Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: I hope I can stop you from buying this vehicle before you find out that it won't be able to stop you.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,901 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Dodge Journey engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #48

Jun 152013

Journey

  • 49,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Journey. While driving 55 mph, the engine stalled. The vehicle was able to restart. The contact also stated that the traction control independently activated and deactivated. The failure occurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 49,000.

- Martinsville, VA, USA

problem #47

Oct 162013

Journey

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Journey. The contact stated while driving approximately 25 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. After several attempts, the vehicle restarted but shut off again. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Forest Park , GA, USA

problem #46

Oct 232014

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
As I left work tonight at 8:30 pm I made it 4 block when my car cut off again it took me a extra hour driving with my hazard lights when are you going to replace my recall part I hate for my engine to become damaged, I need a rental until you can replace my parts please.

- Forest Park, GA, USA

problem #45

Oct 052013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My first complaint is that if my husband or myself accidentally hit the ignition switch while the car is in motion the car will shut off. In addition if this happens before we start driving the car will shut off and the dash board, the center console and the ac will all shut off. I have informed Dodge of this problem twice and have not gotten any correspondence in return. During the second call I was informed that if I did not have a recall notice sent to me that my car is not apart of any active recalls and therefore they cannot do anything for me. Secondly, just recently on 10/16/2014 while I was trying to take my 7 year old son to the er, my car would not start. I thought it could be the battery, but the lights and everything else was working. After several attempts and after me tapping the ignition switch the car finally started. Everything in the car comes on however, the car makes a clicking noise and does nothing else. A week later it did the same exact thing on 10/22/14. I looked online and all behold there are several complaints going back to 2009 there are also youtube videos. My question is why is Dodge not being held responsible for there negligence, clearly there is a known issue. What tragedy has to happen before Dodge does something to resolves these issues for their customers. I would also like to add that the Dodge Journey is by far the worst car that Dodge has ever produced!

- West Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #44

Oct 052013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
My first complaint is that if my husband or myself accidentally hit the ignition switch while the car is in motion the car will shut off. In addition if this happens before we start driving the car will shut off and the dash board, the center console and the ac will all shut off. I have informed Dodge of this problem twice and have not gotten any correspondance in return. During the second call I was informed that if I did not have a recall notice sent to me that my car is not apart of any active recalls and therefore they cannot do anything for me. Secondally, just recently on 10/16/2014 while I was trying to take my 7 year old son to the er, my car would not start. I thought it could be the battery, but the lights and everything else was working. After several attempts and after me tapping the ignition switch the car finally started. Everything in the car comes on however, the car makes a clicking noise and does nothing else. A week later it did the same exact thing on 10/22/14. I looked online and all behold there are several complaints going back to 2009 there are also youtube videos. My question is why is Dodge not being held responsible for there negligence, cleary there is a known issue. What tragedy has to happen before Dodge does something to resolves these issues for their customers. I would also like to add that the Dodge Journey is by far the worst car that Dodge has ever produced!

- West Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #43

Oct 152014

Journey

  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start on the first attempt. The contact also stated that the vehicle stalled. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and confirmed that the part was not available for the remedy. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 92,000.

- Riverside , CA, USA

problem #42

Oct 152014

Journey 6-cyl

  • 129,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On my way home from work this evening I have never been so afraid, my car cut off at ever stop sign, I am a single lady have to work evenings this is terrible, I was told the dealer who will be fixing my car the recall parts are not in, please help.

- Forest Park, GA, USA

problem #41

Oct 062014

Journey 6-cyl

  • 70,906 miles
Driving at about 55 the temp out side was about 75-80 and all the sudden the alarm for the engine temp started going off and it went from 1/2 to over heated instantly with steam rolling out from the hood. I'm a firefighter so instantly pulled over jumped out looking for flames and getting my kids and wife out of the car, noticed it was only over heating and let it cool down and drove it to the in-laws let it sit for 3 hours and tried driving it again and less than a mile down the road same thing happened. Had the thermostat changed it fixed it for about 3 hours. I called Dodge they said they have had complaints of that but not enough to recall them. Just build it right the first time. If the 2009 had the same problem don't use the same engine or parts for the next years vehicles. That's only common sense. I would like to take it back and have the CEO of Dodge take his/her family for a ride in it and feel safe probably not gonna happen.

