If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

CarComplaints.com Notes: I hope I can stop you from buying this vehicle before you find out that it won't be able to stop you.

7.8

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$390.00
Average Mileage:
108,648 miles
Total Complaints:
106 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace with good quality pads and rotors (46 reports)
  2. not sure (17 reports)
  3. replace brakes and rotors (16 reports)
  4. Chrysler extending warranty to 36k miles (8 reports)
  5. Dodge did not pay a penny! (5 reports)
  6. dealer paid after calling Dodge (4 reports)
2010 Dodge Journey brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #106

Apr 062015

Journey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since I purchased this vehicle in 2010, I have had to change the brakes at least 4 or 5 times, that is unheard of! Its either the front or the back every 10,000 miles. I have had other vehicles and only have changed rear brakes maybe once in its lifetime.

- , Temecula, CA, USA

problem #105

Apr 012011

Journey LX 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,303 miles

Never expected the brakes to be faulty. The rotors in front were warped. The left front. Paperwork says rotors resurfaced. That never happened. I was told I needed front end aligned. Got another opinion from out of state and was told the rotor was warped which was the cause of the shaking when brakes were applied. I will never purchase a Dodge ever.

- , Mobile, AL, USA

problem #104

Jun 082015

Journey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,900 miles

I just had my rear brake pads replaced 3 months ago and the rear passenger side brake pad has worn down almost completely but only on the inside of the brake pad.

- , Brooklyn, OH, USA

problem #103

Jan 132015

Journey R/T 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 10 Dodge Journey, I am also a ASE certified Mechanic. My wife drives this thing easy. No matter what brand of rotors or pads I use the problem comes back.. The problem I see is, the brakes are not up to par, basically to small for this vehicle.. The rotors should have been at least 1 to 1.5 inches larger in Diameter.

Update from Jul 30, 2015: I Have fixed the problem with the pre-mature wearing brakes and warped rotors.. I upgraded my 2010 journey to 2014 disc brakes, calipers and rotors.. These new rotors are 13 in in dia.. It also went from a single piston caliper to a dual piston calipers.. easy to do..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YA8UkL3ygF4

- , Cottage Hills, IL, USA

problem #102

May 222015

Journey RT 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,727 miles

Car purchased in Sept 2010. In March 2011 received letter from Chrysler on extended 3 and 36000 warranty due to abnormal wear. In Aug 2013 (MILEAGE 25851) Dealer replaced pads and rotors under warranty. Oct 2013 (mileage 28170) same issue developed in rear brakes. Rear rotors were resurfaced at my expense ($216), pads not replaced. May 22, 2015 (mileage 37727) Car again developed front end shake due to uneven wear of rotors. Pads replaced and rotors were cut at my expense ($300).

I have owned Chrysler products since 1970 and I have never experienced such brake wear or rotor issues in any car I have owned. This vehicle is used around town, at low speeds in an area without any hills.

- , Sebastian, USA

problem #101

May 082015

Journey Sports Utility 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,600,000 miles

Overall my truck is great. The only problem I have is the premature brakes and rotor issue which is extremely unsafe and costly.

Update from Jun 4, 2015: O.k here we go again, 5 months ago I had to replace my rotors ,calipers and pads. Now they say I need to replace the same 3 things again and of course I'm concerned about safety 1st, I only have 1 mode of transportation. The mechanic stated the it's definitely a manufacture issue having to do with the quality of the brakes they're using .This is horrible at best we're talking about $ 500.00 at best. This is ridiculous ! And Dodge refuse to acknowledge the problem or even respond to my concerns.

Help !

- , Forest Park, GA, USA

problem #100

Feb 102015

Journey SE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Set #5, I almost got 20000 miles on one set of brakes, that would have been a record.

- , Royal Oak, MI, USA

problem #99

Aug 032013

Journey SE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles

48000 miles and now on my fourth set of brakes, This time I had the front brakes done as well.

