If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Dodge Intrepid, Stratus & other Chrysler sedans are infamous for oil sludge problems with the 2.7L V6 engine. If someone offers to sell you a 2.7L V6 model, it's only worth the price of the scrap metal it's going to shortly turn into.

NOTE: Only the 2.7L V6 has the oil sludge problem. Our "Avoid like the Plague" designation is ONLY for models with the 2.7L V6 engine. All other available engines are very reliable with no major problems.

Even with regular maintenance, the oil sludge defect eventually destroys the 2.7L engine typically around 80,000-100,000 miles. The only true fix we know about is to put in the larger 3.2L engine, which has a great reputation.

This issue was never deemed a safety defect by the Feds, so there was no recall. In the end, Chrysler got away with FOUR YEARS worth of defective 2.7L V6 engines in their sedans.

8.7

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$2,119.00
Average Mileage:
92,205 miles
Total Complaints:
24 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (12 reports)
  2. replace with a rebuilt transmission (8 reports)
  3. replace transmission and tourque converter (3 reports)
  4. replacing the solenoid valve switch (1 reports)
2002 Dodge Intrepid transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Dodge Intrepid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Dodge Intrepid Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Apr 012014

Intrepid SE 2.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 113,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

currently my lovely dodge intrepid is at the repair shop trying to get either a used transmission or rebuilding it!!! Ive had nothing but headaches with this vehicle more than its worth that's for sure. My problem started on the interstate when my car was cruising along just fine then all of a sudden that beautiful check engine light came on. Nothing seemed to be wrong took my trip and came home just fine only to get back into my car start it up and when putting it in reverse the stupid thing dies. Put it in park and restart and started back fine, after that is when it went downhill from there, started slipping really bad and looked like fluid was leaking out of it. took it to one repair shop and was told it was an internal transmission problem and they referred me to someone else who said my transmission was bad!!! NOthing and I mean nothing but problem after problem with this car, I've had this car for 8 years and I have just about replaced everything on it including the computer! The car looks nice and drives well for a little while but its not worth the headaches one has to deal with owning one. Very poorly made and put together cheaply and dodge should own up to the problems with these cars even though they don't make them anymore and I can really see why. Dodge used to be a great car company back in the day and its really disappointing that so many people are being ripped off with these cars! I for one will never and I mean never own another dodge! Someone couldn't give me one for free!!! As much money as I have spent fixing this car I could have bought a brand new one!

- , Harlan, KY, USA

problem #23

Nov 012012

Intrepid SE 2.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 135,000 miles

Seriously bad design on dodges part, I mean really? Chain driven??? come on...

- , Wesley Chapel, FL, USA

problem #22

Aug 082011

Intrepid ES

  • Automatic transmission
  • 166,000 miles

Had been having shifting problems but when clearing check engine light dealer said the error was not significant. Was away from home on a trip when light came on again and transmission finally failed to engage any gear. Replacement of transmission and a $2000.00 repair bill. What is the sense of these lights if the dealers can't give a better detail of the problem? No I am not going into this problem and the incidents leading up to the failure. Bought the vehicle used and put almost 80000 miles on the transmission with a few minor fixes totalling several hundred dollars over the three years I have had it. Maybe I should feel lucky or NOT!!

- , Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #21

Nov 072011

Intrepid 2.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 211,892 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was on my way to school when I felt the car jerk real hard but it kept moving. When I got off the interstate I was sitting at the stop sign waiting to turn and the car wouldn't move. I could put it in gear or take it out but with the engine running even in neutral the car wouldn't move. Luckily when the key was turned forward but not on the car was able to be moved. With the help of 2 officers I was able to get my car to a safe location to have it pulled home. The motor, transmission, and even the battery and starter are all factory. The car died with almost 212,000 miles on it. Yes I'm upset but mostly because I loved my car. I will look for another Intrepid but if their transmissions were all that bad maybe Dodge should have sold the car with a complimentary extra!!

- , Toluca, IL, USA

problem #20

Jun 192011

Intrepid 2.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 114,000 miles

I have a 2002 Dodge Intrepid and from a drivetain standpoint it is the pits! After 95K miles the tranny went out June 2009 on the expressway! Got it repaired ($3,500.00) with extended warranty only to have the engine (2.7L) go out a few months later ($4K). Got it repaired with the EW and it was OK until it was stolen Dec 2010. I recovered the vehicle in April 2011, but now I should have let the thieves keep it! The transmission, after 20,000 miles has the same problems and no more extended warranty so I'm debating whether to sell for parts or find a reasonable mechanic to repair the tranny. I look at my brother's Toyota Corolla with ove 225K miles and still running and ask myself about Chrysler-built products-are they designed to break down after several years?

