Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: A prime example of why you should never buy the first model year of a new vehicle.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,263 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Journey brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 3 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #147

Aug 272011

Journey

  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2009 Dodge Journey, bought brand new, on 4th replacement of front and rear brake pads and rotors. Car needs brakes and rotors between 3rd and 4th repair at 5,000 miles! metal to metal sound, feels like tie rod is breaking and steering wheel shakes very badly. Vehicle is a lemon and Chrysler will do nothing to help. Due to the number of complaints on brakes a recall or repair should be being addressed by Chrysler not carried by the consumers pocket and health. If I have an accident in this car, all of the complaints on this site will be referenced for my subsequent lawsuit. Last Dodge of 4 previous vehicles that I will purchase!

- Warner Robins, GA, USA

problem #146

Aug 232011

Journey

  • 66,326 miles
2009 Dodge Journey SXT. In the year I have owned it, I have replaced brakes twice, as rite now I am replacing them cause they started squeaking a week ago and today they locked up. Also replacing one of the calipers. Any time I take a hard left turn, there is a loud grinding noise. I have replaced the tires already, and have had to replace the rear 2 again recently. Any time I go to brake when going over 40 mph, the steering wheel shakes uncontrollably. I have also received a recall from a local dealership for a wiring harness in drivers side. When I went in to dealership, they put it on order and said they would call when it came in, but never did. That was 6 months ago.

- Spring Lake, NC, USA

problem #145

Aug 102011

Journey 4-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
Received a letter from Dodge a few weeks back which referenced possible brake problems on the 2009 Dodge Journey we purchased new in 2009. Our daughter is a college student and has only put on 22,000 miles over the past two years. An appt has been made with a local dealership, but when I drove it for the first time today, I could not believe the metal-on-metal sound that emitted from the front brakes. The brake pedal had to be pushed down with force to achieve a total stop. We have never had a vehicle that required any type brake repairs after such a short period of time and I totally resent the fact that there is anywhere from a $50 to $100 deductible for something that should be covered by Dodge. These brakes sound like there is absolutely nothing left. The sound even remained for a while even after I took my foot off the brake pedal. Why must the consumer pay for shoddy, poor quality parts?

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #144

Apr 012010

Journey 6-cyl

  • 21,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Front rotors and front and rear brakes all had to be changed at 21,000 miles and again at 31,000 miles. Now rotors require turning again due to pulsation.

- Lafayette, LA, USA

problem #143

Dec 232009

Journey

  • 20,558 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While driving 65 mph, the contact applied pressure to the brakes when the steering wheel started to shake and vibrate excessively. The dealer replaced the front rotors and brake pads in December 2009. In July 2010, the contact experienced vibration and the dealer replaced the front rotors. In April 2011, the front brake pads and rotors were replaced. In May 2011, the contact heard a loud squeaking noise and took the vehicle back to the deale however, they were unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was left with the dealer where the contact was awaiting diagnosis. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The current mileage was 45,111 and the approximate failure mileage was 20,558. Updated 10/5/11 updated 3/23/12

- Boulder City, NV, USA

problem #142

Oct 142010

Journey 4-cyl

  • 27,180 miles
Purchased our 2009 Journey in the summer of ¿09. I live in the country and drive approximately 25 miles to and from work, with only 4 stop lights between. At 27K miles we had to hve the front brakes and rotors replaced. Suddenly one day without any sort of warning it sounded like my front end had fallen off when I came to a stop. The noise was so bad that I pulled to the side and put my hazards on honestly thought it was an enginge issue because the noise and shake was so horrible. Husband came and drove it to the dealership. Found out that we were metal on metal the front brakes and rotors needed to be replaced rear were just fine. Dealership tried to tell us this is normal and that it was in the milage range to need this work done. Told them they were crazy¿this was the 9th Dodge vehicle we had owned and never had we had an issue like this. They ended up comping the rotors for us but we needed to pay for brakes. Dodge came along in June of 2011 and reimbursed us for the brake repair. Now 15K miles later I suddenly had the same horrible noise but in the rear of the vehicle. Took it to the dealearship and what do you know the rear brakes and rotors need to be replaced. Called Chrysler this morning, waiting to see what comes of it.

- Eagle, WI, USA

problem #141

Jul 012011

Journey

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Constant brake problems with 2009 Dodge Journey.

- Altamont, NY, USA

problem #140

Mar 082010

Journey 6-cyl

  • 24,361 miles
2009 Dodge Journey R/T have replaced front pads 3 times, have replaced rotors and had rotors resurfaced. Rear brakes pads and rotors replaced. Vehicle will shake at highway speed and when attempting to stop. Sometimes when attempting to stop brakes will grind and have difficulty stopping. Service manager at dealership has told me the vehicle is not safe, however, have yet to receive assistance to remedy ongoing situation regarding braking system and components.

- Petal, MS, USA

problem #139

Apr 072011

Journey

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated the brakes failed and the vehicle would shake abnormally when applying the brakes. In addition, there was an increase in stopping distance. The contact stated that they took the vehicle to the dealer and was told that the front and rear brakes needed to be replaced. The contact received a letter from the manufacturer stating that they were extending coverage on the brakes and rotors of the vehicle by one year. The contact believed that the low mileage on the vehicle deemed that the failure was a manufacturing defect. The failure mileage was 12,000 and the current mileage was 13,552.

