If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,039 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Journey wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

Nov 232013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving home from local grocery store, rear drivers side tire suddenly became flat. I was able pull over to the side of the road. When my husband arrived to help, he attempted to put in some "fix a flat" to get me to the tire store less than 2 miles away and the valve stem went completely inside and all air was released from tire. He put on the spare and we took the tire to the tire store and had to purchase a new valve stem with sensor in it. Again, Dodge is putting faulty equipment into their cars and not acknowledging obvious flaws in their vehicles. This is another example of a safety recall that Dodge should be forced to put in place.

- Miamisburg, OH, USA

problem #24

Oct 262013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 46,900 miles
While traveling 70 mph from detroit to Ohio with three 13 year old boys in my car. The front passenger tire was extremely low. I was able to make it to a service station. When I attempted to put air in the tire, the valve broke, releasing all air in the tire. I contact road service through my insurance and they put the spare on. I then traveled to Firestone in sandusky, oh, where I was told that the tire could not be repaired. Unfortunately, they did not have my tire in stock as it is a 19" kuhmo. They were able to find one tire 100 miles from where I was in cleveland. So off I went to cleveland, where I spent $289 to replace a tire that was barely 10 months old due to the faulty valve. Today I contacted [xxx] at Suburban cjd of troy and was told that I would have to pay for the replacement of the valves. Not acceptable. I could have been killed along with the tree teenage passengers that I had in my car. Please advise as to how I should proceed. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Birmingham, MI, USA

problem #23

Jun 042013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 28,500 miles
While driving at about 25 mph the tire went flat. Mechanic said that the valve stem\tire pressure sensor had corroded and come loose causing the tire to deflate.

- Lasalle, AA, USA

problem #22

Feb 012013

Journey

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brakes, allignment, drive shaft was bent...4th set of tires purchased in Feb. 2013 gas tank & fuel pump needed replaced April 2013 caliper locked up causing fire, vehicle needed to be towed May 2013.

- Webster, TX, USA

problem #21

Apr 232013

Journey

  • miles
2009 Dodge Journey air pressure sensor failure. On 4-23-13. I was traveling a local highway about 65 mph when the valve stem and pressure sensor came loose and fell into the tire on the right rear tire. I managed to get the car stopped safely after loosing control. After reading a Dodge forum on-line. The general idea is that this 2009 Dodge Journey pressure sensor is poorly designed. From what I understand. Dodge changed the material the sensor is made of in 2011.

- Pa, PA, USA

problem #20

Oct 152012

Journey 6-cyl

  • 26,800 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The vehicle was equipped with kumho solus khh16 tires, tire size 225/55/19. The contact stated that while driving approximately 65 mph, the front end of the vehicle began to shake continuously. In addition, there was a vibration in the steering wheel. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where both front tires were replaced with new tires. The defective tires exhibited severe tread separation. The manufacturer was not notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 26,800. Updated 12/14/12 the consumer stated after having the tires balanced and rotated, the owner noticed the steering wheel began to shake while exiting the dealership parking lot. Dealer found both front tires exhibited belt seperation. Updated 12/17/2012

- Grand Bay, AL, USA

problem #19

Aug 112012

Journey 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I sustained nonrepairable to a tire on my vehicle during a highway trip. When I went to a authorized dealer to purchase a new tire, I found that they do not stock a single tire of the type authorized by the vehicle manufacturer per warrenty specification. I had to drive on the freeway at night with a skinny emergency tire installed for over 100 miles. I felt very unsafe and nervous being placed in this situation.

- Dermott, AR, USA

problem #18

Dec 212011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
On the first incident, the right driver side tire suddenly went flat. Valve rotted, that tire was fixable. We questioned the cold weather. We figured it was a fluke. On July 15, 2012 rear driver side tire suddenly went flat while driving 55 mph - warm weather - brought it to a tire company and they stated the valve rotted on this tire as well and that the tire was unrepairable. Both times our 3 and 6 year old children were in the car with us- this is a huge safety issue. I know another person that recently owned a Dodge Journey and had a blow out - they ended up across the road and down the bank. Luckily no injuries. I don't think this is a coincidence. This could result in bodily injury. The valves on these cars need to be addressed immediately. Today I am spending $1325 to replace all 4 tires and rims so that myself and my children do not end up in a fatality.

