Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: A prime example of why you should never buy the first model year of a new vehicle.

3.3

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,013 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Journey wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #10

Oct 032011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 34,936 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a 2009 Dodge Journey (VIN: [xxx]) on September 19, 2011 from the stetler Dodge car dealership in york, pa. It was a certified pre-owned car. Since that day I bought the car I have been back there over 4 times for various problems. The first time was about 2 weeks after I purchased the car (10/3/11), but this last time was it for me. The car makes a hissing noise when I press the brakes, not all of the times but a lot. During the winter months, I hadn't noticed anything else occurring along with the noise, but I had still taken it back to the dealership not long after I bought the car. I was told that it was nothing because they couldn't hear the sound. So, when it got very hot, I turned the air conditioner on in the car. I noticed that if I take a long trip, about an hour or so drive on the highway, a fume/gas smell is released into the car when the air it on. I took it to the dealership on 7/10/12 for this issue. They couldn't get the smell to occur, but I told them that it happened after I took long trips. There is also a grinding/humming noise that occurs sometimes while driving and it happened twice when they were driving it with me in the car, but they don't know what the problem is they say. I was told to bring it back if the problem got worse, even though I had already told them it was already getting worse, that's why I took it in. The steering wheel shakes when I press the brakes. The brakes and rotors are not good. The gear shift moves easily without the brake being pressed so it will go into park while driving. The car finally stalled while driving on July 25, 2012. It's in the shop again. They say a box or case is leaking badly and needs to be replaced. Countless other problems but not enough character space allotted to tell. I have 3 pages of problems. Scared to drive this car. Want my money back now. Help! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- York, PA, USA

problem #9

Dec 212011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
On the first incident, the right driver side tire suddenly went flat. Valve rotted, that tire was fixable. We questioned the cold weather. We figured it was a fluke. On July 15, 2012 rear driver side tire suddenly went flat while driving 55 mph - warm weather - brought it to a tire company and they stated the valve rotted on this tire as well and that the tire was unrepairable. Both times our 3 and 6 year old children were in the car with us- this is a huge safety issue. I know another person that recently owned a Dodge Journey and had a blow out - they ended up across the road and down the bank. Luckily no injuries. I don't think this is a coincidence. This could result in bodily injury. The valves on these cars need to be addressed immediately. Today I am spending $1325 to replace all 4 tires and rims so that myself and my children do not end up in a fatality.

- Margaretville, NY, USA

problem #8

Apr 282009

Journey

  • 13,048 miles
On April 28, 2009 I have a tire failure while driving an a well maintained paved highway. Specifically, I had a sidewall failure on my right rear tire. Upon examination of the tire I found a "V" shaped failure in the sidewall of about one half inch. Closer examination revealed that the chords in the tire were frayed as opposed to being cut cleanly. During the first week of April 2011, I experienced another sidewall failure with the same "V" shaped break while traveling on a well maintained paved highway. I decided at that time to replace all four tires with ome tires and I kept the remaining three good tires. In February, 2012, I experienced a third sidewall failure with the same "V" shaped rupture in the sidewall of the left front tire. My mileage at this time was approximately 40500. The replacement tire that was installed was from the original ome tires that I had kept when I replaced after the second failure. Approximately 3 months later that replacement tire developed a bulge on the outside tread area of approximately 12" long by 2" wide. I then replaced all fours again with another brand. The ome tires originally on my vehicle and the first set of replacement tires were: Kumho 225/55R bw KH16 99T.

- Luverne, AL, USA

problem #7

Jun 142010

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brakes continue to go bad. Vehicle calls for numerous brake changes including the rotors as well. Dodge notified and nothing has been resolved. Also their valve stems are breaking in half in cold weather. Causing tires air to deplete within 8 seconds. I have the valve stem from my car that broke and the other was replaced earlier under warranty. If this valve stem was to break in half while at high speeds on the highway, someone could be killed.

- Lester, WV, USA

problem #6

Mar 312011

Journey

  • miles
The tires on the vehicle go completely flat in a matter of seconds because the valve stem on the tire pressure monitoring system "corrodes" and snaps off. This has happen 4 times in less than a year. The first time it happened, my wife was going to put air in the tire and when she touched the cover of the valve stem, it blew off the tire and almost hit her in the eye. The last time it happened (01/28/12) I was driving down the highway with my wife and two children, when the light for the tire pressure monitoring system came on to tell me that my tire was low. Just a few seconds later, the tire was completely flat as we were driving down the highway.

- Selinsgrove, PA, USA

problem #5

Apr 012011

Journey

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While driving approximately 40 mph, the rear driver and passenger side wheels sounded as if they were wobbling with the illumination of the tire pressure warning light. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing now was the vehicle repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 36,000.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #4

Sep 172011

Journey

  • 50,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the rear driver side valve stem fractured due to corrosion. The dealer repaired the vehicle by replacing all four valve stems. The manufacturer was notified of the failure but denied any assistance with repairs. The failure mileage was 50,600 and the current mileage was 50,650.

- Ellington, CT, USA

problem #3

Nov 112008

Journey 4-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
04/10/11 NHTSA headquarters 1200 New Jersey avenue, SE West building Washington, DC 20590 to whom it may concern. I am writing you in reference of the purchased of my brand new vehicle, a 2009-Dodge Journey SE on June 08, 2008. This car beginning to have problems after it 6,000 miles having a numerous repairs since them. I submitted the car to the lemon law before the warranty time expired. Chrysler group denied it arguing that my car is running under the company expectation. Currently the car still has suspension problem and noises(such as brake noises, turn wheel noises and other). The car bouncing after 50 mp miles and every time that bumps on the street or on the highway the vehicle makes strongly bounces. The company states the bouncing and the noises are part of the cars manufactured. In addition to all the reported repairs, the seats get easily stain with any type of liquid and the black color of the interior is fading, I mean the black is becoming gray. I will submit any document that could support my claim if is required.

- Broward, FL, USA

problem #2

Nov 112010

Journey 6-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
Pre-mature rear brake failure.

- Auburn, KS, USA

problem #1

Oct 152008

Journey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While driving various speeds in inclement weather, the vehicle shimmies abnormally due to snow accumulation on the front wheels. The contact called the dealer and was referred to the manufacturer. The manufacturer advised her to refrain from driving in inclement weather. The failure mileage was 4,000 and current mileage was 15,000. Updated 5/26/09 the consumer stated the steering wheel would jump 45 degress unless she slowed down to less than 25 mph, but the vehicle would still shake. Updated 05/28/09.

- Eagle River, WI, USA

Not what you are looking for?