Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: A prime example of why you should never buy the first model year of a new vehicle.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,013 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Journey wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #30

May 202016


  • 80,000 miles


The in-tire pressure monitor failed. The car was traveling at highway speed. This was a sudden loss of tire pressure. The tire went flat is less than 1 second. The tire was shredded and destroyed.

- Madison, CT, USA

problem #29

Mar 032016


  • 76,142 miles
End of valve stem shot out of stem while trying to air up tire, end corroded and broke, replaced stem and sensor unit. Seems that this is a serious problem with the metal types that are put on and installed at the factory on these models cars. Even service station (Firestone) said they have collection of bad stems on these vehicles. I got lucky that I noticed air pressure indicator light was on an took it to station to air up tire when I tried to put air in tire and end shot out like a rocket and then I lost all the air in my tire. What has to be done to have this issue taken care of by the manufacturer when these are obviously defective. Does some one have to be driving down the road get in an accident because the stem blows out and they get a flat or blow a tire. My car was stationary at the tire pump at the time this happened, I called road side assistance to remove my tire but there was nothing they could do otherwise.

- Waterford, MI, USA

problem #28

May 202014


  • miles
The ignition reads bad key and won't start. The tire stems corrode and break off. The calipers are defective which cause the breaks, tires and rotors to wear. This vehicle has too many defects and should have been recalled years ago.

- Adelphi, MD, USA

problem #27

Sep 012015


  • 17,000 miles


My 2009 Dodge Journey has less than 18000 miles on it, I drive a total of 9-10 miles both ways to work. I've had to replace the brakes twice for rusting out. Peeved at the tech's comment "you don't drive it enough" as if I am stupid woman. In 2010 I ask for my tires to be checked cause they were constantly low, looking at my invoice from 1/18/10 I asked for them to be checked and all they did was correct pressure. Now I hear about these stems prematurely cracking and after just buying my first replacement set of tires was told, 3 of the stems are cracked and they (tire dealer, not car dealer) couldn't replace cause they have some sensor chip in them. In addition, the tires would consistently lose pressure until the stems are replaced.

- Lansing, MI, USA

problem #26

Aug 222014

Journey 6-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
I purchased the car in January of 2014 from a used car lot (which I will never do again) and it was sold with transmission leaks. I just found this out after taking the car in for a hole in one of the coolant hoses less than a month ago because it wasn't leaking on the ground. I started hearing a grinding, squeaking and ticking sound that my mechanic couldn't figure out. I just had the breaks done so they are essentially brand new. I had to have the tires replaced because they were worn to the thread. Going up a hill yesterday, I heard a loud noise and then the car wouldn't move. This left me in the middle of the road blocking traffic with 5 children in the car. Turns out there's a cracked transfer case. Sounds like there are many others like me out there having similar problems with this particular year make and model and a recall is in order....again!!!!

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #25

Jun 082011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
My vehicle has less than 90000 miles and I've put 4 sets of brakes and rotors on it. I've also had numerous problems with it not wanting to start while the battery test out perfect. I have put 3 sets of tires on it, and the transmission is shifting hard a lot of the time's a shame people have to die before Y'all recall vehicles.

- Blytheville, AR, USA

problem #24

Apr 182014


  • 55,000 miles


Car started shaking violently, stopped at a tire company(bayard tire in bayard Florida) and tech said left rear tire belts were broken. This is the fifth kumho tire that this has happened to. I had the front 2 replaced in April of 2012 (39000) and the rears replaced in Sept. Of 2012(40000) now the left rear tire has done the same thing at 55000 miles. This could cause a major accident if it would have blown out.

- Beaufort, SC, USA

problem #23

Nov 062013


  • 49,000 miles
My wife and I purchased a 2009 Dodge Journey R/T in January 2013 and at that time the used car dealer had installed a new set of kuhmo tires, 225/55X19 on the vehicle. The mileage at that time was approximately 42,500. In September 2013 while driving at approximately 60-65 mph, there was a pronounced shimmy from the front end and very visible shaking of the steering wheel. I then had the tires rebalanced and the front end checked for any possible problem. Again, after rebalancing the wheels (all 4), that did not cure the problem. It was at that time my wife and I decided to replace the kuhmo's. on November 8, 2013, they were replaced with Goodyear assurance triple tred size 235/55X19. So far, there is no shimmy or shake of the steering wheel. I have kept the kuhmo's if they are needed for analysis. This same problem has been mentioned in various Dodge Journey forums and there is a tsb concerning the kuhmo's.

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #22

Nov 062012


  • 43,018 miles
Have factory aluminum wheels. The mandated "safety" tire pressure sensors factory installed have a steel shaft through the rims. Road salt reacts with the metal properties cause rotting. In my case it broke off when the mechanic tried to top off air. Just as easy would be a bump causing one or more to break on the road. I complained directly to Dodge, after thinking it over for three weeks, they called and reported they have no intention of repairing their faulty material problem. This attitude towards a potentially accident causing problem is not an acceptable response.

