Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.6

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,779 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Dodge Journey engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Jul 312015

Journey

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Journey. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V431000 (engine and engine cooling) however, the part to do was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Brook Park, OH, USA

problem #18

Aug 172015

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Journey. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V431000 (engine and engine cooling); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lithonia , GA, USA

problem #17

Jul 072015

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V431000 (engine, engine cooling); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #16

Aug 172015

Journey

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V431000 (engine and engine cooling); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Yuba City, CA, USA

problem #15

Jul 292015

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V431000 (engine, engine cooling); however, the part needed to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the parts needed for the repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lakewood, CA, USA

problem #14

Mar 062015

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that while drivign at various speeds, the accelerator pedal failed to respond. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V431000 (engine and engine cooling) and stated that the part was not available. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contacts vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Brandon, FL, USA

problem #13

Apr 062015

Journey

  • 73,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving typically less than 25 mph and car shuts down. Which makes me have to brake, place car in neutral and start again then switch to drive. I took car to dealership and because it didn't show on the electrical tester they said nothing was wrong. But the vehicle continues shutting off while I am driving with my children in the car.

- Alexandria, KY, USA

problem #12

Feb 192015

Journey

  • 50,000 miles
Vehicle would not start after work. Started fine in the am before going to work. After work, after 3 times of trying to start the vehicle was able to get it started to drive over to autozone to hook up to a computer. Battery had to be replaced. 2nd incident was on 3/17/15-Journey lost electrical power while driving home causing radio shut off, lights on dash continued to flash (abc, traction control, airbag) was able to get home and vehicle RPM's went to 4000 and shut itself completely off. 3rd incident was on 3/19/15-driving vehicle back to Washington to auto shop to be worked on, completely shut off 4 times within a 20 mile drive and RPM's continued to jump each time before shutting off between 4000-5000. Phone call from auto shop on 3/20/15 stating alternator is not working and is on back order to do recalls.

- New Haven, MO, USA

problem #11

Nov 132014

Journey

  • 60,000 miles
The 2012 Journey was being used to jumpstart a 1997 F 350 Ford truck. The F 350 was not running while the Journey was. Jumper cables were attached correctly. The women jumping the car went into the house for a moment when she heard an explosion and the roar of the fire. The entire front of the car was engulfed in flames. The windshield was blow out and flames reached 12 feet into the air. After the fire truck put out the blaze, the hood had vaporized. The car was reported as a total loss by the insurance company. The heat from the fire was so intense it ignited the F 350. It too was declared a total loss. I do not know the cause of the explosion in the Journey. The fire captains report states the origin of the fire was the 2012 Dodge Journey. I believe that this has happened before. I also believe that serious injury or death would occur if a person is nearby or sitting in the vehicle.

- Goldsboro, NC, USA

problem #10

Jan 012014

Journey

  • 28,000 miles
The first time I took for inspection at dealership, service engine light on. They said code was 6th cylinder and reset, and had to come back next day. It recently came on again and now have to take back to shop, because the power and engine hesitates, has issues going up hills, and scares me on long rides. It is now past the 35,000 mile and into my extra warranty I paid for. Tires all wear badly too, car needs full alignment. Hoping they will not just reset and actual fix the 6th cylinder, unfortunately the light comes and goes. Its not the tires that are a problem, it is the bad alignment causing it to wear wrong. Tires aren't covered under warranty, so that is not acceptable to leave the cause of the defect unfixed so every new tire you put on gets ruined. If they fix 6th cylinder will let you know, but be careful, losing power while driving and the hesitation is terrifying with kids in car.

- Bethlehem, PA, USA

problem #9

Sep 292014

Journey

  • 50,286 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2012 Dodge Journey. While driving approximately 35 mph, the contact noticed smoke coming from the front end of the vehicle. The vehicle caught fire, which was extinguished by the fire department. A police report was filed and there were no injuries reported. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 50,286.

- Kirbyville, TX, USA

problem #8

May 162014

Journey

  • 39,546 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Journey. The contact stated while the vehicle was stopped, the vehicle overheated and there was smoke seen from under the hood. The temperature gauge indicated that the vehicle was overheating. The vehicle was driven to the emergency lane for twenty five minutes. The vehicle was restarted and the temperature gauge was in the proper position. Fifteen minutes later, the temperature gauge indicated that the vehicle was hot and smoke again emitted under the hood. The vehicle was towed to a local dealer who diagnosed that the radiator needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was towed back to the dealer who diagnosed that the radiator fan needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred and the vehicle taken back to the dealer. The failure mileage was 39,546. The current mileage was 41,000.

- Capitol Heights, MD, USA

problem #7

May 232014

Journey

  • 49,500 miles
I was informed about an oil leak from the oil pan gasket during a routine oil change. The tech informed me that this is a common issue with newer Dodge vehicles. I attempted to contact the dealer and corporate office with no satisfaction of my concerns.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #6

May 102014

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
On 5/10/2014 drving as normal my car begin to make a loud noise and the check engine light blinked on and off a couple of times then went out. But the motor dound like it was idling louder N louder. Once I got homeall the dealership were closed do I had to wait until Monday. So once I get up yo drive on Monday no issues at all. But the drive was very rugged. So I took my car in even though no lights are on and the couldn't detect anything wrong. Pick my car up drove ok until I went to work the next day light back on now im at a point where I don't kmow what else to do. So today to my car in was advised that they updated my computer system in the car. But now I don't know what's wrong. Transmission" tune up" or just a bad car. And if there is a recall that was placed out before ibought my car I need it fixed.

