Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: I hope I can stop you from buying this vehicle before you find out that it won't be able to stop you.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,993 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Dodge Journey brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 4 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #16

Sep 072011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 18,000 miles


I have had my front brakes replace and back brakes and rotors replaced twice an only have 37,300 miles on my car I am scared that my brakes would fails transporting my 3 kids how the brakes and rotors wear this quick.

- Maple Heights, OH, USA

problem #15

Apr 052010

Journey 6-cyl

  • 15,655 miles
Vehicle has had 3 recalls replaced through time. The brakes have been an ongoing issue. I have brought in for steering wheel shaking, to wheels sounding like metal grinding to now a screeching high pitched noise. The front brakes were replaced and I was told all was well. Again louder screeching and the noise isn't a consistent noise all the time so its hard for me to show the problem let alone pin point what's going on. A week after I bought the car the entire electrical inside the car turned off while I was crossing a bridge. It scared me half to death. And even now with my little girl and I in the car I am scared at times to drive not knowing what to expect or what else could go wrong.

- Gulf Breeze, FL, USA

problem #14

May 012010


  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that while the brake was engaged, the steering wheel began to shake and jerk abnormally. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic several times for the failure. The brake pads and rotors were replaced several times however, the failure was not corrected and the steering wheel continued to shake when the brake was engaged. The failure mileage was 33,000 and the current mileage was 60,000.

- Maypearl, TX, USA

problem #13

Jun 062011

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles


I have had to replace front and rear brakes on this vehicle at a huge expense and the poor stopping ability caused premature wear of my tires which also had to be replaced at a large expense. Also, on multiple occasions my vehicle will not crank when the key is turned. The lights, radio, and windows continue to work, ruling out the battery as the cause. You can hear a "click" when the key is turned but the car remains dead. I have been stranded in dangerous situations when this has happened. Each time the vehicle has been taken to service, no remedy is made as I am told that the problem can not be duplicated. The vehicle is currently in for repair with the same issue. I have asked to have the electrical system checked because I have had issues with multiple bulbs blowing out, (all at the same time), one window not raising or lowering from the passenger button only and a multitude of other quirky, electrical items. I feel that this vehicle is unsafe.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #12

Aug 042012

Journey 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
The check engine keeps on coming on and staying on. I have noticed problems with the car losing power while I am driving or accelerating; this has happened several time. I recently had to replace the brakes and rotors; it drives horribly every time I tried to stop the car would tremble. I expected the car to not have these problems as it is fairly new and I do not consider it to have alot of mileage. I am really concerned about these problems as I drive my car with three small children. I don't have the money to keep taking it for a diagnostic each time the light comes on; if the company is aware of this problem; they shouldn't charge people so much to check the codes or they should have a recall to fix the ongoing problems.

- Vista, CA, USA

problem #11

Jun 082011


  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Journey. While driving approximately 65 mph, the brake pedal pulsated upon engaging with a loud noise. In addition, the steering wheel began to shimmy. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer three times where the front brakes and rear brakes were replaced however, the failure recurred. The vehicle had not been repaired for the most recent failure. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 6,000.

- Apple Valley, CA, USA

problem #10

May 102011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 13,000 miles


May 10, 2011 with 25917 km on the vehicle and at that time windsor Chrysler replaced my front rotors and brake pads on both sides of the vehicle. On March 15, 2012 I started experiencing braking problems again with 45029 km on the vehicle and once again windsor Chrysler replaced my front rotors and brake pads on both sides of the vehicle. On both occasions the vehicle would shake violently left to right when I was braking at speed of 100 km when as this occurred suddenly without any other warning that the braking system failed and needs repair. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Royal Oak, MI, USA

problem #9

Feb 012012

Journey 6-cyl

  • 17,000 miles
We received notice that there was a voluntary brake recall from Dodge Jan or Feb 2012. At the time my wife was experiencing jerking and pulling to the steering wheel when braking. We took the vehicle to the dealership and we were advised that the front pads and rotors would have to be replaced and Dodge would cover the cost. This was around Feb/Mar 2012 with approximately 17K on the vehicle. On 4 Aug we took the vehicle back to Dodge due to the same braking problems and a check engine light. We were advised that the check engine light was caused by a crack piston head and Dodge stated that the piston would be replaced under warranty. However, we were then advised that the jerking and pulling in the steering was caused by the rear brakes and we would have to paid $534 to have the rear rotors and pads replaced. This didn't sound right to me so I checked for any tsb/recalls, the cas website, and NHTSA website I found out that the brake problems (both front and rear) have been a serious issue with Dodge and repairs and costs have been all over the board with Dodge excepting no real fix except charging car owners on repeated repairs that only fix the problem for 3-9K. If this is the case NHTSA should mandate Dodge to properly fix this problem with correct parts or fully recall all of these vehicles. Dodge is putting my wife and son in danger everytime they set foot in the vehicle, and that is something the Agency for highway safety should not allow to continue. We consumers need a real fix and not a bandaide on a defective product and your Agency should not allow Dodge to continue to ignore this problem. NHTSA should not have to wait for someone to lose their life before taking action against Dodge. We are not beans to count, we are people!

- Cheverly, MD, USA

problem #8

May 242010


  • 1,389 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that there were multiple failures with the vehicle. While traveling 3 mph in reverse, a grinding noise emitted from the brakes. The second failure occurred as the contact was traveling 25-30 mph and the brakes were depressed but the vehicle started to shake violently. On a separate occasion as the contact was traveling 25 mph, the anti-lock braking warning light illuminated and the vehicle again began to shake violently. The fourth failure occurred as the contact was traveling 25 mph and a burning smell emitted from the rear of the vehicle as the steering wheel began to shake abnormally. The most recent failure occurred when the contact was traveling 55 mph and the steering wheel began to shake after the brakes were depressed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer eight times. The dealer confirmed that the front brakes and both rotors needed to be replaced. The dealer also confirmed that the anti-lock braking sensor, as well as the passenger side hub and bearings needed to be replaced. In addition, the rear brakes and rear calipers would need replacing. The manufacturer was contacted but the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 1,389 and the current mileage was 39,550.

