Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.1

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,964 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Dodge Journey electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #13

Feb 192015

Journey

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle would not start after work. Started fine in the am before going to work. After work, after 3 times of trying to start the vehicle was able to get it started to drive over to autozone to hook up to a computer. Battery had to be replaced. 2nd incident was on 3/17/15-Journey lost electrical power while driving home causing radio shut off, lights on dash continued to flash (abc, traction control, airbag) was able to get home and vehicle RPM's went to 4000 and shut itself completely off. 3rd incident was on 3/19/15-driving vehicle back to Washington to auto shop to be worked on, completely shut off 4 times within a 20 mile drive and RPM's continued to jump each time before shutting off between 4000-5000. Phone call from auto shop on 3/20/15 stating alternator is not working and is on back order to do recalls.

- New Haven, MO, USA

problem #12

Nov 052012

Journey 6-cyl

  • 60 miles
The problem started right after I got the vehicle home, the power window did not work nor the power lock. When started the heat and air control would reset themselves. Also, the clock and radio would go on and off on its own. Now the problems have increased, my slip resistance is not working, I am hearing all sorts of noises underneath the vehicle, especially when turning. Also, I am using more gas mileage than what is told about the vehicle, to be honest if I had it to do over again I would have never traded my truck in on this vehicle. But, now I am stuck with it and the payments even when it comes to the point of the need of parking the vehicle because I will not risk my families life in a vehicle that has as many problems has this one is having.

- Raccoon, KY, USA

problem #11

Jan 282015

Journey 6-cyl

  • 26,291 miles
I was driving on expressway, charging system light came on, engine power was erratic, vehicle slowed and rpms went to 4000, radio stopped, air bag light came on, ABS light came on. I exited expressway, parked vehicle and shut it off. Vehicle would not restart until battery was recharged. Mechanic determined that the alternator had failed. Auto repair shop installed a new mopar alternator and recharged the battery.

- Cheektowaga, NY, USA

problem #10

Dec 172014

Journey 6-cyl

  • 12,773 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2012 Dodge Journey hero AWD hatchback showed a check engine light then lost all power and blacked out. Battery was replaced, check engine light again came on and in less than 24 hours blacked out (zero power) again. Vehicle was towed to Dodge and during a 2 week period in the shop the alternator, battery, two O2 sensors and the PCM were replaced in an attempt to fix the issue causing the check engine light. Vehicle was returned to owners and in less than 24 hours blacked out with total power loss again. Issue occured once while vehicle is in motion. Dodge has been unable to locate a solution.

- Enid, OK, USA

problem #9

Dec 192014

Journey

  • 59,050 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start on the first attempt and the cargo door ajar warning light remained illuminated. In addition, the car alarm independently activated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 59,050.

- Fuquay Varna, NC, USA

problem #8

Nov 132014

Journey

  • 60,000 miles
The 2012 Journey was being used to jumpstart a 1997 F 350 Ford truck. The F 350 was not running while the Journey was. Jumper cables were attached correctly. The women jumping the car went into the house for a moment when she heard an explosion and the roar of the fire. The entire front of the car was engulfed in flames. The windshield was blow out and flames reached 12 feet into the air. After the fire truck put out the blaze, the hood had vaporized. The car was reported as a total loss by the insurance company. The heat from the fire was so intense it ignited the F 350. It too was declared a total loss. I do not know the cause of the explosion in the Journey. The fire captains report states the origin of the fire was the 2012 Dodge Journey. I believe that this has happened before. I also believe that serious injury or death would occur if a person is nearby or sitting in the vehicle.

- Goldsboro, NC, USA

problem #7

Sep 072014

Journey

  • 23,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving on the interstate and all of a sudden my dashboard started to flicker. I couldn't increase my speed. The check engine light came on. My car began to slow down on its own Accord. I pulled over to the shoulder and put the car in park. I was able to shut the engine off, but unable to turn the accessories off. My radio remained on along with the dashboard.I was unable to restart the ignition. I called for a tow truck and my car was brought to the original dealer, cortese Chrysler/Dodge. The next day they replaced the alternator free of charge. I am concerned that this will happen again when my car is out of warranty.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #6

Feb 042014

Journey

  • 30,000 miles
My 2012 Dodge Journey rear windshield wiper is acting up. It won't start unless the wiper switch is off and the car is in reverse. It will not work if I have the switch on. Also, I have one tail light that's bothersome. If I open any of my doors, all of the tail lights work. When I turn my lights on, one of my tail lights appears to be out along with my license plate lights. I'm not sure what could be causing these problems.

