Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: A prime example of why you should never buy the first model year of a new vehicle.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
60,782 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Journey drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #31

Aug 132014

Journey 4-cyl

  • 81,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving along the highway, with cruise control on, the vehicle lost power and decelerated. The etc and traction control lights came on the dash. After pulling to the side of the road the vehicle was restarted. After being restarted the vehicle drove normally. This scenario has happened three times at highway speeds and once during acceleration. Around the same time of onset with the power loss issue the vehicle will not start intermittently. Sometimes it starts after several minutes, sometimes it does not start for several hours.

- Boone, IA, USA

problem #30

Aug 222014

Journey 6-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
I purchased the car in January of 2014 from a used car lot (which I will never do again) and it was sold with transmission leaks. I just found this out after taking the car in for a hole in one of the coolant hoses less than a month ago because it wasn't leaking on the ground. I started hearing a grinding, squeaking and ticking sound that my mechanic couldn't figure out. I just had the breaks done so they are essentially brand new. I had to have the tires replaced because they were worn to the thread. Going up a hill yesterday, I heard a loud noise and then the car wouldn't move. This left me in the middle of the road blocking traffic with 5 children in the car. Turns out there's a cracked transfer case. Sounds like there are many others like me out there having similar problems with this particular year make and model and a recall is in order....again!!!!

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #29

Jan 012010

Journey 4-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
Rotors and brakes went out at 36,000 and had to be replaced due to being too small for the vehicle. Of course this was just out side of warranty. Recall was called after we replaced them. Went out again at 45,000 and again at 85,000. I had a knocking noise from under neath and took it in and it was covered under power train. Had to take it in again at 40,000 knocking noise again and luckily it covered under power train. At 45,000 my Journey wouldn't start and just didn't know when it would start 30 minutes to an hour. This has happened several times and was told it was the key ignition control and that they are back logged and couldn't replace it but charged $100 for diagnostic again and have had to take it in again since. At 75,000 I was left stranded due to over heating and had to take it in again and it was the temperature control sensor. Brakes went out again at 95,000 and now at 107,00 the check engine light is on and did a diagnostic and it's the throttle runner control is stuck open and unable to get it in until a week later due to the dealer to busy. I think this has gone on to long with these Dodge Journeys and it's time for some recalls on them. I will never but a Dodge again!

- Ellabell, GA, USA

problem #28

Jul 232013

Journey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,854 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning on several occasions. The dealer was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 20,854. Updated 09/05/14 the cosnumer stated the vehicle loses all brakes, dash lights, and steering. Updated 09/11/2014

- Garden Valley, CA, USA

problem #27

Mar 292013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
My 2009 Dodge Journey has not regularly started for over a year off and on. When turning it to the starting position it will just click. It will never start in park and after much research I have found that putting it into neutral would start it which worked for a little over a year. Now over a year later of putting it into neutral to start I am finding that its not working any longer. I have had this vehicle since 2012 so only a year after I bought this I started having the problems. In 2013 I replaced the starter and it didn't start 2 hours after replacing it. I have researched and have seen I am not the only one with this problem. I am a mother of 3 kids and can not be stranded someplace because Chrysler doesn't want to take the responsibility to recall the problem and fix it!! this problem needs to be fixed for all of us experiencing it!! why hasn't it?

- Edon, OH, USA

problem #26

Apr 102014

Journey

  • 162,000 miles
First incident was sometime in April 2014. While driving the engine stalled (turned off) three time daring that same day. I submitted an incident report to this office. Called Dodge corporate office and spoke to a representative named [xxx]. she help us get the local dealership fix the PCM flash throttle body, which the dealership stated was causing the problem. Dodge has a recall on for this PCM problem on the 2010 and some 2009 Journey models. My VIN number was not covered according to Dodge, but not VIN numbers are stated on the recall notes. The second incident happen around a week an half after the first one and after the dealership say it was fixed and safe to drive. My wife was driving with the kid on board and while exiting the freeway, the engine stalled (turned off) and had to use the emergency brake to avoid hit other cars. Called [xxx] at corporate and took car back to dealership. Dealership now is saying the problem is the win module, which again is on the recall for the 2010 Journey, but not on the 2009. Asked dealership manager ([xxx]) if this would fix the problem. He stated he is not sure, but that is the next diagnostic step to take. I also asked how much it would cost to fix he stated $700 and they would not cover it, because my VIN number is not covered under the recall. [xxx] at corporate was trying to reduce price, but dealership is not willing to work with Dodge corporate. Misty authorized a rental car, I'm having to pay for the insurance incase I have an accident. This needs to be investigated and all 2008, 2009, and 2010 need to be covered under the recall. All models are having the same problems. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #25