- Margaretville, NY, USA

problem #17

Apr 282009

Journey

  • 13,048 miles
On April 28, 2009 I have a tire failure while driving an a well maintained paved highway. Specifically, I had a sidewall failure on my right rear tire. Upon examination of the tire I found a "V" shaped failure in the sidewall of about one half inch. Closer examination revealed that the chords in the tire were frayed as opposed to being cut cleanly. During the first week of April 2011, I experienced another sidewall failure with the same "V" shaped break while traveling on a well maintained paved highway. I decided at that time to replace all four tires with ome tires and I kept the remaining three good tires. In February, 2012, I experienced a third sidewall failure with the same "V" shaped rupture in the sidewall of the left front tire. My mileage at this time was approximately 40500. The replacement tire that was installed was from the original ome tires that I had kept when I replaced after the second failure. Approximately 3 months later that replacement tire developed a bulge on the outside tread area of approximately 12" long by 2" wide. I then replaced all fours again with another brand. The ome tires originally on my vehicle and the first set of replacement tires were: Kumho 225/55R bw KH16 99T.

- Luverne, AL, USA

problem #16

Aug 232011

Journey

  • 66,326 miles
2009 Dodge Journey SXT. In the year I have owned it, I have replaced brakes twice, as rite now I am replacing them cause they started squeaking a week ago and today they locked up. Also replacing one of the calipers. Any time I take a hard left turn, there is a loud grinding noise. I have replaced the tires already, and have had to replace the rear 2 again recently. Any time I go to brake when going over 40 mph, the steering wheel shakes uncontrollably. I have also received a recall from a local dealership for a wiring harness in drivers side. When I went in to dealership, they put it on order and said they would call when it came in, but never did. That was 6 months ago.

- Spring Lake, NC, USA

problem #15

Jun 172011

Journey

  • 16,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns 2009 Dodge Journey equipped with kumho kusolsk816 tires, size 225/55/R19 dot 27pjya5M. The contact stated that while driving at highway speeds, the vehicle shook uncontrollably. The vehicle was pulled over and the contact noticed that the tread on the front drivers tire was separating. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the contact was informed that the tread on two additional tires was also separating. The tires were not repaired or replaced because there were no tires available. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact that they would make one tire available for her.the failure and current mileages were approximately 16,200.

- Homestead, FL, USA

problem #14

Jun 202011

Journey

  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey equipped with kumho solus tires, size 225/55/R19, dot number: 27pjya5M. While driving approximately 30 mph, the tire pressure warning light illuminated. The contact stated that the vehicle began to vibrate and there was a noise exhibited from the rear passenger side tire. The contact stopped and exited the vehicle and discovered that the tire was flat. The tire was replaced with the spare tire. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the mechanic stated that the belt of the tire was damaged and the tire was not repairable. The tire was on back order and would not be available for approximately three months for replacement. The tire was not replaced. The approximate failure mileage was 32,000.

- Tiffin, OH, USA

problem #13

May 282011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
After raining the passenger side rear door fills with water. When I close the door I hear the water swish around inside and then I see it drain out of the bottom of the door. This is the 4th time that I have seen this happen in as many weeks. My wife has also noticed the exact same thing before I did. The door fills with water pretty much every time it rains. It seems like it is at least filling up with several cups of water. I am concerned with mold getting into the car and also the probability of an electrical short. This happens every single time it rains. In addition to the door filling with water the low tire pressure light keeps coming on and the rear left tire will slowly deflate. I have already had the tire replaced once and the same thing happened again in a matter of weeks. Outside air temperature seems to have no effect on when this occurs because it happen during the cold and when it is hot out. Usually the low tire pressure warning will come on within one week of filling the tire.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #12

May 122011

Journey

  • 21,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The vehicle had kumho tires, line solus, tire size 225/55/R19 on the vehicle. The dot was not available. The contact stated after taking the vehicle in for a front end alignment, they advised her that all four tires were separating. The vehicle was not repaired since the tires were on back-order. The manufacturer was contacted and advised her that there were no recalls. The failure mileage was approximately 21,000.

