Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: A prime example of why you should never buy the first model year of a new vehicle.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
45,661 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Journey brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #21

Mar 112010


  • 30,000 miles


When I bought my car in 2009. I noticed that my brakes squeaked when I stop I took it back to the dealership, I was told that nothing was wrong. Keep complaining all the time, then the vibration started and I needed rotors and brakes. The aftermarket brakes doesn't fit had to replace them with the dealership brakes. Had to replace a two tire sensors. Had to have my rotors resurfaced will need new rotors. Recently the engine coolant overheating light came on. The fan stop working its electrical the mechanic can't figure out why it stop. My car sometimes doesn't start, took it to a mechanic. No reason why. When my air is on it takes the car longer to gain speed on the highway. I contacted the dealership where I purchased it and Dodge. Both were rude and didn't offer any help. I purchased the extended warranty and it didn't cover anything.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #20

Jun 092012


  • 84,000 miles
I brought car used Feb 2012 with around 78500. Shortly after I got the car I started noticing the vibration when I applied the brakes. So I took it and had the brake pads and rotors replaced on the front. Well it still was vibrating when I would apply the brakes. So I was told that maybe the calipers was bad. So a couple weeks later they put on new pads, rotors and calipers. Well the vibration stopped. Well at least for about 3 months and the vibration when I apply my brakes came back. So I took it back and was told that they are going to put some dealer pads and rotors on and that should take care of the problem. So im waiting to get those put on and see if it will make a difference like they say.

- Columbus , OH, USA

problem #19

Oct 162008

Journey 6-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
Brakes and rotors have been replaced on this car at least 3 times already. Along with numerous other problems that Journey owners have complained about including: Steering sounds when turning, power windows hesitating to work, car not starting, battery replaced too soon. Cosmetic problems such as visor mirror cover broken, seats staining, and seals around doors and tire wells fall off. This car has so many complaints online I don't know why we can't get something in return for all these problems.

- Bloomington, IN, USA

problem #18

Mar 012010

Journey 6-cyl

  • 15,000 miles


This Journey has had premature wearing on the brakes and rotors. We have had the car 3 years now and have had brakes done at least 6 times and it only has 47,000. This is a huge safety concern. Also in order to change your batter you have to take it to the dealership, so if you break down you have no choice but to have it towed and taken to the dealership which is hundreds of dollars. Also my husband is handicap, and this poses a big problem for him or anyone else. This car was made poorly. We cannot afford brakes every 6 months and even after you get the brakes done it is constant problems. We try to use our other car we win driving with our kids for fear the brakes will go out or something.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #17

Jul 202011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
Noticed brakes were wearing received letter from Dodge extending warranty but we were slightly over on miles. We replaced front pads and rotor. Now a year later they need replaced again. At 55000 miles.

- Center Point, IA, USA

problem #16

Oct 012010

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
Purchased vehicle in 2010, test drove vehicle asked dealer to check the following components engine, brakes, transmission. Dealer took car to a repair place stated everything was fine, went on with purchase. Had a oil change not long after purchase facility mentioned front and rear brakes, rotors and calipers were bad..which I had noticed pedal to brakes were not engaging properly, severe safety issue. Took to a second brake repair same problem.(s) on occasion engine stalls while driving, sometimes will not start at all. Some electrical components do not work in the vehicle. Then driving vehicle home from store transmission dies, car will not go over 20 miles, almost hit from behind by another vehicle due to sudden loss of speed luckily about two minutes from home. Parked vehicle for a few hours car would not go in park or reverse. Took vehicle to transmission repair, transmission tech examines transmission, transmission is defective and needs to be replaced. Called manufacturer Dodge/Chrysler stated there was nothing that they were willing to do, same statement they have said to many consumers, without concern for buyers safety or inconvenience that their vehicles cause. Please I need help this is the only vehicle that my family has, and I am concerned about all of our safety.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #15

Jan 072009


  • 27,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that while driving approximately 65 mph, the brake pedal was engaged and the steering wheel began to vibrate excessively. In addition, a strong odor of burning brake pads emitted. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who replaced the front brakes and rotors. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The failure mileage was 27,000. The VIN was not available.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #14