Jun 092014

Journey

  • 117,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated while driving 30 mph, the vehicle stalled and the check engine warning indicator was illuminated. The problem recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the power control module was defective. The vehicle had not been repaired. The contact was made aware of a recall notification under NHTSA campaign id number 08V528000 (power train). However, the VIN was not included on the recall.the manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 117,000.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #24

Dec 042013

Journey

  • 77,000 miles
While making a left hand turn, I felt the car jerk several times as though I was using anti-lock brakes. This was confusing since I did not even have my foot on the brake. Seconds later I heard an almost grinding or dragging noise. I pulled over into the first empty lot I found and checked the tires, got down and checked under the car for anything hanging that could have been dragging on the ground, found nothing that looked out of the ordinary. I thought then that there may have been snow or ice around the tires since it had snowed the night before. I proceeded to get back into the car and drove approximately three minutes and the noise got louder. I drove to my mechanic which was another 5 minutes away. He was amazed that the power train seemed to explode from the inside out. In all his years of fixing cars, he said he had never seen anything like it. We've read many recall notices for the power train yet no one is willing to help with this recall. Since we bought the car used, they say that the recall is not transferable. This is total bull since it is approx $2400. If this was a defective part, there should be no reason why we would be responsible to have it repaired. Something must be able to be done. I would even be willing to pay half the bill but not the entire bill since it must have been defective to start with. I have been without a car now for four weeks and have become a burden to friends and family, needing rides to and from work. I am very upset with Dodge for not even attempting to meet me half way. I was under the impression that they were a reputable company. Unless they can help in some way, I will never purchase another Dodge and discourage anyone else to also.

- Cheektowaga, NY, USA

problem #23

Sep 182013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
I was driving on the highway, with my daughter in the car, and my truck completely lost power. I was luckily able to pull over and restart the vehicle. It was very scary and my life and my daughter's life were in jeopardy. This happens approximately one every 3 weeks. Today, 11-25-2013, my fiance was driving around a roundabout, the car died and she was hit lightly from behind. Also, the controls on my driver's side door do not work properly. They rarely roll down the windows correctly and right now, the back driver's side window is down. I had to duct tape plastic on the door. I am taking it to the dealership tomorrow to try and fix these problems. I just don't know why this series of 2009 Journeys were not recalled. We are scared to even drive the Journey especially because of the lost power issue and with really no money to have it diagnosed.

- Noblesville, IN, USA

problem #22

Nov 112013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
The transmission has been shifting very rough. After taking it to the dealer and "no engine light no problem" was determined today the car refused to accelerate but was revving a lot and temporarily lost the drive gear while I was driving!!!.. I had to park the car and walk home and get the car towed back.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #21

Oct 172013

Journey

  • 177,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the transmission hesitated at acceleration, the engine overheated and the transmission fluid was leaking from the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection or repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure and current mileage was 177,000.

- Ellenwood , GA, USA

problem #20

Apr 262011

Journey

  • 30,000 miles
Parking sensor in transmission that sends a signal that car is in park not working I properly may be a huge issue because when you are in drive and sitting it gets stuck in park. Then takes off no warning. If me O our anyone in my family is injured I will be the one to help settle a law suit with Chrysler. I spoke of this problem to the dealer while it was under warranty the rep. Said I had to leave my car there till the problem duplicates. This is a expensive car and my only transportation which is why I had the warranty. The other issue is when sitting at the light the brakes slip causing the vehicle to lunge forward. This is even after replacing the brakes at the dealership the vehicle is a money pit. The consumer takes the bill or could lose their life messing with Chrysler.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #19

Feb 012013

Journey

  • 98,000 miles
Brakes, allignment, drive shaft was bent...4th set of tires purchased in Feb. 2013 gas tank & fuel pump needed replaced April 2013 caliper locked up causing fire, vehicle needed to be towed May 2013.

