Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: A prime example of why you should never buy the first model year of a new vehicle.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,263 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Journey brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 2 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #167

Dec 012011


  • 63,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact was driving 20 mph when the vehicle began to loose power abnormally. The brakes and power steering assist became inoperable, but the vehicle did not stall. In addition, the contact stated that the brakes were continuously wearing prematurely and had been replaced four times within a four year period. The vehicle was not inspected or repaired. The failure mileage was 63,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #166

Nov 152009

Journey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While driving approximately 25 mph and approaching a stop sign, the contact depressed the brake pedal to the floorboard and the vehicle hesitated to stop. The contact drove the vehicle slowly to the dealer for diagnostics where the technician advised that the front and rear brakes were worn and would have to be replaced, as well as the rotors. The contact also noticed that the rear passenger side door was holding water in the interior and would leak from the bottom of the door when the door was opened. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 20,000. Updated 01/24/12 the consumer also stated in December 2009, the vehicle would randomly not start. After letting the vehicle sit for about 15 minutes, it would then start. There were problems with the transmission, exhaust pipes rusting, and doors holding in water. Update 01/27/12

- Lafayette, LA, USA

problem #165

Nov 272009


  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the brake pads were wearing prematurely and smoke was seen coming from the brakes after repairs. The brake pad was changed at least three times at the vehicle mileage of 30,000, 42,000 and 50,000. The dealer was notified of the failure who advised that they could repair the problem if the owner paid for the repairs. The manufacturer was notified who advised that a representative would return his call at a later date. The failure mileage was 51,000.

- Granbury, TX, USA

problem #164

Mar 062009

Journey 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles


Premature brake failure on front brakes. The brakes have been replaced 4 times and rotors have been replaced three times due to severe warpage.

- Chatsworth, CA, USA

problem #163

Aug 212010


  • 2,800 miles
We have replaced the brakes and rotors 5 times in my 2009 Dodge Journey with only 48,000 miles. Dodge refuses to help or admit any fault. The car shakes so bad when braking it feels as if it's going to fall apart, this is extremely scary.

- Dittmer, MO, USA

problem #162

Oct 302010

Journey 4-cyl

  • 16,289 miles
Dodge Journey serious brake problem, 2nd time in less than 32,000 pads and rotors are needing to be replaced. Dodge has acknowledged a problem and then did sent out reimbursement option, my first repair was paid for. However, the problem has not been solved with the vehicle, the same repair is required again. A search on the internet indicates this is a rampant problem, a recall from Dodge has not been put in place, class action law suits exist. Mechanic at midas indicates many Dodge Journeys at his facility with the same problem.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #161

Sep 152011


  • 52,000 miles


I purchased the car in January and had to put front brakes and rotors on it. In October the rear brakes and rotors had to be replaced. Now it's November and the front brakes are going out again. I have checked the calipers for proper operation and they appear to be fine. The brakes just keep wearing out. I owned my last vehicle for much longer and never had to replace the brakes on it. The brakes on my Journey were new when I bought it. I see no reason for a vehicle to need at least 3 sets of front brakes before it even hits 60,000 miles.

- Woodstock, GA, USA

problem #160

Jun 232011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
This car was purchased from a dealer used with 40,000 + miles on it. It had brake issues right from the start. It seemed like the ABS brakes did not work correctly and the car shook when the brakes were applied. After owning it for 14 months the front pads had to be replaced. The vehicle continued shaking and we were told the rotors were bad. We then replaced the front rotors and the back pads. The front brakes started making grinding noises within a couple of weeks. Now just one month after replacing the rotors, the front pads must be replaced again.

- Redondo Beach, CA, USA

problem #159

Nov 022009

Journey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle would shake violently. The dealer replaced the brakes numerous times but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the issue and was in the process of assisting the contact with the failure. The failure mileage was 20,000 and the current mileage was 80,000. Updated 12/12/11 the consumer stated the vehicle was taken to the dealer on three separate occasions; once to have the rotors resurfaced and twice to have the pads replaced. Updated 12/14/11

- Buckeye, AZ, USA

problem #158

Feb 072011


  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle would exhibit an abnormal grinding noise when applying the brakes. In addition, the rotors and brake pads were wearing prematurely. The vehicle was taken to the dealer three times where they replaced the front rotors and front brake pads. The manufacturer was notified of the failure who advised that there were no recalls for the vehicle. The contact was reimbursed for fifty percent of the repair costs. The failure mileage was 20,000 and the current mileage was 37,500.

- Muscle Shoals, AL, USA

problem #157

Dec 092010

Journey 4-cyl

  • miles


Premature brake failure. Front and back brakes had to be replaced at 17,179 miles.

- Pennsauken, NJ, USA

problem #156

Jun 012011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 35,600 miles
Dodge gave me an extended warranty on this car to 36,000 miles. Started having brake problems and had them fixed at a shop before the 36,000 mile warranty was up. Then after fixing the brakes noticed a shake in the front end. Took it back to the shop at 36,400 miles and they then told me about the problems with the Journey. I called the dealer who completely blew it off. I have paid for the repair and was told to submit a claim to Chrysler which I did and it was turned down. This is just not right!