- Mansfield, MA, USA

problem #138

Jun 112010

Journey

  • 31,000 miles
This vehicle model has an obvious premature brake wear/failure problem. I replaced the front pads a year ago, very early in the life of the vehicle as compared to normal brake wear. I have now also had to replace the rear pads and have the rear rotors cut. I have been told that the front pads and rotors also have to be replaced due to excessive wear. The rotors are too thin and must be replaced. I drive mostly highway miles. I do not ride my brakes. I am a very conservative driver. Yet, I have had to spend about $700 for brakes within a year. And, all of that before a normal brake issue should occur on a vehicle. I have read many other complaints about this issue on the internet. And, there are already at least 2 class action lawsuits filed related to it - in ca and NJ. Please investigate and force Chrysler to fix the braking system on these vehicles.

- Tempe, AZ, USA

problem #137

May 202011

Journey

  • 11,168 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had to have my brakes and rotors replaced. Having brakes replaced on other cars I have had, this sounds silly. I am not a stupid woman. I know something is wrong if you have brakes and rotors replaced this early. This car is my last Dodge!!!

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #136

Nov 052010

Journey

  • 16,343 miles
My front brakes went out at 16,000 miles 6 months ago. I had to replace the brake pads and rotors. Now at 23,000 miles my rear breaks have gone out (no prior warning, just all of a sudden constant squealing when I drive) and I've been told I again have to pay for new brakes and rotors. All of the expenses have been out of my own pocket, but I just was told yesterday to send my receipt for the front brake job to Chrysler for a refund but that the rear brakes are not covered. I sent the receipt in but have yet to be reimbursed.

- Auburn, CA, USA

problem #135

Apr 172010

Journey

  • 18,201 miles
2009 Dodge Journey. I had to replace the rear brake pads at 18201 miles. This is ridiculous since I also had to replace the front brake pads and rotors at 16301 miles. Fortunately, I just got a letter stating I will get reimbursed for the front brake job. I wish they would also send me a letter telling me they will reimburse me for the rear brake job.

- Coos Bay, OR, USA

problem #134

Sep 162009

Journey

  • 10,693 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the brakes were exhibiting an unusually loud noise. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the brake pads needed to be replaced and the rotors would need to be resurfaced. The vehicle was repaired but the remedy failed to repair the problem. The dealer then replaced the rotors and brake pads. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop for a second opinion where the brake lines, both rotors and brake pads were replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 10,693 and the current mileage was 24,700.

- Hephzibah, GA, USA

problem #133

Jun 012011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 29,000 miles
Brake failure on 2009 Dodge Journey SXT. Brake pads and rotors need to be replaced after 12,000 miles. I'm concerned about brake failure and the possibility of injury or death.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #132

Apr 182011

Journey

  • 19,000 miles
Rotors turned and pads replaced at 19,200 miles. Rotors started warping after first trip of over 200 miles. Rotors replaced at 26,000 miles. Started shaking after first long trip and then consistently after 2000 miles. Rotors replaced at 52,000 (using "best quality" wagner rotors) same results. Shaking, during braking, at highway speeds. This is a known issue at Chrysler. I called Chrysler customer service and was told that because I didn't use Chrysler parts, and wasn't the first owner of the vehicle, there would be no assistance. This is a critical safety issue. When the brakes are applied, at highway speeds, the steering wheel shakes uncontrollably. My wife had to hit the brakes on a two lane exit, due to a car swerving into our lane and the combination of turning, with the steering wheel convulsing erratically, caused us to run off the road and almost have a very serious accident. But is it an accident when the manufacturer knows that the calipers are inadequate to safely stop the vehicle. Through research, I have found that the "sweep area" of the Journey front calipers is one fifth the sweep area of other cars of this class/ weight. Please investigate. This is a definite safety concern.

- Poquoson, VA, USA

problem #131

Apr 022010

Journey

  • 19,000 miles
Front brake calipers heat up so much that they've warped 3 sets of rotors. Rotors turned at 19,000. Replaced at 30,000. Start pulsing after first long trip. Replaced at 52,000, again, start pulsing after first long trip. This caliper design or material is defective. Dealer says it's driving style. Very wrong. I have 35 years as a driver/ mechanic. Can make front brake pads last over 50,000 miles on most vehicles. This issue causes extreme wheel shake at highway speeds. Can be especially dangerous when turning and braking. This is an issue with all Dodge Journeys equipped with optional 19" wheels. The calipers are too small, or of poor design, to dissipate the heat. I want to request these be recalled to fix this dangerous situation.

- Poquoson, VA, USA

problem #130

May 312011

Journey

  • 14,600 miles
Complete break down of brake components for 2009 Dodge Journey. Brakes, rotors, and calipers all replaced at 14,600 miles due to defects. Not covered by full warranty.

- Marysville, MI, USA

problem #129

Dec 302010

Journey 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
I have an 09 Dodge Journey that has issues from day one. 1st the A/C broke. They fixed it that was only 2 weeks after I bought the car. The car was new and bought in 01/2009. At a little over 12000 miles my brakes were gone. I had to rotate rotors and put new brake pads. Ever since then I have had to change the pads (2 times the rotors completely all other times rotating the rotors)5 more times. I have called Chrysler and all they have done is made the warranty to 36000 miles but that is not fixing a problem. I have gotten online and researched. I am not the only one having this problem. There are thousands of others and there are actually lawsuits out there for this reason. I was in a fenderbender in Dec. 2010 and I can not help but wonder if I would have had brakes there were 100% if it could have been avoided.with all the complaints I am wondering how much it will take for a recall or something to be put into effect. I hope it does not take people getting killed for this to be corrected.

- Church Point, LA, USA

problem #128

May 242011

Journey

  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that when applying the brakes, there was a loud grinding that caused the brakes to wear prematurely. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who replaced the rotors and brake pads at a cost of $50 and offered an extended the warranty. The manufacturer was contacted and a claim was file. The manufacturer advised that the claim would be escalated and the contact should expect a return call at a later date. The failure mileage was 18,000.

- Placerville, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?