep 122007

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 111,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My family and I while driving down the highway in our 2002 Dodge Intrepid SE 2.7 liter the engine failed with no warning after further research have found that Chrysler is aware of this problem yet has done nothing and will do nothing to correct it. This is unfortunate as this problem presents real danger for people around these cars when the engine fails.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #63

Aug 182007

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chrysler Intrepid. While driving 70 mph, the engine failed and the timing chain snapped. The vehicle was pulled over and the vehicle was towed. The dealer does not want any part in the matter. There are no recalls available for the engine. The vehicle has not been repaired. The current and failure mileages were 110,000. Updated 12/12/2007 updated 12/12/07

- Ft. Myers, FL, USA

problem #62

Jul 072007

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 113,400 miles
I bought the 2002 Dodge Intrepid new and from day 1 we used synthetic oil in the vehicle. My mechanic always told me that was the best treatment for the longevity of an engine. My wife has always been the primary driver of the car and we followed the maintenance schedule properly. She was waiting to turn into our community after returning home from work, when without warning the engine failed. We needed a motor.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #61

Jun 122007

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,650 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Dodge Intrepid. While driving 15 mph, the engine failed. The contact pulled over and pushed the vehicle to the dealer. The dealer stated that the vehicle needed a new engine. The cost would be $7,900. The current and failure mileages were 51,000. Updated 03-04-08

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #60

Jul 122007

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Dodge Intrepid. The contact heard a loud dragging sound underneath the vehicle while driving. The sensor light and oil light illuminated on the dashboard and the vehicle completely shut off. The contact did not try to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence and has not been taken to the dealer. The current and failure mileages were 73,000. Updated 01-15-08. The consumer stated upon inspection there was anti-freeze within the oil chamber. Updated 12/12/07.

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #59

Apr 012007

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 147,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Dodge Intrepid. The contact stated that the vehicle shut off without warning while driving 45 mph. The dealer stated that the failure was not good. The current and failure mileages were 147,000. The consumer stated the vehicle leaks when adding antifreeze. Updated 06/08/07

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #58

Apr 022007

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,113 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Dodge Intrepid. While driving 40 mph the oil light illuminated, and a clicking noise was heard. The vehicle shut off. The contact attempted to notify the manufacturer. However, the number he dialed was disconnected. The current mileage, power train information, and place of purchase was unavailable. The failure mileage was 1,113.

- Hazel Crest, IL, USA

problem #57

Nov 302006

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,783 miles
Engine started knocking, so I stopped at a service station. They said that they do not repair 2.7 liters for Chrysler. Had it then towed to the Chrysler dealership and they said that the motor was blown due to oil sludge and needed to be replaced at a cost of $5700. Contacted impartial services group, sent them all information on the car, including oil changes. Was made an offer by Chrysler of $1080. Turned it down as they have had the same issue with Mercedes owners and have taken care of them. Talked to the owner of the Chrysler dealership in my area and he said "the 2.7 is a junk motor and I wouldn't have one on my lot". he also went on the tell me that the oil ports are to small to allow proper oil flow and the "V" shape in the oil pan does not allow for all of the oil to drain out during oil changes. I contacted Chrysler by letter and E-mail and they said sorry, but there is nothing we can do. I am in the process of creating a web site in which will be called the national push my Dodge. It will include a date in which I will push my Dodge Intrepid as far as needed to create awareness that Chrysler has turned its back side to middle class americans.

- Clare, MI, USA

problem #56

Mar 302006

Intrepid

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,582 miles
- the contact owns a 2002 Dodge Intrepid. The contact stated she heard a clicking noise. The clicking noise happened intermittently. The check engine light turned on. The vehicle was towed to a dealer, and the vehicle was diagnosed as having engine sludge. The engine needed to be replaced. The failure mileage was 34,582. The dealer advised the contact that because the contact did not have receipts showing oil changes they would not replace the engine.

- Ocoee, FL, USA

problem #55

Dec 112006

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,700 miles
Purchased Dec 2001 with maximum added care protection plan for 6yr/60K miles. Performed all vehicle required maintenance and never had an issue until 12/11/06 when the vehicle stopped in motion presenting a clicking sound. Vehicle towed to dealer as we thought to repair an alternator or battery. However the dealer states that our vehicle's motor ceased and it has sludge in the engine as when they open the oil cap, sludge is clearly evident. We are still attempting to get the service agreement to pay for the repair as we feel that it is not our fault since providing regular maintenance and the vehicle is presently under such warranty coverage. Our internet research shows that there are hundreds of 2.7 liter engine owners have suffered the same issue with DaimlerChrysler accepting no fault but acknowledging this is a common complaint however dcx refers that consumers did not follow regular maintenance schedules. Dealer cost to replace/repair engine $8900 as quoted on 12/11/06 by cueter Dodge ypsilanti, mi.

- Manchester, MI, USA

problem #54

Oct 122006

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,600 miles
Car was running fine, then one morning engine light came on and stayed on. Car was taken to service center. Mechanic stated that timing chain must be replaced and engine was full of sludge. $2400 for repair was paid. Approximately 2 weeks later, engine light comes on again. Same service center states new transmission is needed. $2200 for repair was paid. Do not know if old parts are available. Car is 4 years old with approximately 94600 miles. Go figure!

- Richmond, TX, USA

problem #53

Oct 302006

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 118,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving 15 mph on a city street, a rattling noise came from the engine followed the engine stalling without warning. The engine would not restart, and was pushed to a nearby independent repair shop who determined the engine was blown and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not alerted.

- The Colony, TX, USA

problem #52

Oct 022006

(reported on)

Intrepid

  • miles
The consumer heard complaints of the 2002 Intrepid's engine problems.

- Long Prairie, MN, USA

problem #51

Jul 072006

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,000 miles
: the contact stated that the transmission, radiator, oil thinning unit, and harmonic balancer have all been replaced. There was concern expressed that this should not be normal wear and tear even though the vehicle has 69000 miles on it.

- Wilsey, KS, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?