How does Chrysler expect to have "Made In the U.S.A" stand for something by building crap for cars? I also had a 1999 Chrysler Sebring convertible which I traded for the Dodge. Reason-transmission problems. It is safe to say that building cars of quality keeps buyers coming back so you can bet that any Chrysler-built cars will not be in my possession in the future. If they want "Imported from Detroit" to mean something, don't build crap for cars. Believe me Detroit has enough issues to deal with already!

- , Chicago, IL, USA

problem #19

Jun 212009

Intrepid 2.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles

Hello All: I have a 2002 Dodge Intrepid w a 2.7 L engine and I'm here to tell you to stay away from Dodge. I had to put a rebuilt tranny in my Dodge in June 2009 and in October 2009 put a rebuilt engine in as well! Thank God I had an extended warranty and they picked up 75% of the $8K it cost to fix the problems. Paid the car off in November 2009 and it ran fine for a while. Unfortunately, the car was stolen Dec 2010 and I recovered it in April 2011. I should have let the thieves keep it! Now it has tranny problems similar to the first time where it whined, bumped into gears and just shut down completely. The market value is about $1,600.00, so I may sell the car for parts if I cannot find a mechanic that can repair for a reasonable cost. And Chrysler wonders why they are not doing well-are you kidding? When I hear my brother's Toyota Corolla going over 225K miles and still rolling it makes you wonder whether Chrysler engineers are lazy or programmed to make autos that last for several years only! Either way, Chrysler will not get another penny from me-new or used. Ford and GM-if you want "Made in U.S.A. to stand for something you better not follow this path of destruction or you too can be on the bottom of the s**t list with me!

- , Chicago, IL, USA

problem #18

Mar 102011

Intrepid 7.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 180,055 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

this problem has been one of dodges main problems for years. I believe their should be a recall by dodge to fix all of these transmission because they know that its a recuriny problem for years, very unhappy withe Dodge.

- , Raymond, WA, USA

problem #17

Jan 012008

Intrepid LT

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

Driving down the road in my 2002 Dodge Intrepid, just cruising along headed to work. No hint of any car trouble, just all of a sudden, bump bump. Then all ok. "Hmmm, I must have run over something", then bump bump bumekekl;ejoasdfs, you get the idea. As I slowly coasted to a stop on the side of the road, I had no idea that my transmission had just suddenly decided to die. Absolutely no previous indications. Called a wrecker and paid about $1200 for a rebuilt transmission. Which took about 3 weeks to get it put on!

- , Lufkin, TX, USA

problem #16

Nov 012009

Intrepid 2.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

about a week ago, my car began to make a noise like that of an RC car. I id not worry about it since i hear many other cars and trucks making that noise. they all seem to run fine. This morning, my car started to squeak. It actually screamed like the belt was loose or something. Later that day, i was leaving from work. I drove about a hundred yards and the car screeches to a halt! The car would not move at all! even in neutral the car would not move. The police pulled up and they forced a tow of my car. it had to be moved. the flatbed truck came and they DrAgGeDit onto the bed. the dam thing is now sittin in the yard of a mechanic waiting for those dredded E$1400 fixes. I think that i will just get a new dam car. it showed no early signs. I said i will take it to the shop to have those noises looked at. . . well. . . it is in the shop. and i cannot get to school or work. I may need to quit school and work and move back to Iowa. f*ck off dodge.

