Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 1
Average Mileage:
50,458 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Dodge Intrepid engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Dodge Intrepid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Dodge Intrepid Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #33

Apr 302010

Intrepid

  • 67,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The mount for my timing chain tensioner in my 2003 Dodge Intrepid broke and allowed the tensioner to give slack, the timing chain and caused damage to the front right piston.

- Normal, IL, USA

problem #32

Jan 052010

Intrepid

  • 110,794 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Intrepid. While driving at speeds of less than 65 mph, she heard a loud sound under the hood and suddenly, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to her independent mechanic who stated that the engine failed. There were no related recalls. The failure and current mileages were under 110,794.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #31

Aug 012009

Intrepid

  • 81,000 miles
My car overheated on the expressway traveling 60 mph and completely shut down. I was lucky to have not been killed.I have replaced the crankshaft, crankshaft sensor, and water pump. My car stalls/hesitates every time I stop at a light. My mechanic has informed me the Cadillac converter is shot, I need a new timing belt and my engine is full of sludge. The air conditioning stopped working about 3 years ago, recharging the system does not work.

- Streamwood, IL, USA

problem #30

May 012009

Intrepid

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Intrepid. While driving 40 mph, the contact heard strange noises coming from the engine compartment. He pulled the vehicle over and shut off the engine. The vehicle could not be restarted after several attempts. The vehicle was towed to a mechanic, but it could not be repaired. The contact towed the vehicle to two different Chrysler dealers, but they stated that it was not their responsibility and did not acknowledge the warranty. The vehicle has not yet been repaired. The current and failure mileages were 60,000.

- Rahway, NJ, USA

problem #29

Oct 202008

Intrepid

  • 87,000 miles
The 2003 Dodge Intrepid 2.7L engine has a "design flaw" that causes excessive oil sludge and engines to seize up with no warning. This puts the driver and anyone else on the road at risk of collision. My car has 85,000 miles on it and has never missed scheduled maintenance it should not need a new engine.

- Salem, OR, USA

problem #28

Dec 072008

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Intrepid. While driving approximately 65 mph, the contact noticed that the oil warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. He pulled the vehicle to the side of the road and noticed that the vehicle had an abundant amount of oil. He attempted to restart the vehicle, but was unsuccessful. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer and they stated that the engine had internal damage, which would cost $8,000 to repair. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure and current mileages were 72,000. Updated 01/07/09. Updated 01/08/09.

- Desplaines, IL, USA

problem #27

Jan 082008

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • 84,173 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Intrepid. While driving approximately 35 mph, the engine stalled and would not restart. Prior to the failure, the engine warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic and they stated that the failure was related to sludge build up in the engine. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 84,173 and current mileage was 86,000. Update 09/10/08 the engine seized due to lack of oil to the upper part of the engine. Updated 09/10/08.

- Windsor, MA, USA

problem #26

Mar 202008

Intrepid

  • 76,300 miles
My Dodge Intrepid 2003 with the 2002 2.7 liter model engine locked up on me for no reason at 76,000 miles apx. I spoke with another individual with the same engine and it locked up at 15,000 miles. Luckily I was not in the main road, but I was in the process of pulling out into a busy intersection and may have not turned out good. The car was in motion and when coming to a stop the engine just locks up and it wouldn't even turn over again. I had to have local law enforcement help me get the vehicle off of the roadway, which happen to be passing by at the time. The vehicle is currently sitting dead in the driveway. I was always under the impression Chrysler products were good and dependable and this will probably be the last time I buy one of their products due to this.

- Campbellsville, KY, USA

problem #25

Jan 142008

Intrepid

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Intrepid. While driving 40 mph, the engine locked. The contact pulled off the road and had the vehicle towed to a local mechanic. The mechanic stated that the engine was low on oil. The contact took the vehicle to an oil change service shop, where oil was added in the vehicle. A few miles down the road, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the local mechanic and they stated that a new engine was needed because the current one was completely destroyed. The vehicle is currently at the mechanic's shop. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 78,000.

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #24

Apr 182008

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Intrepid. While driving 35 mph, the engine failed and the vehicle dragged as if it were in tow. The vehicle was taken to the repair shop and they stated that the coolant was mixed with oil. If the contact continued to drive the vehicle, the engine could explode. The mechanic stated that a new engine was needed; however, the warranty will not cover the repair and the manufacturer will not assist. The current and failure mileages were 84,000. Updated 5/13/08 updated 05/13/08.

- Greenville, PA, USA

problem #23

Apr 012008

Intrepid 66-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Cam position sensor has been replaced twice. Check engine comes on frequently but no code can be found by dealer. Engine has started with knocking noise.