- Valparaiso, IN, USA

problem #21

Dec 172012


  • 54,390 miles
We bought the Dodge Journey in Dec 2012 3 weeks or so later I returned to dealership with a clicking sound when I moved the steering wheel that the front end was shaking and that there was a load roar long story short every 6 months rotors brakes tires are having to be replaced and I guess what really set things more in motion was Jan 21 2014 while traveling down the interstate to take a sick child to the dr the left front tire valve steam blew out my husband got the car off the road only to jack it up to change tire when the weight of the vehicle bent the jack causing it to fall almost on my husbands foot, we bought this car because it was a V6 and had the room we need to travel to dr appts with our special needs child because we have to travel so far I have had nothing but trouble the dealership after a fight agreed to put new brakes the machined the rotors and said the steering was a Dodge thing nothing to worry about only the load clicking when pulling in or out of a parking space and the roar in the front they claim is the raos and they also at this time put 4 new tires on the car now mind you this was all done 7/6/13 and they done all of this when they purchased the car in 11/20/12 and when I go back in to the car fax every 6 months the breaks rotors and tires have to be replaced. Now here it is 6 months later for us and blow out also we just changes the rotors and brakes on the 11 of this month so see the 6 month deal with this car and when searching other complaints I am finding the same problem I have contacted Chrysler and they say call my dealership I informed [xxx] at Chrysler it was not the dealerships problem they didn't make the car. It is a death trap there are so many more issues with this car but the deadly ones are the tires blowing out the brakes crumbling and the rotors wearing out with in 6 months thank U and I so hope that someone can help us. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Hillsville , VA, USA

problem #20

Nov 232013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles


While driving home from local grocery store, rear drivers side tire suddenly became flat. I was able pull over to the side of the road. When my husband arrived to help, he attempted to put in some "fix a flat" to get me to the tire store less than 2 miles away and the valve stem went completely inside and all air was released from tire. He put on the spare and we took the tire to the tire store and had to purchase a new valve stem with sensor in it. Again, Dodge is putting faulty equipment into their cars and not acknowledging obvious flaws in their vehicles. This is another example of a safety recall that Dodge should be forced to put in place.

- Miamisburg, OH, USA

problem #19

Oct 262013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 46,900 miles
While traveling 70 mph from detroit to Ohio with three 13 year old boys in my car. The front passenger tire was extremely low. I was able to make it to a service station. When I attempted to put air in the tire, the valve broke, releasing all air in the tire. I contact road service through my insurance and they put the spare on. I then traveled to Firestone in sandusky, oh, where I was told that the tire could not be repaired. Unfortunately, they did not have my tire in stock as it is a 19" kuhmo. They were able to find one tire 100 miles from where I was in cleveland. So off I went to cleveland, where I spent $289 to replace a tire that was barely 10 months old due to the faulty valve. Today I contacted [xxx] at Suburban cjd of troy and was told that I would have to pay for the replacement of the valves. Not acceptable. I could have been killed along with the tree teenage passengers that I had in my car. Please advise as to how I should proceed. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Birmingham, MI, USA

problem #18

Sep 192013


  • 37,019 miles
Tire pressure sensors mounted on the valve stems on the wheels are cracking and will eventually fail causing a sudden loss of air to the tires that may lead to an accident that may cause serious injury or death.

- Canadian Lakes , MI, USA

problem #17

Mar 312013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
The valve stems on my 2009 Dodge Journey cracked causing the stem to fly out of the tire. This causes the tire to instantly go flat, which in turn makes the vehicle difficult to control. This has happened to me twice. Both times I was on the highway. Luckily I was able to control the car and get to the side of the road. If I had been in any other lane I most likely would have veered into another lane or in front of another car. I had to fix the other two tires as well as they were also cracked. This is apparently a problem that dealers/mechanics are aware of. Dodge is also aware. They have since changed the way the valves were made. They are now some type of plastic. The consumer however is not aware until something goes wrong. In both cases an accident could have easily happened. Again, I was lucky. By doing research on the internet I have found it happens to 2009 and 2010 vehicles. I have contacted Dodge and all I got we're apologies. If I lost my life or my children an apology wouldn't bring anyone back. The public needs to be aware of this issue before something terrible happens. When the stem blows out of the tire the air loss is instantaneous. There is no warning just loss of control over the vehicle. I truly hope that someone can help make others aware that this a problem.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #16

Jun 042013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 28,500 miles
While driving at about 25 mph the tire went flat. Mechanic said that the valve stem\tire pressure sensor had corroded and come loose causing the tire to deflate.

- Lasalle, AA, USA

problem #15

Mar 132013


  • 22,800 miles
Traveling at 60mph on West bound M-59 highway, in Michigan, when all air pressure lost out of rt. Rear tire. Managed to get car stopped in front of a belle tire store. Had them take car in for repairs and they told me that it was just one more failure, due to road salt, of the aluminum valve stem on a Chrysler TPMS air pressure sending unit. They advised me to replace unit on all four wheels because they would soon be failing. I replaced two of them at a cost of $65 each because that was all that I could afford. They said that it was a common problem and showed me a bushel of defective Chrysler (siemens) units. Since only the valve stems are bad, and easy to replace, I looked for replacements on the internet but found none. Too bad that they make you buy a $65 part over the failure of a $1 part. By-the way, there are units offered with rubber valve stems that hold up just like the old ones. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #14

Dec 082012


  • 80,423 miles
During regular oil change the service manager notified me that my tire pressure valve stems on three wheels had corroded to the point of breaking off. One tire lost pressure completely, requiring me to have it replaced immediately. If this had occurred on the road it could have been disastrous.

- Crown Point, IN, USA

problem #13

Dec 012012

Journey 4-cyl

  • 59,600 miles
Wheels, brakes, and rotors deteriorate prematurely and/or shortly after the warranty expires resulting in an excessive cost to the consumer and the potential for a complete brake and tire failure.

- Fremont, OH, USA

problem #12

Nov 142012


  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that while driving approximately 55 mph, he heard a loud noise which sounded as though the tire rim scraping onto the ground. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road. He noticed the rear passenger's side tire completely deflated. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who stated the tire pressure sensor in combination with the valve stem were defective. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 58,000.

- Polland, NY, USA

problem #11

Aug 122012


  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that after having the tires rotated, the front passenger side tire pressure monitoring system failed. The contact stated hat the stem fractured during rotation. The contact took the vehicle to a mechanic and was told that the stems would often brake due to corrosion. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileages were 47,000.

- Towanda, IL, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?