- , Hickory Hills, IL, USA

problem #15

Dec 012008

Intrepid 2.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,700 miles

Drove the car for about 4 months. Check engine light came on, and I figured it had to be on a timer, as it came on almost exactly at 50,000mi, the previous owner, my little grandma, had barely used it and maintained it at the dealer regularly. Also IT ONLY HAD 50,000mi. How wrong i was. a short while later, the transmission went out while i was on the 5 freeway in the fastlane. It has been in the shop for about a month, and my buddy the mechanic estimates at least 1400 to fix. the Dealers estimate at least 2700 to fix. Before i read this, I thought the engine was safe at least, because i switched it to synthetic when i got it. Now i guess i was wrong. Don't get me wrong, i'm not worried thank God, but my concern is that if/when I replace the transmission here, how long will it be 'til i need a new engine? An extra thousand dollars, and an engine replacement would cost as much as the kellybluebook on the car itself. wow if you thought smart, and haven't signed the papers on this car yet, lean towards stewardship, and don't buy it. it is a very nice looking car, and rides nice too, but unless you are a mechanic, or have a bunch of spare parts for this car layin around, i'd say pass. God bless, hope this helps, and have a good one! :-)

C-Snow

- , Whittier, CA, USA

problem #14

Nov 162008

Intrepid

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,778 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car jerked on the hiway like I hit something almost got whip lash the way it jerked.so I slowed down and tried to listen to the engine.My friends place was near bye so I stopped there to have a look at it.Everything seemed fine,until I tried to leave and it would not move forward or back.friggen scrap I will never by dodge again, problem after problem it seems. I can only imagine what it will cost to fix,not sure if I even will want to but I still owe on the car.

- , Sundridge, ONT, Canada

problem #13

Jan 202007

Intrepid LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,000 miles

I bought this car used. I was the second owner. At about 61000 miles it started to hum. Next, it would jerk sometime. Then while traveling down the highway, it just stopped pulling. It wouldn't go forward or backward. It was towed to the dealership, luckily it was still under the extended warranty. They put a rebuilt transmission #1 in it. It lasted only 90 days when it started to hum again. The check engine light came on. I took it to the dealership again. And the rebuilt transmission #1 was bad. So they replaced it.

Rebuilt transmission #2 lasted 13 months than it failed. Check engine light came on; transmission would not pull. Dealership said a 3rd transmission is needed. Guess what , I won't be putting another dime in this car. Including the original transmission this 2002 has had 3 transmission. I will NEVER buy another Dodge/Chrysler.

- , Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #12

Jun 022008

Intrepid SE V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles

The transmission went out on my 2002 Dodge Intrepid at only 65,000 miles. What the heck is this. This car is garbage. This is the second Dodge I had where I had transmission problems. Is this a coincidence? I think not. I take pride in my cars by making sure they are properly serviced and maintenance is done on them. After all this I still have transmission problems. I can't even renew my registration because I didn't pass the Emissions Test because the Check Engine Light is on because of transmission failure. Now I have to pay $3,000 - $6,000 to get the transmission rebuilt. Until then I'm careless and still making car payments. This sucks. I advise all to stay away from Dodge vehicles. They are poorly put together.

Signed pissed off.

- , Chicago, IL, USA

problem #11

May 282007

(reported on)

Intrepid V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles

Driving down the highway I miss my exit so I set out to find a utility turn around (aka, where the cops sit). Well, I find one and proceed to utilize it when my 2002 Dodge Intrepid just dead stops like I hit a wall or something. I try to back up and it's like I'm stuck in the mud, I can't move! So I get out of the car, check it over to make sure I didn't in fact hit something and find nothing in my way. So, I get back in the car, put it in drive and the car pops and I mean POPS into drive and I go flying down the highway. I think, great! I'm on my way home, NOT! The car then proceeds to start jerking and squealing. So, I take my foot off the gas and I start to move over to the side of the road to call my husband when the car just all of a sudden squeals tire like I slammed on the breaks and it dies. I had to coast to get off the highway all the way. I start the car back up and it won't move! I had to sit and wait for my husband to come baby it home. He had to pop it into drive (it's an automatic) and then it wouldn't go over 45 miles an hour home. The car has completely lost reverse and will not budge in Neutral unless the car is turned off. I have only had the car for a little over a year and I have had nothing but problems with it. The O2 sensors have continued to go out in it even though I have taken it to the shop to have them "fixed" the water pump went out in it and it started smoking like it was on fire. It had to go into the shop to get that fixed and cost me 1,500 dollars. I am very disenchanted with this car and I am towing it back to the dealer tomorrow and telling them to take it back! I'm not spending another dime on it, PERIOD!!!!

