CarComplaints.com Notes: I hope I can stop you from buying this vehicle before you find out that it won't be able to stop you.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,907 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Dodge Journey engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 5 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #13

Jan 032013

Journey

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since we purchased our Dodge Journey it's been nothing but problems we own a 2010 Journey. We've had to replace brakes and rotors, steering makes a very loud noise when turning almost sounds like electricity and my vehicle is not the only one I witness the same problem with another persons car same Dodge Journey we always get our car the necessary oil changes and my engine makes a very funny noise even our mechanic was worried he told us that our car is still new that my engine has to be leaking because everytime we get our routine oil changes it seems like the car is low on oil. Also when I start driving away it loses speed and make a very ugly sound. This is by far the worst investment ever do not throw your money away on anything Dodge or Chrysler garbage expensive garbage then when you call them up they say they can't do anything about it. I think the government should be more strict on these kind of things this is our money here we pay taxes on these car more should be done to protect the consumer.

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #12

Apr 212013

Journey

  • 34,000 miles
The Dodge Journey has a history of transmission faults, loud and noisy and rough transmission shifts. While shifting into a great it will make a loud thud and the car will jerk. We started to get used to this as it has happened since day 1. we let Chrysler know about this and apparently this is "normal." I have never had a similar issue with any other car so to me it is not normal. So fast forward to this past weekend. We were going to tow a few items and drop them off. So everything is loaded and ready to tow, we are on a flat surface with no incline at all, start the car up and put it into drive and bam! a loud noise while we tried to put it into gear. The car was still running while this happened and we started to roll backwards, while in drive. I tried to hit the gas but it just revved a few thousand rpms. I hit the brakes and put it into park and then drive again, but the transmission was still not engaging. Something happened causing the loud bang and no throttle response to the drivetrain. After I put it in park, walked around and then got back in starting the car up again; the car engaged gear this time. Everything ran perfect and then I took it to the Chrysler dealership, they said they could find no evidence what happened or what was wrong, but reassured me again that the loud transmission shifts are normal. So this could be potentially dangerous if this was to happen while on the road or at a stop somewhere.

- Cadillac, MI, USA

problem #11

Nov 212012

Journey 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Vehicle will stall just after it has been started. It will sometimes only do this once and other times it will take multiple re-starts before it stays running. This is a weekly occurrence. Other times it will stall while driving at highway speeds. So far, it has always restarted. I have tried both key fobs and replaced both battery's I have found multiple web sights (including this one at an earlier date) stating Dodge is aware of this problem and at one point had a recall scheduled. Recall # L02 but now it seems not it is not a valid recall.

- Tustin, MI, USA

problem #10

Feb 012013

Journey

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, she would hear a hard knocking noise from the driver's side of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they advised that they were unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was approximately 65,000. The current mileage was approximately 71,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Slocomb, AL, USA

problem #9

Feb 262013

Journey 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I have had 2010 Dodge Journey since May 2012 and needed to take car to dealerlship for atleast 4 different issues. However, the problem that occured on February 28, 2013 has me bewildered and very uneasy about driving with my family and ever ever purchasing a Dodge or Chrysler vehicle again-and the U.S.a. wants us to buy and support american made products. On 02/28/12, I was rushing to get my son to a meeting and when we got out of car, locked the door and went in building. When we returned, put the key in ignition and just clicking noise with everything working except for the car cranking. I waited about 30 minutes and then tried to crank but no such luck. It was late in the evening, and here I am with my babies in the car, on a school night, and trying to call a tow. My cousin did come out, we attempted jumper cables and then went to get gas and it started. I went to the gas station to fill up just in case, ignition still on and the car cuts off and doesnt restart. I contacted a tow again and an hour and half later when tow arrived; it cranked for the tow driver. Once I got home and parked, the car would not start again. When my husband got home about 4hours later, it still would not crank. On 3/1/13 attempted to take kids to school and car would not start. It did finally crank after it was too late and we took to a licensed mechanic to complete a diagnostic. He kept all day testing and to no avail, no codes or problems appeared. It did crank but I'm very fearful of driving the car now with my family. I contacted several Dodge dealerships, Dodge customer service, and Dodge techauthority and no one seemed to know or have heard of the problem im having.

- South Holland, IL, USA

problem #8

Dec 112012

Journey

  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection and the contact was advised that the egr valve needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 74,000.

- Rawlings, MD, USA

problem #7

Jul 192012

Journey 6-cyl

  • 32,204 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This 2010 Dodge Journey SXT which was delivered to me on 18 March 2010. On 19 July 2010 I had to take this vehicle to tucson Dodge when the check engine came on and the vehicle commenced to shudder. Examination by the service department found that the # 1 cylinder was misfiring and the intake and exhaust valves were not sealing properly.also, the lower intake manifold plug was seeping coolant. The expansion coolant tank was leaking at the seam. These problems necessitated the replacement of the entire right cylinder head assembly and lower intake manifold, and expansion coolant tank. After repair and return of the vehicle to me, 26 July 2012, upon starting the vehicle a distinct clicking noise was heard. Which I reported to the service department who were quite dismissive about it. On or about 27 August I returned to the dealership the clicking was getting louder and the vehicle was shuddering again. This necessitated a second engine repair. "the rocker arms are walking due to worn blocks and rockers". ergo the left and right bank rocker arms/shafts/tappets had to be replaced. Chrysler has failed.neglected and refused to replace the engine in its entirety despite my demand that they do because of repeated documented defects therewith. This engine should not have been broken down and repaired. Evidence the second engine parts failure. Also, why should the blocks be worn at 32K miles? I am thinking that they were worn when they were put in at the factory and an inspector missed this if in fact they were even inspected at assembly.I have absolutely no confidence in the roadworthiness of this vehicle. This engine presents a serious threat to the safety and wellbeing of me and/or my wife and grandchildren while we are out in the vehicle. I am concerned that the engine next will seize or shut down putting me or them in harms way without warning.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #6