- Marlow , OK, USA

problem #40

Sep 262013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
I purchased a used Journey from Nissan morrow ga, a week or two I began having problems, first time I was leaving and the car did not start so they towed the result I needed a battery so I changed it lwhen leaving work at night I get a block or two away and the car stalls at least twice a month and tonight taking my co-worker to the train it cut off.

- Forest Park, GA, USA

problem #39

Sep 282014

Journey 6-cyl

  • 69,043 miles
Since January 2014 I have taken my vehicle in multiple times to the dealership for intermittent starting issues.it also has a slow crank occasionally this is more random then it not starting. When I try to start it it just clicks. If I wait a few minutes then try to start it again eventually it will start. This car has left me stranded many times and late for work/appointments. The dealership has replaced the tipm fuse box, starter, battery and all key fobs and it still will not start randomly. I have noticed that most of the time when it will not start it is because the car is hot(after being driven for a significant amount of time) or simply just sitting out in the sunlight. When the dealership hooks it up the their machine it does not throw an error code. So they keep telling me "they are scratching their heads they do not know what is wrong and do not know how to fix it" this is not an acceptable answer to me after looking on this website there are multiple complaints for the same issue. Chrysler needs to figure it out and put out a recall for it. I have called Chrysler customer support multiple times I have had a case open for 4 weeks I have never heard from my case manager just someone calling on her behalf. I can't seem to get anywhere with Dodge. I am taking it back to the dealership tomorrow. I have taken it to the dealership every Monday for the last 5 weeks. They keep it for 3 or 4 days then send it home with no results.. I am not taking it back from this time without better results. This car is only 4 years old it should be a reliable car. I shouldn't be afraid to take it somewhere.

- Grain Valley, MO, USA

problem #38

Sep 152014

Journey

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Getting on ramp to expressway. Heard S tapping. Engine light didn't come on til I ewas going round 70. Now I heard tapping every time I put my foot on gas pedal. Took to mechanic he said my engine is tapping. Could fix but tapping (ticking) would come back again. A defect in engine.

- Flint, MI, USA

problem #37

Jun 022014

Journey

  • 90,000 miles
Sometimes the vehicle won't start. It is in the dealership again today. This is the 4th time in the past 2 months. Dodge can't figure it out. They have been trying but to no avail. We have figured out if you wiggle the gear shift the car will start after a little while. Hopefully Dodge will check the sensors in the gear shift during this visit. It is getting old having to keep taking the car back in the shop. Dodge has been great with working with us but we still have the problem.

- Madison, AL, USA

problem #36

Jul 052014

Journey 6-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
While car is running it just stops. Has done it at least 10 times on freeway and on surface streets car just stops running. Have to put in neutral and re start it. Very dangerous. Vehicle is not safe. Have taken it to dealer but they tell me they can find nothing wrong with vehicle.

- Vacaville, CA, USA

problem #35

Aug 262014

Journey 4-cyl

  • 67,800 miles
Have a complaint about my 2010 Dodge Journey SE. For the last two months it has been an ongoing issue. I had the starter replaced, the win module replaced. Problem went away for a few weeks. Then came back. It has been no starting on and off the last two weeks. Everything else works when I turn the ignition. But nothing happens with the engine. August 26th, 2014 I went to pick my son up from daycare. My car wouldn't start. It wouldn't start all evening. Then the following day it started and I had my fiance take it because I am nervous and uncomfortable driving my car. After my fiance got out of work the car wouldn't start and he had to leave it at work. It is effecting my work and my personal life. It was smoldering hot out and I was with my son. I can't keep doing this with my car. I don't know if it's a tipm issue, but I also have the suggestion that it's a faulty transmission range sensor as well. Please help me. My loan is worth more than the actual car. And my last option is to take it to a dealership in inwood, NY that has a bad reputation for fixing things that don't need to be fixed.