- , Lawton, OK, USA

problem #10

Oct 222007

(reported on)

Intrepid SE 2.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,500 miles

I bought my car from a dealer when it was just under a year old, I've never had any problems it has always driven and handled well. About 3 weeks ago I noticed that my car was acting weird and I thought it was gas that I had put in from a station I normally would not go to. When I would come to a stop at a light the car would act like it wanted to shut off. I would give it a little gas and then it would act fine, I did this for about 2 days till I filled up with my normal gas. Then my husband drove it and it did not want to shift into gear after having to slow down. You could stop the car and shut it off then recrank it and it would run fine. I took it to a transmission shop and had them run a diagnostic on it. The guy came back and told me that my transmission needed to be replaced and it was going to cost about $2200 that there were 3 faults that came back on the test, P0731, P1776 and P1790. Well you can guess that did not sit well with me, I asked for the diagnostic codes and called my brother. Now my brother is the Dodge salesman that I bought my car from so I called him up to tell him about the problem and to see if the car was still covered under the extended warranty, guess what, my warranty had ran out in August. I gave the codes to my brother and he checked with their service tech people and came back and told me that the transmission did not need to be replaced. He faxed me a copy of a service tech order that dodge had sent out to theier people concerning this problem back in 2004. A fault code of P1776 meant that the solenoid switch valve needed to be replaced and that was what caused the other 2 faults. I was told that this is a common problem with this transmission, my beef is this, if Dodge new that there was a problem why was a recall order not issued for that part? I can only imagine how many people out there did not have the same luck as me and have replaced their transmissions at the cost of $2000 or better when Dodge could have replaced the part that they new was faulty at only $260 for the part.

- , Post Falls, ID, USA

problem #9

Aug 252007

(reported on)