Jun 062011

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
I have had to replace front and rear brakes on this vehicle at a huge expense and the poor stopping ability caused premature wear of my tires which also had to be replaced at a large expense. Also, on multiple occasions my vehicle will not crank when the key is turned. The lights, radio, and windows continue to work, ruling out the battery as the cause. You can hear a "click" when the key is turned but the car remains dead. I have been stranded in dangerous situations when this has happened. Each time the vehicle has been taken to service, no remedy is made as I am told that the problem can not be duplicated. The vehicle is currently in for repair with the same issue. I have asked to have the electrical system checked because I have had issues with multiple bulbs blowing out, (all at the same time), one window not raising or lowering from the passenger button only and a multitude of other quirky, electrical items. I feel that this vehicle is unsafe.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #5

Aug 162012

Journey

  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 56,000.

- Jackson , TN, USA

problem #4

Feb 012012

Journey 6-cyl

  • 17,000 miles
We received notice that there was a voluntary brake recall from Dodge Jan or Feb 2012. At the time my wife was experiencing jerking and pulling to the steering wheel when braking. We took the vehicle to the dealership and we were advised that the front pads and rotors would have to be replaced and Dodge would cover the cost. This was around Feb/Mar 2012 with approximately 17K on the vehicle. On 4 Aug we took the vehicle back to Dodge due to the same braking problems and a check engine light. We were advised that the check engine light was caused by a crack piston head and Dodge stated that the piston would be replaced under warranty. However, we were then advised that the jerking and pulling in the steering was caused by the rear brakes and we would have to paid $534 to have the rear rotors and pads replaced. This didn't sound right to me so I checked for any tsb/recalls, the cas website, and NHTSA website I found out that the brake problems (both front and rear) have been a serious issue with Dodge and repairs and costs have been all over the board with Dodge excepting no real fix except charging car owners on repeated repairs that only fix the problem for 3-9K. If this is the case NHTSA should mandate Dodge to properly fix this problem with correct parts or fully recall all of these vehicles. Dodge is putting my wife and son in danger everytime they set foot in the vehicle, and that is something the Agency for highway safety should not allow to continue. We consumers need a real fix and not a bandaide on a defective product and your Agency should not allow Dodge to continue to ignore this problem. NHTSA should not have to wait for someone to lose their life before taking action against Dodge. We are not beans to count, we are people!

- Cheverly, MD, USA

problem #3

May 172011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 47,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a 2010 Dodge Journey (used) in September, 2010. My problem first occurred in may, 2011. I went out to my car leaving work, and it would not start. Lights/horn/locks/radio all worked, but all I got when I turned the key was a clicking sound. At first thought, I figured the battery may have died and needed a jump-start. But this did not work. After trying for 1.5 hours, I finally had the vehicle towed to a dealership. As soon as the vehicle was released from the tow truck, it cranked right up. I had the dealer run a full diagnostic check on it, since it was there and problem had occurred. But they found nothing wrong. I drove the car home, and the problem began to occur more frequently. It has occurred at least twice a week, with wait times varying. Sometimes it'll start after 5 minutes. Other times, I have waited 2-3 hours without it starting, and have been forced to have the vehicle towed. Over the past year I have driven (or towed) this vehicle back to my local Dodge dealership a 10 times! the most recent visit was on 7/29/12, when I paid to have the win module and key fob replaced, and it still doesn't work. I have been given several reasons for the problem, all of which they have supposedly fixed (either at the expense of my extended warranty or at my own expense). Other times, I have simply been told there is nothing they can do because they cannot duplicate the problem when they have it. I have filed 2 separate complaints with Chrysler corporation, but no help. I no longer feel safe driving this vehicle. I Transport my 3 grandchildren on a daily basis (two 4-month old twins, born prematurely). I live in tx, where temperatures reach as high as 110+. I am very afraid of having my grandchildren in the car with me, and the car will not start for 2-3 hours, forcing us to wait in the 100+ temperatures to see if the car will decide to work. Please help!!!

- Mesquite, TX, USA

problem #2

May 022011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
The car first would stall while driving losing all power, a plastic piece was installed to hold key after several complaints. Shortly after the vehicle would not start at all on several occasions leaving me stranded this happened for almost a year more often than not and I was told by the dealerships there is no recall and I would need to pay to replace the ignition which I had to finally do when the vehicle would no longer start at all in January of 2012, I now have a new ignition which was supposed to fix the problem and have still been experiencing the same problems about a month after I replaced the ignition and keys which I had to pay extra for a second key it is getting back to the way it was before I replaced the ignition taking me 30 mins to start my car today, all the power comes on the engine will just not turn over. This car is become very unreliable for a working mother, I never know if I'll be able to just get in my car and go or if I'll have to leave my car somewhere over night and come back and hope it starts again. Please help!!

- Davenport, IA, USA

problem #1

Oct 042010

Journey 6-cyl

  • 5,800 miles
While driving at hwy. Speed 50 mph, engine just cut off, losing lights, power etc.. after months of complaints and appointments with no help, finally received a recall notice about a yr. After our first complaints. The ignition switch had to be replaced, fob was slipping out of ignition. Now brakes are on back order, resurfaced both front and rear at 9406 miles, adjusted at 12259, and awaiting parts for our third repair on the brakes front and rear at 20697. Did I mention they want a 100. Deductible to repair a defect in their brakes.

- Keansburg, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?