Jun 032011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 34,610 miles
This vehicle has been in the shop several times for the brakes malfunctioning and still no real solution Dodge has a commercial for the Journey stating that they are insurance institute for highway safety. Top safety pick for 2011 if the brakes fail it does not get any more unsafe then that it is obviously a problem and the consumer has no one to turn to please do something before someone dies should not you be proactive instead of reactive at the very least investigate to see if there is a problem. Thank you

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #13

Oct 032011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 34,936 miles
I purchased a 2009 Dodge Journey (VIN: [xxx]) on September 19, 2011 from the stetler Dodge car dealership in york, pa. It was a certified pre-owned car. Since that day I bought the car I have been back there over 4 times for various problems. The first time was about 2 weeks after I purchased the car (10/3/11), but this last time was it for me. The car makes a hissing noise when I press the brakes, not all of the times but a lot. During the winter months, I hadn't noticed anything else occurring along with the noise, but I had still taken it back to the dealership not long after I bought the car. I was told that it was nothing because they couldn't hear the sound. So, when it got very hot, I turned the air conditioner on in the car. I noticed that if I take a long trip, about an hour or so drive on the highway, a fume/gas smell is released into the car when the air it on. I took it to the dealership on 7/10/12 for this issue. They couldn't get the smell to occur, but I told them that it happened after I took long trips. There is also a grinding/humming noise that occurs sometimes while driving and it happened twice when they were driving it with me in the car, but they don't know what the problem is they say. I was told to bring it back if the problem got worse, even though I had already told them it was already getting worse, that's why I took it in. The steering wheel shakes when I press the brakes. The brakes and rotors are not good. The gear shift moves easily without the brake being pressed so it will go into park while driving. The car finally stalled while driving on July 25, 2012. It's in the shop again. They say a box or case is leaking badly and needs to be replaced. Countless other problems but not enough character space allotted to tell. I have 3 pages of problems. Scared to drive this car. Want my money back now. Help! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- York, PA, USA

problem #12

Nov 192010


  • 19,000 miles
I had a complete brake failure and ran off the road, lost control and spun backwards striking a buried boulder bending my exhaust pipe, this was at 19K miles. Right front brake pads blew apart, towed into dealership, didn't work on it due to out of warranty and they stated it would be approx 1000 to fix it, took it to midas, spent 400, replaced front rotors and pads, at 23K miles, brakes worn down to metal, took to midas, said Dodge problem, Dodge would not work on it stating it was midas' issue. Got letter from Dodge to fix brakes after 100 deductible, they replaced front rotors and pads, 2 days(two days later) brakes failed and ran through hwy interchange and almost got side swiped by a big rig. Pucker factor +20, taken back to Dodge and spent all day there and they stated they turned rotors again on the back rotors but when I went around to the service bays, the front rotors and back rotors were off and they were replacing the brake pads again. This needs to stop and the only way Dodge will do anything about it is for someone to be killed, it's not going to be me......

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #11

Nov 012010

Journey 6-cyl

  • 29,000 miles


Needed to replace brakes on all 4 wheels and needed 2 front rotors.

- North Ridgeville, OH, USA

problem #10

Jul 212012

Journey 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
On 2 separate instances the brake calipers locked up and caused the brakes to smoke badly. The first time was in heavy traffic going slow and it was the right rear brake. A week later, also in heavy traffic, the left front locked up and started to smoke. In the second incident, the wheel was too hot to touch which I feel could cause the tire pressure to build up causing the possibility of a blow out at speed.