Intrepid SE 2.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,000 miles

Here we go! My Intrepid has a little over 63,000 mile when it got stuck in second gear. Pulled over tried my three gear drive and still stuck. Took the car directly home, checked the fluid level it's ok. No indicator lights on the dash. I take it to a local trans shop they pull the pan and there is metal shavings galore, my torque converter failed! Materal from the torque converter shot all over the internal working parts of the transmission. I put it back on the trailer because he can't offer a warrente more than a year so I take it to Dodge. Carl Burger's Dodge World in La Mesa CA. I have discovered that Dodge uses inferior torque converters in their transmissions as I have spoke with serveral diesel mechanics who work on a great deal on Dodge vehicals. They tell me I'm best off replacing the torque C. with an aftermarket TC when they install the new tranny otherwise I'll be in the shop again at an other 63,000 miles. I can't afford that, it's an extra 800 to 1000 dallors for a good torque converter. I opted for the new transmission with the 3 yr. or 80,000 mi. warrenty. I took my car the Carl Burgers Dodge World in La Mesa CA. where I got the worst service you can imagine. I will try to hold off on swearing but it will be very DIFFICULT! I don't think I can do it, sorry.... Afer sever weeks to get my transmission I got a call from the service advisor that I will have to wait an other 4 weeks to for my trans. I damanded to speak to the manager. I'm pissed off! What the hell is going on! Where's my transmission?! It's still on backorder because eveybody and there mother needs one! 15 Transmissons on backorder in San Diego CA. I told the manager this is unexceptable! Two days later I finally get a call back from the service advisor, the jackass who comes out and puts the paper mats in your car and drives it in the back. Sir your transmission is here. Squeeky wheel gets the grease! Where did you get the transmission I asked?! Turns out we just had it arrive, that's what I was told. My car was to be finished the next day. That's great or so I thought! I Pick up my car and it's after hours so only the sales dept is open. I get my keys pay the rediculous bill and go to my car. WHAT THE HELL IS THIS?! A HUGE SCRATCH ON MY DRIVER DOOR!!!! IM SO PISSED OFF!!! I get the sales manager to come over to see the monstrosity! Look at this! You see that! Yes sir. That wasn't there when I brought my car in here! Sir I can say it's there but I can't say it was there before. FINE! HOLD ON IT'S ABOUT TO EXPLODE INTO A CAN OF FREAKIN WORMS! I take his card and he tells me to bring it back on Monday and that the service manager is a stand up guy, and he'll take care of me. I get in my car and drive off the lot. MY LIGHTS AND DASH LIGHTS ARE BLINKING! NOW IM SO MAD THE VEIN ON THE SIDE OF MY HEAD IS PULSATING! IT GETS EVEN BETTER! I'm almost home with my jacked up car and Im driving down the steet when my neighgor is pointing at my front wheel. WHAT! AS IM PUTTNG MY WINDOW DOWN I HEAR METAL TO METAL NOISE COMING FROM THE DRIVER FRONT WHEEL! I CAN'T BELIVE MY EARS! DAMN IT!!! I pull into my well lit garage to investigate whats going on. I lift the front end on jack stands turn the engine on and listen yep something is rubbing in that wheel only. I pulled the wheel and there it is, a bent rotor shield rubbing against the rotor, caused by the incompetant mechanic. I bend it back it's good. Now the blinking lights, I'm checking all over the engine for loose connections and grounding straps. I noticed my alternator electrical connection bolt cover was not on all the way which ment that the mechanic had maybe removed it or done something. It's late and decided to take it back on Monday. Big mistake, I take it back and tell them that my lights are blinking, my door is scratched, and my rotor shield was bent to hell. Ok sir we'll have your car touched up and fixed today. Alright! I get a call three hours later, sir you alternator is producing under specs. IS THAT RIGHT?! Yes sir, we recommend that we replace your alternator. WHATS THIS GONNA COST? 400.00 Dallors sir. PUT MY F-ING CAR BACK TOGETHER AND IM COMING TO GET IT NOW. Sir we haven't sent it to the paintshop yet. SEND IT NOW! WHEN I GET THER IT BETTER BE FINISHED! I get there and I'm thowing daggers with my eyes. I get my car and leave. I noticed that none of my lights are flickering, hummm.. what the hell. I turn everything on stereo, a/c, cabin lights, headlights, operate windows, wipers you name it, it was on. Everything works fine, I get home and I want to check that connection so badly it hurts. I pop the hood and what do ya now. The plastic little cover over the connection on the alternator was all the way on. I take it off an yep the connection is tight. Now if the plastic cover is on all the way the mechanic must have checked it and tightened it. THIS DOESN'T EXPLAIN WHY THEY WANTED TO STILL CHARGE ME 400.00 DOLLARS FOR AN OTHER ONE! WHAT KIND OF CRAP IS THIS! TRYING TO SELL ME A PART THAT I DON'T NEED!!! I close the hood and OH MY, SON OF A BITCH!!!! WHAT IN THE WORLD HAPPENED TO MY HEADLIGHTS!!!!!!!! THAT STUPID MECHANIC!!!! I HATE DODGE FOREVER!!!!! THAT JACKASS MECHANIC PUT HIS GREASY HANDS ALL OVER MY HEADLIGHT LENES YOU CAN SEE HIS STUPID HAND PRINT CLEAR AS FREAKIN DAY!!!!! I took a clean wet rag and wipe them yep, redish like TRANSMISSION OIL!!!!! Most mechanics know this, that if you get tranny oil on a painted surface it can penitrate and destroy a paint finish for good. What it does on clear plastic is it will melt and scar the plactic leaving blotches. In my case you can see perfect hand prints where they were leaning on it with their hands. Let me tell you why I know they wern't that way to begain with. I have a jeep, this is the wifes car. My jeep is a 96 cheroke that looks like it has cateracts. I used to admire my wifes clear shiny head lights because mine looks like CRAP! Regardless I keep our cars looking great especially hers because it looks the best. Now it too has cateracts. I went back today to the Dodge dealer Carl Burger's Dodge World in La Mesa CA. to confront the General Manager Paul MeKenna, instead he sent down one of his goons to argue with me that the sun did this. I had to stop myself from grabbing him by the neck and shoving his stupid face up close to the lights! YOU SEE THAT! DOES THE F-ING SUN HAVE A F-ING HAND PRINT! It looks like sun damage to me sir. There is a moment of silence and awkwardness as I just want to kick his ass now! Sir we have this great product called Fritz and it can make it look better. I DON'T WANT IT TO LOOK BETTER I WANT IS REPLACED, I DIDN'T BRING MY CAR IN HERE TO HAVE IT DAMAMGE, SCRATCHED, BENT, AND TAMPERED WITH AND TOLD A LIE THAT I NEED AN ALTERNATOR FOR 400.00 DALLORS. EVERYBODY KNOWS YOU CAN GET ONE FOR A LITTLE OVER A HUNDRED IF YOU REALLY NEED ONE!!!!!! Sir my apoligies can we give you a free full service detail and we'll do our best to fix your headlights. YOU HAD YOUR CHANCE TO MAKE THINGS RIGHT, I DON'T WANT YOUR INCOMPETANT FOOLS TO TOUCH MY CAR AGAIN, AND TELL YOUR PANSY ASS GM TO HAVE SOME BALLS AND FACE HIS CUSTOMERS WHEN THEY HAVE A COMPLAINT ABOUT THE CRAPY ASS SERVICE AND BULLSHIT THAT'S GOING ON HERE! And then I left. When I got home my neighbor got his house painted and got white over spray all over my black jeep. Yeah... Good Times. Oh yeah don't buy Dodge, Crysler, or anything Mopar, it's all crap so is the service. Ok one good thing happened, contractor paid for a full detail on my jeep, they washed it with a clay and got all the paint overspray off and it looks like new again. -Victor in Santee