- Hillside, NJ, USA

problem #7

Jun 012011


  • 12,000 miles
Vehicle has been in the shop 4 times for uneven braking and premature brake wear. Braking becomes difficult and unsafe after 10-12K miles. We are on our 3rd set of brakes and rotors in 35K miles. Vehicle shutters and braking distances become significantly higher than normal after a short time.

- Montgomery, NY, USA

problem #6

Jun 112012


  • 36,315 miles


My brakes started to grind two weeks ago. I had to have both the pads and rotors replaced. Dodge in medina, Ohio stated that they are not sure why I had premature wear and would not cover the cost of repair. I stated that I am aware of the problems of the Journeys breaks, however it got me no where. I had to pay to replace them totally out of pocket costing $364.93.

- Medina, OH, USA

problem #5

Feb 112012

Journey 6-cyl

  • 24,000 miles
It was a Saturday morning (about 9am) and I am driving about 70 miles to my destination, the brakes felt like they were applied for about 1-2 seconds then released without my foot anywhere near the brakes, the steering wheel pulls me but I am able to take control of the vehicle. I continue for about another 5 more miles, and it happens again, this time more violently. I was doing the same speed as before, about 70 mph and vehicle was travelling in the second left lane and the lanes were veering to the left. The brakes applied at a much stronger rate and again, I almost lost control of the vehicle, feeling as though the vehicle was pulling me to the left as if to intend to spin out of control. Luckily, I was able to re-gain control of the vehilce. I called normandin again, they towed my vehicle to the dealership and after 3 weeks of having it and "driving the vehicle hard", they were not able to replicate the incident that occured to me, therefore, unable to pinpoint the cause. They advised me that the back rotors need to be replaced as they are shaking but that the extended warranty only covers the front. I would have to pay out of pocket for the rearafter 3 weeks, I have my husband drive the car home from the dealer (the warranty only covers tow's to the dealership, not from the dealership). The car sat in the parking garage since that day and it is now June, 2012 and I refuse to drive it any more.

- Mountain View, CA, USA

problem #4

Nov 162006

Journey 6-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
Brake squealing and serious massive vibration.

- Apo, AE, USA

problem #3

Jun 202011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 16,607 miles
I had major pulsating / vibrating when braking on my 2010 Dodge Journey after only 16K. I discovered this is a common problem, there are many complaints and even a few class action lawsuits alleging the brake were under engineered / under sized for this car, at least on the 2009 & 2010 models. I was pleased to learn that Chrysler extended the warranty (acknowledging the problem) on the brakes for these vehicles, but was not pleased to find out that 1) they want you to pay a $50 or $100 "deductible" to fix the problem (that they acknowledged by extending the warranty) 2) the warranty is only extended to 36K miles and 3) that the warranty only applies to the front brakes and my rear brakes were also warped, which I argue is the result of the front brakes being undersized in the first else do you explain warped front and rear rotors on a vehicle only 1 yr old and only 16K miles? I paid the $50 deductible for the front brakes, plus $199 + tax (rear brakes) to get back on the road, and promptly called Chrysler customer service to pitch a fit and let them know what I though about having to pay one cent out of my pocket for a problem that is well documented and they acknowledged (by extending the warranty). I eventually received a full reimbursement from Chrysler for the full amount I paid, including their $50 "deductible". I was very happy with this resolution, but still disappointed that I had to even pay out of pocket and initiate the complaint in the first place to get reimbursed, when they are fully aware of the issue. Fast forward less than 1 year later and about 14K miles later exact same problem. Unacceptable. I now have to go through this again, and I am not happy. Chrysler should issue a recall and replace the brakes on these vehicles! this is a safety issue. Enough with the half @$$ attempt of "extending warranties" and "deductibles".

- Noblesville, IN, USA

problem #2

May 252012

Journey 6-cyl

  • 11,764 miles
Problem description: Purchased new 2/26/11 - on 5/25/12 the vehicle had 11764 actual miles. Heard squealing noise when applying brakes - took to dealership and rear rotors warped and rear pads noisy. Dealership replaced rear rotors and pads. Picked up vehicle afternoon of 5/25/12. Drove vehicle home and have only driven vehicle yesterday 5/29/12 and today 5/30/12 to work and, again, the squealing has occurred on my way home (5/30/12). Called the service manager immediately and reported. Am taking into dealership first thing in morning again (5/31/12). [*also please note that on 01/13/12 I had a fluid leak under left front of vehicle and the vehicle was inspected by the dealership where purchased and the dealership had to replace a left axleshaft seal which they stated was a defect.]

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #1

May 142012


  • 32,500 miles
Nthsa, good morning, I have been experiencing concerns regarding the braking system on my 2010 Dodge Journey. When driving at speeds over 55 mph on the highway and having to apply the brakes the steering wheel begin to shake back and forth and this is somewhat alarming to both me and my wife. I have had many vehicles in the past and I have not ever experienced this before. Is there a recall on the braking system or should we be alarmed and more importantly what should be done" contact Dodge and file a complaint or ask them if their is a recall on the braking system? please assist" sincerely, Mr. Frederick rott msgt retired usmc

- Spotsylvania, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?