- West Sacremento, CA, USA

problem #11

Aug 012010

Journey

  • 31,000 miles
At 31,000 miles my 2009 Dodge Journey began shaking when brakes applied. Had to replace both front and back brakes and rotors at a cost of $450. Currently a shake exist in the chassis of the vehicle when I reach speeds of 50 mph or greater. Tires where balance 3 times and final diagnosis by dealership is that I have one "egg shaped" kumho tire that kumho will not take responsibility for and would cost me $267 to change as there is only one manufacture of this tire.

- Curtice, OH, USA

problem #10

Feb 152010

Journey 6-cyl

  • 11,000 miles
At 11K miles I had to have front brakes replaced. Shortly after that my back brakes had to be replaced and my back rotors were warped. The dealer told me I had exceeded the 12K manufacturer warranty and had to pay for repair. After researching consumer reviews and having read of numerous complaints on brakes / rotors I sent a letter to Chrysler along with complaints. I did not receive any letter, not a phone call, just a check for repayment of brake work. Since then I have had my censor light come on twice for the tires and up until now, after reading from this website was I unaware this vehicle appears to have problems with tires as well. My vehicle is currently in the shop. I had taken in twice for a noise that was coming from the front passenger side. The first time I was told they could not find anything. The 2nd I was told it was a computer chip that needed adjusting and it would be "fine". it wasn't fine. The noise got worse. My power locks on driver door and my remote key would not work. I took my vehicle in for both the noise and the power locks/key not working. I have been without a vehicle since Monday (it is Friday) and it is due to having to replace a wiring system and alternator. An alternator? my vehicle has 25K miles!! please help.....there are almost 200 complaints for all the same problems I am having. This is not right.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #9

Apr 282008

Journey

  • 45 miles
2009 Dodge Journey tires and tire censors boise, id larry miller Dodge. Have had issues with tires air pressure and censor every month since buying 2009 Dodge Journey in 2008. I have only taken my Journey to the dealer ship for all repairs on my Journey every time I take my vehicle I tell them I am still having the same issue with my tires. They deflate often and the censor turns on after I leave anywhere between 48hrs up to 2 weeks. Like I said this has been a consistent issue since I drove my car off the lot in 2008 and still hasn't been resolved and now they are telling me I should just buy new tires. I understand that it is almost time for new tires but I feel that censor and deflation in my tires should have been resolved a long time ago. Because of this issue I have spent many hrs in the repair waiting for them to try to figure out the issue 3-5 hrs each time.because they haven't been able to resolve I will never buy a Dodge vehicle again. Dodge has given me a very bad experience with my first car. I wish that I had went with the original vehicle that I wanted to purchase a Subaru outback.

- Boise, ID, USA

problem #8

Jun 102010

Journey

  • 12,000 miles
Front brakes rotors and pads needed to be replaced at 12000 miles, rear brakes pads and rotors replaced at 20000 miles and front brakes needed to be replaced again at same time steering wheel vibrates horribly dealer said needed rear wheel alignment and 2 new tires at 20000 miles had it done brakes still squealing and grinding and dealer says "can't find anything wrong" steering wheel starting to vibrate again at 23000 miles dealer says nothing wrong can't hear squeaks in brakes unbelievable it is ear piercing and they grind intermittently I am sure soon to be grinding continually and then they will tell me I need new brakes again have spent $1200 dollars out of pocket vehicle isn't even paid for yet I have lost faith in Chrysler and don't know what to do can't afford these costly repairs on a car that is basically new I am afraid that one time the brakes will fail completely that is how fast they wear out.

- Macomb, MI, USA

problem #7

Aug 182010

Journey

  • 12,000 miles
Front brake pads and rotors needed to be replaced at 12K miles on our 2009 Dodge Journey. Now we just had all brake lights go out. We took it to our mechanic and they found only 1 bulb bad. After the 1 bulb was replaced, all lights started working again. Why would they put these bulbs in series rather than parallel so that only the bad bulb would be out rather than all? that is a big a safety problem in my opinion. Also one tire now has a bulge in the sidewall and needs replaced. The vehicle has about 15K miles.

- Rio Rancho, NM, USA

problem #6

Mar 182010

Journey

  • 36,666 miles
Brakes, tires and electrical system. I have to get new tires already and I only have 36,000 miles on the car. I have had to change the brakes front and back 3 times already. I am about to have to change the rotor on all 4 wheels. When I turn the windshield wipers off the head lights flash off and back on. Then while driving the dash lights will flash off and on again.

- League City, TX, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?