- , Royal Oak, MI, USA

problem #98

Oct 012012

Journey SE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles

Replaced brakes again, now on to the third set of brakes

- , Royal Oak, MI, USA

problem #97

Oct 012011

Journey SE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles

Worn Rear brakes 18000 miles. Not Covered under warranty

- , Royal Oak, MI, USA

problem #96

Dec 102014

Journey SXT 3.5L V6 Sohc 24v

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Had new brakes and rotor installed Sept. Now told have 40% left on brakes. ARE YOU KIDDING ME??? Yes, high quality was used.

- , Raytown, MO, USA

problem #95

Oct 172014

Journey SXT 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,951 miles

I AM SO FREAKING OVER THIS ISSUE! Seriously Dodge... recall the car and fix the brakes. This is my one and only vehicle to transport my kids and I school and work. I teach high school English and take my kids to practices and dance recitals. I'm not slam shifting or drifting the car like I'm on a dirt track. There is no reason for a car to need brakes 3 times in less than 3 years. It's not the parts...it's the brake system. The horrible factory parts have been replaced 4 times over and it is still causing issues.

I can't trade the car off because I can't afford to take on a new payment. I will never buy a Dodge again. Burned your bridge with me Chrysler.

- , Burkburnett, TX, USA

problem #94

Jul 162013

Journey SXT 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,356 miles

Oh the joy.... 20K miles and here the problem comes back. Replace front and back brakes and resurface rotor. Previously replaced the rotor because it was warped.

- , Burkburnett, TX, USA

problem #93

Mar 252012

Journey SXT 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,452 miles

Less than 6 months of ownership lead me to the auto repair shop for a costly repair. Front and Back brakes and replacement on the right rear rotor. I was able to buy the parts myself and get it installed at a national repair chain.

- , Burkburnett, TX, USA

problem #92

Oct 182014

Journey SXT 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,600 miles

Took car in for service this morning. Now I'm looking at a $1200 repair. What I was hoping was a simple brake pad replacement has now become a saga. Service tech reports that the parking brake is engaged on the right side and not on the left when the regular brakes are applied.

Recommendation is to replace brake lines, rear calipers, front right rotor and pads all the way around by independent car repair center. Waiting for Dodge dealership service which will take a week to get me in. No car to drive until Dodge submits notice for warranty approval.

Total brake failure.... Slid through a stop sign and into a ditch. Luckily I felt the brakes get spongy and had enough time to at least slow it with putting the parking brake on. Not injured but scared the crap out of me. I hate this car.

- , Burkburnett, TX, USA

problem #91

Aug 012014

Journey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles

I bought this car with 6000 miles and the brakes should be fine for longer than this. I would like Dodge to pay for brake pads and rotors.

- , Cuyahoga Falls, OH, USA

problem #90

Jun 182014

Journey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,389 miles

I have owned several cars in the past 20 years. Out of all of them, I have maybe had to have brake work done once and that was on a car that was ten years old. Our Journey is less than 3 and requires new rotors, shoes and probably calipers. Weak.

- , Port Hope, Ontario, canada

problem #89

Sep 282010

Journey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,628 miles

Car would "shimmy" and "shutter" when applying brakes. Brought car to dealer to fix problem. Dealer fixed the problem told me that is should fix the problem. Fixed problem until it happened again.

- , Stony Brook, NY, USA

problem #88

Jul 122012

Journey RT 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,556 miles

The brakes are continuing to have premature wear. At times the car will not start. I will have to try and try and try and try to keep turning the key on and off. Sometimes I have to sit for 30 minutes trying to start the Journey before it will start. The dealer said they cannot fix it because it did not do it while the car is in there. I would think that we are not the only ones to experience this problem.

The dealer (Kolosso) made no effort to research this problem in their records to see if there were existing cases where they could possibly help us. My wife and I are close to retirement age. I have in the past last Chrysler products for over 20 years. I told my wife I would buy one more car to carry us to retirement. My wife chose the Dodge Journey. WHAT A MISTAKE. I may end up having to sell this junk and buy something reliable.

- , Greenville, WI, USA

problem #87

Aug 082014

Journey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles

The rotor warped going down the mountain the first time, they are way too small for the weight of the vehicle. I've had them replaced numerous times. They need to provide heavier duty rotors at no cost. Chrysler needs to fix this !

- , Banco, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?