- Chittenango, NY, USA

problem #22

Nov 292007

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I purchased a 2003 Dodge Intrepid in may of 2007. Shortly thereafter I began to have problems with my vehicle. I had a tune up, and oil change, then the camshaft sensor went bad. I had to have that replaced twice (the first sensor was defective) then I noticed my oil light flashing dimly. I immediately took it in for repair the result was a cleaning of my oil pickup tube and screen and another oil change. I used high mileage oil and lucas oil additive I also used plus grade gas and still this happened. From what I now know the 2.7L V6 DOHC is "trash" as quite a few mechanics have called it.

- Lindenwold, NJ, USA

problem #21

Nov 172007

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,260 miles
My car had loss of power and yet it seemed ok except my gas mileage was not so good, and with no warning, no check engine light, or anything, I heard a really loud knocking noise in my engine and I had almost no power, I took it to a shop and they told me I have a rod knocking and I need a new engine. My car is a 2003 Dodge Intrepid, I have had it only a year, and I owe $9,000 on it still.

- Salt Lake City, UT, USA

problem #20

Nov 112006

Intrepid 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My 2003 Dodge Intrepid 2.7 motor had to be replaced. The car had regular maintenance and was just over the warranty miles. The motor was replaced at my expense. This happened in Nov 11,2006. I am just now hearing about everybody's same problems. Dodge customer service/warranty departments were notified.

- Washington, WV, USA

problem #19

Sep 012007

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 135,000 miles
Oil sludge has resulted in engine failure and has cost me $3,500 for an engine replacement.

- Woodbridge, 00, USA

problem #18

May 062007

Intrepid

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Intrepid. While driving 15 mph, the vehicle failed due to sludge build up inside the engine. The dealer stated that the vehicle was not properly maintained. The contact begs to differ and stated that several others have experienced the same failure. The VIN, # of cylinders, and engine size were unknown. The current and failure mileages were 44,000.

- Lagrain, GA, USA

problem #17

Nov 012006

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,700 miles
- the contact stated that while driving the 2003 Dodge Intrepid with 94,700 failure mileage at 25 mph the oil light turned on and the vehicle began making a metal grinding on metal noise, then the engine completely lost power. The vehicle would not restart. The dealer and Dodge were notified regarding the engine failure. Dodge and the dealer stated that there was nothing they could do. The vehicle has not been repaired.

- Lexington, NC, USA

problem #16

Mar 152007

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,000 miles
I have a 2003 Dodge Intrepid with 72,000 miles on it. We have had this car since it had 9,000 miles on it and have done all the suggested repairs and oil changes since the first day we had it. Recently while my husband was driving the car it started to shake violently on the freeway (almost causing a few accidents) and the RPM's jumped way up over 4000. Then the engine light came on. The repair shop said it was the cam sensor. It was replaced and within an hour the same thing happened. Took the car back and they said it was the crank sensor, replaced that, same thing happened within 5 mins of the repair shop. The shop then told us that the engine was bad and there was a history with the 2.7's. we took the car to the dealer for a second opinion and they said we could replace the timing chains and that would save the car for a year or so until we could get it paid off (still owe $6000) but it would cost $1700 plus tax. We decided to do that, however the dealer called us back and said after they got the engine apart they noticed it was full of sludge and the timing chains were fine. They recommended a new engine and quoted us over $6000. I have seen thousands of people with this issue. We have bought 3 Dodge/Chrysler vehicles in the last 5 years from this dealer and they would do nothing to compensate us. We even offered to buy a new car there if we could get accurately compensated and they said my car is worth nothing! Chrysler does not stand behind their products and should be forced to replace these engine that they know have an issue. What ever happened to customer service, especially to a customer that has shown you loyalty"????"

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #15

Mar 172007

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The engine lite has been coming on in my 2003 Dodge Intrepid despite regular oil changes, when I had the last oil change I told the machanic of the problem and he told me of the 2.7 engine. Now I have no idea what to do. It will cost me 6000 to replace the engine and I stillowe 10000 on the car. Please help!

- Elmhurst, IL, USA

problem #14

Dec 022006

Intrepid

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Car has 94,000 odd miles on it. While driving my car the oil light came on. I had a oil change 2 months prior. Checked the oil was 1 quart low, added one quart. Drove car a couple hours later it started smoking and the oil starting leaking entirely out of car. Made it home crunk the car back up and the car sounded like a lawn mower was under my hood. When mechanic looked at it he informed me that the engine was shot and that it was unsual for the engine to go out so soon because I didn't have a lot of mileage on my car. I have been out of a car since then, the cost estimate for repairs are from 3.000 to 6,000. It is not under warranty. I am in the process of sending information to the impartial services group. And I have filed a complaint with the center for auto safety.

- College Park, GA, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?