- Island Park, NY, USA

problem #34

Jun 062014

Journey 6-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
Just like many 2009 and 2010 Journey owners, I too have experienced the vehicle not turning over to start. It has happened approximately 2 dozen times in the past 2 months at random. Sometimes the vehicle will not start 3 times in one day and then the problem will not occur for another week. Once the key is in the ignition and I turn it, I have battery power, it simply will not push through to actually start the vehicle. This is very irritating and I have not been able to duplicate for the dealer so of course they will do nothing for me. I also have noticed that on the freeway, when getting above 60 the steering wheel feels shaking which is quite terrifying and then if I go to break, it feels very wobbly. Again, not something that I can reproduce at the dealer and therefore cannot be fixed. I loved my car for the first couple years I owned it, but lately it is not up to par and worries me to drive with my 2 kids in fear of the unpredictable steering issue or being stranded if it decides to not start at all.

- Waterford, MI, USA

problem #33

Jul 312014

Journey 6-cyl

  • 32,500 miles
I was sitting at the approach to our driveway with my foot on the brake, waiting to ensure my grandchildren had safely cleared the driveway area. Without warning, there was a sound like the car engine revving up, the car starting moving/lunging forward on its own and all attempts to apply the brakes to stop the car failed. I quickly steered toward a tree in my front yard where I chose to crash my car in order to stop its continued acceleration. The cause of the acceleration is unknown. If I had not chosen to hit the tree, the car was headed for my front porch/house where my grandchildren had gone to clear the driveway area. A contractor working on my neighbor¿'s property came to assist me and turned off the car engine. There was a strong burning odor/chemical smell permeating my car after the crash. In spite of the impact, my air bag did not deploy. We called 911, the insurance company and he car was towed to a collision shop. Registered a formal complaint to Chrysler corporation the night of the crash.

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #32

Mar 152014

Journey 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Like most of the people posting, I have also experienced the same issues. My Journey will often times not start on the first, second, third or fourth try. At times it takes 1 minute to start, at other times it takes an hour or more. Additionally, I have experienced the very concerning random honking. It happens when the car is turned off, driving down the road or just stopped at a red light. The honks can last anywhere from 1 second to minutes worth of intermittent beeps. This is by far and away the absolute worst car I have ever purchased.

- Saginaw, TX, USA

problem #31

Jun 282013

Journey 4-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Journey. The contact stated while attempting to accelerate from an idle position the vehicle suddenly stalled. The vehicle could not be restarted until approximately two hours later. The contact indicated that the failure occurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 49,000. Updated 8/19/14 the consumer stated the ignition snapped out of position when the vehicle was running, and the vehicle would not re-start. The electrical system was checked four times. Updated 09/16/14

- Plymoth, MI, USA

problem #30

Oct 082013

Journey

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Journey. The contact stated while driving without warning the vehicle would stall. While starting the vehicle it would shut off when the gear shifted into drive. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure; however, the spark plugs were repaired and the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 40,000. The current mileage was 53,000.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #29

Jun 142014

Journey

  • 54,000 miles
For the past several months the car will simply turn off while we are driving it. So far we've been able to get the car over to the side of the road to re-start it. I noticed there is a recall regarding this problem, but it seems our vehicle isn't included in the recall. I've taken it to two dealerships, but they cannot locate the source of the trouble. I've contacted Dodge directly and have been told, again, that our vehicle isn't included in the recall, and that we can't expect the dealership to repair a problem that they can't find the source of. But this problem isn't new and has been identified in the past - why don't they know the source of the problem? this is our family vehicle and we are concerned about the safety of the car - especially considering the latest news coverage of a similar problem in another brand of automobile.

- Rock Island, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?