Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: A prime example of why you should never buy the first model year of a new vehicle.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,263 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Journey brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 9 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #27

Aug 082009

Journey

  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought a 2009 Dodge Journey in August 2008. By August 2009 12,000 miles the brake rotors were warped and the pads were shot. By June 2010 28,000 miles rotors were warped and pads shot again.

- Newberg, OR, USA

problem #26

Jun 182010

Journey

  • 24,940 miles
We bought that car a year ago brand new, earlier this week we heard grinding which we thought was abnormal and took to dealership and they said the brakes are so bad they could go out at any minute. We don't have the money to fix it and it is not covered so it is not safe to even drive the car. This is way too early and from what I found online, everyone is having this issue. We need a recall.

- Athens, GA, USA

problem #25

Jun 042010

Journey

  • 16,000 miles
I have a 2009 Dodge Journey. I have not had any injuries associated with the issue, however feel as though there is the possibility for injury to occur. The car is 2 years old and already the rotors have been diagnosed as being warped 3 times, one of which the car had only been driven 6000 miles since the warpage and then warped again. Completely unacceptable. There is also a problem with the suspension. Due to the fact that all this is occurring, I feel as though this could lead to major safety issues.

- Margate, FL, USA

problem #24

Jun 012010

Journey

  • 16,890 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased my 2009 Dodge Journey in May 2008 -- at 17,000 miles and 2 years later I have been told that my front brakes are totally worn and rotors can not be turned and need to be replaced. I received no warning of the braking failure other than one day grinding and squeaking noises while I drive. I took my car to the shop that day !!! how can a braking system go bad in one day with no warning? I've been told by Chrysler that this is normal wear and it was not covered... how can a braking system fail in 2 years !!! when I mentioned the numerous posts from consumers about the same problem. They offered no other explanation other than "they must be using soft pads... but we still do not cover this under the warranty. "

- Salt Lake City, UT, USA

problem #23

May 232010

Journey

  • 13,500 miles
The brake system is horribly undersized for the vehicle. Pads and rotors have to be replaced at every 13,000 to 15,000 miles? car has only 30,000 miles and I am having to replace the entire brake system again! also the car now has problems starting with the fob key. Sometimes it will start, sometimes it won't. really disappointed with the vehicle and really do not feel safe in it. I am currently trying to trade it in or sell it due to the poor reliability.

- Canyon Lake, CA, USA

problem #22

May 172010

Journey

  • 15,200 miles
At 15,200 miles, my 2009 Dodge Journey began to make a grinding/crunching noise when brakes were applied, making driving the vehicle dangerous(did not know if the brakes would fail!). service department told me that the rotors, brake pads and calipers needed to be replaced. Only the calipers were covered under the warranty. When questioned on how the brakes could go so quickly, staff told me that the vehicles come out of the factory with "softer" pads and the traction control wears them out quickly. Just a nice way to describe inferior equipment. I do not have the parts that were replaced, was told they had gotten rid of them prior to my picking up the vehicle after repair.

- Freehold, NJ, USA

problem #21

May 102010

Journey

  • 26,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bought 2009 Dodge Journey in June 2008. Beginning in late April 2010 at appx 26,000 miles brakes began a grinding noise. Took to get brakes looked at 2 weeks later and was informed the brakes/rotors were shot. One rotor was completely metal on metal and all the pads needed replacing. For a brand new car with less than 30K miles on it, there is no reason the brakes should have failed. I called the dealership to find out if the rotor was covered under my extended warranty and was told only the first 12K miles were covered. I have owned numerous cars over the years and have never had the brake damage/repairs needed on this car after so little time and miles had been driven on the car. After reading numerous complaints regarding the same issue, Chrysler needs to look into the problem. Brake repairs cost me $400 for a car I bought brand new less than 2 years ago.

- Lake Worth, TX, USA

problem #20

Jun 162009

Journey

  • miles
I purchased a 2009 Dodge Journey in may of 2009. Within a month of the purchase, I had the brakes and rotors replaced. Since then, I have complained numerous times about the brakes pulsating when applied and the steering wheel shaking. This has been a safety issue since the purchase of the car. I have all the documents to show where I have complained to the dealership. Now they are saying the brakes are no longer under warranty and I would have to pay for any service done to the brakes. I am not understanding why I should have to come out of my pocket with this expense when I have been complaining since I purchased the vehicle. I have a grandson that I Transport daily and don't feel safe driving something that I am paying for monthly. I recently had a vehicle pull out in front of me and went to put the brakes on and the brakes made a grinding and took a long to stop. The steering wheel shook as I applied the brake. My grandson was in the vehicle, but he was not injured.

- New Castle, DE, USA

problem #19

Apr 302010

Journey

  • 14,500 miles
Premature brake failure.