- Webster Groves, MO, USA

problem #155

Feb 192010

Journey 6-cyl

  • 7,536 miles
In two years, five (5) times for brake problems. With 3,000 to 6,000 miles between each broke. Two times engine support mount. Two times with power train problems. Today (10/06/2011) the Journey 2009 R/T is in the service center of alberic colon Chrysler/Jeep in kennedy ave, san juan pr for the same problems and also : for the air conditioner system, suspension, motor cooling system problems, leaking grease in the back of the right front wheel. And guess!!!!!!, brakes again. Both, Chrysler and the dealer has refuse to obey the law that says, they have to provide a vehicle in cases that repair least more than 5 labor days including Saturday.also, to added more problems, [xxx](pr Chrysler service manager), has refused to authorize the brake repair. Saying that is normal, that a brake system that was repair in 02/16/2011 needs to be repair again in 09/19/2011(22033 to 30200 M). I have being without transportation for three weeks, causing me an my family a lot of problems because, is our only vehicle for all the family matters including, that I am a cardiovascular patient. " someone could tell me is these seems to look like a big juicy lemon " question is, who could help us with this giant abusive corporations? information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Bayamon, PR, USA

problem #154

Mar 102011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 14,500 miles
Around 14,000 miles the brake pedal would sink. Dealer found bad master cylinder. During further inspection of brake system they also found front brake pads worn. At 24,000 the rear pads and rotors are no good. You can feel car shimmy when slowing down on freeway. Pre-mature failure on pads and rotors. Car is mostly freeway miles with no hard braking.

- San Pablo, CA, USA

problem #153

Sep 252009

Journey 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
This vehicle has had issues with brakes and rotors. I bought the vehicle and had to replace the brakes and rotors within months. Roughly a year later they had to be replaced again, and it has now gone out again. I have never had a vehicle go through brakes the way this one does. Our other vehicle is a 2007 Ford escape and has never had any brake issues, the first incident date is tentative.

- Ringgold, GA, USA

problem #152

Aug 042010

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
Vehicle brakes are too small/thin for this heavy of a vehicle. Pads constantly need replacing.

- Apo, AE, USA

problem #151

Sep 132011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 15,353 miles
Brakes need replacement after only 15000 normal miles.

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #150

Sep 152010


  • 26,542 miles
Purchased vehicle new in June of 2009. Front brakes gone and eating into rotors by 26,000 miles. Little over a year. 90% of driving is freeway driving. Very little stop and go. Replaced brakes and had rotors turned. Rotors warped and front and rear brakes gone again at 35,245 miles one year later. Replaced front rotors and all 4 sets of brakes. Front struts have gone out now as well. Definitely too much weight for vehicle brakes and suspension. If not watched complete failure expected before recommended maintenance changes!!

- Redfield, AR, USA

problem #149

Nov 062009

Journey 6-cyl

  • 25,120 miles
The brakes for this vehicle repeatedly continue to fail. Since the first repair (11/6/2009) we have had to have had 10 repairs to the brakes in less than 2 years! our mechanic says that there is obviously a design flaw. The last repair (on 9/9/2011) the mechanic said it appeared that the rear brakes were not being used and all braking is being accomplished using the front brakes. I don't believe that is how the braking system is supposed to work. I believe most of the braking should fall on the rear brakes. The front brakes are overheating and causing the rotor to warp and the brake pads to fail (literally fall apart). Dodge obviously realizes there is a problem as they sent a letter offering an extended warranty dated 6/1/2011 for vehicles that have had early braking system failure. Since 6/1/2011 we have had 5 repairs to the front rotors and/or pads! Dodge did compensate us for much of our expense. I appreciate the compensation but that is not resolving the problem! the problem is that there is a constant failure in the braking system. I would like Dodge to address the problem and either repair the design flaw or replace the vehicle! my fear is that the car will not stop while I am driving in houston, Texas traffic and someone in my car or someone else's car will be seriously injured or killed as a result. It appears that Dodge will wait until there is a death or injury to take responsibility for the poor or inadequate design of the braking system in this vehicle. Unfortunately, I am not in a position to buy another car or I would get rid of this vehicle and never purchase a Dodge vehicle again!

- Missouri City, TX, USA

problem #148

Jul 232009

Journey 6-cyl

  • 9,000 miles
The braking system on the 2009 Dodge Journey is, in the opinion of a specialized mechanic consulted as a result of the failure of the brakes, defective. The front brakes had to be replaced at 9,000 miles and the back brakes are at this point worn down, with the car having less than 20,000 miles on it. Having called Dodge, I was advised that it was a problem with the type of brake pads, not the actual braking system, and that Dodge is paying for replacement brake pads. However, the opinion received from a specialized Dodge mechanic and state vehicle inspector does not support this view. My overtures to Chrysler have been utterly pointless with the company stating that the temporary solution proffered will resolve the problem. I am not convinced. The NHTSA must immediately commence an investigation into the nature and breadth of this problem and instruct Chrysler to issue and immediate recall on the 2009/2010 Dodge Journey on the grounds of safety and consumer protection. Chrysler is refusing to acknowledge the extent of the problem and seems to believe that it is acceptable to placate customers with a temporary solution to what it seems to me is a permanent and recurring problem, hence the urgent need for intervention from the NHTSA.

- Rockville, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?