Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: A prime example of why you should never buy the first model year of a new vehicle.


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,045 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Journey transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Journey Owner Comments

problem #11

Nov 152009

Journey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While driving approximately 25 mph and approaching a stop sign, the contact depressed the brake pedal to the floorboard and the vehicle hesitated to stop. The contact drove the vehicle slowly to the dealer for diagnostics where the technician advised that the front and rear brakes were worn and would have to be replaced, as well as the rotors. The contact also noticed that the rear passenger side door was holding water in the interior and would leak from the bottom of the door when the door was opened. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 20,000. Updated 01/24/12 the consumer also stated in December 2009, the vehicle would randomly not start. After letting the vehicle sit for about 15 minutes, it would then start. There were problems with the transmission, exhaust pipes rusting, and doors holding in water. Update 01/27/12

- Lafayette, LA, USA

problem #10

Jan 242011

Journey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,600 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While having the vehicle examined by an authorized dealer for routine maintenance, the contact was informed the brake pads needed to be replaced. The vehicle was then taken to an independent mechanic where the contact was told the rear brake calipers were not functioning. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 41,600. Updated 03/03/11 the consumer stated the vehicle would not start. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they discovered transmission fluid was leaking. Updated 03/08/11

- Rehoboth, MA, USA

problem #9

Jan 132010


  • 2,000 miles
At 2000 miles on my 2009 Dodge Journey I started having problems with my front passenger window sticking, and brakes squeaking. Also car not shifting when taking off and when you slow down and try to speed back up. I took it in. They told me maybe sap in window and brakes fine. Three days later window acting up again. Took it in. Same reason. Cleaned and greased. This is the eight time I've taken it in. They have replaced motors, switches, tracks, seals and now wont roll up or down. The brakes have been an issue since the start. At 21000 miles the dealer tells me I need new pad and rotors. Take it to brake shop and they tell me all I need is pad. Brakes working fine right now but still squeak every now and then. They have replaced electrical harnesses that may catch on fire. The squeaking noise now has turned into other parts that are having to be replaced. My computer chip has been reset 4 times and cheap plastic mirrors on visors and sunglass holder and light on inside roof. The springs on my back doors have popped out leaving the door stuck open. Went to eat with 23000 miles on the car and after leaving the car would not start. Called dealer and they called a tow truck and wanted me to pay for that also. My car has been in two different dealerships on 10-15 different occasions for repairs. They still have not got these issues fixed. What can I do?

- Temple, TX, USA

problem #8

Sep 232010

Journey 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles


The 2009 Dodge Journey builds up carbon in the cylinders. This will cause the cylinders to fail. The car will shake while driving down the road and will shift incorrectly. It is extremely scary while driving 55 miles per hour. You have no ideal what is wrong. After many trial and errors with Dodge the problem of is only fixed by getting your engine tore apart. They will tell you at first bad spark plugs. This is incorrect. Then they say bad gas. This is incorrect. Then clean the carbon out. This to is a temporary fix, they must redo the engine, but I feel this is again a temporary fix, because they just replaces parts in another 40,000 miles it is bound to happen again. I only hope by letting everyone know this will only help to have Dodge rethink about replacing the parts time and time again, and really look into the matter and fix the problem for the consumer.

- Burkettsville, OH, USA

problem #7

Oct 112010


  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While driving approximately 45 mph, the contact began to hear a grinding noise from the engine compartment. The vehicle suddenly stopped accelerating while the engine was running for 30 seconds. The vehicle then stalled and the contact smelled a burning odor. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer but the failure could not be diagnosed or repaired. The current and failure mileages were approximately 28,000.

- Fimi Valley, CA, USA

problem #6

Jun 142010


  • 24,000 miles
2009 Dodge Journey with less just over 23,000 miles needed all new brakes and rotors. The back brakes were completely shot and my car was relying completely on the front brakes. Not covered under warranty. Also had to have the front right tie-rod replaced - so loose the tire was ready to fall off. Now need an entirely new transmission (24,000 miles now). They do see the transmission issue as a problem, but justified the brakes going (told me it was the way I drive) and the tie-rod (lots of potholes in the area). It's insane that no-one at this dealership seems to think there is a problem with this car, but I know I got a lemon. They aren't even paying for a loaner car - I have to pay for a rental while it will likely be in the shop for over a week.

- Broadview Heights, OH, USA

problem #5

Mar 082010


  • 21,000 miles


On Monday, March 8, 2010, my wife, two year old daughter and I suffered a third episode of the following dangerous malfunctions: Steering, transmission and drivetrain issues that, without notice, result in an unbearable screeching and grinding noise emanating from underneath the vehicle at speeds between 15 and 30 mph, a pause and hesitation in acceleration between speeds of 15 and 30 M.P.H. that causes the car to jump forward, the immediate loss of accurate steering and a burning smell throughout the car interior we suffered the most recent episode, without notice, while driving through rush hour traffic at 7:45 a.M. we waited two hours for a tow truck to arrive. Fortunately, my wife and daughter were only shaken, but not injured. In the last three months, we have had an unsafe rear tire replaced, sunroof parts replaced for constant leaking, a new electronic module installed to prevent the episodes of the entire electronic system malfunctioning causing the loss of car function and door locks and multiple power steering parts replaced.

- Cranford, NJ, USA

problem #4

Jul 092008


  • 856 miles
Car leaks, right rear door lock will not always lock, alarm will not cut off, car makes a funny noise when turning, car quit and finally got it started, pulls to left, doors will lock and will take approx. 2 minutes for it to unlock, misses when pulling.

- York, SC, USA

problem #3

Mar 142009


  • 11,000 miles
Have a 2009 Dodge Journey and need a whole new transmission at 11,000 miles and now at 13,000 miles I needed brake pads. Still have whining noise that no dealer can figure out what it is. I have already had the radio replaced, a recall completed and several other items fixed. In less than a year. Unfortunately, I can not afford to trade it in.

- Sicklerville, NJ, USA

problem #2

Oct 202008


  • 10,000 miles
On the Dodge Journey, the automatic shifter has been knocked out of drive into reverse at least 5 times and all the way into park at least one time. Vehicle was in motion. This occurred by being bumped by a dog moving around from the rear seat into the front seat. The Journey was not one of the selections on which sort of vehicle.

- Clinton Township, MI, USA

problem #1

May 102008

Journey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While driving at any speed, the gear shifter will automatically move out of position without the brake pedal being depressed. The failure occurred on numerous occasions when the contact slightly tapped the gear shifter, which caused the vehicle to shift into gear or neutral while in motion. The contact considers this to be a very serious safety risk. The failure mileage was 40 and current mileage was 300. Updated 06/09/08

- Coram, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?