- Newark, CA, USA

problem #18

Apr 232010

Journey

  • 25,000 miles
I purchased a 09 Dodge Journey in March 09.had front brakes pads/rotors replaced at 9K miles, rear brake pads/rotors at 10K miles. I just took back in today for another set of front pads/rotors today at 25K miles. I have also contacted Chrysler regarding lemon law in state of tn. Upon investigation online found that numerous owners are having the same problems, can you please investigate this? I am happy with the car, just very nervous when driving with my 2 children in the car. I have owned numerous Chrysler/Dodge vehicles and never had a problem like this. In fact my problems began in July 09 and I have been trying to work with the dealership to get this corrected, I think someone else needs to step in and help the consumers!!

- Corryton, TN, USA

problem #17

Apr 162010

Journey

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At 15,000 miles on my 09 Dodge Journey, the front brake pads are gone and the front routers warped. The back pads are fine but the back routers are warped. I was told by the dealership this is "normal wear". I have owned numerous new cars and this is not normal. Dealership is unwilling to correct this problem.

- Canton, GA, USA

problem #16

Mar 082010

Journey

  • 21,000 miles
On Monday, March 8, 2010, my wife, two year old daughter and I suffered a third episode of the following dangerous malfunctions: Steering, transmission and drivetrain issues that, without notice, result in an unbearable screeching and grinding noise emanating from underneath the vehicle at speeds between 15 and 30 mph, a pause and hesitation in acceleration between speeds of 15 and 30 M.P.H. that causes the car to jump forward, the immediate loss of accurate steering and a burning smell throughout the car interior we suffered the most recent episode, without notice, while driving through rush hour traffic at 7:45 a.M. we waited two hours for a tow truck to arrive. Fortunately, my wife and daughter were only shaken, but not injured. In the last three months, we have had an unsafe rear tire replaced, sunroof parts replaced for constant leaking, a new electronic module installed to prevent the episodes of the entire electronic system malfunctioning causing the loss of car function and door locks and multiple power steering parts replaced.

- Cranford, NJ, USA

problem #15

Mar 242010

Journey

  • 26,000 miles
I have a 09 Journey, bought a year ago. Brakes front and back have had to be replaced and need replacement again. Interior lights dim when wipers or other electronic controls are operated. Engine makes noise as though the lifters aren't getting oil--had it in shop for that and they can't find anything and it is getting worse. Right side front wheel sounds like bearing is having issues too. Product is dangerous--brakes and not being taken care of under warranty--dealer, have 26,000 miles on

- Warner Robins, GA, USA

problem #14

Mar 122010

Journey

  • 22,200 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While the vehicle was parked, the check engine warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The dealer performed a diagnostic test and stated that there were pieces of metal in the transmission fluid pan. The dealer reset the check engine light accordingly. The contact also experienced brake failure in the past and the vehicle was repaired on three separate occasion for brake failure. The approximate failure mileage was 20,200 and the current mileage was 28,000.

- Goshen, NY, USA

problem #13

Mar 222010

Journey

  • 22,586 miles
I purchased a 2009 Dodge Journey, in may of 2009. By March 22, 2010, the brakes were completely gone. The pads were metal to metal and the rotors were completely shot. The vehicle had 22,200 miles on it. I have a 3 year and 36,000 mile warranty which don jackson is trying not to honor.

- Fairburn, GA, USA

problem #12

Oct 102009

Journey

  • 12,000 miles
I own a 2009 Dodge Journey and had my front/brakes replaced and the rotors turned at 12,000 miles. I am approaching 20,000 miles and they need to be replaced again. From my research, this has become a serious issue with Dodge Journeys.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #11

Jan 212010

Journey

  • 10,190 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While driving at speeds of 35 mph, he could hear a grinding noise when applying the brakes. He also stated the brakes would not engage as accurately as they should. When depressed, the brake pedal would feel soft and would fall very close to the floorboard. The dealer advised the front brakes were worn and would need to be replaced. The rotors were cut and the front brakes were replaced under factory warranty. The failure mileage was 10,190 and the current was unknown.

- Pembrak Pines, FL, USA

problem #10

May 152009

Journey

  • 13,323 miles
Premature front brake wear on 2009 Dodge Journey. At 13,000 miles the front brake pads had to be replaced for state inspection. This was in may of 2009. Now that the car has 27,000 miles on it the front brakes started grinding suddenly. Now the front brake pads and rotors will have to be replaced. Never had to replace brakes on a car every 13,000 miles. Checked the internet and found very similar complaints. Is there a recall or a permanent fix for this problem other than replacing brakes every 6 months?

- Southampton, PA, USA

problem #9

Feb 262010

Journey

  • 21,000 miles
Dodge Journey 2009. We had to replace the front pads with 21K miles and front rotors had to be turned twice to get them even. Now with 27K the front rotors need to be replaced and the pads in the rear need to be replaced, as well. This must be a manufacturer problem. (do customers always need to wait until someone dies -- Toyota!!).

- Navarre, FL, USA

problem #8

Feb 052010

Journey

  • 16,373 miles
I had to replace my front and back brakes, and had 4 rotors resurfaced on an 18 mth old car, with 16,373 miles on it. I had to pay $638.58 for it, 426 of it was labor. This should not be normal for a new car.

- Blenheim, NJ, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?