- College Park, GA, USA

problem #5

Jul 182013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 40,650 miles
This vehicle has an on-going problem with "engine battery drain" which has cause numerous returns to the dealership 5-6 times since July 2013 for the same problem (will not start-up without being boosted off with jumper cables).here's description of the event: July 10,2013 had to boosted off to start while out-of town, return to ga & on July 18, took vehicle to dealership & discovered that battery needed to be replaced; on August 5, while out-of-town had to be boosted off to start, got back to ga. On Aug. 7, took vehicle back to dealership, they checked battery & said battery was fine. On Oct.14,2013, wouldn't start & had to be towed into dealer & they kept it for 2-days & said it needed "cylinder head" & said that was the problem; Jan. 7, 2014 wouldn't start, took vehicle back dealer & they kept it 4-days & replaced alternator & said that was the problem; on Feb.19, 2014 wouldn't start, took vehicle back on Feb.20,2014, kept until Feb. 24, & replaced module-telematics & said that was the problem; on Feb.28, vehicle stop running & wouldn't start-up, tow vehicle back on March 4,2014 & dealer kept vehicle 8-days & said the battery drain is from fr hub & replaced battery again & vehicle was pick-up Mar.12, 2014. I had to pay for first battery, alternator & some rental car fees, not including loss of convenient of time & vehicle. This vehicle could easy present "a safety hazard" while moving & just cut-off & stop in traffic creating danger for me & others.

- Mableton, GA, USA

problem #4

Jul 182013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 40,650 miles
This vehicle has an on-going problem with "engine battery drain" which has cause numerous returns to the dealership 5-6 times since July 2013 for the same problem (will not start-up without being boosted off with jumper cables).here's description of the event: July 10,2013 had to boosted off to start while out-of town, return to ga & on July 18, took vehicle to dealership & discovered that battery needed to be replaced; on August 5, while out-of-town had to be boosted off to start, got back to ga. On Aug. 7, took vehicle back to dealership, they checked battery & said battery was fine. On Oct.14,2013, wouldn't start & had to be towed into dealer & they kept it for 2-days & said it needed "cylinder head" & said that was the problem; Jan. 7, 2014 wouldn't start, took vehicle back dealer & they kept it 4-days & replaced alternator & said that was the problem; on Feb.19, 2014 wouldn't start, took vehicle back on Feb.20,2014, kept until Feb. 24, & replaced module-telematics & said that was the problem; on Feb.28, vehicle stop running & wouldn't start-up, tow vehicle back on March 4,2014 & dealer kept vehicle 8-days & said the battery drain is from fr hub & replaced battery again & vehicle was pick-up Mar.12, 2014. I had to pay for first battery, alternator & some rental car fees, not including loss of convenient of time & vehicle.

- Mableton, GA, USA

problem #3

Oct 152013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 12,987 miles
While approaching a stop light vehicle stutters like the transmission is slipping. While waiting at light the vehicle engine died. This continued for several times intermittently. No warning lights no warning. Except transmission stutter. Called dealer about issue, they told us if they can't reproduce issue nothing they can do to fix. So I called Chrysler customer service. They asked us what we wanted them to do? I told them I wanted this car fixed. So they recommend of course bring it to dealer. And we decide to bring back to dealer. In the time before bringing into dealer vehicle has died over a dozen times. In traffic main highway. And no matter if it was a warm engine. Cold engine. Just dies whenever it wants. Also before we got this into shop. Stereo started changing channels on its own. You can change back to station. And few minutes later you would have static. This was not the only issues we had with this vehicle either. The frontend had a loud bang thump sound. Since it was new, also in shop 4 times for this issue. Finally they replaced struts, and the noise came back several weeks later. The stalling in traffic was my last straw. I sent it to shop, and traded this vehicle for another manufactures vehicle. I feel I was sold a problem and felt like Chrysler expected me to just tolerate these issues. Way too many issues for brand new vehicle. Also the amount of money we paid to purchase vehicle. Just feel safety issues need to be addressed.

- Hastings, NE, USA

problem #2

Aug 112012

Journey 6-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
My family was in the vehicle (my son was 4 weeks old at the time, my daughter 2) on the New York state thruway and the vehicle stalled out at 65 mph. My husband was able to maneuver to the side of the road and restart the vehicle. About 15 miles later, it happened again. We exited the highway and the warning indicator light illuminated. Shortly after that, the low fuel light illuminated. It's happend two other times since that first incident. The dealership has told me that they can't recreate the incident and the codes aren't active so they can't verify the scenario. Chrysler has told me there is nothing they can do. The vehichle in unpredictable, unreliable and in my opinion, unsafe. I did a google search on the issue and found a forum indicating stalling issues with Dodge Journeys dating back to 2008. The responses from service professionals is astounding - everything from it being a result of the vehicle just being washed to key fob deprogramming.

- Saratoga Springs, NY, USA

problem #1

Apr 122012

Journey 6-cyl

  • 14,096 miles
Check engine light on. Loss of engine power. After two time to the same dealer, same problem. Took car to another dealer, finally the correct repair. Defective cylinder head.

- Shickshinny, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?