- , Santee, CA, USA

problem #8

Oct 072007

(reported on)

Intrepid 2.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,000 miles

This 2002 Dodge Intrepid was bought in 2003. Thought it would be a good car since it wasn't that old. Boy was I wrong. In June of 2007 it overheated. The dealership put a new temperature sensor on it. Well 15 minutes later it overheated again. It was taken back to the dealership. They kept it overnight and drove it for a while and said it did not overheat. My daughter drove it home it overheated again. We took it back to the dealership, they kept it overnight, and we were told the car was fixed. This time it overheated and stalled before it got home. The dealership towed it back to their service dept and we were told the next day that it needed a new transmission. We okay'd this which cost us a little over $3000.

- , Rockford, IL, USA

problem #7

Sep 122007

(reported on)

Intrepid SE V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles

I purchased this car four years ago. Never had a problem until about 4 months ago. First problem was the car seemed as if it had to jump into gear. When going from reverse to drive, the gauge would indicate that it's in drive, but it would jump as if it was in another gear. After it jumps into the correct gear it would drive fine. I took it to an auto service repair and was told that my transmission cooler lines were moist and a part was ordered and this repair cost me $550.00.

Two months went by, and another problem occurred. I would be driving and it seems as if the car jumps out of gear, possibly going into neutral and the RPM would go all the way up to 3 or 4. I would have to pull off the road, turn off the ignition, restart the car and it would drive fine until about another 8 miles, and it does it all over again. I took the car to a transmission repair shop and they replaced the solenoid switch valve; another $350.00, and you guessed it. That did not work, either. Car continued to do the same thing. I took it to another transmission repair shop, and was told that the sensors were corrode, and that should correct my problem. Had them replaced, at yet another $140.00. You guessed it again... still, same problem. So at this point I give up. The transmission repair shop quoted me $1300 - $2000 to have the transmission replaced. I'm not even going that route. This car has become so unreliable, that I'm afraid that if I get another transmission, something else will tear up. I do not want to put any more money into this car.

At this point, I'm car shopping. I thought I would have had at least a good four to five more years on this car, since it only has 77,000 miles on it. My mother drives a 1989 Buick Cierra and has never had any major problems, just the obvious repair: tires, battery, air condition repair... Should have bought a GM car. I will never buy another Dodge. There should have been a recall on these transmissions, but apparently Dodge doesn't care.

- , Marietta, GA, USA

problem #6

Sep 072007

(reported on)

Intrepid ES

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,000 miles

My Transmission went out at only 66,000 miles - this particular year the warranty only goes to 37,000. It has been 9 weeks now and the dealer can not get a transmission from Chrysler because it is still on back order. I guess since these are such a piece of sh*t, they can't make them fast enough! The cost to get fixed is $3,600, plus the rental car fee of $2,600 that I have had for 9 weeks since Chrysler can't come up with a damn transmission! 2002 Dodge Intrepid, Only 66,000 miles on it, $3,600 to get fixed plus rental fees - PRICELESS@

- , Highland, IL, USA

problem #5

Aug 042006

(reported on)

Intrepid ES

  • 64,000 miles

this darn car can't be driven on route 22 thats how bad it is, i paid over 1000 to get the problem fixed from different dodge dealers whom could never find a problem. now all of a sudden the trans is slipping, the cylinoid is gone in it, the sensor is bad. i haven't had the car for a year and it's terrible. the bad part about it it's been in the shop for 1week or so and the part still hasn't come in. to top this off i have a car payment and the car is not worth anything so if i try to trade it in, i will end up still owing the bank and have a new car note.

signed

mad ass hell

- , Newark, NJ, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?