- North Ridgeville, OH, USA

problem #9

Feb 182010

Journey 6-cyl

  • 18,115 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that while braking at 55 mph, the steering wheel shook. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, where the brake pads and rotors were replaced. The failure occurred at least four times and each time the dealer had to replace the rotors and brake pads. Also, the engine would take at least a couple of minutes before starting. The manufacturer was notified and stated that the contact should notified NHTSA. They offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 18,115 and the current mileage was 47,000. The consumer was informed, the vehicle had a history of premature wear of the brake pads and rotors due to them being too small and thin to handle the braking duties required by the size and weight of the vehicle. Updated 08/13/12

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #8

May 082010


  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey SXT. The contact stated that without warning, the vehicle would not start. The exterior and interior lights work without any difficulties. The contact have to wait 30 minutes before the vehicle would start and over time it lost power and began to make a knocking sound. The brake pads and the rotors also began to wear excessively. The dealer was notified and stated that the vehicle needed a starter, brakes, brakes pads, rotors, battery, and struts. The dealers estimated repair cost was $2,000 at the contacts expense. The contact replaced the brakes, brake fluid, transmission fluid, and the front rotors for $738.23. The manufacture was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 30,000 and the current mileage was 80,000.

- Plane Field , NJ, USA

problem #7

Jun 222012

Journey 6-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
Brakes were replaced in November of 2011. Took car into dealer for oil change and now rotors and brakes need to be replaced again. On top of that the calibers are rocking back and forth. Roughly 3 months after the pads were replaced the same squeaking and scrapping noise can be heard when braking.

- Riverview, FL, USA

problem #6

Jun 072012


  • 49,435 miles
I am filing this complaint about my 2009 Dodge Journey SXT AWD and its braking system. Since I have purchased the car new I have had to change the brakes three times. The car now has just under 50,000 miles. That is almost one brake job each year. The braking system for this vehicle is not adequate. This can pose a possible safety risk because the rotors can warp and cause loss of control of the vehicle in any braking situations.

- Hillsboro, OR, USA

problem #5

Nov 112011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 25,573 miles
The center for auto safety issued a release in Aug. 2011 regarding brake problems with 2009 Dodge Journeys. I had brake problems in Nov. 2011. I contacted the bob frensley Chrysler dealership to inquire about brake warranty and was not told anything about the problems with 2009 Dodge Journey brakes. The release in Aug. 2011 says Chrysler had worked out a deductible plan where any brake work on Dodge Journey with mileage between 24,000 and 36,000 would not cost the customer more than a $100 deductible. I was not informed of this when I called the dealership and decided to get the brake work completed at budget brakes closer to my residence. I feel I should have been informed of this deductible program Chrysler had implemented according to the center for auto safety release.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #4

Feb 152011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Ineffective brakes on the Journey. They wear very quickly, shake the entire vehicle when stopping. I purchased the vehicle with 38,000 miles, now has 65,000 and I have put brake pads on the vehicle 3 times.

- Georgetown, TX, USA

problem #3

May 122012


  • miles
1/10/11 brought vehicle in for standard olf change and tire rotation (mileage: 18,399). San diego rancho dealership advised front brakes and rotors needed to be replaced. I diligently researched brake problems on 2009 Journey and filed a complaint with Chrysler corporate. Paid $50 deductible for front brakes. 5/12/12 brought vehicle in for standard olf change and tire rotation (mileage 27,154) again, san diego ranch dealership advised rear brakes pad needed to be replaced as well as turning the rotors - quote given of $305. Did my diligent research and will contact Chrysler for resolution. Corporate is aware of the faulty design in this model. Noted on complaint dated 3/21/12 (redford, mi) corporate authorized rear brake replacement for deductible cost of $100 (corporate phone to file complain - 800-992-1997.

- El Cajon, CA, USA

problem #2

May 152012

Journey 6-cyl

  • 16,000 miles
Since I brought my Journey I had to get my brakes replaced several time & rotors replace, transmission sealant leak and recently when I was driving to work my tire pressure light came on and within minutes my tire was almost flat. I was able to just make it to a gas station and went to fill up my tire and my valve stem went all the way in and my tire went totally flat and lost all pressure. My car had to be towed and ended up spending $300 to get my front passenger and rear passenger side valve stems replaced. The service guy agreed that it was unsafe and I could of easily spun out if I lost all tire pressure right away. I have 2 kids and I feel unsafe to drive with my children in the car. On top of these issues my steering wheel continue to shake but I had it in to the service department a number of times and they said everything is ok. One of the instances they said the shaking was because of my routers and resurfaced them twice. Please help me. I don't know of my options but I am concerned for me and my family's safety with this car. Sincerely, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- West Bend, WI, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?