- Webster, TX, USA

problem #18

Mar 292013

Journey

  • 81,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that while driving 10 mph, she lost control of the steering wheel and crashed into a curb and there was an explosion noise at the vehicle front end. The vehicle was taken to the mechanic where it was found that the transfer case had a hole which caused it to explode. The contact also wanted to add that the brakes and rotors had worn prematurely and the ignition switch made a clicking noise. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacture was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 81,000.

- Wilmington , IN, USA

problem #17

Aug 252010

Journey

  • 31,000 miles
I purchased this car in August 2010 (it is a 2009) and since then, I have had the vehicle in the shop 33 times. I have had to replace all brakes and rotors, had front passenger-side window motor replaced, driver-side is going out now, had leaking from the ceiling, replacing the cracked radiator right now, had the emergency brake fixed, needed new rods and bushings, fuel injectors run loud, there is a drone noise from the right side of the vehicle when going 1800-2000 RPM, electrical systems short out, had the electric throttle indicator light come on, car dies all the time, yet the battery is fine, ...bottom line, this is a lemon. I have the R/T model which the dealership likes to claim "is just the noisy one." That is a very poor answer towards a consumer. I take very good care of my vehicles and to put up with this is upsetting. I have spent over $3000 in repairs in the 2 1/2 years that I have owned this SUV. Chrysler has made no attempts to help with these common problems and I know that I will not support this company buy purchasing with them again. When I bought a Journey...I didn't realize being able to drive it without problems, would be such a "Journey."

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #16

Sep 232012

Journey

  • 16,888 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, a loud explosive noise was heard from the engine. Immediately, the steering wheel became inoperable. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, who advised the contact that the power transfer unit failed and needed to be replaced. The dealer replaced the power transfer unit however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who then advised the contact that the clutch, seal transmission seal and the differential were fractured. All components were replaced. The manufacturer was notified and a claim was filed. The failure mileage was 16,888 and the current mileage was 17,100.

- St Croix, VI, USA

problem #15

Mar 102009

Journey

  • 10,900 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, the brakes were applied but the vehicle would not respond. The contact merged onto the shoulder in order to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for inspection where they advised that the rotors needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The contact also stated that the roof was leaking abnormally. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where the contact was advised that the seams in the roof needed replacing. The dealer made the necessary repairs to the roof however, the failure recurred. In addition, the contact mentioned that the vehicle failed to start after being parked for a short period of time. The dealer was notified and advised that she should shake the gear shifter and then try to start the vehicle. The contact followed the dealer's instructions and the vehicle started. The cause of the starting failure was unknown. The manufacturer was notified but did not offer any assistance. The failure mileage was 10,900.

- Hope, IN, USA

problem #14

Nov 112012

Journey

  • 67,400 miles
The contact owns 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that while making a left hand turn the contact heard a loud pop. The contact stated that after inspecting the vehicle he noticed fluid leaking from underneath it. The contact stated there was a small fire, but there was no damage to the vehicle or injuries. The contact had the vehicle towed to a dealer and it was determined that the transfer case had broken. The manufacturer inspected the vehicle, but stated this was normal wear and tear and would not repair the vehicle. The failure mileage and current mileage was 67,400.

- Galena, OH, USA

problem #13

Nov 092012

Journey

  • 45,200 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that while stopped at a stop sign, she noticed a clunking noise coming from the engine. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The mechanic stated the power transfer unit needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 45,200.

- Strattanville, PA, USA

problem #12

Sep 082012

Journey

  • 36,900 miles
Purchased 9-6-12 car starting cutting off 9-8-12. I can't steer air conditioner is off, dashboard has no lights. Taken back to car lot they can't duplicate the problem and codes come up, yet this continuous to happen, it has happened 8 times already. I am fearing for my and my families life, I can't continue going through this for 5 years. I have almost been hit in the rear twice. I can't even get on the highway nor drive the streets without fear of being killed!!!

- Beaumont, TX, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?