- Blessing, TX, USA

problem #5

Jul 182013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 40,650 miles
This vehicle has an on-going problem with "engine battery drain" which has cause numerous returns to the dealership 5-6 times since July 2013 for the same problem (will not start-up without being boosted off with jumper cables).here's description of the event: July 10,2013 had to boosted off to start while out-of town, return to ga & on July 18, took vehicle to dealership & discovered that battery needed to be replaced; on August 5, while out-of-town had to be boosted off to start, got back to ga. On Aug. 7, took vehicle back to dealership, they checked battery & said battery was fine. On Oct.14,2013, wouldn't start & had to be towed into dealer & they kept it for 2-days & said it needed "cylinder head" & said that was the problem; Jan. 7, 2014 wouldn't start, took vehicle back dealer & they kept it 4-days & replaced alternator & said that was the problem; on Feb.19, 2014 wouldn't start, took vehicle back on Feb.20,2014, kept until Feb. 24, & replaced module-telematics & said that was the problem; on Feb.28, vehicle stop running & wouldn't start-up, tow vehicle back on March 4,2014 & dealer kept vehicle 8-days & said the battery drain is from fr hub & replaced battery again & vehicle was pick-up Mar.12, 2014. I had to pay for first battery, alternator & some rental car fees, not including loss of convenient of time & vehicle. This vehicle could easy present "a safety hazard" while moving & just cut-off & stop in traffic creating danger for me & others.

- Mableton, GA, USA

problem #4

Jul 182013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 40,650 miles
This vehicle has an on-going problem with "engine battery drain" which has cause numerous returns to the dealership 5-6 times since July 2013 for the same problem (will not start-up without being boosted off with jumper cables).here's description of the event: July 10,2013 had to boosted off to start while out-of town, return to ga & on July 18, took vehicle to dealership & discovered that battery needed to be replaced; on August 5, while out-of-town had to be boosted off to start, got back to ga. On Aug. 7, took vehicle back to dealership, they checked battery & said battery was fine. On Oct.14,2013, wouldn't start & had to be towed into dealer & they kept it for 2-days & said it needed "cylinder head" & said that was the problem; Jan. 7, 2014 wouldn't start, took vehicle back dealer & they kept it 4-days & replaced alternator & said that was the problem; on Feb.19, 2014 wouldn't start, took vehicle back on Feb.20,2014, kept until Feb. 24, & replaced module-telematics & said that was the problem; on Feb.28, vehicle stop running & wouldn't start-up, tow vehicle back on March 4,2014 & dealer kept vehicle 8-days & said the battery drain is from fr hub & replaced battery again & vehicle was pick-up Mar.12, 2014. I had to pay for first battery, alternator & some rental car fees, not including loss of convenient of time & vehicle.

- Mableton, GA, USA

problem #3

Dec 212012

Journey 4-cyl

  • 6,823 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car disables while driving and does not start properly. The car has been at the dealership 5 times since I purchased it and each time they were unable to fix the car. I believe the car is a lemon and want to spare someone the nightmare that I have been experiencing.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #2

Nov 122012

Journey

  • 34,000 miles
While driving the car on a busy road it suddenly lost power and died while driving it, had it towed to a dealership and it was discovered that the fuel pump fuse had blown, the car is only 1yr old. The second time we were driving down a busy high way and the same thing happened this time it was determined that the fuel pump was bad the dealer replaced it, there have been a multitude of problems with this vehicle from the ac not coming on to the radio/nav screen not coming on when the car is started. Brake problems seems to be the next thing that is rough on this vehicle.

- Kingsland, GA, USA

problem #1

Jul 292012

Journey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,200 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Journey SXT, equipped with a park sense mopar backing system (part number 82212465). The contact was in reverse when the backing system alerted that there was another vehicle approaching. The contact heard the alert chime but stated that the alarm needed to be amplified. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the manufacturer was contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 1,200 and the current mileage was 3,600. Updated 09/19/12 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired but, not buy the dealer. Updated 09/26/2012

- Dwight, KS, USA

Not what you are looking for?